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REGISTERING A DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP IN NEW JERSEY
REGISTRAR UNA SOCIEDAD DOMÉSTICA EN NEW JERSEY

What are the requirements to register a Domestic Partnership?
¿Cuales son los requisitos de eligibilidad para registrar una Sociedad Doméstica?

Couples wishing to register a Domestic Partnership must be same sex couples OR opposite sex
couples who are both 62 years of age or older.  Couples must meet the following requirements:
Parejas que desean registrar una Sociedad Doméstica deben ser del mismo sexo o de ambos
sexo mayores de 62 años de edad.  La pareja debe cumplir con los siguientes requisitos:
1. Share a common residence in New Jersey or in any other jurisdiction provided that at

least on the applicants is a member of a New Jersey State-administered retirement
system.
Compartir una residencia en común en Nueva Jersey ó en otra jurisdicción provista que
uno de los solicitantes pertenezca al sistema administrativo estatal de retiro de New
Jersey.

2. Both persons are jointly responsible for each other’s common welfare as evidenced by
joint financial arrangements or joint ownership of real or personal property.
Ambos sean responsables del bien estar en común demostrando como evidencia por
acuerdo financiero ó propiedades en común.

3. Both persons agree to be jointly responsible for each other’s basic living expenses
during the domestic partnership.
Ambos acepten ser responsables por gastos básicos en común durante la sociedad
doméstica.

4. Neither applicant is in a marriage or civil union recognized by New Jersey law or a
member of another domestic partnership.
No pertenecer a un matrimonio ó unión civil reconocida en New Jersey ó ser miembro de
una sociedad doméstica con otro individuo.

5. Neither person is related to the other by blood or affinity up to and including the fourth
degree of consanguinity.
No tener vínculos de sangre ó afinidad hasta e incluyendo el cuarto grado de
consanguinidad (i.e., estos sean primos de primery generacion ó más distantes).

6. Both persons have chosen to share each other’s lives in a committed relationship of
mutual caring.
Escogen compartir sus vidas con un compromiso de cuidado mutuo.

7. Neither applicant has terminated another domestic partnership within the last 180 days.
(This prohibition shall not apply when the previous partnership ended due to the death of
the other partner.)
No haber terminado otra sociedad doméstica en los últimos 180 días.  (Esta prohibición no
aplica cuando la sociedad anterior terminó por causa de fallecimiento de su pareja.)

Where can you obtain an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership?
¿Dónde obtener una Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica?

The Affidavit of Domestic Partnership form must be obtained from a Local Registrar of Vital
Statistics in any municipality in the State of New Jersey. The Affidavit of Domestic Partnership
does not have to be obtained (or filed) in the municipality in which the domestic partners reside.
A list of Local Registrars is available on the Department of Health website at
www.nj.gov/health/vital/regbycnty.shtml. The Affidavit of Domestic Partnership must be
completed and signed by both applicants at the same time, in the presence of a notary public
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and notarized. Many Local Registrar Offices have notaries on staff; please call to verify this
information with the Local Registrar.
La Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica debe ser obtenida de la Oficina Local de Registros
Civiles en cualquier municipalidad del Estado de New Jersey.  Estas no tienen que ser obtenida (o
registrada) en la municipalidad de residencia de ningunos de los solicitantes.  Un listado de las
Oficinas Locales de Registros Civiles puede ser obtenida en nuestra página de Internet
www.nj.gov/health/vital/regbycnty.shtml.  Esta debe ser completada, firmada y notarizada por
ambos solicitantes al mismo tiempo en presencia de un Notary Public en la oficina.  Se
recomienda contactar la oficina local por anticipación para verificar esta información.

What should you bring when completing the Affidavit of Domestic Partnership
with a notary public?
¿Qué debo presentar al completar una Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica ante
un Notary Public?

Each applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and
proof of residency. This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government
agency, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, military identification or
state/county identification card.
Todo solicante debe presentar documentos de identificacion validos que establezcan su nombre,
edad, fecha del nacimiento, y domicilio.  Esto puede ser provisto con algunos documentos
emitidos por agencias gubernamentales como son; copias certificadas de partidas de nacimiento,
licencia de conducir, identificación militar, estatal ó de condado.

Where should the Affidavit of Domestic Partnership be filed?
¿Dónde obtener una Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica?

The Affidavit of Domestic Partnership must be filed and registered with the Local Registrar of
Vital Statistics in any municipality in the State of New Jersey.  The Affidavit of Domestic
Partnership does not have to be filed or registered in the municipality in which the domestic
partners reside.
La Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica debe ser compledada y registrada con un Oficial
Local de Registros Civiles de cualquier municipio en el Estado de New Jersey.  Estas no tienen
que sercompletada o registrada en la municipalidad de residencia de ningunos de los solicitantes.

What should you bring when filing the Affidavit of Domestic Partnership with a
Local Registrar?
¿Qué debo presental al completar una Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica ante
un Oficial Local de Registros Civiles?

