
Date Most 
Employers

Seasonal 
& Small 

Employers 
(fewer than 6)

Agricultural 
Employers

Cash Wage  
for Tipped  
Workers

Wage for 
Long-Term Care 

Facility Direct Care 
Staff Members

January 1, 2020 $11 $10.30 $10.30 $3.13 $11, $14 as of 11/1/20

January 1, 2021 $12 $11.10 $10.30 $4.13 $15

January 1, 2022 $13 $11.90 $11.05 $5.13 $16

January 1, 2023 $14.13 $12.93 $12.01 $5.26 $17.13

January 1, 2024* $15.13 $13.73 $12.81 $5.26 $18.13

*	 The minimum wage rates for 2024 will be at least the amounts listed above, but could be higher based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
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MW-571 (9/23)

NEW JERSEY’S  
MINIMUM WAGE

* Cash wage plus tips must equal the minimum wage.
TBD = To Be Determined

Date Most Employers
Seasonal & Small 

Employers 
(fewer than 6)

Agricultural 
Employers

*Cash Wage for
Tipped Workers

January 1, 2019 $8.85 $8.85 $8.85 $2.13

July 1, 2019 $10.00 NO CHANGE NO CHANGE $2.63

January 1, 2020 $11.00 $10.30 $10.30 $3.13

January 1, 2021 $12.00 $11.10 $10.44 $4.13

January 1, 2022 $13.00 $11.90 $10.90 $5.13

January 1, 2023 $14.00 $12.70 $11.70 NO CHANGE

January 1, 2024 $15.00 $13.50 $12.50 NO CHANGE

January 1, 2025 TBD $14.30 $13.40 TBD

January 1, 2026 TBD $15.00 $14.20 TBD

January 1, 2027 TBD TBD $15.00 TBD

New Jersey’s minimum wage law takes effect on July 1, 2019, lifting the earnings of 
more than one million workers. The goal of the law is to achieve a $15 hourly minimum 
wage without adversely affecting small and seasonal businesses, so incremental rates 
were set to give certain employers additional time to comply. The chart below details 
the adjustments to New Jersey’s minimum wage:
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New Jersey’s minimum wage law took effect on July 1, 2019, lifting the earnings of more than one million 
workers. The goal of the law is to achieve a $15 hourly minimum wage without adversely affecting small and 
seasonal businesses, so incremental rates were set to give certain employers additional time to comply.  
The chart below details the adjustments to New Jersey’s minimum wage:


