
New Jersey Is An Equal Opportunity Employer 

 

 

 
 
 

 

State of New Jersey 
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

CHRIS CHRISTIE P.O. Box 712            JENNIFER VELEZ 
      Governor Trenton, NJ 08625-0712           Commissioner 
  
 
KIM GUADAGNO        VALERIE HARR 
    Lt. Governor                    Director 
 
 

MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO. 14-15 DATE: December 19, 2014 
 
 
TO: County Welfare Agency (CWA) Directors 

   
   
SUBJECT: Qualified Income Trusts (QIT) 
 

The State of New Jersey is adopting the use of Qualified Income Trusts (QITs) 
to qualify for the Medicaid Only program effective December 1, 2014.  Beginning 
December 1, 2014, the Medically Needy program will no longer be accepting 
new applications to cover nursing facility services. Individuals who were 
receiving nursing facility benefits through the Medically Needy program prior to 
December 1, 2014 will be permitted to maintain their coverage as long as they 
remain otherwise eligible and remain in the nursing facility. Using QITs, all 
individuals in need of institutional services under Managed Long Term Services 
and Supports (MLTSS), may now receive nursing facility services or Home and 
Community Based Services including assisted living.  

QITs were established by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 and 
are cited in the Social Security Act at Section 1917 (d)(4)(B). QITs are Trust 
documents tied to a special bank account.  The primary function of a QIT is to 
disregard an individual’s income above 300% of the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR). 
In order for this income to be disregarded, it MUST be deposited monthly into the 
QIT bank account. Checks deposited into the QIT bank account must include the 
entire dollar amount of that income source, (for example, a social security check 
for $1,000 cannot be broken into $500 inside the Trust and $500 outside the 
Trust), the entire check must be deposited inside or outside the Trust. 

 

Medicaid eligibility for MLTSS using a QIT may be approved after the following 
processes are complete:   

 Medicaid application is processed including a resource assessment 
and five-year look back by the CWA; 

 QIT is established, funded and approved by the CWA to ensure 
compliance with federal regulations; 

 Pre-admission Screening (PAS), for an institutional level of care, is 
determined by the Division of Aging Services (DoAS). 

 



 

QITs may be established for an individual by a lawyer or by using the QIT 
template posted on the Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
(DMAHS) website.  Also on the website, are Frequently Asked Questions 
(FAQs) and a letter to banks with information to assist individuals, or their 
representatives, in opening a QIT bank account.  All the website documents are 
attached for your review along with a QIT Checklist that is required to be used 
by the CWAs to review the QIT documents.  After QIT documents are approved, 
the completed Checklist shall be retained in the case file along with the QIT 
document.  Copies of QIT documents and the completed checklist must also be 
faxed to the DMAHS, Office of Legal and Regulatory Affairs (OLRA) for 
monitoring.  The OLRA fax number is 609-588-7343.   
 
QIT documents must include the following provisions: 
 

 The QIT must contain only income of the individual;  

 The QIT must not contain resources such as money from the sale of 
real or personal property or money from a savings account;   

 The QIT must be irrevocable;  

 The QIT must have a trustee to manage administration of the Trust 
and expenditures from the Trust as set forth in federal and state law;  

 New Jersey must be the first beneficiary of all remaining funds up to 
the amount paid for Medicaid benefits upon the death of the 
Medicaid recipient; 

 Income deposited in the QIT can only be used for the specific Post-
eligibility Treatment of Income and to pay for the Medicaid 
beneficiary’s cost share. 

All income is counted in the Post-eligibility Treatment of Income.  This means 
income that is disregarded inside the QIT bank account and income outside the 
QIT bank account.  The order of deductions for the Post-eligibility Treatment of 
Income, as outlined in federal regulations, are as follows:  
 

 Personal Needs Allowance or Maintenance Needs Allowance 
(based on your living arrangement);  

 Spousal and family member maintenance allowances;  

 Allowance for uncovered state approved medical expenses;   

 Health insurance premiums;  

 Cost share.   
 
A trustee fee may be paid if there is money remaining in the QIT bank account 
after all Post-eligibility expenses and cost share are paid.  The trustee fee may 
be up to 6% of the income deposited into the QIT bank account each month.  All 
post-eligibility expenses and cost share will be paid out by the trustee whether 
the income is inside or outside the QIT bank account.  If there is a balance left 
after these expenses are paid, it must remain in the QIT bank account and the 
individual may be subject to transfer penalties at redetermination.   
 



