New Jersey Department of Education

DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


For More Information Contact the Public Information Office:
    Kathryn Forsyth, Director

For Release: December 14, 2005

Teaching Award Winners Honored

Twenty-nine New Jersey teachers who won state and national educator awards in 2005 were honored today at the Department of Education’s annual REAL (Recognizing Educational Achievement and Leadership) conference.

“This Administration remains committed to quality schooling and quality teachers,” said Acting Governor Richard J. Codey, who attended the awards luncheon.  “We believe it is important to spotlight and share the best practices, policies and programs at work in education today.

“Today’s honorees have clearly tackled teaching, not as a job, but as a calling.  Every day, their guidance gives way to hope, their wisdom gives way to success and their leadership inspires a future,” the Governor said.

Acting Commissioner of Education Lucille E. Davy noted that the award-winning teachers “represent the best of the best in New Jersey.  They are successful because they care, because they are innovative, and because they achieve results — great results — each and every day. 

“Many people outside the education community don’t understand just how hard it is to maintain that kind of consistency,” she said.  “But sound learning stems from good teaching, and the people we are honoring today are great role models for young teachers just entering the profession.”

The luncheon was preceded by special professional development conference, attended by the award winners and a group of novice teachers.  The workshop topics included “Classroom Management,” “Teaching with Academic and Professional Standards,” “Teachers as Leaders” and “National Board Certification.”

The teachers recognized today are:

New JerseyState Teacher of the Year:

Robert Goodman, of Ridgewood, who teaches physics to grades 9, 10 and 12 at Bergen County Technical High School in Teterboro.  Goodman is also the Bergen County Teacher of the Year.

New JerseyCountyTeachers of the Year:

Atlantic:  John Napoli, of Linwood, who teaches social studies and gifted and talented programs to grades 5-8 at Belhaven Middle School in Linwood.

Burlington:  Carol Smith, of Mt. Laurel, who teaches ninth grade English at Cherokee High School South in Marlton.

Camden:  Karen Kiick, of Collingswood, who teaches art at Haddon Township High School.

Cape May:  Patricia Regan, of Clermont (Cape May Court House), who teaches math to grades 6-8 at Crest Memorial School in Wildwood Crest.

Cumberland:  Susan Fenili, of Vineland, a third grade teacher at Silver Run School in Millville.

Essex:  Rosalie Sposito, a K-5 reading teacher at Northeast Global Studies Magnet School in Montclair.

Gloucester:  Robert Schroll, of Woodbury Heights, who teaches eighth grade mathematics at West Deptford Middle School.

Hudson:  Shelly Witham, of Cedar Grove, who teaches earth and space science, archeology and environmental science at High Tech High School in Jersey City.

Hunterdon:  Dennis Sienicki, of Phillipsburg, who teaches automotive technology at Hunterdon County Polytech in Flemington.

Mercer:  Jane Fetter, of Lawrenceville, a fifth grade teacher at Lawrence Intermediate School.

Middlesex:  Phyllis Volker, a seventh grade language arts teacher at Iselin Middle School in Woodbridge.

Monmouth:  Terri Kahrer, of Hazlet, a grade 2, 3 and 4 special education teacher at Raritan Valley Elementary School in Hazlet.

Morris:  Lucille Schmidt-Nering, of Summit, a special education teacher at Morris Knolls High School.

Ocean:  Linda Ramirez, of Toms River, a fifth grade teacher at Lanes Mills Road Elementary School in Brick.

Passaic:  Dorothy Quinn, of West Milford, who teaches English, publications and video production at Lakeland Regional High School in Wanaque.

Salem:  Paula Gorman, of Glassboro, who teaches music at Woodstown Middle School.

Somerset:  Nina Sutcliffe, of Plainsboro, who teaches music at Hillsborough Elementary School.

Sussex:  Merle Tanis, of Newton, who teaches biology at Newton High School.

Union:  Lynne Beriont, an eight grade language arts teacher at McManus Middle School in Linden.

Warren:  Pauline Albrecht, of Belvidere, a teacher/counselor at Franklin Township School.

State Facilities:  Maureen McCloud, of Hammonton, who teaches mathematics at the Life Skills and Leadership Academy in Tabernacle.

Non-PublicSchool Teacher of the Year:

Joseph Napoli, who teaches psychology, philosophy and music at St. Dominic Academy in Bayonne.

Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards:

James Darden, of Plainfield, who teaches English at Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Teaneck.

Camile Earle, of Edison, a reading specialist at Barringer High School in Newark.

National History Teacher of the Year:

Rosanne Lichatin, who teaches history at West Morris Regional High School in Long Valley.

New Jersey Finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching:

Lois Lyons, of Tinton Falls, who teaches chemistry at High Technology High School in Lincroft.

Bonnie Gendaszek, of Lambertville, who teaches mathematics at John Witherspoon Middle School in Princeton.

S. Leigh Nataro, of Easton, PA, who teaches mathematics at North Hunterdon Regional High School in Annandale.

Felicya Timmes, of Toms River, who teaches mathematics at Central Regional High School in Bayville.

The conference and awards luncheon were held at the Doubletree Hotel and Executive Meeting Center in Somerset.

For more information, please contact the DOE Office of Public Information at 609-292-1126.