NEW JERSEY MEDICAL AID IN DYING FOR THE TERMINALLY ILL ACT
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Updated: April 12, 2021

Q1: What is New Jersey’s Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act?

Al: P.L. 2019, c.59 was approved on April 12, 2019, with an effective date of August 1, 2019. Known as
the “Medical Aid in Dying forthe Terminally Il Act,” this law permits terminally ill, adult patients residing
in New Jersey to obtain and self-administer medication to end their lives peacefully and humanely.

Q2: How does a qualified terminallyill patient obtain a prescription under New Jersey’s Medical Aid in
Dying for the Terminally lll Act?

A2: The following is a summary of the parameters under the Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Il
Act. The full law is available here: P.L.2019, c.59.

The Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act permitsan attending physician to write a prescription
for medication that would enable a qualified terminally ill patient to end his or herlife. The Act defines
“terminally ill” as “the terminal stage of an irreversibly fatalillness, disease, or condition with a prognosis,
based upon reasonable medical certainty, of a life expectancy of six monthsor less.” The Act defines an
“attending physician” as a “physician who has primary responsibility for the care of a patient and
treatment of a patient’s terminal disease.”

A person would not be considered a qualified terminally ill patient until a consulting physician has
examined the patient and his or her medical records, confirmed the attending physician’s diagnosis of a
terminal disease in writing, and verified that the patientis capable, is acting voluntarily and has made an
informed decision to request the medication.

The Act requires a qualified terminally ill patient to be a capable adult resident of New Jersey who has
been determined to be terminallyill by his or herattending physician and a consulting physician. A patient
could obtain a prescription for medication to end his or her life only if he or she has made an informed
decision. A request for medication must be made twice orally and once in writing. The oral requests must
be separated by at least 15 days. The written request would have to be signed and dated by the patient
and witnessed by atleast two people who attest that the patientis capable and acting voluntarily. One of
these witnesses would have to be a personwhoiis not:

e Relatedto the patient;

e Entitled to any portion of the patient’s estate;

e Anowner, operator, employer orresident of a health care facility at which the patientis receiving

medical treatment; or
e The patient’s attending physician

At the time of the initial oral request, an attending physician would have to recommend that the patient
take part in consultations on treatment opportunities. At the time of the second oral request, the
attending physician must offerthe patient the opportunity to rescind the request. Atleast 15 days would
have to elapse between the initial oral request and the writing of a prescription and 48 hours would have
to elapse between a patient signing the written request and the writing of the prescription. The written
request may be submitted at the same time as the first oral request orany time after that, but 48 hours
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must elapse between the patient’s signing of the written request and the physician’s writing of the
prescription.

Before prescribing medication that would end a patient’s life, an attending physician would be required
to:

e Determine whethera patientis terminallyill, is capable, and has made the request for medication
voluntarily;

e Have the patient demonstrate thathe or sheis a New Jersey resident by providing the physician
a governmentissued record such as a driver’s license or voter registration;

¢ Inform the patient of his or her diagnosis and prognosis, the risks associated with taking the
medication, the probable results of taking the medication, and any alternatives to taking the
medication;

e Referthe patient to a consulting physician for confirmation of the diagnosis and that the patient
is capable and acting voluntarily;

e Ifthe attending physician or consulting physician determines that the patient may not be capable,
referthe patientto a psychiatrist, psychologist, or clinical social workerto determine whether the
patientis capable;

e Recommendthatthe patientreceive consultation on treatment options, palliative care, comfort
care, hospice care, and pain control options and provide a referral to a health care professional
qualified to discuss these options;

e Advise the patient as to the importance of anotherperson being present when the medicationiis
taken and that the medication should not be takenin a public place;

¢ Inform the patient that the request for medication can be rescinded at any time and offer the
patient the opportunity torescind when the patient makes the second oral request; and

e Fulfill documentation requirements.

The attending physician is required to dispense medications directly to the patient or to contact a
pharmacist and transmit the prescription to the pharmacist. A pharmacist may only dispense medications
directly to the patient, the attending physician, oran identified agent of the patient. Medications shall not
be dispensed tothe patient by mail or otherform of courier.

If eitheran attending physician or consulting physician determinesthat a patient may not be capable, that
physician mustreferthe patientto a psychiatrist, psychologist, or clinical social worker who will determine
if the patient is capable. The Act defines “capable” as “having the capacity to make health care decisions
and to communicate them to a health care provider, including communication through persons familiar
with the patient’s manner of communicating if those persons are available.” Medication shall not be
prescribed until the psychiatrist, psychologist, or clinical social worker notifies the attending physician in
writing that the patient is capable.

The Act requires that a qualified terminally ill patient’s medical records contain documentation as to:

¢ The determination that the patientis a qualified terminally ill patient;

e Theoral requests and writtenrequest;

e The attending physician’s and consulting physician’s diagnosis, prognosis and determination that
the patient is capable, is acting voluntarily, and has made an informed decision;

e |If applicable, written notification from a psychiatrist, psychologist, or clinical social worker that
the patient is capable;

¢ The attending physician’s recommendation that the patient take part in consultations regarding
treatment opportunities;



e Theattending physician’s offerto the patient to rescind the request for medication; and
¢ The attending physician’s confirmation that all the requirements of the Act had been metand the
stepstakento meetthe patient’s request, including the type of medication prescribed.