 

The web-enabled Patient Responsibility (PR) application will be used to 
calculate the Post-eligibility Treatment of Income and cost share. Currently, 
CWAs are using the PR-1 for nursing facilities and the PR-2 for assisted living 
facilities.  A new PR-3 form has been developed to be used for individuals 
receiving MLTSS services in their own home.  The new PR-3 form is attached 
and CWAs will need to process them manually until it is available for use on-line. 
The trustee must receive a copy of the PR form from the Medicaid beneficiary, 
or their authorized representative, initially and upon each redetermination or 
change in circumstance.  
 
The cost share amounts will be paid out monthly by the trustee either to the 
nursing facility, the assisted living facility or for individuals receiving services in 
their own homes, to the OLRA at:   
 
  Treasurer, State of NJ,  
  Division of Revenue 
  Attn: Processing Bureau 
  Lockbox 656 
  200 Woolverton Avenue, Building 20 
  Trenton, NJ 08646. 
 
The CWAs will continue to send a copy of the PR forms to the appropriate 
facility and now also will fax the PR-3 form to the OLRA for individuals living in 
their own homes.  The PR-3 form should be faxed along with the QIT documents 
to OLRA at 609-588-7343.   
 
Redeterminations must continue to be completed by the CWA at least once 
every 12 months.  At that time, the trustee shall be required to provide two 
copies of the monthly bank statements for the previous year.  Trustees also 
must provide a full accounting of the QIT bank account when they are no longer 
able to continue their trustee duties, when the beneficiary has passed away or 
when the QIT is no longer valid. 
 
Please look for additional Medicaid Communications for further policy 
clarifications.  If you have any questions regarding this Medicaid 
Communication, please refer them to the Division’s Office of Eligibility Policy 
field service staff for your agency at 609-588-2556. 
 
   Sincerely,  

        
                                 Valerie Harr 
   Director 
 
VH:km 
 
 



 

 

 c:  Jennifer Velez, Commissioner 
      Department of Human Services 
 
      Dawn Apgar, Deputy Commissioner 
      Division of Developmental Disabilities 
 
      Lowell Arye, Deputy Commissioner 
      Aging and Community Services 
 
      Lynn Kovich, Assistant Commissioner 
      Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
 
      Joseph Amoroso, Director 
      Division of Disability Services 
 
      Jeanette Page-Hawkins, Director 
      Division of Family Development 
 
      Allison Blake, Commissioner 
      Department of Children and Families 
 
      Mary E. O’Dowd, Commissioner 
      Department of Health 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 

 
QUALIFIED INCOME TRUSTS  

A Qualified Income Trust can only be used for applications filed on or after ____[INSERT 

DATE]______ . 

The Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) provides this information to assist 

prospective Medicaid applicants and their attorneys by describing basic information about the use of 

a  qualified income trust (QIT) (sometimes referred to as a "Miller" Trust) to establish income 

eligibility for Managed Long-Term Services and Supports (MLTSS).   A model instrument is included 

at the end of this document to provide an example of a QIT that meets DMAHS requirements when 

properly completed. This form meets the basic DMAHS requirements for a QIT; however, it is not the 

only acceptable QIT form, and it may have consequences beyond eligibility for Medicaid that an 

applicant would want to consider.   

DMAHS attorneys are prohibited from giving legal advice to the public. DMAHS, county and 

State vendor eligibility workers, supervisors and other DMAHS employees are prohibited 

from advising anyone by recommending specific actions to become eligible for Medicaid as 

doing so may constitute the unauthorized practice of law. 

This information is not intended as legal or tax advice, and persons seeking information on the legal 

or tax consequences of these documents are encouraged to consult a lawyer or other professional of 

their choosing. DMAHS and eligibility determination agencies will only review trust documents in 

connection with the processing of a Medicaid application. The review by DMAHS or an eligibility 

determination agency is limited to whether the trust meets the requirements for a Medicaid QIT.  

Other actions by the applicant and/or trustee may impact Medicaid eligibility and have 

consequences, including but not limited to termination, imposition of a transfer penalty and/or 

recovery of incorrectly paid benefits.    

Persons with low or limited income may be able to obtain legal counsel through their local Legal Aid 

office or local bar association. 

