DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES ADORESS REPLY TO:
QUAKERBRIDGE PLAZA~-BUILDING 5 & 7 & 12 CN-712
QUAKERBRIDGE ROAD TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08625

TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08618

MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO: 89-21 Date: September 11, 1989

T0: County Welfare Agency Directors
Medically Needy/New Jersey Care Units

SUBJECT: Medicaid Eligibility for Newborns

In response to numerous provider and recipient comments and concerns, as
well as changes in federal requirements concerning the expeditious
eligibility processing and payment of claims for services provided to
newborns, the Division has modified its policies concerning the payments of
such claims, as well as the process for adding these children to the
Medicaid case.

As you are aware, expenses incurred for newborns in the hospital of delivery
during the mother’s confinement (except inpatient hospital expenses for
Medically Needy newborns) are payable under the mother’s Medicaid
identification number and person number. However, in the past, when the
mother was discharged from the hospital, eligibility could not be
established for the child until the mother reported the birth to the CWA and
provided the necessary documentation to add the child to the case.

In instances where the infant remained hospitalized after the mother’s
discharge, or needed to be transferred to another medical facility, payments
to providers have been delayed if the mother was slow in reporting the
child’s birth or providing the necessary information. Occasionally, such
payments are denied altogether if a critically i11 child never left the
hospital to join the household and the mother did not report the birth.
This has created serious problems for neonatal providers and facilities
which handle the most seriously i1l newborns requiring the most costly,
intensive care.

Under the provisions of federal law, any child who is born to a woman who is
receiving Medicaid at the time of delivery is deemed to have applied for,
and is eligible for Medicaid for up to one year from the date of birth,
unless the mother ceases to be eligible or the child does not reside with
her. Federal law also confers continued eligibility to the mother,
regardless of income or resources, for 60 days after the birth of a child,
even if she would have been otherwise ineligible. Such eligibility
continues to the end of the month during which the 60th day occurs. Because
the newborn child’s eligibility is linked to the mother’s at this point, and
because the mother generally cannot be ineligible during that 60-day

New Jersey Is An Equal Opportunity Employer




Medicaid Communication No: 89-21
Page 2

extension, the child is eligible for a minimum of 60 days, so Tong as he or
she resides with the mother. For purposes of this communication, a child is
considered to be residing with the mother, even if he or she remains
hospitalized, unless the mother has relinquished custody.

Newborns may now be added to the Medicaid record, even if the mother
postpones or fails altogether to notify the CWA of the birth. Consequently,
receipt of a PA-1C from a hospital will be sufficient to add a newborn child
to the Medicaid eligibility record. Attached is a copy of the PA-1C,
revised to include information on newborns. Upon receipt of such
notification from a provider, the CWA must: 1) assign the child a person
number; 2) accrete the child to the Medicaid Eligibility File effective with
the date of the child’s birth, and terminating with the end of the post-
partum eligibility period, as defined for the mother. The Medicaid
eligibility record may be established without a Social Security number for
the infant; however, every effort should be made to have the mother obtain a
SSN for the child as soon as possible. Depending upon the date of
notification, a temporary card may be issued to include the newborn with any
other individuals in the case. The mother should be advised to report the
child’s Medicaid number to all providers.

A Medically Needy or New Jersey Care pregnant woman, who is not otherwise
eligible will lose eligibility after the 60-day post-partum period. In
these cases, the newborn’s eligibility will not extend beyond the mother’s
eligibility period unless she has contacted the agency, submitted an
application on behalf of the child, and the child is found eligible beyond
the post-partum period. However, even if the mother establishes continued
eligibility for herself under another program, in no event can the child’s
eligibility continue beyond the end of the month during which the child’s
first birthday occurs, unless the mother applies separately to establish the
child’s eligibility.