Q3. What forms are required and where can | find them?
A3.
In orderfor a patientto receive a prescriptionin accordance with Medical Aid in Dying, the patient must
sign the following form:
1. RequestforMedicationto End My Life in a Humane and Dignified Manner

For compliance with the law, the physician or pharmacist who dispensed the medication must submit the
following to the Department of Health as soon as possible and no later than 30 days of dispensing
medication underthe Medical Aid in Dying Act:

1. Medication Dispensing Record

For compliance with the law, the attending physician must submit the following to the Department of
Health as soon as possible and no later than 30 days aftera Medical Aid in Dying Act patient’s death:

1. Copy of the above Requestfor Medication to End My Life in a Humane and Dignified Manner

2. AttendingPhysician Compliance Form

3. Consulting Physician Compliance Form

4. MentalHealth Professional Compliance Form (if applicable)

Forms with current filing instructions are available onthe Department of Health website.

Q4. What should | do if | am eligible for Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act, but my provider
or healthcare facility does not wish to participate?

A4. If a health care professionalis unable or unwilling to carry outa patient'srequestunderP.L. 2019,
¢.59 (C.26:16-1 et al.), the patient may transfer the patient’s care to a new health care professional or
health care facility. A healthcare facility that does not wish to engage in the medical aid in dying process
must facilitate the transfer of a patient to a new health care professional or health care facility at the
patient’s request. The prior health care professional also shall transfer, upon request, a copy of the
patient's relevant records to the new health care professional or health care facility.

Q5. Why are forms submitted to the New Jersey Chief State Medical Examiner (OCSME)?
A5. The Act requiresan annual reportand the reference datato produce that reportis being collected by
the OCSME. No personally identifyinginformation will be included in that report.

Q6. What happens between the death of a Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act patient and
production of that patient’s death certificate?

A6. The required forms must be submitted to the New Jersey Department of Health within 30 days of a
patient’s death. Atthe time of death, pertinent patientinformation must be conveyed tothe New Jersey
Office of the Chief State Medical Examinerto be reviewed. To ensure accuracy, the OCSME may provide
guidance to the patient’s attending physician in certifying the death certificate.

Q7. What will be listed as the “cause of death” on the death certificate of a qualified terminally ill
patient who dies underthe Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Il Act?

A7. For qualified terminally ill patients who die following ingestion of medication prescribed under the
Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act, the NJDOH Office of Vital Statistics and Registry
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recommends that providers record the underlying terminal disease as the cause of death and mark the
manner of death as “natural”. Any action taken in accordance with the provisions of P.L.2019, c.59
(C.26:16-1 etal.) shall not constitute suicide or assisted suicide.

Q8. How can | safely dispose of unused medication as aqualified terminally ill patient or as the patient’s
designee?

A8. Information is available online from the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs at
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/meddrop/Pages/Locations.aspx .

Q9. Where can | find information about advance directives, Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining
Treatment (POLST), and other end-of-life care information from the Department of Health?
A9. Information is available online at https://www.state.nj.us/health/advancedirective/.

Q10. Where can | address questions or concerns about New Jersey’s Medical Aid in Dying for the
Terminally Il Act?
A10.

e Consumersand providers may contact licensing authorities for furtherinformation. Information
is available from the State Board of Medical Examiners, the State Board of Social Workers, and
the State Board of Psychological Examiners.

e Inquiries about the reporting process: You may contact the New Jersey Office of the Chief State
Medical Examiner at (609) 815-2063 or email MAID@doh.nj.gov.

o To reporta death of a patientunder the Medical Aid in Dying Act, please call (973) 648-
4500 (available 24/7).
e |nquiriesfromthe press: You may contact the Department of Health’s Office of Communications.

Q11: Are participating patients reported to the State of New Jersey by name?

A11l: The State does collect the names of patients in order to cross-check and close death certificates.
However, the law guarantees the confidentiality of participants. Anyinformation collected under C.26:16-
13 that contains material or data that could be used to identify an individual patient or health care
professional shallnot be included under materials available to publicinspection pursuantto P.L.1963, c.73
(C.47:1A-1etseq.)and P.L.2001, c.404 (C.47:1A-5etal.).

Q12: What medication will my physician prescribe?
A12: It is up to the physician to determine which medication or medications to prescribe.

Q13: What will happen if a provider does not follow the prescribing or reporting requirements of the
law?

A13: The New Jersey Office of the Chief State Medical Examiner will review all reported cases. Any
discrepancies or reason for additional follow up will be conveyed to the appropriate regulator, including,
as relevant, the Board of Medical Examiners, Board of Pharmacy, the Health Systems branch within the
New Jersey Department of Health, the Prescription Monitoring Program, or other office.

Q14: How much does participation cost?
Al4: Thereis no fee charged by DOH for the reporting required under this law.

Q15: Can an attending provider writing a medical aid in dying prescription use a patient’s request to
another attending provider to start the 15 day waiting period? Can a patienttransfertheirrequest from
one attending providerto another attending providerwithout restarting the 15 day waiting period?
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A15: Yes. The Medical Aid in Dying for the Terminally Il Act allows for care to be transferred from one
attending provider to another. The countdown for the 15 day waiting period starts from the date the

patient makes their initial request to any attending provider as documented in the patient’s medical
record.



