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Dear Ms. Kelsey:

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, under authority of federal law, imposes a requirement on
state governments to ensure that nurse aides have the education and clinical skills
necessary to care for residents of long-term care facilities. See 42 C.F.R. Part 483.
These regulations also require that each State maintain a nurse aide Registry, which,
pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), must contain all substantiated findings by the
State of resident mistreatment, abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of resident property
by a certified nurse aide.

The Certification Program of the New Jersey State Department of Health (Department)
was notified of the results of an investigation in which there was sufficient information
that you committed acts of misappropriation when you wrongfully obtained a Family
First Card from a long-term care resident entrusted in your care.

The incident occurred around May of 2024, while you were employed as a certified nurse
aide at Mount Holly Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center, in Lumberton, New Jersey.
Specifically, an investigation by the facility and Lumberton Township Police Department
established credible evidence that on various occasions you purchased goods using the
resident's Family First Card, in which there was a total of $639.02 of charges incurred on
the resident’s card. On June 21, 2024, you were charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:20-36A and
N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3A; however, on October 16, 2024, the charges were downgraded and
you pleaded guilty to Entitled Peace and Good Order. Your actions were willful and
constitute misappropriation in accordance with the federal definitions under 42 C.F.R.
483.5.




The Department summarily suspended your nurse aide certification on September 17,
2024. The Department did receive your request for an expedited hearing to contest the
summary suspension within the 30-day timeframe of receipt and it had been transmitted
to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL). Subsequently, the Department issued a Right
to Hearing Notice on October 19, 2024. The Department received your request for a
hearing on February 4, 2025. However, on February 20, 2025, the Department’s Office
of Legal and Regulatory Compliance issued an Out of Time Response Notice advising
you that the request for the hearing was denied due to the failure of requesting a
hearing in the allotted 30 days from the date of the Right to Hearing Notice.

Therefore, in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), please be advised that a
finding of misappropriation will be placed next to your name on the Registry and will

remain on the Registry permanently. Please also be advised that your certification is
hereby revoked.

Please surrender your nurse aide certificate and wallet card to:
Office of Program Compliance-Reporting
120 South Stockton Street, 3rd Floor
Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

The certificate and the wallet card are no longer valid, and the status of your
nurse aide certification is now revoked.

Please be advised that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.1(a)(1), only individuals who
maintain a currently valid nurse aide certificate and are registered in good standing on
the Registry are considered by the Department to be competent to work as a certified
nurse aide in a licensed long term care facility. A certified nurse aide is no longer
registered in good standing if a finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation by the
certified nurse aide’s name is included on the Registry. Therefore, you are prohibited
from employment as a certified nurse aide when a finding of misappropriation remains
next to your name on the Registry.

In accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156 and N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.7, you are entitled to submit
a written statement contesting the findings noted above. This statement will be
maintained on the Registry. If you wish to submit such a written statement, you must do
so within 20 days of the date of this letter. Your letter should reference “Notice of
Revocation of Nurse Aide Certificate: Contested Findings.”



Please forward this statement to the Office of Program Compliance-Reporting along

with your nurse aide certification and your nurse aid card to the address listed
above. /Mﬂb’
Sincqrely,
Lisa King, Program Manager
Office of Program Compliance Division of
Certificate of Need and Licensing
New Jersey Department of Health
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