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A case manager is assigned to your child’s case
and will be in contact with you.
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For Early Intervention Services for infants and

The case manager can help you locate services toddlers under 3 years old with developmental
that you or your child may need, such as: delays and disabilities, call the Early Intervention
System Telephone Referral Line:
* Early Intervention Services, if eligible Phone: 1-888653-4463
 Financial aid for a catastrophic illness
* Special summer camps For children birth through 21 years old with

e Help with durable medical equipment
e Other services and resources in your
county

special health care needs and chronic medical
conditions, call the Special Child Health Services
Case Management Unit for the listing of a case
management unit in your county of residence:

Phone: 609-777-7778
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New Jersey
Birth Defects Registry
(BDR)

Facts:

e Every 4 % minutes a baby is

born with a birth defect in the
United States, according to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

e In New Jersey, about 20 babies are born
each day with a birth defect.

e With over 100,000 births each year, the
New Jersey Birth Defects Registry (BDR)
tracks more than 8,000 babies with birth

defects and connects them to needed

services.

What is a birth defect?

A birth defect is any physical, mental or chemical
abnormality present at birth (like Down
Syndrome, PKU, or cleft palate).

What causes birth defects?

For some birth defects, like fetal alcohol
syndrome, we know the cause. However, for most
birth defects, the cause is not known. If you have
any questions about a birth defect, talk to your
primary healthcare provider or doctor.

What are the most common birth
defects?

In New Jersey, the most common birth defects are
congenital heart defects. Other common defects
are Down syndrome, club feet, and cleft lip and
palate.

How can the Birth Defects
Registry (BDR) help you?

The BDR connects children to
the Special Child Health Services
(SCHS) Case Management Unit
of the New Jersey Department

of Health. Case managers are
assigned to each registered child
to help families find the services they need to help
care for their child.

History

The history of the Registry dates back to 1926 when
the Crippled Children’s Program was created to
help children with orthopedic conditions, such as
club feet and polio, receive State aid. In 1983, the
name changed to the Birth Defects Registry, and
more conditions were added.

Who must be registered? ks S5 Sy
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«» Have a birth defect " e p
«» Are younger than 6 years
of age, and
«» Live in New Jersey or
become a resident of
New Jersey
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Who registers my child?

The following are required to register:
e The hospital where your child was born
e The hospital where your child received
care
e The doctor or medical office where your
child was diagnosed with a birth defect

What information does the Registry
contain?

e Child’s name, date of birth and other
birth information

¢ Parent(s) name and date of birth (if no
biological parent is mentioned,
the name of the guardian)

¢ Child’s Address

e Reporting facility

¢ Information about the birth defect(s)

Can | refuse to have my child
registered?

State law requires that the hospital or health
care professional who makes a birth defects
diagnosis must register the information with the
BDR. Your consent is not required to have your
child registered. However, the hospital or the
person reporting your child should inform you
of the registration process.

Is the information in the Registry
confidential?

Yes. This is a confidential Registry. Information
submitted to the BDR by a reporting facility,
such as a hospital or a doctor’s office, is not
shared with anyone or with any agency without
your consent. Information is kept in a secure
computer system.

How is the collected information
used?

The information collected by the BDR is used
to refer children to case management services.
It is also used to collect information on the
numbers and types of defects reported in
New Jersey.



