
State of New Jersey 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

LABOR STANDARDS AND SAFETY ENFORCEMENT 

MECHANICAL INSPECTION BUREAU OF BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL COMPLIANCE 

PO BOX 392 

TRENTON, NJ 08625-0392 

Stationary, Refrigeration, Power Engineer and/or Boiler Operator’s License 

RENEWAL APPLICATION 
This is an application to renew a Stationary, Refrigeration, Power Generating Engineer or Boiler Operator’s License that was 

issued by the Mechanical Inspection Bureau of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Compliance. Licensees may renew a license within 

60 days before its expiration date [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.19(c)]. To renew your license, send the following 4 required items to the 

address at the top of this form: 

1 - Completed application 
2 - Passport size photo 
3 - Signature on a separate page 
4 - Money order or certified/cashiers or business check, for the appropriate renewal fee, made payable to the 

“Commissioner of LWD”. 

For a license that is not expired: 
• 1-year renewal fee is $80
• 3-year renewal fee is $160 

NOTE: These fees apply only to a non-expired license holder. Details about acceptable renewals, fees, and other 

pertinent facts appear on the following pages of this application. 

You must provide all of the information requested on this application to renew the license. This information is used to maintain 

an accurate record of license holders in New Jersey. You must provide employer information, even if you are not using the 

license at your current place of employment. Note: If you are retired or unemployed, you need not complete the Employer 

Information section; please “check the box” in that section that applies. 

PRINT LEGIBLY IN INK. ALL INFORMATION MUST BE PROVIDED 

Check the correct box for your renewal: 1-Year Renewal - $80.00 3-Year Renewal - $160.00 Amount Enclosed:

Please correct any missing or incorrect information below. Use the extra lines for more space. 

Current Licensee Information 

Name: 

Physical Address: 

Mailing Address: 

Phone Number: 

Email: 

Current Employer Information 

Current Employer: 

Mailing Address: 

Supervisor Name: 

Corrections:  

License Number: 

Cell Number: 

Date of Birth: 

Does not apply - Not currently working Retired - Not currently working 

Phone Number: 

 Supervisor Email: 

Signature of Licensee: Date 

MI-228 (1/18)

Voice: (609) 292-2921
Fax: (609) 984-1577
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INSTRUCTIONS AND GENERAL INFORMATION FOR

RENEWAL OF ENGINEER’S AND BOILER OPERATOR’S LICENSES

1. Important Note: A first-time license is valid for only 1 year from the date it is issued. To keep the license 
active and to avoid a late fee and/or penalty, you must renew the licenses before the date of expiration. 
You may renew your license for a 1-year period or a 3-year period [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.19(a)].

2. Expiration Date Format: MM/DD/YYYY = Month/Date/Year (for example, 02/25/2016 is February 25, 
2016).

3. Renewing a License – A license may be renewed 60 days before it expires, or when you receive a 
“Renewal Notification” from this agency. Apply to renew your license by completing this application.

4. Acceptable Renewals – Licenses may be renewed if any outstanding penalties or judgments are paid, 
and if a license has not been expired more than 3 years. (NOTE: If a license renewal is more than 3 years 
overdue, the license is inactive and therefore not renewable. In accordance with the provisions 
established by law, records of inactive licenses may be destroyed [N.J.S.A. 34:7-3]. An application to 
renew a license that expired more than 3 years ago is considered an original application.

5. Renewal Fee, Late – A late renewal (up to 3 months past expiration) is allowed, provided that the 
appropriate fee is paid ($120 for a 1-year renewal; $240 for a 3-year renewal). Renewals that are 4 

months or more overdue are assessed a penalty. If your license expired at least 4 months ago, it is 

imperative that you call (609) 292-2921 to find out the penalty fee required to renew an expired 

license.

6. Renewal Fee, Lost – This agency assumes no liability and is not responsible for any fee that is not 
received on time or that is lost while in transit.

7. Passport style photograph – You are required to provide a 2”x 2” passport style formatted photograph.

8. Signature - Please sign your signature on a separate paper with a white background that does not have 
lines in “Black or Blue Ink” in the center of the page. No pencils or other ink color is allowed. Your 
Signature must be legible and easy to read. Photocopies are not acceptable. In addition, please print 
your name at the top or bottom of the paper.