Caution 

A QIT should not be confused with other types of trusts that are commonly used in connection with 

the receipt of Medicaid or other public benefits. The information here does not address these other 

types of trusts, such as a "Special Needs" trust that may be created for a person with a disability 

under age 65 who wishes to shelter resources in order to become or remain eligible for Medicaid or 

other public benefits. 

Income that is properly diverted through a QIT is not counted in determining the eligibility for 

Medicaid for Managed Long Term Services and Supports (MLTSS), but this income is not 

disregarded in the post-eligibility treatment of income or in determining eligibility for other Medicaid 

benefits.  Such income also may not be disregarded in determining eligibility for non-Medicaid public 

benefits programs. 

 



 

Although the use of a QIT can help when income that is above the special income limit for Medicaid 

eligibility, a QIT does not address other eligibility requirements for institutional and home and 

community-based waiver services, such as citizenship, residency, medical necessity and the 

applicant's countable resources.  A person with more than $2,000 in countable resources is not 

eligible for benefits, and this resource eligibility requirement is not affected by the use of a QIT.  

This information is based in part on informal guidance by the federal Centers for Medicare & 

Medicaid Services (CMS). CMS has not adopted any federal regulations relating to QITs, and CMS' 

guidance and interpretations could therefore change without advance public notice or any 

opportunity for advance public comment.  

 

 



 

 

 

 

The ______________________  Irrevocable Qualified Income Trust 

        [full legal name of primary beneficiary] 

                    

 Grantor, _________________________ [name of the person establishing the Trust], residing 

in ____________ County, _____________[state], hereby creates a Trust, to be known as the 

_________________________ [name of primary beneficiary] Qualified Income Trust, (hereafter 

referred to as “the Trust”), created consistent with the requirements in 42 U.S.C. §1396p(d)(4)(B) 

and to be governed by the terms set out below: 

Trust Purpose 

 

 The primary beneficiary of the Trust is ________________________, born on ____________, 

residing in __________ County, New Jersey.  The purpose of this Trust is to achieve income 

eligibility for the primary beneficiary for medical assistance under Title XIX of the federal Social 

Security Act (hereafter referred to as “Medicaid”).  The primary beneficiary must meet the eligibility 

criteria under New Jersey Medicaid standards, including the standards applicable to Qualified 

Income Trusts.  The Trustee must perform all acts necessary to maintain the primary beneficiary’s 

eligibility for Medicaid and comply with New Jersey’s standards for Qualified Income Trusts. This 

Trust must be presented to the Medicaid eligibility determining agency at time of application for 

benefits.   

 

Trust Funding 

 The income to be placed in the Trust is the income received by ________________ [primary 

beneficiary] from the following sources: 

 

1. ______________________________________ 

 

2. ______________________________________ 

 

3. ______________________________________ 
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 No property may be placed in the Trust other than income from the primary beneficiary’s 

pensions, Social Security, or other income sources.  The Trust may receive any or all of the primary 

beneficiary’s income.  The entire amount of the income allocated to the Trust shall be deposited 

directly in the trust account or deposited in the trust account in the same month the income is 

received by the primary beneficiary.   

 

 

 

 

 

Trust Disbursements 

 

 No expenditures shall be made from the Trust except in accordance with this paragraph.  The 

Trustee shall make distributions from the trust in amounts and for the purposes necessary to 

maintain the income eligibility of the primary beneficiary for Medicaid.  Consistent with the 

requirements of the Medicaid program that require all income including any income that is not placed 

in the Trust be used for post eligibility expenses, the Trustee shall make payments from the Trust in 

the following priority, no later than the last day of the calendar month in which the income is received 

by the Trust: 

 

  1.   A monthly personal or maintenance needs allowance for the primary beneficiary; 

 

  2.   A sum to the spouse of the primary beneficiary, sufficient to provide but not exceed 

the minimum monthly maintenance needs allowance for the spouse as determined by the eligibility 

determination agency, and, if applicable, the maintenance needs deduction for family dependents; 

 

  3.   Incurred medical expenses of the primary beneficiary as determined by the New 

Jersey Medicaid program; 

 

  4.   The cost of medical assistance provided to the primary beneficiary; 

 

 The Trustee may expend not more than $20 a month for banking costs to administer the trust.  

