## State Board of Examiners Minutes of Meeting

### May 11, 2000

Attending: Assistant Commissioner Ellen Schechter, Chairperson

Ms. Ida B. Graham, Secretary

Ms. Arlene Lutz, Deputy Attorney General

Dr. Vito Germinario, Chairperson, Legal Committee

Dr. Elspeth Goodin, Chairperson, Credentials Review Committee

Ms. Ida Bilbow Ms. Joanne Gales

Dr. Mary Jean Guidette

Dr. Robert Petix

Ms. Deidre Walker

Absent: Dr. Ronald Applbaum

Dr. Donald Farish

Mr. James Gay

Dr. Richard Malanowski

Mr. Peter Tirri

The meeting was called to order by Assistant Commissioner Ellen Schechter, Chairperson.

The minutes of the April 6, 2000 meeting were approved and adopted.

# Individual Credentials Review - Presentation

The following individuals attended the meeting, made brief presentations and answered questions from the Board regarding their experiences:

Laura Schaeffer - Speech-Language Specialist. Ms. Schaeffer was accompanied by supervisor Ann Miller from the Bancroft School who spoke on her behalf.

Lucille Verina - School Psychologist

Theresa Kirkbride Zigich, who is applying for School Social Worker certification, did not attend the meeting.

### <u>Credentials Review Committee Report</u>

The Credentials Review Committee reviewed all credentials review cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

Allison Bloom-Leff - Speech-Language Specialist - Unanimously granted
John W. Fulton - School Social Worker - Unanimously granted
Sue P. Maurer - Teacher of Health Certificate of Eligibility (CE) – Unanimously granted
Vincent R. Morino - SchoolBusiness Administrator Certificate of Eligibility - Unanimously granted

### Legal Committee Report

The Legal Committee reviewed all legal cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

### **Orders to Show Cause**

**Pamela Bailey -** Level and nature of conduct and crime. Drug conviction.

**Michael T. Burke** - Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1995 conviction on charges of possession of a dangerous weapon/possession of a tear gas weapon.

**Nicholas Caputi -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1989 conviction on charges of felony assault.

**Landon Cohen -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1988 conviction on charges of sexual contact.

**Robin R. Cornell -** Level and nature of conduct and crime. Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1999 drug conviction.

**Beverly Foley -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1999 conviction on charges of threatening to commit a crime.

**Luther Gibbs -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1999 conviction on charges of a felony attempt to elude police.

**Marcos Guess -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on two (2) 1996 drug convictions.

**Abdel 'Rahim Ishmael -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1997 drug conviction.

**George LaMarra** - Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1990 conviction on charges of resisting arrest by an officer and a 1997 drug conviction.

**William Poppora -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1995 conviction on charges of indecent exposure.

**Patricia Rector -** Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1975 drug conviction.

**Jeffrey Weingarten** – Permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on 1981 and 1982 drug convictions.

#### **Revocations**

Andrew Cangelosi
James Damiano
Andrew Kemp – County Substitute Certificate
Richard Lamperty
Kenneth Miller
David Siefert
Kenneth Wilburn

#### **Suspension**

#### **Sawson Labib**

The suspension is effective May 11, 2000 until May 11, 2002

In the matter of **Arik V. Cotton** the Board unanimously voted to deny Mr. Cotton's request for issuance of a County Substitute certificate based on his permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1994 conviction on charges of resisting arrest.

In the matter of **Juan Gene** the Board unanimously voted to deny Mr. Gene's request for issuance of Teacher of Elementary School Certificate of Eligibility certificate based on his permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History

Review. The disqualification was based on a 1992 conviction on charges of felony possession of a weapon.

In the matter of **Michael Long** the Board unanimously voted to deny Mr. Long's request for issuance of a County Substitute certificate based on his permanent disqualification from public school employment by the Office of Criminal History Review. The disqualification was based on a 1977 drug conviction.

The Board voted to take no action to suspend, revoke or block licenses to the following individuals:

Vicki Chintala Bobby O. Stanley
Joyce Glotzer Gary Villapiano
William Merritt Karen Winckler
Charles Sellers John Yanno

The following cases should be retained by Board members for future reference:

Pamela Bailey George LaMarra
Michael T. Burke William Poppora
Nicholas Caputi Patricia Rector
Landon Cohen Laura Schaeffer
Robin R. Cornell Lucille Verina
Luther Gibbs Jeffrey Weingarten
Marcos Guess Theresa Kirkbride Zigich

Abdel 'Rahim Ishmael

The next meeting of the Board is scheduled to be held on Thursday, June 15, 2000 at the Middle School Auditorium at the Marie H. Katzenbach School for the Deaf, 320 Sullivan Way, West Trenton, New Jersey.