9. Email - Email address must be provided on renewal application.

10. Date of birth – Every licensee must provide their date of birth on the renewal application. MM/DD/YYYY 
= Month/Date/Year (for example, 02/25/2016 is February 25, 2017)

11. Change of Address – Every licensee must notify this agency of any change in residence [N.J.A.C. 

12:90-8.2(j)]. When doing so, provide your name, current address, license number.

12. Posting the License – All ORIGINAL licenses must be framed and properly posted adjacent to the 
equipment requiring the license, or in the engineer’s office or plant office, whichever is suitable. Failure 
to post an ORIGINAL license may result in a penalty of at least $500 against the operator, supervisor 
and/or management [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.17(c)]. 
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13. Replacing a License or ID card – An altered, defaced, or otherwise mutilated license or identification 
card will be replaced only after review by this agency. Photostats, photographs or reproductions of a 
license are neither valid nor recognized. A fee of $20 will be imposed for a replacement license and 

$12 for a replacement ID card.

14. Suspension or Revocation of License – An operator’s license may be suspended or revoked for 
incompetence, negligence, intoxication, or drug abuse while on duty, or for any other valid reason 
establishing that the licensee is unfit to hold a license. Any person who uses an expired license to 
perform the duties of a licensee is subject to a penalty of at least $500, and up to $5,000, per day. The 
supervisor and/or employer also may be subject to a similar penalty. A licensee whose license is 
suspended or revoked has the right to request a hearing conducted by one or more members of the 
Examining Board [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.18(f)]. If you fail to appear for a scheduled hearing, your license will 
be suspended indefinitely. A licensee who disagrees with the decision of the Examining Board may 
appeal to the Commissioner, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:90-9. 

NOTE: Applications and If you receive an electronic version of your passport style photograph, 

please submit it and your separate handwritten signature, to the MIBBPVC email address 
BPVRCompliance@dol.nj.gov with the subject line “Photo/Signature for License Renewal”). 

To pay for your license renewal online go to: https://joportal.com/NJ/Spa

mailto:BPVRCompliance@dol.nj.gov
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PASSPORT STYLE PHOTOGRAPH REQUIREMENTS AND SIGNATURE FOR 
AN APPROVED LICENSE APPLICATION WITH THE  
MECHANICAL INSPECTION BUREAU OF BOILER 

AND PRESSURE VESSEL COMPLIANCE 

In order to obtain your license certificate and wallet identification card, you must do the 
following: 

 Provide one color passport type 2 inch x 2 inch digital photograph, with a minimum
image resolution of 600x600 pixels and your separate handwritten signature.   The
photo must be taken against a “non-reflective”, “non-glare”, off-white background.
You must not wear a white t-shirt or any similar type of white shirt.

 Your entire face must be shown in the photograph, being not less than three-quarters
of an inch in width. No selfies are allowed.

 Do not wear a hat, glasses, or any other item which may alter or disguise your facial
features in the photographs.

 There must not be any objects sticking out of your shirt or hung on your shirt collar.

 Do not cut your pictures to size.

All applications will be rejected and returned if the required information is not completed 
and if the photograph is not of the passport type/size or if no signature has been provided. 

 Photocopies are not acceptable. Please sign your signature on a separate paper that
does not have lines.  This paper must have a white background and your signature
should be written in “Black or Blue Ink” in the center of the page.  No other ink color
is allowed. Your handwritten signature must be legible and easy to understand. Please
print your name on the bottom or top of the page.

 Please include your email address, as it has proven to be the best method of
communication with the MIBBPVC.

ALERT: DO NOT SUBMIT THE PHOTOGRAPH OR SIGNATURE UNTIL YOU HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED THAT YOU PASSED THE EXAMINATION 

NOTE: The requirements for a passport photo can be found on the following website: 

https://travel.state.gov/content/passports/en/passports/photos.html

https://travel.state.gov/content/passports/en/passports/photos.html