After payment of all of the above expenses, the Trustee may claim a fee of up to 6% of the income 

paid to the trust that month as compensation.  Fees not taken during the month cannot be taken in a 

subsequent month. 

 

 Any other payments from the Trust shall invalidate the Trust under 42 U.S.C. §1396p(d)(4)(B) 

and the income of the primary beneficiary placed in this Trust will be counted towards the Medicaid 

eligibility limit.   
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Trustee Appointment, Resignation or Removal 

 

 ________________________ [full legal name of initial trustee] shall serve as Trustee of the 

Trust.  Trustee’s contact information is: 

 

 Address____________________________________________________ 

 Phone number(s):______________________________________________ 

 

 In the event the Trustee resigns, becomes legally incapacitated or dies while serving, 

______________________ [name of successor trustee], whose current address 

is________________________________________, shall serve as successor trustee.  If there is no 

named Trustee eligible or willing to serve as Trustee, any interested person may apply to the primary 

beneficiary of the Trust in order to be appointed Trustee. The primary beneficiary may not serve as 

Trustee.   If the primary beneficiary is incompetent and has no guardian or attorney-in-fact, then any 

interested person may petition the court for the appointment of a successor trustee.   No bond shall 

be required for any Trustee.  The Trustee shall have all powers given to a Trustee by New Jersey 

law.   

 

No resignation by the Trustee shall be effective until he or she provides an informal 

accounting and a successor Trustee shall have accepted appointment and qualified to serve as 

Trustee.  The eligibility determination agency must be notified by the resigning trustee of his 

resignation, and must immediately be provided with a final accounting and the contact information for 

the new trustee.  The resigning trustee shall also provide this documentation and information to the 

remainder beneficiary, the Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services, Recovery Unit, Mail 

Code #6, PO 712, Trenton, NJ 08625-0712. 

 

Accounting 

 

 The Trustee shall provide two copies of the accounting of the trust annually to the eligibility 

determination agency in conjunction with the redetermination of primary beneficiary’s Medicaid 

eligibility.  The informal accounting shall include a detailed listing (date, check number, amount, 

payee or payor) and explanation (as needed) of all trust receipts and trust disbursements, the 

balance remaining in the trust, and a copy of the bank statements for the trust.   

 

 The Trustee shall account in the same manner as described above whenever the primary 

beneficiary’s Medicaid eligibility is reviewed due to a change in income, resources or other 

circumstances. 
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Irrevocability 

 

 This Trust is irrevocable.  The Trust’s assets, income and distributions shall not be subject to 

anticipation, assignment, pledge, sale or transfer in any manner.  The primary beneficiary shall not 

have the power to anticipate or encumber the Trust’s assets, income or distributions.  The Trust’s 

assets, income and distributions shall not, while in the possession of the Trust, be liable for, or 

subject to the debts, contracts, obligations, liabilities or torts of the primary beneficiary. 

 

 

Termination 

 

 The Trust shall terminate when the primary beneficiary ceases to receive Medicaid benefits 

provided by the State of New Jersey.  Upon termination of the Trust, the Trustee shall notify the New 

Jersey Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services and 

shall distribute to the Division or its successor agency any remaining trust property up to an amount 

equal to the total Medicaid expenditures paid on behalf of the primary beneficiary by the Division, 

reduced by any previous recoveries made by the Division of such Medicaid expenditures.  The 

Division shall not be required to take any action for this payment to be due and owing.  Payment 

shall be made payable within 30 days of notification by the Division of the amount due, to “Treasurer, 

State of NJ” and mailed to: 

 

  Division of Revenue (NJDMAHS) 

  Lockbox 656 

  200 Woolverton Ave., Bldg 20 

  Trenton, NJ 08646 

  Attn: Processing Bureau. 

 

 No provisions in the trust shall permit the trustee to first repay other persons or creditors at the 

death of the beneficiary. The trust shall not pay for burial expenses after the death of the primary 

beneficiary.  Only what remains in the trust after the distribution to the Division has been made shall 

be considered available for other trust expenses or beneficiaries of the estate.  After any payment to 

the Division as specified in this section, the Trustee shall distribute any remaining trust property to 

________________________________________________ [name(s) of distributee(s)].  Note, if 

primary beneficiary is not competent at the time this trust is established, no contingent distributee 

can be named. 
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Signed the ___________________ day of ___________________________20____. 

