State of New Jersey Department of Health
Office of Vital Statistics and Registry
Request Form and Attestation (REG-L2)
to Amend Sex Designation
to Reflect Gender Identity on a Birth Certificate - Adult

In compliance with N.J.S.A. 26:8-40.12, the State Registrar shall issue an amended certificate of birth to a person born in the State of New
Jersey who requests an amended certificate of birth which shows the gender and, if applicable, the new name of the person if it has been
changed. Specifically, “The State Registrar shall issue the amended certificate of birth upon receipt of: (1) a certified copy of an
order from a court of competent jurisdiction which indicates that the name of the person has been changed, if the person has
changed his or her name; and (2) a form provided by the State Registrar and completed by the person, [...Jwhich affirms the
following language: ‘I, (petitioner’s current full name), hereby attest under penalty of perjury that the request for a change in
gender to (female, male, or undesignated/non-binary) is to conform my legal gender to my gender identity and is not for any
fraudulent purpose.””

QUESTION 1. PETITIONER’S INFORMATION

1A. Petitioner’s Name (as it appears on your current Birth Certificate)

First Middle Last
1B. Petitioner’s Current Legal Name *Required attachment: Proof of identity showing your full legal name.
First Middle Last

1C. Is your current legal name different from that which appears on your current Birth Certificate?

Jves [ No

*If yes, required attachment: A certified copy of the legal name change court order, or Marriage Certificate.
1D. Date of Birth 1E. Place of Birth

(MM/DD/YYYY) City County

1F. Mother/Parent A Name (as it appears on your current Birth Certificate)

First Middle Last

1G. Father/Parent B Name (as it appears on your current Birth Certificate)

First Middle Last

1H. Petitioner’s Mailing Address

Street Address City State | Zip Code | Country

11. Petitioner’s Phone Number 1J. Petitioner’s Email Address

( )

QUESTION 2. INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR AMENDMENT OF YOUR BIRTH CERTIFICATE

2A. Which sex designation is currently shown on your Birth Certificate?

] Female O male ] Not Yet Determined

2B. Which sex designation/gender identity are you requesting to be shown on your amended Birth Certificate?

L] Female O Male ] undesignated/Non-binary
“Undesignated/Non-binary” encompasses all gender identities that are not exclusively male or female.

2C. Are you requesting a name change on the amended Birth Certificate?

O Yes ($2 fee) ] No - If no, skip to Question 3.

2D. If requesting a name change, have you obtained a court order for a name change?

O vYes O No- If no, name change will not be processed. Skip to Question 3.
*If yes, required attachment: A certified copy of the legal name change court order.

2E. If requesting a name change with court order, what is the current full legal name indicated on the court order?
This is the full legal name that will appear on the amended Birth Certificate.

First Middle Last
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State of New Jersey Department of Health
Office of Vital Statistics and Registry
Request Form and Attestation (REG-L2)
to Amend Sex Designation
to Reflect Gender Identity on a Birth Certificate - Adult

QUESTION 3. ORDER CERTIFIED COPIES OF AMENDED BIRTH CERTIFICATE

3A. Do you want certified copies of the amended Birth Certificate at this time?

O Yes - 3B. How many copies?
(S6 for first copy; $2 for each additional copy ordered at the same time as the first request.) See fees section below.

] No

ATTESTATION
Attestation and signature are required to process request.

l, (petitioner’s current full name), hereby attest under penalty

of perjury that my request for a change in gender to [ Female [ Male [ Undesighated/Non-binary is to
conform my legal gender to my gender identity and is not for any fraudulent purpose.

Petitioner’s Signature Date

FEES, IF APPLICABLE

Please calculate fees owed below. Make check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of New Jersey.” Do not send cash.

$6.00 one-time fee for the first requested certified copy of the amended birth certificate.

$2.00 X (for each additional certified copy of the amended birth certificate ordered at the same time as
the first request).

$2.00 one-time fee to register a court ordered legal name change with the State of New Jersey, Department of
Health, Office of Vital Statistics and Registry. Only submit this fee if requesting a name change on the amended
Birth Certificate (and submitting court order for name change with this request).

STOTAL Submitted Make check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of New Jersey.” Do not send cash.

Note: For copies of certified birth certificates requested at any later date, the fee is $25.00 for the first copy and $2.00
for each additional copy.

SUBMISSION BY MAIL WITH REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS AND FEES, IF APPLICABLE
Office of Vital Statistics & Registry — Records Modification Unit

NJ Department of Health

P.O. Box 370

Trenton, NJ 08625-0370

Amendment requests are not accepted in-person.

Questions? Please see related “Frequently Asked Questions” available on the NJ Department of Health - Office
of Vital Statistics and Registry website.
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