
 

 

   

 
 

Date:  September 17, 2025 
 

To: Local Educational Agency Leads, Directors of Approved Private Schools for Students 
with Disabilities 

 

Route To: District Test Coordinators 
 

From: Jorden Schiff, Ed.D., Assistant Commissioner 
Division of Teaching and Learning Services 

 

Deadline: October 1, 2025 
 

Parental Notification of Standardized Assessments 
 
This memo serves as a reminder to local educational agencies (LEAs) of statutory requirements 
(N.J.S.A. 18A:7C-6.6) to annually notify parents/guardians by October 1 of any state assessment1 or 
commercially-developed standardized assessment2 that will be administered over the course of 
the school year. 
 
By October 1 of each year, LEAs must notify parents/guardians of any state assessment or 
commercially-developed standardized assessment that will be administered over the course of the 
school year. If, after the initial notification to parents/guardians occurs, an LEA decides to 
administer an additional commercially developed standardized assessment, the LEA must 
communicate this decision as soon as possible and provide information about the additional 
assessment to parents/guardians within 30 days of making the determination. 
 
LEAs are required to provide the following information to parents/guardians:  
 

• The subject area of the assessment; 
• The grade levels covered by the assessment; 
• The date or range of potential dates for the administration of the assessment; 
• The time allotted for the student to take and complete the assessment; 
• Any accommodations or accessibility options available to students; 
• Information on how and when the student and their parents/guardians can access both 

sample questions and answers from the assessment, as well as the students’ results; and 
• Whether the assessment is required by the federal government, state government, or local 

district. 
 
The New Jersey Department of Education’s Office of Assessments has developed a sample 
template to support LEAs in implementing the provisions of this statute. This sample template can 

 
1 Per N.J.S.A. 18A:7C-6.5: "State assessment" means an assessment required pursuant to State or federal law and 
administered to all students in a specific grade level or subject area and whose results are aggregated for analysis at 
the district, school, or student subgroup level. 
2 Per N.J.S.A. 18A:7C-6.5: "Commercially-developed standardized assessment" means a State-required or district-
mandated assessment that is administered by the school district or charter school that requires all students in a grade 
to answer the same questions, or a selection of questions from a common bank of questions, in the same manner, and 
is developed and scored by an entity under contract with a board of education. 

https://law.justia.com/codes/new-jersey/2020/title-18a/section-18a-7c-6-6/


 

 

 

 

be accessed on the Assessment webpage under the heading “Resources.” It is not required that 
LEAs adopt the template, but it is required that the above information is disseminated to 
parents/guardians by October 1 of each year or within 30 days of the decision to administer a 
standardized assessment after October 1. 
 
Additionally, details regarding the administration windows for the New Jersey statewide 
assessments are provided in the Statewide Assessments Testing Schedule 2025-2026. This 
schedule provides a listing of 2025-2026 statewide assessments. 
 
For additional information, contact the Office of Assessments at (609) 376-3960 or 
assessment@doe.nj.gov.   

 
c: Members, State Board of Education 
 NJDOE Staff 
 Statewide Parent Advocacy Network 
 Garden State Coalition of Schools 
 NJ LEE Group 

https://www.nj.gov/education/assessment/
https://www.nj.gov/education/assessment/resources/district/StatewideAssessmentsTestingSchedule202526.shtml
mailto:assessment@doe.nj.gov