 

 

 

________________________                 _______________________________ 

Grantor        Trustee 

 

 

 

 
 
STATE OF NEW JERSEY   
COUNTY OF    
 
I CERTIFY that on this ______ day of 
____________,20___,  
_____________________[Grantor], 
personally came before me and 
acknowledged under oath, to my 
satisfaction, that the person: 
 (a) is named in and personally 
signed the attached document; and 
 (b) signed, sealed and delivered 
this document as his act and deed. 
  
    
Notary 
 
 
STATE OF NEW JERSEY     
COUNTY OF    
 
I CERTIFY that on this _______ day of 
___________,20___, 
_______________________[Trustee], 
personally came before me and 
acknowledged under oath, to my 
satisfaction, that the person: 
 (a) is named in and personally 
signed the attached document; and 
 (b) signed, sealed and delivered 
this document as his act and deed. 
  
    
Notary



 

 
 

SCHEDULE A 

 

 

Funds being deposited into Qualified Income Trust: 

 

 

Source Amount 

 

Social Security  

 

Pension 

 

Other 

 

 

                                           Total: 

 

 

 
 
 
Location of Trust Bank Account: 

 
Bank:   ________________________________________ 

 

Bank Routing Number: ____________________________ 

 

Account No. ____________________________________ 

 

Account Title:___________________________________ 

 

Initial Deposit Amount:  $__________________________ 

 

Initial Deposit Dated:  _____________________________ 
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State of New Jersey 
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

CHRIS CHRISTIE P.O. Box 712           JENNIFER VELEZ 
      Governor Trenton, NJ 08625-0712          Commissioner 
  
 
KIM  GUADAGNO        VALERIE HARR 
    Lt. Governor                     Director 
 
 

 
Memo to New Jersey Banks Regarding Qualified Income Trusts 

 
 

 New Jersey’s Medicaid program, administered by the Division of Medical 

Assistance and Health Services, NJ Department of Human Services, is implementing a 

financial eligibility policy that will allow higher income persons seeking long-term care 

services and supports, who cannot afford the private cost of such care, to place income 

that is above the allowable Medicaid income limit into a Qualified Income Trust.  See 42 

U.S.C. 1396p(d)(4)(B) (also known as a “Miller Trust” from the case Miller v. Ibarra, 746 

F. Supp. 19 (D. Colo. 1990)).  The income that is placed in the Trust will not be 

considered for the financial eligibility determination.  The income deposited each month 

into the Qualified Income Trust must then be paid out each month for the Medicaid 

beneficiary’s specified post-eligibility expenses.     

 Additional information on Qualified Income Trusts can be found on the Medicaid 

agency’s website at:  http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mtrusts.html. 

 
 Due to the nature of a Qualified Income Trust, generally almost all income 
deposited into the Trust monthly will be depleted at the end of each month.  An initial 
amount up to $20 can be deposited to open a Qualified Income Trust bank account if 
needed.   After that, only income belonging to the Trust beneficiary can be deposited 
into the Qualified Income Trust. 
 
 A Qualified Income Trust is established with the Trust beneficiary’s Social 
Security Number. An EIN, which is required for some other trust types, is not required 
for a Qualified Income Trust.  Banks can verify this information at: 
http://www.irs.gov/irm/part21/irm_21-007-013r-cont02.html where the below content is 
provided: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mtrusts.html


 

 
 

If Then 

The trust is 
a Miller 

type trust 

 
Do not assign an EIN. Instead, inform the trustee that he/she must:  

 Use the SSN of the beneficiary or trustee to report trust activities, and 

 Provide information such as the SSN, BOD, closing month of accounting year, 
principal activity, and the market to which they sell their product or services, if not 

already provided on Form SS-4 under Treasury Regulation 301.6109-1(d)(2).  

Note: 

Miller Trusts are treated as grantor trusts under IRC § 671. 
 

 
 
The individual, their Power of Attorney, legal guardian or conservator can act on behalf 
of the individual, consistent with New Jersey law, to establish a Qualified Income Trust. 
If a Power of Attorney document grants general authority to handle the financial or 
health care affairs of an individual, this should be sufficient to allow the Power of 
Attorney to establish a Qualified Income Trust for that individual.  
 
If the Trust beneficiary is residing in a nursing home or assisted living facility, it may be 
convenient for the trustee to be able to have certain monthly expenses paid 
electronically to that facility each month.  The trustee can make these arrangements 
with the bank, depending on the circumstances. 
 