1. Applicants must appear together and each must supply valid identification that
establishes name, age and date of birth.  This may be supplied by one or more
documents issued by a government agency, such as a certified copy of a birth
certificate, driver’s license, military identification or state/county identification card.
Los solicitantes deben presentarse juntos y proveer documentos de identificación válidos
que establezcan su nombre, edad, y fecha del nacimiento.  Esto puede ser provisto con
algunos documentos emitidos por agencias gubernamentales como son; copias
certificadas de partidas de nacimiento, licencia de conducir, identificación militar, estatal
ó de condado.
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2. Applicants must bring with them proof of residence.  If the residence is outside the State
of New Jersey, at least one of the applicants must provide proof of membership in a New
Jersey State-administered Retirement System by providing one of the following
documents issued by the Division of Pension and Benefits:
Los solicitantes deben presentar prueba de domicilio.  Si el domicilio es fuera de New
Jersey, uno de los aplicantes debe proveer prueba de pertenecer al sistema administrativo
estatal de retiro (Pension Plan) de New Jersey presentando uno de los siguientes
documentos emitido por la División de Pensión y Beneficios:
a. Personal Benefits Statement from the current or previous year,

Declaración de Beneficios Personales de año reciente ó anterior,
b. 1099R from the current or previous year, or

1099R de año reciente ó anterior, o
c. Certificate of Pension Membership.

Certificado de Afiliación de Pensión.
3. Applicants must provide proof of joint financial responsibility, evidenced by at least one

of the following documents:
Los solicitantes deben presnetar evidencia de responsabilidad conjunta financiera con
por lo menos uno de los siguientes documentos:
a. Joint deed, mortgage agreement or lease;

Acción conjunta, el acuerdo de hipoteca o contraro de arrendamiento;
b. Joint bank account;

Cuenta bancaria conjunta;
c. Designation of one of the persons as primary beneficiary in the other persons

will;
La designación de uno de las personas como beneficiario primario en el
testamento de la otra persona;

d. Designation of one of the persons as primary beneficiary in the other persons
insurance policy or retirement plan, or
La designación de uno de las personas como beneficiario primario en el seguro o
plan de retiro de la otra persona; o

e. Joint ownership of a motor vehicle.
La co-propiedad de un automóvil.

4. Payment of $28.00.
Tarifa aplicable de $28.00.

What is a Certificate of Domestic Partnership?
¿Qué es un Certificado de Sociedad Doméstica?

A Certificate of Domestic Partnership is the document that is prepared by the Local Registrar
after you have filed your signed and notarized Affidavit of Domestic Partnership.  Each partner
is presented with an informational copy of the Certificate at the time it is prepared.  This
informational copy is only issued as your receipt that your Domestic Partnership has been
registered; it serves no legal purpose.  Each partner will also receive a copy of the Affidavit of
Domestic Partnership and a copy of the Notice of Rights and Obligation for Domestic Partners.
Certificado de Sociedad Doméstica es un documento emitido por el Oficial Local de Registros
Diviles luego de haber presentada, firmada y notarizada la Declaración Jurada de Sociedad
Doméstica.  Cada pareja es presentada con una copia informática es solo emitido como recibo de
que la Sociedad Doméstica a sido registrada; y no tiene ningún valor legal.  Cada pareja también
recibirá una copia de la Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica y una copia de sus Derechos
y Obligación como Parejas Domésticas.
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What do you need to prove your Domestic Partnership has been registered?
¿Qué necesito para probar que su Sociedad Doméstica a sido registrada?

To show proof of a Registered Domestic Partnership, you must obtain a certified copy of the
Certificate of Domestic Partnership.  A certified copy can be obtained from the Local Registrar
of Vital Statistics where the Partnership was registered or at the State Office of Vital Statistics
and Registry. To obtain the certificate, you must identify the date and the location of the filing for
the Domestic Partnership, and provide identification to establish yourself as one of the partners
listed on the document. Fees for the certified copies vary by municipality.
Para presentar prueba de la Registración de una Sociedad Doméstica, debe obtener una copia
certificada del Certificado de Sociedad Doméstica.  Esta puede obtenerse en la Oficina Local
donde se registro el evento o en la Oficina Estatal de Registros Civiles.  Para obtener una copia
del certificado, debe identificar la fecha y lugar del registro de la Sociedad Doméstica y proveer
identificación estableciendo su identidad.  Las tarifas para las copias certificadas varían por
municipalidad.

What are the basic steps to register a Domestic Partnership?
¿Cuales son los pasos básicos para registrar una Sociedad Doméstica?

The applicants must obtain an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership from a Local Registrar of Vital
Statistics. The Affidavit must be completed and signed by both applicants at the same time, in
the presence of a notary public and notarized. The applicants must appear together to file with
the Local Registrar of Vital Statistics and the required fee of $28 remitted. Domestic
Partnerships are not considered registered until the Affidavit has been filed with a Local
Registrar’s Office and the Certificate of Domestic Partnership has been issued.
Los solicitantes deben obtener una Declaración Jurada de Sociedad Doméstica de la Oficina
Local de Registros Civiles.  Esta debe ser completada y firmada por ambos solicitantes al mismo
tiempo en presencia de un Notary Public.  Los solicitantes también deben presentarse juntos para
registrar la Declaración Jurada un Oficial Local de Registros Civiles de cualquier municipio en el
estado y pagar la tarifa aplicable de $28.  Las Sociedades Domésticas no se consideran
registradas hasta que la Declaración Jurada haya sido archivada con la Oficina Local de
Registros Civiles y el Certificado de Sociedad Doméstica seaemitido.
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