State Board of Examiners Minutes of Meeting

September 23, 1999

Attending: Assistant Commissioner Ellen Schechter, Chairperson

Ms. Ida B. Graham, Secretary

Ms. Arlene Lutz, Deputy Attorney General

Dr. Vito Germinario, Chairperson, Legal Committee

Dr. Elspeth Goodin, Chairperson, Credentials Review Committee

Ms. Ida Bilbow Ms. Joanne Gales Mr. James Gay

Dr. Mary Jean Guidette

Mr. Frank Hicks

Dr. Richard Malanowski

Dr. Robert Petix Ms. Deidre Simon

Absent: Dr. Ronald Applbaum

Dr. Donald Farish Mr. Peter Tirri

The meeting was called to order by Assistant Commissioner Ellen Schechter,

Chairperson.

Ms. Joanne Gales was sworn in as a member of the State Board of Examiners.

The minutes of the May 13, 1999 and June 17, 1999 meetings were approved and

adopted.

Individual Credentials Review - Presentation

The following individuals attended the meeting, made brief presentations and answered questions from the Board regarding their experiences:

Gregory Acocella - Student Personnel Services Alyssa Hampson - Speech-language Specialist Virginia Hedges - Speech-language Specialist

Marilyn Mazer - School Nurse

Ronald Sahli - School Business Administrator Certificate of Eligibility

Credentials Review Committee Report

The Credentials Review Committee reviewed all credentials review cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

Gerard Crisonino – School Psychologist – Granted

Gerald Felber - Teacher of General Business Studies – Denied

Robyn Fox - Speech-language Specialist – Granted Sherri Griffith - Student Personnel Services – Denied.

Partial credit was awarded for 3 credits in theory and procedures in individual and group guidance, 3 credits in counseling and interviewing techniques and 3 credits in sociological foundation including community agencies.

Sandra Teich - Speech-language Specialist – Denied

Partial credit was awarded for graduate study in basic processes of normal human communication and graduate level supervised field experience. Ms. Teich was also awarded credit for study in special education and learning disabilities and the required 300 clock hours of supervised practicum.

Legal Committee Report

The Legal Committee reviewed all legal cases and presented its recommendations to the Board. The Board took the following actions:

Order to Show Cause

Andrew Cangelosi. Convicted on charges of 3rd degree witness tampering. Sentence included permanent forfeiture of public office and employment.

Robert Dombloski. Proven tenure charges of unbecoming conduct. Pled guilty to one count of criminal contempt in the 4th degree for violating a restraining order.

Andrew Kemp. 1990 drug conviction. 1998 conviction on five counts of theft.

Keith Mathis. 1995 and 1997 drug convictions.

Kenneth Miller. Proven tenure charges of unbecoming conduct including corporal punishment and inappropriate touching of students.

David Siefert. Settlement in response to tenure charges alleging unbecoming conduct, incapacity and other just cause which included Siefert's agreement not to contest revocation proceedings.

Revocation

Gerald Battle Douglas Forman Franklin Knowles Theresa Lucarelli Shawn X. McCray Gregory Williams Sondra Yanniello

In the matter of Delia C. Butler, the Board unanimously voted to block issuance of a Teacher of the Handicapped certificate. The Board found that Ms. Butler's 1992 drug trafficking conviction would permanently disqualify her from public school employment under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 18A:6-7.1 et. seq.

In the matter of Darren Burton, the Board unanimously voted to vacate the Order to Show Cause issued to Mr. Burton on June 18, 1998 because his county substitute certificate expired on July 1, 1999.

In the matter of Dana Clark, the Board unanimously voted to take no action to revoke Ms. Clark's Teacher of Elementary School certificate. The Board found that the circumstances at The Englewood on the Palisades Charter School were outside of Ms. Clark's control and she was not aware that her supervisor was not appropriately certified. The Board further found that when looking at the totality of Ms. Clark's induction year, she has substantially complied with the requirements of the Provisional Teacher Program – Alternate Route.

In the matter of Mark DeRosa, the Board unanimously voted to block issuance of a Teacher of Elementary School Certificate of Eligibility because Mr. DeRosa's conviction for felony possession of steroids with intent to distribute would permanently disqualify him from public school employment under the provisions of <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 18A:6-7.1et. seq.

In the matter of William G. Hutton, the Board unanimously voted to block issuance of a Teacher of Elementary School Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing. The Board found that Mr. Hutton's 1997 conviction on charges of recklessly endangering another person would permanently disqualify him from public school employment under the possession of N.J.S.A. 18A:6-7.1 et. seq.

In the matter of Wayne Sloan, the Board unanimously voted to block issuance a Teacher of Elementary School Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing. The Board found that Mr. Sloans conviction for possession of a weapon and distribution of heroin and cocaine would permanently disqualify him from public school employment under the provision of N.J.S.A. 18A:6-7.1et.

In the matter of Joseph Ruback, the Board unanimously voted to block issuance of a Teacher of Physical Science certificate because Mr. Ruback's February 1999 conviction on charges of 4th degree grand larceny was recent, he's still on probation and there's not enough evidence of rehabilitation since the offense.

The Board voted to take no action to suspend, revoke or block licenses to the following individuals:

Deidre Renee Deans

Michael Downing

Salvatore Ferruggia

Matthew Forte

David M. Irvine

Tonya Mallory

Harold Sabo

Barbara Solmor

Wende Stuart

Robert A. Thomas

Bernard A. Josefberg

Chairperson Ellen Schechter, Secretary Ida Graham and the Board warmly welcomed Joanne Gales on her appointment to the Board. Secretary Graham apologized to the Board for the current parking situation and advised that all future Board meetings for 1999 – 2000 school year have been rescheduled to be held at the Mercer County Office and the Katzenbach School of the Deaf.

The following cases should be retained by Board members for future reference:

Gregory Acocella Andrew Kemp David Siefert
Andrew Cangelosi Keith Mathis
Robert Dombloski Marilyn Mazer
Alyssa Hampson Kenneth Miller
Virginia Hedges Ronald Sahli

The next meeting of the board is scheduled to be held November 4, 1999 at the Mercer County Office of Education, 1075 Old Trenton Road, Trenton, NJ 08690.

IBG:EAH:br:9-23-99minutes