
 

Legal Notice 
 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION 
OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

 
Medicaid Pharmacy Reimbursement 

 
TAKE NOTICE that the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), 
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek 
approval from the United States Department of Health and Human Services 
(HHS), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for an amendment to 
the New Jersey Medicaid (Title XIX) State Plan, in accordance with the 
Affordable Care Act and requirements of 42 CFR 447.500 et al. pertaining to NJ 
FamilyCare reimbursement for covered outpatient drugs in the Medicaid 
program.  

 
Subject to State approval, the amendment would propose the following:  The 
maximum allowable cost for legend and non-legend drugs shall be calculated 
based on Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) defined as the lowest of (i) the National 
Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) Retail Price Survey, in accordance with 
Section 1927(f) of the Social Security Act (SSA); (ii) Wholesale Acquisition Cost 
(WAC) less a volume discount of two (2) percent in the absence of a NADAC 
price; (iii)  the federal upper limit (FUL); (iv) the State upper limit; (v) cost 
acquisition data submitted by providers of pharmaceutical services for brand-
name multi-source and multi-source drugs in the absence of any alternative 
pricing benchmarks. 
 
For legend and non-legend drugs purchased through the 340B program, the 
maximum allowable cost shall be based on the 340B ceiling price, which is 
defined as Average Manufacturer’s Price minus the Unit Rebate Amount (URA).  
In the absence of a 340B ceiling price, the alternative benchmark used shall be 
the Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) minus a volume discount of twenty-five 
(25) percent. The 340B ceiling price or the alternative benchmark shall only apply 
when its price is the lowest compared to the pricing formulas described by (i) 
through (v) above.   

 
Reimbursement for covered outpatient drugs shall be calculated based on the 
lower of the AAC plus a professional fee of $10.92; or a provider’s usual and 
customary charge; or (ii) the lower of cost acquisition data submitted by providers 
of pharmaceutical services for brand-name multi-source and multi-source drugs, 
where an alternative pricing benchmark is not available, plus a professional fee 
of $10.92; or a provider’s usual and customary charge.  To effectuate the 
calculation of SUL rates and/or the calculation of single-source and brand-name 
multi-source legend and non-legend drug costs where an alternative pricing 
benchmark is not available, the Department of Human Services shall mandate 
ongoing submission of current drug acquisition data by providers of 



pharmaceutical services.  No funds hereinabove appropriated shall be paid to 
any entity that fails to submit required data. 

 
Reimbursement for covered outpatient drugs dispensed to beneficiaries residing 
in long-term-care facilities shall be calculated based on the lower of the AAC plus 
a professional fee of $10.92; or a provider’s usual and customary charge; or (ii) 
the lower of cost acquisition data submitted by providers of pharmaceutical 
services for brand-name multi-source and multi-source drugs, where an 
alternative pricing benchmark is not available, plus a professional fee of $10.92; 
or a provider’s usual and customary charge.  To effectuate the calculation of SUL 
rates and/or the calculation of single-source and brand-name multi-source legend 
and non-legend drug costs where an alternative pricing benchmark is not 
available, the Department of Human Services shall mandate ongoing submission 
of current drug acquisition data by providers of pharmaceutical services.  No 
funds hereinabove appropriated shall be paid to any entity that fails to submit 
required data. 

 
An estimated state cost of $3,498 for State Fiscal Year 2017 and an estimated 
state cost of $13,978 for State Fiscal Year 2018 is anticipated.   
 
This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal law and 
regulations, section 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. section 
1396a(a)(13) and 42 CFR 447.205.  
 
A copy of this Notice is available for public review at the local Medical Assistance 
Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and on the DHS website at 
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html. 
Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing by mail or fax within 30 days 
of the date of this notice to:   
 
Margaret Rose   
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
Office of Legal and Regulatory Affairs 
Mail Code #26 
P.O. Box 712 
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712 
Fax: 609-588-7343 
E-mail address:  Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us 
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