New parent?
Need time to bond with a child who became part
of your family by birth or adoption?

Paid Family Leave gives you time to

* bond with a newborn during the first 12 months
after the child’s birth. (You, your spouse, your
domestic partner or your civil union partner
must be the biological parent of the child.)

or

 bond with an adopted child during the first 12
months after the child’s placement.

New Jersey’s Family Leave program can give you up
to 6 weeks of financial benefits to bond with your
new baby. You and your spouse or partner may apply
for family leave benefits any time during the first year
after your child was born or adopted. Each eligible
person can claim up to 6 weeks of financial benefits
in a 12-month period.

New mothers who receive temporary disability
insurance benefits for their pregnancy will get special
instructions on how to file for family leave benefits.

Important Information about Applying

Bonding leave must be taken in periods of 7 or more
consecutive days, unless your employer allows you
to take leave in non-consecutive periods. In this case,

each intermittent leave period must be at least 7 days.

If you are taking intermittent leave for bonding, you
and your employer must agree on the intermittent
schedule you will be required to submit.

You must give your employer 30 days’ notice before
starting your family leave. Your benefit may be
reduced by 14 days if you do not give your employer
proper notice.

New Jersey’s family leave insurance does not
guarantee job protection. Ask your employer if you
are eligible for benefits under the federal Family and
Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which contains some job
protections.

Learn more about family leave benefits for bonding at
nj.gov/labor/fli-bonding.

Apply online (the easiest way to file!) at nj.gov/labor/
fli-apply.

You can start an online application up to 14 days
before your first day of leave, then complete and
submit the claim online after your first day of leave.
Family Leave claims require information from you and
your employer; all parts can be completed online.
Online filing is easy and expedites processing.
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