Questions on Qualified Income Trusts can be sent to: MAHS.QIT@dhs.state.nj.us and 
responses will be added to a list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) located on the 
Medicaid agency’s website.  In addition to the FAQs, a Qualified Income Trust template 
can also be found on the Medicaid agency’s website listed above. 
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    NJ FamilyCare 
Qualified Income Trust (QIT)  

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
Updated November 25, 2014 

 

 
1. When will New Jersey begin using Qualified Income Trusts (QITs)? 

 

 New Jersey has received authority from the federal government to begin using QITs on 

 December 1, 2014. 

 

2. What is a Qualified Income Trust (QIT)? 

 A Qualified Income Trust (QIT), also known as a Miller Trust, allows an individual to 

 become eligible for Medicaid Managed Long Term Services and Supports (MLTSS) by 

 placing income into a separate bank account each month.  The QIT involves a written 

 trust agreement, setting up the special bank account and depositing income into the 

 account.  QITs also have special conditions that must be met and are subject to the 

 approval of, and monitoring by, the appropriate Medicaid eligibility determining agency. 

3. What does a QIT do? 

 When an individual’s monthly income above 300% of the SSI Federal Benefit Rate (FBR) 

 is placed in a QIT, that income is not  counted when determining financial eligibility for 

 Medicaid.  In 2014, 300% of the FBR is $2,163 a month.  These individuals must meet all 

 other aspects of Medicaid eligibility such as meeting an institutional level of care.   

 A QIT may be used by individuals living in a nursing facility, an assisted living facility or in 

 their home.    

4. What changes have been made to the Medicaid eligibility process due to the use of 

 QITs?  

 

 After December 1, 2014, a QIT will be required for individuals if their income exceeds 

 $2,163 per month.  Resources cannot exceed $2,000 for an individual.  As of December 

 1, 2014, the Medically Needy program will no longer cover nursing facility services.  The 

 QIT gives Medicaid the ability to disregard income that is deposited into the QIT to meet 

 income eligibility.   All other eligibility requirements including, but not limited to, 

 transfer of assets, level of care, citizenship and residency will remain the same. 

 

5. What if I am currently living in a nursing home and receiving nursing facility 

 benefits under the Medically Needy program? 



 

 
 Individuals who were receiving benefits through the Medically Needy program prior to       

 December 1, 2014, the QIT effective date, will be permitted to maintain their coverage 

 under the Medically Needy rules and will not have to set up a QIT. However, if they have 

 a change in living arrangements (moving from a nursing facility to an assisted living or 

 into the community) or fail to qualify through the Medically Needy program rules, they 

 can no  longer use the Medically Needy rules to retain eligibility.  In order to obtain 

 Medicaid Only coverage to ensure continued benefits, they must establish and fund a 

 QIT and spend down their resources to $2,000.  Please contact your county eligibility 

 determining agency for more details to begin this process. 

 

6. What if I am living in a Nursing Facility and eligible for Medicaid through the 

 Medically Needy program because my income is above $2,163 per month and I am 

 interested in moving to an assisted living facility, will my Medicaid coverage continue 

 after I move? 

 

 The Medically Needy program has never been available to individuals who live in an 

 assisted living facility or who are receiving home-based services.  Therefore, your 

 eligibility under Medically Needy rules would not continue.  However, if you establish 

 and fund a QIT and spend down your resources to $2,000 before you move to the new 

 facility, you may be eligible for Medicaid Only.  Please contact your county eligibility 

 determining agency before you move to ensure your continuity of benefits. 

 

7. What are the special conditions that a QIT must meet? 

 

 A QIT must contain only income of the individual deposited in the month 

it is received; 

 A QIT cannot contain resources such as the proceeds from the sale of real 

or personal property, or money from a savings account;   

 A QIT must be irrevocable;  

 A QIT must have a trustee to manage the administration and 

expenditures of the Trust as set forth in federal and state law;  

 New Jersey must be the first beneficiary of all remaining funds up to the 

amount paid for Medicaid benefits upon the death of the Medicaid 

recipient; and 

 Income deposited in the QIT can only be used as defined by the Post-

eligibility Treatment of Income rules and used to pay for the cost share. 

