State Board of Examiners Minutes of Meeting

May 15, 1997

Attending: Dr. Arnold Speert, Acting Chairperson

Ms. Ida B. Graham, Secretary

Ms. Arlene Lutz, Deputy Attorney General

Dr. Thomas Niland, Acting Chairperson, Legal Committee

Mr. James Gay

Dr. Elspeth Goodin

Dr. Ruthie Green-Brown

Dr. Mary Jean Guidette

Mr. Richard Malanowski

Mr. Peter Tirri

Ms. Joyce Vereen

Absent: Dr. Barbara Anderson

Dr. Vito Germinario

Mr. Frank Hicks

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Arnold Speert, Acting Chairperson.

The minutes of the April 3, 1997 meeting were approved and adopted.

<u>Individual Credentials Review - Presentation</u>

The following individuals attended the meeting, made brief presentations and answered questions from the Board regarding their experiences:

Paula Gallagher - Substance Awareness Coordinator

Helena Hopenwasser - Student Personnel Services

Carol Kerr - Speech-language Specialist.

Ms. Kerr was accompanied by Dr. Robert Kiliany, Director of Special Services for the Paulsboro School District who also spoke on Ms. Kerr's behalf.

Deborah Zakarian - Speech-language Specialist

Richard A. Detofsky who is applying for School Social Worker licensure did not attend the meeting.

Credentials Review Committee Report

The Credentials Review Committee reviewed all credentials review cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

Walter Eizenberg - Elementary School Teacher Certificate of Eligibility With Advanced Standing, Teacher of Mathematics Certificate of Eligibility With Advanced Standing. Unanimously denied.

Ellen B. Kandel - Speech-language Specialist. Unanimously granted. Michelle Obst - School Nurse - Unanimously granted

Legal Committee Report

The Legal Committee reviewed all legal cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

Order to Show Cause

Calsar Chandler John Howarth
Shane Degannes Norma Pollard
Martin Garnick Frank Roberts
Carl A. Hess, III Sondra Yanniello

Revoke

Ward Campbell Miriam Perez-Gonzalez Paul W. Silverman

In the matter of **Thurman L. Brown,** the Board unanimously voted to block issuance of a Teacher of Social Studies Certificate of Eligibility With Advanced Standing due to the level and nature of his crime and conduct.

In the matter of **Theodore DelGrosso**, the Board unanimously voted to contact Mr. DelGrosso's attorney and request that Mr. DelGrosso waive his right to a revocation/suspension hearing.

In the matter of **Francis E. Doogan**, the Board unanimously voted to table the matter until Office of Licensing staff completed further research in the matter of the Teacher of Elementary School license that he presented.

In the matter of **Charles H. Flatt,** the Board unanimously voted to publish his Order to Show Cause in the newspaper.

In the matter of **Paul Kaiser**, the Board unanimously voted to publish his Order to Show Cause in the newspaper.

In the matter of **Michael Santucci**, the Board unanimously voted to vacate the Order to Show Cause.

In the matter of Joann **Ratzlaff-Malecki**, the Board unanimously voted to advise Ms. Ratzlaff-Malecki that she has twenty (20) days in which to respond to the Board's previous correspondence or to show that she has now met the requirements for Educational Media Specialist licensure. If she does not respond within twenty days of receipt of the correspondence, the Board will move to take further action.

The Board voted to take no action to suspend, revoke or block licenses to the following individuals:

Mary J. Catlin Clarence Diggs Robert Haydack Rosita Vargas

The Board moved into Executive Session at 11:18 A.M. to obtain legal advise and concluded the session at 11:37 A.M. The Board moved back into Executive Session at 11:38 A.M. to seek further legal counsel and the session concluded at 11:48 A.M. A motion was made and seconded at 12:10 P.M. to move into Executive Session to obtain legal advise and the session concluded at 12:14 P.M.

Secretary Ida Graham requested that all Board members make their fax numbers available and further advised members that a proposed schedule for the next calendar year would be discussed at the June 19th meeting which would include additional dates for hearing the backlog of decertification cases.

The following cases should be retained by Board members for future reference:

Calsar Chandler Paul Kaiser
Shane DeGannes Carol Kerr
Theodore Delgrosso Norma Pollard

Richard Detofsky Joanne Ratzlaff-Malecki

Francis E. Doogan
Charles H. Flatt
Charles H. Flatt
Faula Gallagher
Frank Roberts
Karen Rosenberg
Sondra Yanniello
Helena Hopenwasser
Deborah Zakarian

John Howarth

The next meeting of the board is scheduled to be held June 19, 1997 at 100 Riverview Plaza, first floor conference room, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0500.

IBG:EAH:br:5-15-97-minutes