Division of Wage and Hour and Contract Compliance

Temporary Laborer Assignment Notification under N.J.S.A. 34:8D-3

The Temporary Help Service Firm must give this completed form to each Temporary Laborer upon assignment to a temporary position. Do not return this form to the NJ Department of Labor.

Full Name of Temporary Laborer				
Temporary Help Servi	ce Firm	Worksite Employer	or Third-Party Client	
Name		Name		
Street Address		Street Address		
City	State ZIP Code	City	State ZIP Code	
Phone	Ext.	Phone	Ext.	
Workers' Compensation	on Carrier of Temporary Help Service Firm	Assigned Worksite	(if different from above)	
Name		Name		
Street Address		Street Address		
City	State ZIP Code	City	State ZIP Code	
Phone	Ext.	Phone	Ext.	
Name of the work to b	e performed by the Temporary Laborer	Wages offered to the	e Temporary Laborer	
Nature of the work to	be performed by the Temporary Laborer	Description of the	position offered to the Temporary Laborer	
Schedule of the Temporary Laborer's assignment		Length of the Tem	porary Laborer's assignment, if known	

Meal(s)	Other supplies
	Training ☐ Is ☐ Is Not required If required, it will be provided by the ☐ Temporary Help Service Firm
Special clothing	Third-Party Client If provided, it will be □ at no cost to the Temporary Laborer □ at cost to the Temporary Laborer of \$ Describe the required training.
	License(s) (for example, driver, occupational) Are Are Not required Describe the required license(s).
Protective equipment ☐ Is ☐ Is Not required If required, it will be provided by the ☐ Temporary Help Service Firm ☐ Third-Party Client ☐ Temporary Laborer If provided, it will be ☐ at no cost to the Temporary Laborer ☐ at cost to the Temporary Laborer of \$	Transportation — What are the terms of transportation offered to the Temporary Worker (if applicable)?
Earned Sick Leave is the law in New Jersey As an employee of this Temporary Help Service Firm, you have the ri	ght to Earned Sick Leave, which you can use to care for yourself or

As an employee of this Temporary Help Service Firm, you have the right to Earned Sick Leave, which you can use to care for yourself or a loved one, including for physical/mental illness or wellness care, to cope with domestic or sexual violence, or attend a required or requested meeting or event at your child's school. Learn more at *mysickdays.nj.gov*.

The Temporary Help Service Firm, not the Third-Party Client, pays you earned sick leave at your normal rate of pay. The Temporary Help Service Firm must attach a copy of the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Notice of Employee Rights to this form. You can also find it online at *nj.gov/labor/EarnedSick*. For more information on New Jersey's worker benefits and protections, see *myworkrights.nj.gov*.

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

New Jersey Earned Sick Leave

Notice of Employee Rights

Under New Jersey's Earned Sick Leave Law, most employees have a right to accrue up to 40 hours of earned sick leave per year. Go to *nj.gov/labor* to learn which employees are covered by the law.

New employees must receive this written notice from their employer when they begin employment, and existing employees must receive it by November 29, 2018. Employers must also post this notice in a conspicuous and accessible place at all work sites, and provide copies to employees upon request.

YOU HAVE A RIGHT TO EARNED SICK LEAVE.

Amount of Earned Sick Leave

Your employer must provide up to a total of 40 hours of earned sick leave every benefit year. Your employer's benefit year is:

Start of Benefit Year:	End of Benefit Year:

Rate of Accrual

You accrue earned sick leave at the rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of leave per benefit year. Alternatively, your employer can provide you with 40 hours of earned sick leave up front.

Date Accrual Begins

You begin to accrue earned sick leave on October 29, 2018, or on your first day of employment, whichever is later.

Exception: If you are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that was in effect on October 29, 2018, you begin to accrue earned sick leave under this law beginning on the date that the agreement expires.

Date Earned Sick Leave is Available for Use

You can begin using earned sick leave accrued under this law on February 26, 2019, or the 120th calendar day after you begin employment, whichever is later. However, your employer can provide benefits that are more generous than those required under the law, and can permit you to use sick leave at an earlier date.

Acceptable Reasons to Use Earned Sick Leave

You can use earned sick leave to take time off from work when:

- You need diagnosis, care, treatment, or recovery for a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; or you need preventive medical care.
- You need to care for a **family member** during diagnosis, care, treatment, or recovery for a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; or your family member needs preventive medical care.
- You or a family member have been the victim of domestic violence or sexual violence and need time for treatment, counseling, or to prepare for legal proceedings.
- You need to attend school-related conferences, meetings, or events regarding your child's education; or to attend a school-related meeting regarding your child's health.
- Your employer's business closes due to a public health emergency or you need to care for a child whose school or child care provider closed due to a public health emergency.

Family Members

The law recognizes the following individuals as "family members:"

- Child (biological, adopted, or foster child; stepchild; legal ward; child of a domestic partner or civil union partner)
- Grandchild Sibling Spouse Parent Grandparent
- · Domestic partner or civil union partner
- Spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner of an employee's parent or grandparent
- Sibling of an employee's spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner
- Any other individual related by blood to the employee
- Any individual whose close association with the employee is the equivalent of family

Advance Notice

If your need for earned sick leave is foreseeable (can be planned in advance), your employer can require up to 7 days' advance notice of your intention to use earned sick leave. If your need for earned sick leave is unforeseeable (cannot be planned in advance), your employer may require you to give notice as soon as it is practical.

Documentation

Your employer can require reasonable documentation if you use earned sick leave on 3 or more consecutive work days, or on certain dates specified by the employer. The law prohibits employers from requiring your health care provider to specify the medical reason for your leave.

Unused Sick Leave

Up to 40 hours of unused earned sick leave can be carried over into the next benefit year. However, your employer is only required to let you use up to 40 hours of leave per benefit year. Alternatively, your employer can offer to purchase your unused earned sick leave at the end of the benefit year.

You Have a Right to be Free from Retaliation for Using Earned Sick Leave

Your employer cannot retaliate against you for:

- · Requesting and using earned sick leave
- · Filing a complaint for alleged violations of the law
- Communicating with any person, including co-workers, about any violation of the law
- Participating in an investigation regarding an alleged violation of the law, and
- Informing another person of that person's potential rights under the law.

Retaliation includes any threat, discipline, discharge, demotion, suspension, or reduction in hours, or any other

adverse employment action against you for exercising or attempting to exercise any right guaranteed under the law.

You Have a Right to File a Complaint

You can file a complaint with the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development online at *nj.gov/labor/wagehour/complnt/filing_wage_claim.html* or by calling 609-292-2305 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Keep a copy of this notice and all documents that show your amount of sick leave accrual and usage.

You have a right to be given this notice in English and, if available, your primary language.

For more information visit the website of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development: *nj.gov/labor*.



Enforced by: NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance, PO Box 389, Trenton, NJ 08625-0389 • 609-292-2305

This and other required employer posters are available free online at *nj.gov/labor*. If you need this document in Braille or large print, call 609-292-2305. TTY users can contact this department through the New Jersey Relay: 7-1-1.