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CORRECTED NOTICE OF RULE WAIVER/MODIFICATION/SUSPENSION 

PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 103 (MURPHY)(MARCH 9, 2020) 

AND EXECUTIVE ORDER 119 (MURPHY) (APRIL 7, 2020) 

COVID-19 STATE OF EMERGENCY  

 

Temporary Rule WAIVER/MODIFICATION OF N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2 – Qualifications of the 

Administrator of an Assisted Living Residence or Comprehensive Personal Care Home, 

adopted by THE COMMISSIONER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Date Corrected:  May 15, 2020  

Authority:  N.J.S.A. App.A:9-45 & App. A:9-47; Executive Order No. 103 (Murphy)(“EO 103”); 

Executive Order No. 119 (Murphy)(“EO 119”) 

Effective Date: April 23, 2020  

Expiration Date:  Concurrent with the conclusion of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency 

This is an emergency adoption of a temporary rule waiver/modification of N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2(l) 

and (m), which sets forth the requirements for restoration of an assisted living administrator 

certification from inactive status within three years of inactivity.  Section 6 of EO 103, issued in 

response to the COVID-19 pandemic, authorizes agency heads to waive/suspend/modify any 

existing rule, where the enforcement of the rule would be detrimental to the public welfare during 

the emergency, notwithstanding the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act or any law to 

the contrary.  Pursuant to that authority, as well as the Emergency Health Powers Act, N.J.S.A. 

26:13-1 to -31, and with the approval of the Governor and in consultation with the State Director 

of Emergency Management, the Commissioner of the Department of Health is waiving its rules as 

follows: 

COVID-19 is a contagious, and at times fatal, respiratory disease that is responsible for the 

2019 novel coronavirus outbreak.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) expects 

that additional cases of COVID-19 will be identified in the coming days, including more cases in 

the United States, and that person-to-person spread is likely to continue to occur.  As of April 21, 

2020, there were at least 92,387 positive cases of COVID-19 in New Jersey, with at least 4,753 of 

those cases having resulted in death.  If COVID-19 continues to spread in New Jersey at a rate 

comparable to the rate of spread in other affected areas, it will greatly strain the health care 

professionals charged with caring for patients ill with COVID-19 and may become too large in 

scope to be handled by New Jersey’s currently certified health care professionals. Staffing 

shortages have already been reported at long-term care facilities, assisted living facilities, assisted 

living programs and comprehensive personal care homes throughout New Jersey. 



Under N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2(k), an individual may request the restoration of his or her assisted 

living administrator certification from inactive status within three years of inactivity. To restore 

the certification, N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2(l) requires the administrator to complete an assisted living 

training course consistent with the education requirements identified at N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2(b) and 

pay the then-current certification fee.  Additionally, under N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2(m), inactive 

administrators must also complete 10 hours of continuing education credits for each year in which 

the certification was inactive in addition to the required 30 hours of continuing education credits 

for the last completed triennial certification period in which the administrator’s certification was 

active.  

This waiver is necessary to ensure that a sufficient number of qualified administrators are 

available to staff New Jersey’s assisted living facilities and comprehensive personal care homes 

so that the facilities can effectively address the increasing number of both staff and residents being 

diagnosed with or suspected of having COVID-19.  Increasing the number of available qualified 

administrators will allow assisted living facilities and comprehensive personal care homes to 

provide their staff with adequate and necessary support and supervision to ensure continuity of 

operations and provision of quality care. 

Pursuant to this temporary rule waiver/modification, individuals whose assisted living 

administrators certification became inactive within the past three years (April 1, 2017 to April 1, 

2020) are eligible to have their certification restored provided: (1) the applicant is not currently 

under investigation by the Assisted Living Administrators Panel or other State licensing authority; 

(2) the applicant’s certification is not suspended, revoked, or restricted pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:36-

3.5; and (3) the applicant does not have a criminal history or pending criminal charges per N.J.A.C. 