 



 

8. What types of income are allowed to be deposited in a QIT? 

 Income such as, but not limited to, an individual’s own Social Security income or pension 

 income can be deposited into the QIT in the month that it is received.  You can direct all 

 or some of your income to the QIT but all of the income from any one source must be 

 redirected.  For example, an individual with a monthly Social Security income of $874 

 and a monthly pension of $1,500 would be over the income limit (total income of 

 $2,374 is greater than $2,163).  Either the Social Security income or the monthly 

 pension, or both, can be deposited into a QIT and the individual would be under the 

 income cap.  The applicant cannot direct half of the pension into the trust.   

9. My spouse and I always share a bank account to pay our monthly bills.  Can we  put 

 both of our incomes in the QIT in order to pay our bills? 

 

 The spouse’s funds cannot be placed in the QIT.  The money given to the spouse, 

 through the post-eligibility treatment of income, by the trustee can be deposited into 

 the spouse’s own account in order to be used to pay monthly bills. 

 

10. What types of deposits are not allowed in a QIT? 

 

 QITs are solely for income received by the Medicaid beneficiary.  Resources cannot be 

 put in a QIT.   Resources include things like cash, funds from the sale of real or personal 

 property or a savings, or investment account.  Deposits from a spouse or any other 

 person’s income or resources are not allowed.   

 

11. Who can establish a QIT on behalf of the beneficiary (serve as the settlor)? 

 

 The beneficiary 

 The beneficiary’s legal guardian, or 

 The beneficiary’s Power of Attorney agent. 

 

12. Do I need a lawyer to establish a QIT? 

 

 The Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) has posted a QIT 

 template and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on its’ website at 

 http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mrusts.html that may be used by 

 individuals.  QITs may be established for an individual by a lawyer.   

 

13. Who can be a trustee?   

 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mrusts.html


 

 New Jersey law governs who can be a trustee.  See N.J.S.A. 3B:11-4 et seq. 
 

14. Can legal fees and administrative fees be used as post-eligibility deductions for QITs? 

 No.  Legal and administrative fees are not allowable post-eligibility deductions.   
15. Where do I pay the cost share? 

 
 Cost share, also known as Patient Pay Liability (PPL), will be paid to the facilities where 
 individuals reside (Nursing Facility or Assisted Living) or to the Division of Medical 
 Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS), if they reside in their own homes. 
 
16. What is the Personal Responsibility (PR) form? 

 
 The Personal Responsibility (PR) form is created through a web-based program used by 
 the eligibility determining agencies.  The PR form calculates what an individual’s post-
 eligibility payment responsibilities will be and their Patient Pay Liability (PPL).  The 
 Personal Responsibility (PR) form has three different categories which represent an 
 individual’s living arrangement; a PR-1 is for a Nursing Facility; a PR-2 is for an Assisted 
 Living Facility and a PR-3 is for Home-based living.   A new form must be created 
 whenever an individual has a change in circumstances such as an increase or decrease in 
 income, or if they change their living arrangement.  All changes in circumstances must 
 be reported to the appropriate eligibility determining agency when they occur, as 
 required on the Medicaid application.   
 
17. Will the Patient Pay Liability (PPL) and approved deductions on the Personal 

 Responsibility (PR) form be calculated after eligibility is effective, and, when will those 

 expenses begin to be required payments? 

 
 The Patient Pay Liability (PPL) is determined after eligibility is established through the 
 Personal Responsibility (PR) form.  A copy is  provided to the individual or their 
 authorized representative by the eligibility determining agency.  The individual will need 
 to make sure the trustee gets a copy of the Personal Responsibility (PR) form if the 
 trustee is not their authorized representative.  The expenses will begin to be required 
 payments in the month that eligibility is established. 
 
18. Will there be a process for authorizing uncovered state approved medical expenses? 

 
 Yes.  In order to seek authorization for uncovered state approved medical expenses the 
 individual must submit a valid physician’s prescription and receipts for all items 
 purchased.  An example of these expenses may include, but are not limited to, over-the 
 -counter medications.  These expenses may then be deducted from the post-eligibility 
 treatment of income on the Personal Responsibility (PR) form and the authorized 
 expenses will reduce an individual’s Patient Pay Liability (PPL). 
 



 

19. If a QIT is established and the Medicaid application takes a while to approve, should 
 the Trust be funded during the period after the application is made? 
  
 For an individual with income above the 300% FBR (currently, $2,163), in order to be 
 financially eligible in any month, the individual must fund a QIT.   
 
