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Young People May Work on Farms
New Jersey Child Labor Law Permits Farmers to Employ Children

This Notice Must Be Posted in a Conspicuous Place in All Rooms Where Minors Are Employed

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development • Wage & Hour Division & Contract Compliance

Enforced by: Wage & Hour Division & Contract Compliance 
New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development  
PO Box 389 • Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389 
This and other required employer posters are availiable free online at 
nj.gov/labor.

Young people may work on a farm
• If they are at least 12 years old
• Up to 60 hours a week, but  
    >>not more than 10 hours a day and  
    >> not more than 6 days in a row
• With no restrictions on time of day or night except that 

those younger than 16 may not work during the hours 
they must attend school.

Breaks
Workers younger than 18 must be given a 30-minute meal 
or rest break after working 5 consecutive hours.

Work Permits
• Farm workers under age 16 need a work permit.
• Farm workers age 16 and older do not need a work 
permit.

• A work permit may be easily obtained by providing the 
child’s proof of age (birth certificate, baptismal certificate, 
or other acceptable proof) to the School Issuing Officer.

>> If the child lives in New Jersey, their parent or legal 
guardian applies to the School Issuing Officer in the 
school district where the child lives.
>> If the child’s permanent residence is in another state 
but will be working in New Jersey, their parent or legal 
guardian applies to the school district in which the child 
will work.

• Work permits are valid for 6 months and can be renewed 
without presenting proof of age. The young worker may 
take the permit from job to job. The employing farmer 
should keep it on file.

Young workers may do work that is not dangerous.
• Children under 16 years old may use standard domestic 
type machines, office machines, standard types of poultry 
feeders, egg graders, egg washers, egg coolers and 
milking machines.

• Children age 16 and older may drive tractors and operate 
all machinery except the few listed below as hazardous.

• Workers age 18 and older are no longer covered under 
New Jersey’s Child Labor Law, and may do any type of 
farm work.

Work accidents for workers younger than 18 occur twice 
as often as the average rate for workers over 18. Ob-
serving a few simple rules helps prevent injuries and 
keep children safe. The following restrictions on hazard-
ous work apply only to workers under 18 years of age.

You must be at least 18 to do some hazardous work
To work with these PRODUCTS:
1.	 Dangerous or poisonous acids and dyes
2.	 Injurious quantities of toxic or noxious dusts, gases, 

vapors, or fumes
3.	 Benzol or any benzol compound which is volatile or 

which can penetrate the skin
4.	 Explosives and highly inflammable substances
5.	 Pesticides
To use these MACHINES:
1.	 Power-driven woodworking machinery (Supervised 

bona-fide apprentices may do this work.)
2.	 Grinding, abrasive, polishing, or buffing machines
3.	 Guillotine-action cutting machines
4.	 Operating or repairing elevators or other hoisting 

apparatus
5.	 Corn pickers, power-driven hay balers, or power field 

choppers
6.	 Compactors
7.	 Circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears
To do these ACTIVITIES:
1.	 Oiling, wiping, or cleaning machinery in motion or 

assisting therein
2.	 Working around steam boilers carrying a pressure in 

excess of 15 pounds
3.	 Transporting payrolls off the employer’s premises
4.	 Demolition of buildings, ships, or heavy machinery
5.	 Construction work of any kind
The hazardous work listed on this poster is likely to apply 
to farm work. Other types of hazardous activities apply 
mostly to non-farm activities. For more information about 
these or other New Jersey Child Labor Laws, contact:

Wage and Hour Division and Contract Compliance
NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development 
PO Box 389
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389
Or your local Board of Education Issuing Officer