8:43I-4.1 et seq.  If an applicant does not fall into one of these disqualification categories, then the 

applicant may initiate the temporary restoration process by emailing Lesley M. Clelland at 

Lesely.Clelland@doh.nj.gov.  In order to have their certificates restored applicants must: 

1. Complete the 10-hour Temporary Assisted Living Administrator Program 

sponsored by Longtree & Associates, LLC; 

2. Successfully pass a criminal background check required by N.J.A.C. 8:43I-4.1 

et seq.; and  

3. Pay the current Assisted Living Administrator certification fee. 

Upon successful completion of these requirements, the Department will issue the applicant a 

provisional certification. Applicants who successfully restore their certifications will need to 

provide their name, date of birth, and Social Security number to the Department. The information 

should be sent within a week of their certification restoration to: 

Lesley M. Clelland, Program Specialist 3 

 New Jersey Department of Health 

 P.O. Box 358 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0358 

This temporary rule waiver/modification, as well as any provisional certifications issued 

thereunder, will expire forty-five (45) days after the end of the Public Health Emergency declared 

by Governor Philip D. Murphy in Executive Order Nos. 103 and EO 119. After the provisional 

certifications issued under this temporary rule waiver/modification have expired, individuals 



whose assisted living administrator certifications have expired will no longer be permitted to 

function as certified assisted living administrators. Individuals wishing to obtain a full certification 

as an Assisted Living Administrator will be required to successfully complete the full requirements 

for inactive certifications set out at N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2.  

Full Text of the affected regulations follows, with additional terms and conditions indicated 

in boldface: 

 

8:36-3.2 Qualifications of the administrator of an assisted living residence or comprehensive 

personal care home  

 

 (l) An individual requesting restoration of his or her certification from inactive status within three 

years of inactivity shall be required to pay the then-current certification fee and comply with the 

education requirements identified at (b) above. 

 

(m) The applicant shall be required to complete 10 hours of continuing education credit for each 

year in which the certification was inactive in addition to the required 30 hours of continuing 

education for the last completed triennial certification period in which the applicant's certification 

was active. 

 

(n)  An administrator whose certification is in an inactive status and who subsequently fails to 

meet the requirements identified at (j) through (m) above shall be required to apply in writing for 

restoration of certification under the requirements as determined by the Certification Program on 

an individual basis and as provided for in these rules 

 

(o) Notwithstanding the above provisions, during the period of the COVID-19 Public Health 

Emergency, individuals whose Assisted Living Administrator certification became inactive 

within the past three years (April 1, 2017 to April 1, 2020) are eligible for restoration under 

the following conditions: 
 

1. An applicant is DISQUALIFIED from the restoration process if: (1) the 
applicant is currently under investigation by the Assisted Living 
Administrators Panel or other State licensing authority; (2) the applicant’s 
certification is suspended, revoked, or restricted pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:36-
3.5; or (3) the applicant fails a criminal history background check per N.J.A.C. 
8:36-3.2(d)(3) and (i)(2).  
 

2. If an applicant qualifies for the restoration process then the applicant must: 
 

a. Complete the 10-hour Temporary Assisted Living Administrator Program 

sponsored   by Longtree & Associates, LLC; 

 
b. Successfully pass a criminal background check required by N.J.A.C. 

8:43I-4.1 et seq.; and  
 

c. Pay the current Assisted Living Administrator certification fee. 
 

3. Upon successful completion of the above requirements, the Department will 
issue the applicant a provisional assisted living administrator certification. 



 
4. This temporary rule waiver/modification, as well as any provisional 

certifications issued thereunder, will expire forty-five (45) days after the end 
of the Public Health Emergency declared by Governor Philip D. Murphy in 
Executive Order Nos. 103. After the provisional certifications issued under this 
temporary rule waiver/modification have expired, individuals whose assisted 
living administrator certifications have expired will no longer be permitted to 
function as certified assisted living administrators. Individuals wishing to 
obtain full certification as an assisted living administrator will be required to 
successfully complete all the requirements for restoration of such certifications 
set out at N.J.A.C. 8:36-3.2. 

 

I find that waiver/modification of the rules above is necessary because enforcement of the existing 

rules would be detrimental to the public welfare during this emergency. 

 

         

May 15, 2020             

DATE      BY: JUDITH M. PERSICHILLI, RN, BSN, MA 

       COMMISSIONER 

              DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
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