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Applying for a Marriage/ Civil Union License
In New Jersey

Requirements for entering into a Marriage:

For two persons to establish a Marriage/ Civil Union in this State, it shall be necessary that they
satisfy all of the following criteria:

v Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this State or
recognized by this State; and

v Be of the same sex for civil union; marriages can be same or opposite sex couples.

v Be at least 18 years of age.

Where to apply:

The marriage/civil union license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which
either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey. If neither
applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the
marriage/civil union ceremony will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing
municipality.

Please contact the Local Registrar to determine if license applications are handled during business
hours or by appointment.

Required documents when applying for a Marriage/ Civil Union license:

Proof of identity such as your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.

Proof of your residency.

Your social security card or social security number.*

A witness, 18 years of age or older.

v The $28 application fee.

*Social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

After you apply:

v There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins
when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72 hour waiting period

for a Remarriage/Reaffirmation of Civil Union; however, you must bring a certified copy of
your existing Marriage/Civil Union certificate.

v The marriage/civil union license application is valid for six months from the date
accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the
application to a maximum of one year.

v Once issued, the license is valid 30 days from the date of issuance.

v Certified copies can only be obtained from the municipality where the event occurred OR
the state office via in person, online, or mail in request.
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http://www.state.nj.us/health/vital/regbycnty.shtml
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Solicitar una Licencia Matrimonial/ Unién Civil en NJ

Requisitos para establecer un Matrimonio/ Unién Civil:

Para que dos personas puedan establecer un Matrimonio/Unién Civil en este estado,
deben satisfacer los siguientes requisitos:

v No pertenecer a otra union civil, sociedad doméstica o matrimonio en este estado o que
es reconocida en este estado;

v Ser del mismo sexos para una union civil, matrimonios pueden ser del mismo sexo o del
Sexo opuestos ;

v Tener por los menos 18 afios de edad.

Donde Solicitar:

La solicitud para la licencia de Matrimonio/Unién Civil debe ser presentada en la municipalidad
de New Jersey en la cual reside uno de los solicitantes y esta es valida en todo el
estado de New Jersey. Si ninguno de los aplicantes es residente de New Jersey, debe
presentar la solicitud en la municipalidad donde se realizara la ceremonia matrimonial 6
unién civil, esta licencia sera valida s6lo en esta municipalidad.

Por favor contactar a la oficina local para asegurarce de gque esta oficina procece estas
solicitudes durante horario de operaciones o por cita

Documentos requeridos para solicitar una licencia para Matrimonio/Unién Civil:
Prueba de identidad: licencia de conducir, pasaporte o identificacion federal/estatal.
Prueba de domicilio.

Tarjeta de seguro social o nimero de seguro social.*

Testigo mayor de 18 afios

Tarifa por solicitud $28.

*El nimero de seguro social es un requisito legal para los ciudadanos americanos y es
confidencial.

Documentos internacionales deben ser acompafiados por una traduccion en inglés certificada.
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Después de Solicitar:

v Existe un tiempo de espera de 72-horas antes de poder emitir la licencia
matrimonial. El tiempo de espera comienza al registrarse la solicitud en la Oficina Local
de Registros Civiles. No existe tiempo de espera para Re-matrimonios/Uniones Civiles;
pero debe proveer una copia de su acta matrimonial/unién civil.

v La solicitud para la Licencia de Matrimonio/Unién Civil es vélida por seis meses desde
la fecha en que fue aceptada, al menos que el Oficial de Registros Civiles haya
previamente autorizado extender su validez por el maximo de un afio.

v La licencia es valida 30 das desde la fecha de solicitud.

v Copias certificada del acta de matrimonio solo puede ser solicitada por el municipalidad
donde ocurrio el evento o or la oficina estatal, en persona, por internet, o por correo.
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