20. If a QIT is established and there is a transfer penalty, should the Trust be funded 
 during the penalty period? 
 
 When an individual has a transfer penalty, they must be otherwise eligible in order for 
 the penalty period to start.  Therefore, in order to be otherwise eligible, the individual 
 needs to have a QIT established and funded in the month that he or she has a Pre-
 Admission Screening (PAS) approved for an institutional level of care.   
21.  Will the trustee commission be a priority disbursement on the Personal Responsibility 
 Form (PR-1, PR-2 or PR-3)?  
 
 The trustee commission is paid after all post-eligibility expenses are paid out including 
 cost share, as per federal regulations.   
 
22.  What happens upon death of the QIT beneficiary if there are outstanding fees due and 
 owed to the facility, or others?  Do these obligations take priority over payment to the 
 state? 
 
 A QIT must provide that the state is the first remainder beneficiary at death, up to the
 total amount of Medicaid benefits paid for the beneficiary. 
 
23. What will happen if an individual applying for MLTSS incurs a transfer penalty? 

 When an individual applies for MLTSS and a transfer of assets for less than fair market 
 value is discovered within 60 months before the date of application or afterwards, he or 
 she will receive a penalty period before he or she will be eligible for MLTSS waiver 
 services.  The calculation used to determine a penalty period is the total amount that 
 has been transferred divided by the average daily cost of a nursing facility ($313.50 in 
 2014).  The penalty clock begins on the date that the individual is found to be otherwise 
 eligible.   

 Individuals who are otherwise eligible and who are in a penalty period will NOT be 
 eligible for waiver services which include, but are not limited to, the following:    

 MLTSS Personal Care Assistance 

 Private Duty Nursing for Adults 

 Nursing Facility and Special Care Nursing Facility Services 

 Adult Family Care 

 Assisted Living Services (ALR, CPCH) 



 

 Assisted Living Program (ALP) 

 Traumatic Brain Injury Behavioral Management  

 Caregiver/Participant Training 

 Chore Services 

 Cognitive Therapy  

 Community Residential Services 

 Community Transition Services 

 Home Based Supportive Care 

 Home delivered meals 

 Medication dispensing device and monitoring 

 Non-Medical Transportation 

 Occupational Therapy 

 Personal Emergency Response System- set up and monitoring 

 Physical Therapy 

 Residential Modifications 

 Respite services 

 Social Adult Day Care 

 Speech, Language and Hearing Therapy 

 Supported Day Services 

 Vehicle Modifications
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Signature: Staff   Date   

Signature: Supervisor   Date   

PR-3  
 

 

 

  

    
PLEASE SEE REQUIRED  

Case Number          Last                               First Elig Eff. Date 

 
QIT INFORMATION BELOW 

  
 

  (MM/YY) 

 
  

SSN  
 

Redetermination Date 
  

County Code 

Recipient’s Phone #: 
 

Spouse’s ssn:   

      Recipient’s Address   

            

  PR-3 #1 PR-3 #2 PR-3 #3 Remarks 

Effective Date     
  

  

  
Trustee Name: 

 
 
 

Trustee Address: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Trustee Phone #: 
 
QIT Bank Name: 

 
 
QIT Bank Routing #: 

 
 
QIT Bank Account #: 

 
 
 

Private Insurance Info: 
 

Net Social Security 
Income     

  
  

Buy-In Amount     
  
  

Gross Social Security 

Benefit     
  
  

Railroad     
  
  

Veteran     
  
  

Veteran A&A     
  
  

Sheltered Workshop     
  
  

Pension     
  
  

Pension 2    

Pension 3    

Earned Income     
  
  

Miscellaneous Income     
  
  

Total Gross Income     
  
  

Maintenance Needs 
(MNA) 

 
  

  
___ 

Maint./ Spouse Dependent     
  
  

Health Premium (Total $)     
  
  

  

  
  
  

  
  
  

   

State Approved Medical 

Expenses     
  
  

Maint./Home     
  
  

Court Ordered Child 
Support     

  
  

Month of Adm./Discharge 
Exempt.     

  
  

Total Exempt Income     
  
  

Maximum PPL     
  
  

Available Income     
  
  

Cost Share     
  
  

Name and address 
Representative Payee  

  
  

Resource Information: Type, Address, 
etc. 

 

 


