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As Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Medical Assistance and Health

Services, | have reviewed the record in this case, including the Initial Decision, the OAL

case file and the documents filed below. Neither party filed exceptions in this matter.

Procedurally, the time period for the Agency Head to file a Final Decision is March 25,

2021 in accordance with an Order of Extension.

The matter arises regarding the denial of Medicaid benefits due to Petitioner's

residence in a non-Medicaid assisted living facility. Petitioner filed an application for

benefits in June 2020. She listed she had made transfers beginning in 2018 that, at
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minimum, totaled $218,693. She reported income from Social Security and an annuity
totaling $5,406. R-C.

The disclosures on the application raise questions about whether Petitioner is
seeking to have Medicaid pay for benefits under Ldng Term Services and Supports
(LTSS)." The Initial Decision finds Petitioner that LTSS “can be provided in an assisted
living facility setting and therefore contradict the basis of the denial.” ID at 5. However,
Petitioner's counsel states that Petitioner “is not asking New Jersey Medicaid to pay for
or supplement any assisted living costs.” Petitioner's Brief dated November 10, 2020. So
what exactly is Petitioner asking New Jersey Medicaid to provide by filing an application
for benefits?

The answer seems to be Petitioner is seeking to have a penalty period begin during
which she plans to pay privately at a facility that does not accept Medicaid. See e.g. B.K.
v. MCBSS OAL Dkt. No. HMA 18569-2016 (FAD June 5, 2017). The application
discloses that Petitioner has transferred assets which comes with the presumption that

she did so to qualify for Medicaid benefits.? Based on the penalty amount contained in

I With monthly income of $5,406, Petitioner’s only path to eligibility for Medicaid benefits is under the
Long-Term Care Services and Supports (L1 SS) program that permits the use of a higner income ievei - 300
percent of the SSI benefit amount and, when above that limit, a Qualified Income Trust. In order for
eligibility to be granted using this higher income level, Petitioner must be in need of nursing level of care.
See 42 CFR § 435.236 and 42 CFR § 435.1005. That level of care requires that a pre-admission screening
(PAS) be completed by "professional staff designated by the Department, based on a comprehensive needs
assessment which demonstrates that the recipient requires, at a minimum, the basic NF services described
in N.J.A.C. 8:85-2.2.” N.JLA.C. 8:85-2.1(a). See also, N.J.S.A. 30:4D-17.10, et seq. While not part of the
record, it can be assumed that a PAS found that Petitioner requires the basic nursing facility services.

2 A resource cannot be transferred or disposed of for less than fair market value during or after the start of
the sixty month period (the “look-back period™) before the individual becomes institutionalized or applies
for Medicaid as an institutionalized individual. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1396p(c)(1); see also N.J.A.C. 10:71-4.10(a).
Such transfers are viewed as being made for the sole purpose of establishing eligibility for Medicaid. Ibid.
To discourage applicants from disposing of assets for the purpose of becoming eligible for Medicaid nursing
home facility services, if such a transfer occurs, the applicant will be subject to a period of Medicaid
ineligibility to be imposed once the person is otherwise eligible for Medicaid benefits. Ibid.; N.J.S.A.
30:4D-3(1)(15)(b). “A transfer penalty is the delay in Medicaid eligibility triggered by the disposal of
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the application, Petitioner is subject to a penalty of at least 611 days ($218,693/$357.67).
See Medicaid Communication No. 20-05. She has also acquired an annuity that raises
her income to over $5,000. Thus, | hereby REVERSE the Initial Decision and REMAND
the matter to OAL for further findings and testimony with regard to the issues set forth
below.

The denial letter states that Petitioner is residing in an assisted living facility that
does not participate in the Medicaid program. R-A. Petitioner is seeking eligibility as of
June 1, 2020 at which time she was residing in the non-Medicaid facility. Petitioner does
not appear to dispute this and the record does not substantiate that Petitioner is otherwise
eligible to receive institutional level of care services at a facility that does not participate
in the Medicaid program that, but for the imposition of a penalty period, would be covered
by Medicaid .3

The specter of the transfer penalty looms over this case and needs to be further
addressed on remand. Briefly, the transfer penalty is meant to penalize individuals by
denying them Medicaid benefits during that period when they should have been using the
transferred resources for their medical care. See W.T. v. Div. of Med. Assistance & Health
Servs., 391 N.J. Super. 25, 37 (App. Div. 2007). CMS has issued guidance that transfer

penalty beings on‘[t]he date on which the individual is eligible for medical assistance

financial resources at less than fair market value during the look-back period.” E.S. v. Div. of Med. Assist.
& Health Servs., 412 N.J. Super. 340, 344 (App. Div. 2010). “[T]ransfers of assets or income are closely
scrutinized to determine if they were made for the sole purpose of Medicaid qualification.” Ibid. Congress’s
imposition of a penalty for the disposal of assets for less than fair market value during or after the look-
back period is “intended to maximize the resources for Medicaid for those truly in need.” Ibid.

*InM.W. v. SCBSS, OAL DKT. No. HMA 2077-201 3 (FAD August 13, 2013), the applicant was residing
in a Veterans’ Administration nursing facility which is not a Medicaid Title XIX facility. Although she
could not be found eligible as of the date of the application, her residence at a Medicaid nursing home in
the three months prior to the application could be reviewed for Medicaid eligibility including imposing any

transfer penalty.
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under the State plan and is receiving institutional level of care services (based on an

approved application for such services) that, were it not for the imposition of the penalty

period, would be covered by Medicaid.” (emphasis added) https://downloads.cms.gov/

cmsgov/archived-downloads/SMDL/downloads/TOAEnclosure.pdf. See also 42 U.S.C. §
1396p(c)(1)(D)(ii). Therefore, the transfer penalty can only begin when the individual is
otherwise eligible to be covered under Medicaid benefits.

Medicaid may not pay for certain services received by the individual when there is
a transfer penalty. These services include nursing home and homé and community based
services. State Medicaid Manual § 3258.8. (“Penalties for Transfers of Assets for Less

Than Fair Market Value.--When you find that assets have been transferred for less than

fair market value, OBRA 1993 provides for specific penalties. These penalties involve

the denial of reimbursement for certain services received by the individual.”) (emphasis

added). Those services include nursing home and MLTSS such as assisted living.
Petitioner has disavowed that she is seeking Medicaid to pay for her assisted living care

and is not seeking to move into a nursing facility.

Thus, | FIND that the record does not demonstrate that Petitioner is seeking to
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for the penalty. On remand, the issue of the transfer penalty should be reviewed and,
if she is seeking to have the penalty begin, Petitioner should present further proofs so
as to demonstrate that she would be able to receive institutional level of care services
covered by Medicaid while residing at a facility that does not participate in the Medicaid
program. Such proofs may include her admission agreement and other authority to

demonstrate that the facility permits Medicaid-covered services to be provided to her

at that facility.
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THEREFORE, it is on this23'@ay of MARCH 2021,
ORDERED:
That the Initial Decision is hereby REVERSED; and

That the matter is REMANDED for additional testimony, document

production and findings as set forth above.

._Jbu_f%bbw—_

Jennifer Langer Jacobs, Assistant Commissioner
Division of Medical Assistance
and Health Services
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