Guidelines for Reporting STDs in New Jersey for Health Care and Service Providers

(From New Jersey Title 8, chapter 57, subchapter 1. The complete subchapter can be found at http://nj.gov/health/cd/njac857.pdf)

I Requirements for Reporting Sexually Transmitted Diseases/Infections in New Jersey

The following Sexually Transmitted Diseases must be reported to the NJ DHSS STD Program within 24 hours of diagnosis:

- Chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi)
- Chlamydial Infections, sexually transmitted (Chlamydia trachomatis)
- Chlamydial Infections, neonatal (Chlamydia trachomatis)
- Gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae)
- Granuloma inguinale (Calymmatobacterium granulomatis)
- Lymphogranuloma venereum (Chlamydia trachomatis)
- Syphilis, primary and secondary (Treponema pallidum)
- Syphilis, congenital

The following persons and institutions are required to report reportable STDS to the NJ DHSS STD Program:

- Physicians
- Advanced practice nurses
- Physicians Assistants
- Persons having control or supervision over a hospital, or other health care facility, correctional facility, school, summer camp, child care center, preschool, or institution of higher education.

The report of an STD must include the following:

- The name of disease
- Personal and demographic information for the person infected with said disease to include:
 - 1. Name
 - 2. Age and date of birth
 - 3. Address and telephone number
 - 4. Gender
 - 5. Race
 - 6. Ethnicity
- The date of onset of illness
- The name, address, phone number, and institution of the reporting official
- Any other information required by the NJ DHSS concerning a specific disease

II How to Report Sexually Transmitted Diseases/Infections to the NJ DHSS STD Program

Because reportable STDs must be reported within 24 hours of diagnosis, reports must be made by fax or phone. Most commonly STDs are reported by faxing a "Confidential STD Report Form" to our secure fax line. However, STDs may also be reported via phone during regular business hours.

Reporting STDs by Secure Fax:

- Fill out <u>all</u> fields of a "Confidential STD Report Form", including all demographic information. (available for download on the NJ DHSS STD Web Site www.nj.gov/health/cd/stdhome.htm).
- Fax the form to the NJ DHSS STD Program at (609) 826-4870

Reporting STDs by phone:

• Call the NJ DHSS STD Program at (609)826-4869, and tell the staff person who answers your name, institution, and that you are calling to report an STD.

SENIOR SERVICES