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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

CHEIOS;/ ggﬁ({iﬂﬁ DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES
KIM GUADAGNO PO BOX 726
LT. GOYERNOR TRENTON, NJ 08625-0726

Visit us on the web at :
www.state.nj. us/humanservices/ddd

December 10, 2014

Ms. Gwendolyn Anderson
128 Pageant Lane
Willingboro, NJ 08046

Jennifer Velez
Commissioner

Dawn Apgar
Deputy Commissioner
Elizabeth M. Shea

Assistant Commissioner

TEL. (609) 631-2200

Re: Violation of N.J.S.A. 30:6D-5.1 (Danielle’s Law)

UIR#: 13-294701

Date of Incident: May 22, 2013

CCR Provider: Gwendolyn Anderson

Dear Ms. Anderson:

On October 10, 2014, you were sent the enclosed ietter by certified and regular U.S. mail to
notify you that you had violated N.J.S.A. 30:6D-5.3(a) and N.J.A.C. 10:42A-2.1(a) and that the

violation carried with it a fine of $5,000.00.

The letter advised you of your right to appeal this violation within thirty (30} days of receipt of the
notice, which the U.S. Post Office delivered on October 14, 2014. The deadline for you to
appeal this matter has passed. Therefore, the determination that the service recipient was in a
life-threatening situation on May 22, 2013, and that you failed to call 911, in violation of N.J.S.A

30:6D-5.3(a) and NLJ.A.C 10:42A-2.1(a), is now a final agency decision.

Payment of the $5,000.00 fine is due immediately. Please make your check payable to:

Treasurer, State of New Jersey. Send the payment to:

Keith Joslin, Appeal Coordinato
DDD :
P.O. Box 726
Trenton, NJ 08625

New Jersey Is An Equal Opportunity Employer
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If you dispute this final agency decision, you have forty-five (45) days from the date you receive
this letter within which to file a notice of appeal with the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate
Division at the address below:

Superior Court of New Jersey
Appellate Division Clerk’s Office
Post Office Box #006
Trenton, NJ 08625
(609) 292-4822

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Mr. Joslin at (609) 631-6518.

Sincerely,
$ L (G "//‘\":;'"-'/."; V“i-’/ : /'( A
Elizabeth M. Shea

Assistant Commissioner

EMS:KAJ:s
enclosure



STATE OF NEW JERSEY

CHRIS CHRISTIE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Jennifer Velez
GOVERNOR - . Commissioner
DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES :
KIM GUADAGNO ‘ PO BOX 726 Dawn Apgar
LT. GOVERNOR TRENTON, NJ 08625-0726 Deputy Commissioner
Visit us on the web at : _ Elizabeth M. Shea
www.state.nj.us/humanservices/ddd . Assistant Commissioner

TEL. (509) 631-2260

October 10, 2014

Via Cerfified and Regufar U.5. Mail

Ms. Gwendolyn Anderson
128 Pageant Lane
Willingboro, NJ 08046

Re: Violation of N.J.S.A. 30:6D-5.1 (Danielle's Law)
UIR#: 13-294701
Date of Incident: May 22, 2013
CCR Provider: Gwendolyn Anderson

' Dear Ms. Anderson:

On May 22, 2013, you were involved in an incident with an individual receiving services
from the Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD). At the time, you did not follow
the requirements of State faw N.J.S.A. 30:6D-5.1 et seq., otherwise known as Danielle’s
Law. Specifically, you violated N.J.S.A. 30:6D-5.3(a) and N.J.A.C. 10:42A-2.1(a) by
failing to call 911 immediately in a life-threatening situation. The facts | have relied on to
determine this follow: :

According to the Danielle's L.aw regulation, N.J.A.C. 10:42A-2.2 (a) 6, a life threatening
emergency that requires a call to 911 includes, “injured in the head, neck or back”. On
May 22, 2013 you were aware that an individual had an unwitnessed fall, which resulted
in facial injuries, however, you failed to call 911in a timely manner.

| have considered all of the documentation provided to me and | find that the service
recipient did experience a life-threatening emergency and you did not call 911
immediately. Therefore, | find that you violated N.J.S.A, 30:6D-5.3(a) and N.J.A.C,
10:42A-2.1(a). This violation carries with it a fine of $5,000.00.

. New Jersey Is An Equal Opportunity Employer
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To pay the fine, please send a check in the amount of $5,000.00 made payable 1o
“Treasurer State of New Jersey” to:

Division of Developmental Disabilities
Attn: Keith Joslin, Appeal Coordinator
P.O. Box 726
Trenton, NJ 08625

If you dispute this finding, you have 30 days to request an appeal. A request for an
appeal must be made in writing to the Assistant Commissioner at the address listed
above. Your appeal must contain the following information:

1. Your name, address, and telephone number as well as the name of any
authorized representative, such as an atlorney; '

2. A brief statement as to what the basis of 'yeur appeal is;

3. Alist of potential withesses you plan to call; and

4, A statement as to whether you agree to have DDD hold your appeal,
pending a possible settlement prior to-referring this matter to the Office of
Administrative Law (OAL).

_This information" is also available at www. state ni.us/humanservices/ddd/DCs under
Division Circular #20A, Life-Threatening Emergencies.

If you file a request for an appeal and the matter is either not settled or you chose not to
atternpt settiement, your appeat will be filed with the OAL. The Division shall notify you
of the filing with OAL by letter.

If you do not file a request for an appeal within 30 days, | will make my finding final. By
law, | must then refer this matter to the Attorney General for coliection of the fine, if you
have not already paid it, and report the finding to any professional Boards to which you

belong.

If you have any questions regarding how to appeal this violation, please contact Keith
Joslin, Appeal Coordinator, directly at (609) 631-6518.

Sincerely,

Qugpbe. vy e

Elizabeth Shea
Assistant Commissionar
" ESgs

¢ Keith Joslin, Appeal Coordinator



