New Jersey Department of Education

DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Nine New Jersey Public Schools Earn National Blue Ribbon Award
from the U.S. Department of Education

For Immediate Release
Contact: David Saenz
Date: September 28, 2017

Trenton, NJ – Today, the U.S. Department of Education announced that nine of New Jersey's public schools earned the Blue Ribbon designation for high student achievement and quality programs.

"I want to congratulate these nine New Jersey public schools for being selected as National Blue Ribbon Schools, the highest recognition bestowed by the United States Department of Education," said New Jersey Education Commissioner Kimberley Harrington. "These schools are being honored thanks to the dedication of their teachers, administrators, students, and school communities working together to achieve educational excellence."

National Blue Ribbon Schools are honored at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., where each receives a plaque and flag to signify its exemplary status. Details of their achievements are provided on the U.S. Department of Education's website.

The nine New Jersey public schools awarded the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools designation include:

Blue Ribbon Schools in New Jersey, 2017

County School Name School District
Atlantic Eugene A. Tighe Middle School Margate City School District
Middlesex Cheesequake Elementary School Old Bridge Township School District
Bergen Berkeley Avenue Elementary School Westwood Regional School District
Somerset Woodland School Warren Township School District
Mercer Littlebrook Elementary School Princeton Public School District
Hudson Academy I Middle School Jersey City School District
Morris Briarcliff Middle School Mountain Lakes Public School District
Monmouth Sea Girt Elementary School Sea Girt Borough School District
Union Academy for Allied Health Sciences Union County Vocational-Technical School District