NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

(To be posted in a conspicuous place) **This employer is subject to the Family Leave Insurance provisions of the New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits Law.**

Beginning July 1, 2009, New Jersey law will provide up to six (6) weeks of Family Leave Insurance benefits. Benefits are payable to covered employees from either the New Jersey State Plan or an approved employer-provided private plan to:

- **Bond with a child** during the first 12 months after the child's birth, if the covered individual or the domestic partner or civil union partner of the covered individual, is a biological parent of the child, or the first 12 months after the placement of the child for adoption with the covered individual.
- Care for a family member with a serious health condition supported by a certification provided by a health care provider. Claims may be filed for six consecutive weeks, for intermittent weeks or for 42 intermittent days during a 12 month period beginning with the first date of the claim.

Family member means a child, spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner or parent of a covered individual.

Child means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild or legal ward of a covered individual, child of a domestic partner of the covered individual, or child of a civil union partner of the covered individual, who is less than 19 years of age or is 19 years of age or older but incapable of self-care because of mental or physical impairment.

New Jersey State Plan

Employees covered under the New Jersey State Plan can obtain information pertaining to the program and an application for Family Leave Insurance benefits (Form FL-1), after June 1, 2009, by visiting the Department of Labor and Workforce Development's web site at <u>www.nj.gov/labor</u>, by telephoning the Division of Temporary Disability Insurance's Customer Service Section at (609) 292-7060, or by writing to the Division of Temporary Disability Insurance, PO Box 387, Trenton, NJ 08625-0387.

If an employee is receiving State Plan temporary disability benefits for pregnancy, after the child is born, the Division will mail the employee information on how to file a claim for Family Leave Insurance benefits to bond with the newborn child. If a claim is filed to have Family Leave Insurance benefits begin immediately after the employee recovers from her pregnancy-related disability, she will be paid at the same weekly benefit amount as she was paid for her pregnancy-related disability claim and no waiting period will be required.

Private Plan

An employer can elect to provide workers with Family Leave Insurance benefits coverage under a private plan approved by the Division of Temporary Disability Insurance. The Division will not approve a private plan requiring employee contributions unless a majority of the employees, covered by the private plan, have agreed to private plan coverage by written election. Employers will provide information regarding the private plan and the proper forms to claim benefits to employees covered under the private plan.

Financing of the Program

This program is financed by employee contributions. Beginning January 1, 2009, employers are authorized to deduct the contributions from employee wages for all employees covered under the State Plan. These deductions must be noted on the employee's pay envelope, paycheck or on some other form of notice. The taxable wage base for Family Leave Insurance benefits is the same as the taxable wage base for Unemployment and Temporary Disability Insurance.

Employees covered under an approved private plan will not have contributions deducted from wages for Family Leave Insurance benefits coverage unless a majority of the workers consent to contribute to the approved private plan. If employees consent to contribute to the private plan, the contributions cannot exceed those paid by workers covered under the State Plan.

Enforced by: New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Temporary Disability Insurance PO Box 387 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0387



NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT Additional copies of this poster or any other required posters may be obtained free of charge by contacting the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Office of Constituent Relations, PO Box 110, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0110 - (609) 777-3200 or from our website: www.nj.gov/labor.

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer with equal opportunity programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities

If you need this document in Braille or large print, call (609) 292-2680. TTY users can contact this department through New Jersey Relay: 7-1-1.