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State Board of Examiners Dkt No. 1718-164 
Agency Dkt. No. 4-6/22A 

New Jersey Commissioner of Education 

Final Decision

In the Matter of the Certificates of  
Sherry Frazier, State Board of Examiners, 
New Jersey Department of Education. 

Order of Revocation by the State Board of Examiners, September 21, 2018 

Respondent-Appellant, pro se 

For the Petitioner-Respondent State Board of Examiners, Colin 
Klika, Deputy Attorney General (Matthew J. Platkin, Attorney General of 
New Jersey) 

The Commissioner has reviewed the record and the papers filed in connection with 

appellant Sherry Frazier’s appeal of the Order of the State Board of Examiners (Board), dated 

September 21, 2018, revoking her Teacher of the Handicapped certificate.  In October 2017, the 

Florida Education Practices Commission issued a formal reprimand to appellant, following 

allegations that appellant inappropriately disciplined students and made insulting comments about 

students and their families.  In January 2018, the Board found that the level and nature of 

appellant’s conduct provided just cause for the consideration of the revocation of her New Jersey 

certificate and issued an Order to Show Cause (OTSC).  Petitioner failed to respond, and a second 

notice was sent by the Board in March 2018.  Petitioner again failed to respond and, pursuant to 

N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-4.6(c), the allegations set forth in the OTSC were deemed to be admitted.  The Board 

concluded that appellant had engaged in unbecoming conduct and that the appropriate penalty 

was revocation of her certificate. 

261-22



2 

On appeal, appellant argues that she did not receive the letters that the Board sent to her in 

2018 and did not find out that her New Jersey certificate had been revoked until October 2021. 

Appellant contends that she did not engage in any unbecoming conduct in Florida. 

After a comprehensive review of the record, the Commissioner concludes that appellant’s 

appeal is untimely.  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:4-2.2, a party is required to appeal a final decision 

issued by the Board within 30 days.  Even accepting that appellant did not receive any of the 

communications from the Board in 2018,1 and only found out about the Board’s actions in 

October 2021, the notice of appeal was not filed until June 28, 2022, well beyond the 30-day 

limitation period.   

Accordingly, the decision of the State Board of Examiners is affirmed.  Appellant’s Teacher 

of the Handicapped certificate is hereby revoked.2  The Commissioner notes that appellant may 

reapply for certification pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-4.9, as more than four years have passed since 

the revocation.3 

ACTING COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION 

Date of Decision: 
Date of Mailing: 

1 The Commissioner notes that while the certified mail copies of some documents were returned to the Board, the 
regular mail copies were not returned.  Additionally, the certified mail containing the Board’s September 21, 2018 
decision was claimed and signed for on October 1, 2018.   

2 This decision may be appealed to the Appellate Division of the Superior Court pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:6-9.1. 
Under N.J.Ct.R. 2:4-1(b), a notice of appeal must be filed with the Appellate Division within 45 days from the date 
of mailing of this decision.

3 Should appellant choose to reapply for certification, the Board will review the application and make a 
determination consistent with the applicable law.  There is no guarantee that a reapplication for a certificate 
following revocation will be granted.   
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