315-25 Agency Dkt. No. 99-4/25

New Jersey Commissioner of Education

Final Decision

In the Matter of the Suspension of the Teaching Certificate of Katie Davis, Board of Education of the Township of Mount Holly, Burlington County

This matter was opened before the Commissioner of Education on April 8, 2025, by way of an Order to Show Cause (OSC) served by petitioner, Board of Education of the Township of Mount Holly (Board), upon respondent, Katie Davis, requiring respondent to show cause why an order should not be entered suspending her teaching certificates pursuant to *N.J.S.A.* 18A:28-8 and *N.J.S.A.* 18A:26-10. By notice dated April 14, 2025, the Office of Controversies and Disputes (Office) acknowledged proof that the OSC had been served upon respondent and directed her to answer within 20 days.

On April 17, 2025, the Office received an email from respondent, indicating that she was not contesting the suspension.

The petition and supporting exhibits in this matter indicate that on September 1, 2011, the Board hired respondent as a kindergarten teacher in Mount Holly. On September 1, 2014, respondent achieved tenure status in the district. In her capacity as a kindergarten teacher, respondent was required to adhere to all statutes of the State of New Jersey, rules of the New Jersey Board of Education, and policies of the Mount Holly Board of Education; among her duties was the statutory requirement that respondent provide at least sixty days' notice to the Board prior to vacating her tenured position. However, on November 14, 2024, respondent sent correspondence to the Board indicating that she was resigning effective November 29, 2024 – well short of the sixty day-notice required by *N.J.S.A.* 18A:28-8. Respondent has not denied these allegations; therefore, the Commissioner deems such allegations to be admitted pursuant to *N.J.A.C.* 6A:3-1.5(a) and further deems them sufficient to justify suspension of respondent's teaching certificate pursuant to *N.J.S.A.* 18A:26-10.

Accordingly, summary decision is hereby granted to petitioner, and respondent's teaching certificates, as well as any substitute teaching credential she may hold, are suspended for a period of one year from the filing date of this decision, a copy of which shall be forwarded to the State Board of Examiners for implementation of the suspension.

IT IS SO ORDERED.¹

COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION

Date of Decision:June 23, 2025Date of Mailing:June 23, 2025

¹ This decision may be appealed to the Appellate Division of the Superior Court pursuant to *N.J.S.A.* 18A:6-9.1. Under *N.J.Ct.R.* 2:4-1(b), a notice of appeal must be filed with the Appellate Division within 45 days from the date of mailing of this decision.