## New Jersey Department of Health Vital Statistics and Registry PO Box 370 Trenton, NJ 08625-0370

# APPLICATION FOR AN UNCERTIFIED COPY OF AN ADOPTED PERSON'S ORIGINAL BIRTH RECORD INSTRUCTIONS

## Who May Apply?

Beginning January 1, 2017, individuals authorized by state law may obtain an uncertified copy of an original birth record established prior to an adoption without first obtaining a Superior Court Order.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 26:8-40.1, the following individuals are authorized to receive an uncertified, long-form copy of an adopted person's original certificate of birth:

A person 18 years of age or older who can establish himself or herself as one of the following:

- The adopted person;
- A direct descendant, sibling or spouse of the adopted person;
- An adoptive parent, legal guardian or other legal representative of the adopted person; or
- An agency of the State or federal government for official purposes.

### How to Obtain an Adopted Person's Original Birth Certificate:

If you are authorized to receive an uncertified copy of an adopted person's original birth record, then you may obtain the birth certificate by mailing the following to the Department of Health, Office of Vital Statistics and Registry:

- Application form REG-41;
- · Copies of all identification items listed below;
- Documentation listed below to establish your relationship to the adoptee;
- Fee of \$25 for the first copy and \$2 for each additional copy ordered at the same time
  - Please do not send cash by mail. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the State Treasurer of New Jersey.
  - For applications received prior to January 2017, we will search for the record and cash your check, but documents will not be mailed out until January 2017, in accordance with the law.

Mail to: Office of Vital Statistics and Registry

Adoption Request Unit

PO Box 370

Trenton, NJ 08625-0370

What You Will Receive if You Meet the Requirements for Receipt of an Uncertified Copy of the Adopted Person's Original Birth Certificate and if the Office of Vital Statistics and Registry Locates the Requested Birth Record:

- A non-certified copy of the adopted person's original birth record, which will clearly state "ISSUED FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. NOT TO BE USED FOR IDENTIFICATION OR LEGAL PURPOSES."
  - o For adoptions finalized before August 1, 2015, a birth parent may direct the State Registrar to redact his or her personal identifying information from their biological child's original birth certificate. Birth parents must make this request on or before December 31, 2016 in order for their redaction request to be accepted. Therefore, a copy of the adopted person's original birth record may have birth parent information redacted.

- Contact information for birth parents, IF provided by birth parents.
- Family History (medical, social and cultural), IF provided by birth parents.

#### **How Do You Receive Your Record?**

- Your record will be mailed to you at the address on your application through regular first class mail.
- Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks from receipt of request.
- No requests will be mailed prior to the law's effective date of January 1, 2017.
- Adoptees may apply for their record at any time, but we will not mail out orders prior to January 2017.

## **Identification Requirements:**

If you are applying for your OWN record, the following are acceptable forms of ID:

- A current, valid photo driver's license or photo non-driver's license with your current address; **OR**
- A current, valid driver's license without photo and one alternate form of ID with your current address; OR
- A copy of your current, legal birth certificate; OR
- Two alternate forms of ID, one of which must have your current address:
  - Vehicle registration
  - o Vehicle insurance card
  - Voter registration
  - US/Foreign Passport
  - o Immigrant Visa
  - Permanent Resident Card (Green card)
  - o Government Issued ID: Federal, State, County or Municipal
  - o School ID
  - Bank Statement (within previous 90 days)
  - Utility bill (within the previous 90 days)
  - o Tax Return or W-2 for current/previous tax year.
- If you have assumed your spouse's/civil union partner's last name, you must provide a copy of the certified copy of your marriage/civil union certificate to link the name on your current ID to the name on your birth certificate.

If you are applying for the record of an adoptee for whom you are a direct descendant, a sibling or the spouse of the adopted person:

- ID as indicated above:
- Your own birth certificate;
- If you have assumed your spouse's/civil union partner's last name, you must provide a copy of the certified copy of your marriage/civil union certificate to link the name on your current ID to the name on your birth certificate; AND
- You must establish that you are the person's sibling, child, or spouse by providing proof that links the name on your ID to the name of the adoptee. For example; your birth certificate showing common parent(s), the adoptee's name as your parent on your birth certificate, or a marriage certificate with the adoptee's name.

If you are applying for the record of an adoptee for whom you are either an adoptive parent, legal guardian or other legal representative of the adopted person:

- ID as indicated above.
- Adoptee's legal birth certificate (post adoption) for adoptive parents.
- Legal documents establishing guardianship, for guardian.
- A retainer letter stating that you are the legal representative of the adoptee for attorney.