skip to main contentskip to main navigation
State of New Jersey Deapartment of Human Services title graphic  
Division of Aging Services
Aging & Disability Resource Connection
New Jersey Helps
NJ 211 Community Resource Website
NJ Family Care
New Jersey Housing Resource Center

The New Jersey Statewide Respite Care Program gives a short-term or periodic break to family (or other caregivers) from the demands of daily care for functionally impaired persons, including the frail elderly. The sliding scale ranges from 0% to 25% of the cost of services, based on the care recipient's (and spouse's) income.

This program provides respite care services in order to relieve caregivers of stress from providing daily care. This respite may be provided for a short time, or once in a while. For example, services could be provided to:

  • Allow the caregiver to take a vacation
  • Cover care when a caregiver needs surgery or has an emrgency
  • Give the caregiver time to take care of him/herself, run errands, etc.

What are the eligibility requirements?

The person being cared for (the "care recipient") must:

  1. Receive daily, basic care and/or daily supervision by an uncompensated caregiver (spouse, family, friend, etc.) who is age 18 or older.
  2. Have functional impairments that require the care of another person, certified by the care recipient's licensed medical provider.
  3. Be age 18 or older.
  4. Reside in the community (not in a facility).
  5. Have documented evidence of eligibility according to income and asset guidelines.
  6. Be a resident of the state of New Jersey.
  7. Not currently participate in a Medicaid program (NJ FamilyCare, MLTSS, etc.), JACC, Alzheimer's Adult Day Services Program, or Congregate Housing Services Program. A participant can switch from JACC or the Alzheimer's Adult Day Services program and onto Statewide Respite.

There is a Statewide Respite Care Program in every county. To reach the Statewide Respite Care program in your county, please call the Aging and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) toll free at 1-877-222-3737.

What are the financial guidelines?

  • Single person (unmarried or widowed): Maximum $2,349 monthly income in 2021 (gross, before deductions); maximum $40,000 in liquid assets
  • Married person: Maximum $4,698 combined monthly income in 2021 (gross, before deductions); maximum $60,000 in combined liquid assets

What else should I know?

Statewide Respite is care for the caregiver, not for the care recipient. While services are given to the care recipient, it's for the purpose of giving the caregiver a break. If the care recipient needs more care than the caregiver can provide, or does not have a caregiver who gives daily, basic care, then Statewide Respite may not be the right program. The Aging & Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) can help find the right programs.

I don't think I'm a caregiver...

You are a caregiver if you:

  • Take care of someone who has a chronic illness or disease.
  • Manage medications or talk to doctors and nurses on someone's behalf.
  • Help bathe or dress someone who is frail or disabled.
  • Take care of household chores, meals, or bills for someone who cannot do these things alone.

-From "The First Step in Care: Becoming a Family Caregiver" by Next Step in Care

Tips for Caregivers

For additional information and support, contact:

SRCP Brochure

OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: DHS Home  |  DHS Services A to Z  |  Consumers & Clients - Individuals and Families  |  Important Resources  |  Divisions & Offices  |  Commissioner & Key Staff  |  Disaster & Emergency Help & Information  |  Press Releases, Public and Legislative Affairs, & Publications  |  Providers & Stakeholders: Contracts, Legal Notices, Licensing, MedComms  |  Get Involved with DHS!  |  Notice of Non-Discrimination  |  Taglines for Language Services
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2013