NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
logo graphic
left of site navigation graphic
government graphic
government links graphic


State Constitution

Executive Branch

Legislative Branch

Judicial Branch

State Government - Executive Branch

The chief of the executive branch is the governor. The governor's office is located in the State House in Trenton. The governor signs bills into law or vetoes them. He or she can also recommend laws and call the legislature into special session. The governor has the power to grant pardons and is the only person with the authority to call in the National Guard.

The governor's official residence is a mansion called Drumthwacket, which is located in Princeton. The governor may use the mansion for meetings, ceremonies, and other sorts of business.

Throughout a typical day for the governor, he or she meets with citizens, legislators, and members of his or her staff. The governor often starts the day with a breakfast at Drumthwacket with a group of New Jerseyans such as veterans, teachers, or volunteers. During the day, the governor usually holds a public event, such as a bill signing or a speech.

The governor may serve any number of terms, but he or she cannot serve more than two terms in a row. To become governor, a person must be

  • at least 30 years old,
  • a U.S. citizen for at least 20 years, and
  • a New Jersey resident for seven years prior to the election.

Supporting the governor is his or her staff. The governor's staff deals with the media and makes his or her schedule. Certain staff members may also write speeches or do research to help the governor make policy decisions. Staff also informs the heads of different departments and legislative leaders about the governor's agenda.

In addition to the Governor's Office, there are 16 executive departments and many boards and commissions. Most executive officials serve four-year terms. The executive departments carry out the policies set by the governor. The officials who lead these agencies are appointed by the governor and approved by the state Senate. Officials appointed by the governor include the following:

  • Attorney General
  • Secretary of State
  • State Treasurer
  • Commissioners of the Departments of Agriculture, Banking and Insurance, Commerce, Community Affairs, Corrections, Education, Environmental Protection, Health and Senior Services, Human Services, Labor, Military and Veterans Affairs, Personnel, and Transportation
  • Judges (including the State Supreme Court)
  • County Prosecutors
  • County Boards of Election and Taxation
  • Members of Boards and Commissions
footer graphic
Past Features Internet Safety Parents and Teachers State Feedback Page and Contact List State Privacy Notice State Legal Notice Web Accessibility Policy Hangout NJ Home Page State Government State House New Jersey Governors Meet the Governor Meet the Lt. Governor How a Bill Becomes a Law