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Are any benefits available if I need to care 
for a sick or injured family member? 
Family Leave Insurance is not just for workers bonding 
with a new child, but also for workers who need time 
off to care for a seriously ill family member. You can 
apply if you need to care for a child, spouse, parent, or 
domestic or civil union partner. 

How do I apply for benefits? 
The quickest and easiest way to apply is online at 
nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits.

File a Temporary Disability application if you want 
time off due to your own inability to work. File a Family 
Leave application if you want time off to care for a 
new child or seriously ill family member.

If you need additional assistance, call: 609-292-7060 
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 

When can I apply? 
You have 30 days from the start of your leave to file 
your Temporary Disability or Family Leave application. 
You cannot file before your leave starts.
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What are my responsibilities in completing 
the application? 
It is your responsibility to gather and submit all the 
information required to receive your benefits. You must 
submit to the Department of Labor: your completed 
application, which includes certification from your 
doctor or health care provider, and verification of 
wages from every employer you worked for in the 
past six months. Parents applying for Family Leave 
Insurance also may be required to provide proof of 
their relationship to the child.  Your application will 
be processed only when all required information is 
provided. 

How long can I receive benefits? 
Most physicians recommend that an expectant mother 
stops working four weeks before her scheduled due 
date, and that she recover for six weeks following a 
natural delivery and eight weeks after a Cesarean birth. 
These Temporary Disability Benefits may be extended 
if there are complications.

Additionally, New Jersey’s Family Leave Insurance 
law allows mothers and fathers to take up to six 
weeks off within the first 12 months of a child’s birth 
or placement. Family Leave Insurance benefits can 
be taken in one continuous period, or in one-week 
increments to bond with a new child. Family Leave 
Insurance benefits are available to postpartum 
mothers after they have recovered from the birth and 
their Temporary Disability benefits end. 

When do I tell my employer I want to take 
family leave?
When bonding with a child, you must give your 
employer 30 days’ notice that you want to apply for 
Family Leave Insurance benefits. When caring for a sick 
child, you must give reasonable notice. 

Will my job be protected? 
New Jersey Temporary Disability and Family Leave 
Insurance programs do not require an employer to 
hold your job. However, if you work for a company 
that employs more than 50 people, or a government 
agency, you may be covered separately by the federal 
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) or New Jersey 
Family Leave Act (NJFLA), which offer up to 12 weeks of 
unpaid leave with job protection. What benefits are available? 

Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) is a monetary 
benefit available to women who are unable to 
work during the final weeks of pregnancy, or when 
complications arise, and during a recovery period after 
giving birth. Family Leave Insurance (FLI) extends this 
monetary benefit to mothers and fathers to bond with 
a newborn, newly adopted, or new foster child.

How do I know if I might be eligible? 
Start by asking whether your employer participates in 
the state Temporary Disability Insurance program or a 
private plan.

What else do I need to know about 
eligibility? 
You must have worked at least 20 weeks and grossed 
$169/week or have earned $8,500 in the past 12 
months to be eligible for Temporary Disability or 
Family Leave Insurance benefits.

How much money can I expect? 
If eligible, you will receive 2/3 of your average 
weekly salary up to a maximum of $637 per 
week provided you are not being paid by your 
employer. A debit card will be mailed to you 
when the review of your application begins. 
Funds will be put on the card once your 
application is approved.

How soon will I see funds on my 
debit card?
Once you submit a complete application 
– including your employer’s and doctor’s 
sections – it takes three to four weeks for 
funds to appear on the debit card you were 
mailed, if you are eligible for benefits. 
There will be a delay in processing your 
application if any information is incorrect 
or missing. 