Since eligibility for the post-partum period is Timited to individuals who
apply and are eligible to receive benefits upon the birth of the child, a
woman who applies for retroactive Medicaid after the birth of a child, is
not eligible for the 60-day post-partum continuation of Medicaid, nor is the
child automatically eligible. If the mother is found eligible for Medicaid
as a pregnant woman during the retroactive period, such eligibility cannot
continue beyond the month of delivery. ATl applicable eligibility
guidelines must have been met during the retroactive period. For Medically
Needy cases, prospective eligibility for the child may be determined when
the mother applies for retroactive benefits at the county agency. For New
Jersey Care cases, because retroactive eligibility is determined at the
Division, prospective eligibility for the child must be determined
separately. However, the mother may only be eligible following the birth of
the child if she meets the requirements of another eligibility category.
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Any questions concerning this communication should be referred to the field

service staff assigned to your county.

Sincerely,
N
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Saul M. Kilstein
Director
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Attachment

cc: Marion E. Reitz, Director
Division of Economic Assistance

William Waldman, Director
Division of Youth and Family Services
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Referral for:

TO:

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES
PUBLIC ASSISTANCE INQUIRY

O ssI [ New Jersey Care

O Medicaid Only [J AFDC

[J Newborn (complete items 1,2,4,11a,15 only)
FROM:

(SSA / DO)
(County Welfare Agency)

Hospital

Date:

10.

11.

12.

13.
14.

IS.

T6.

17.

. Name:

. Social Security Account Number:

. Date of Admission:
. Address From Which Admitted:

. Diagnosis:

. Referring Physician:

O M
O F

Sex

(Last)
(For newborn referral, enter name and sex o

(First) (Middle) .
f parent.) ‘7

Permanent Home Address:

Telephone:

. Marital Status; (Check one) Married [J

Single (] Divorced (] Separated [J Widowed [J Unknown []

Date of Birth:

Telephone:

Prognosis;

(For SS1 disability - blindness and AFDC incapacity)

Telephone:

Spouse: Name:

Age: Telephone:

Address:

Minor Children (First Names and Ages):

Newborn Data: Name:

()

O M
O F

Date of Birth: Sex

Next of Kin (If other than Spouse or Children).

Address:

Telephone:

Gross Monthly Income of Patient:

Source:

Gross Monthly Income of Family Members:

Hospital Insurance: Blue Cross [J L.D. No.:

(a) Applicable to Newborn? Yes [

Other [J Carrier Name:

Medicare 0 H.I.C. No.:

Policy No.:

Address:

Employer’s Name:

Name of Spouse’s Employer:

Address:

PA-1C (rev. 7/89)




18. What inquiries have been made regarding financial responsibility for the hospital bill?
What were the results? -

19. Does patient, patient’s authorized agent, or relatives know that an inquiry is being made for the previously checked program?
Yes(J NoO

20. Whereabouts:
Is client still in hospital?  Yes[J  No[J
If YES, anticipated address upon discharge:
If NO, date of discharge:
Present address if known:

21. Other Comments:

22. The above patient is being cared for in the hospital since on a ward service or general service

Date

basis as to professional and other personal services and I believe that such a patient may be eligible for the previously checked
program.,
Signature: Title: Date:

23. Signature of Patient or Relative: : Date:

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING

1 understand that I must furnish certain information to the SSA/DO or the County Welfare Agency to establish eligibility and extent
of need for Supplemental Security Income Benefits or public assistance, and that the appropriate agency will help to secure this information
and verify it. I will supply complete and accurate information, within my knowledge, to representatives of the SSA/DO or the County
Welfare Agency. | hereby authorize and direct my relatives, physician, hospital, employers, bankers, and any other person having information
concerning the persons named above to furnish complete details to the appropriate agency investigating my application for such assistance.
I understand that the information obtained will be used only in connection with the application for or receipt of assistance.
“I further authorize the Social Security Administration to release benefit information and entitlement dates to the hospital whose name
appears on the reverse of this form. I understand the hospital will only use this information for purposes of establishing my eligibility
to Medicaid.”

Signature: Relationship: Date:

IF NOT SIGNED BY PATIENT, EXPLAIN WHY:

NOTICE TO THE SSA/DO OR CWA INITIALLY RECEIVING THIS INQUIRY. WHEN IT IS NECESSARY TO REFER
THE APPLICANT TO ANOTHER PUBLIC ASSISTANCE AGENCY, INCLUDE AT LEAST A COPY OF THIS PA-IC
FORM.




