LEGAL NOTICE STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES MEDICAID NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT

TAKE NOTICE that, the Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services, intends to submit a State Plan Amendment to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to change the nursing facility rates in in order to implement budget provisions of the New Jersey Fiscal Year 2023 Appropriations Act. This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of federal law and regulations, specifically 42 U.S.C. §1396a (a)(13) and 42 CFR §447.205.

Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New Jersey Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to any required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) Class I (private), Class II (county), and Class III (special care) nursing facilities being paid on a fee-for-service basis shall be reimbursed at a per diem rate no less than the rate received on June 30, 2020, plus 10 percent, plus \$3.60, minus the first provider tax add-on and any performance add-on amounts, subject to the condition that Class III (special care) facilities shall be reimbursed the greater of this rate plus five percent or \$450 per diem; (2) nursing facilities that are being paid by a Managed Care Organization (MCO) for custodial care through a provider contract that includes a negotiated rate shall receive that negotiated rate; (3) any Class I and Class III nursing facility that is being paid by an MCO for custodial care through a provider contract but has not yet negotiated a rate shall receive the equivalent fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rate as it received on June 30, 2020, plus 10 percent, minus the first provider tax add-on and any performance addon amounts, and any Class II nursing facility that is being paid by an MCO for custodial care through a provider contract but has not yet negotiated a rate shall receive the equivalent fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rate as it received on June 30, 2020, plus 10 percent, minus any performance add-on amounts, had it been a Class I nursing facility; (4) monies designated pursuant to subsection c. of section 6 of P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97) for distribution to nursing facilities, less the portion of those funds to be paid as pass-through payments in accordance with paragraph (1) of subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97) and less the actual amounts expended during fiscal year 2022 on performance add-ons and expenditures to establish a minimum per diem of \$188.35, shall be combined with amounts hereinabove appropriated for the General Medical Services program classification for the purpose of calculating NJ FamilyCare reimbursements for nursing facilities; (5) for the purposes of this paragraph, a nursing facility's per diem reimbursement rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the nursing facility is eligible for reimbursement, the difference between the full calculated provider tax add-on and the quality-of-care portion of the provider tax add-on, which difference shall be payable as an allowable cost pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003. c.105 (C.26:2H-97); (6) the add-ons used for fiscal year 2022 shall be applied from July 1, 2022, through September 30, 2022 and the first add-on as calculated in section 4 above shall be applied to both MCO and fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rates effective October 1, 2022; (7) each Class I, Class II, and Class III nursing facility that has, not later than December 1, 2021, submitted to the Department of Human Services (DHS) the DHS Fiscal Year 2023 CoreQ Long-Stay Survey Sample Size Calculation Grid with affirmative answers, as defined by the Department, to validated Hospital Utilization Tracking system use, CoreQ vendor intent, and completion of the CoreQ Long-Stay Survey sample size

calculation and, if eligible for CoreQ, not later than December 10, 2021, submitted demographics to the CoreQ vendor to initiate the CoreQ survey process, and, during calendar year 2021, has not been included on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Special Focus Facility Lists A, B, E or F, ranked as a one-star facility by the CMS Five-Star Quality Rating System, or cited by the Department of Health for two or more Level G licensing violations (a) shall receive a performance add-on of \$1.80 for each of the following CMS nursing home long stay quality measures where the nursing facility has not failed to report data for any of the reporting periods Q3 2020, Q4 2020, Q1 2021 and Q2 2021, and the simple average of the quarters, as calculated by the Department with available data, is at or below the lower of the New Jersey or national average, as calculated by CMS, for the percentage of long stay residents who are: physically restrained, receiving antipsychotic medication, experiencing one or more falls with major injury, and high risk residents with a pressure ulcer, (b) shall receive a performance add-on of \$1.80 for the following CMS nursing home long stay quality measures where the nursing facility has not failed to report data for any of the reporting periods Q2 2020, Q3 2020, Q4 2020 and Q1 2021, and the simple average of the quarters, as calculated by the Department with available data, is at or below the lower of the New Jersey or national average, as calculated by CMS, for the number of hospitalizations per 1,000 long-stay resident days, (c) shall receive a performance addon of \$1.80 if the percentage of long-stay residents who are assessed and/or given. appropriately, the influenza vaccination is at or above the higher of the New Jersey or national average for the CMS reporting influenza season ending Q2 2021, and (d) shall receive a performance add-on of \$1.80 if the nursing facility has been deemed eligible to participate in the CoreQ survey process as determined by the Department and received a composite score of 75 percent or greater, as calculated by the DHS vendor, on the CoreQ Resident and Family Experience Survey for the fiscal year 2023 survey period; and (8) each nursing facility shall receive a per diem adjustment that shall be calculated based upon an additional \$15,000,000 in State and \$15,000,000 in federal appropriations.

Additionally, notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New Jersey Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to any required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) LTC-Behavioral Health nursing facilities approved pursuant to the Department of Health's expedited certificate of need being paid on a fee-for-service basis for custodial care shall be reimbursed at a per diem rate equal to eighty-five percent of the simple average of the four Class III (special care) LTC-Specialized Behavior Modification nursing facility rates minus any performance add-on amounts; (2) for the purposes of this paragraph, a nursing facility's per diem reimbursement rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the nursing facility is eligible for reimbursement, the difference between the full calculated provider tax add-on and the quality-of-care portion of the provider tax add-on, which difference shall be payable as an allowable cost pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97); and (3) the add-ons used for fiscal year 2022 shall be applied from July 1, 2022, through September 30, 2022 and the first add-on as calculated in section 2 above shall be applied to both MCO and fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rates effective October 1, 2022.

The estimated fiscal impact associated with this State Plan Amendment is \$90 million total (\$45 million state share) in SFY23 and \$90 million total (\$45 million state share) in SFY24.

A copy of this Notice is available for public review at all Offices of the Area Agency on Aging that are situated in all twenty-one counties, as well as at the local Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and the DHS website at http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html. Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to:

Division Director
Division of Aging Services
PO Box 807
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0807