Support for Domestic and Sexual Violence Victims/Survivors
Victims/survivors of domestic and sexual violence, and their loved ones, may be eligible for benefits and protections that can support them.
- If you cannot work because you must cope with domestic or sexual violence, or support a loved one who is a victim/survivor, you may be eligible for:
- If you quit or are fired from your job because of domestic or sexual violence, you may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits. Learn more at myunemployment.nj.gov.
- If you cannot work because you need to handle matters related to domestic or sexual violence, or you need to support a loved one who is a victim/survivor, you may be eligible for 20 days of unpaid, job-protected leave under the New Jersey SAFE Act. The NJ Department of Labor does not enforce the SAFE Act. If you believe your rights have been violated, you can take private legal action in Superior Court. Learn more here.
- If you need to care for your own serious medical condition caused by domestic or sexual violence, or care for a family member with a serious medical condition, you may be eligible for up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job protected leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). The NJ Department of Labor does not enforce the FMLA; it is enforced by the US Department of Labor. Learn more here.
- If you need to care for a loved one who has a serious health condition you may be eligible for up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave under the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA). This includes both physical and mental health conditions caused by domestic or sexual violence. The NJ Department of Labor does not enforce the NJFLA; it is enforced by the NJ Division on Civil Rights. Learn more at NJCivilRights.gov or download their fact sheet here.
You deserve to work in an environment free from sexual harassment.
The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination prohibits sexual harassment (a form of gender-based discrimination) at work.
There are two types of sexual harassment in the workplace, quid pro quo and hostile work environment. Quid pro quo harassment is when a benefit, like a promotion, is conditioned on sexual favors, or when an adverse action, like being fired, is threatened if you refuse a sexual advance. A hostile work environment exists when you are subjected to unwanted harassing conduct based on gender in the workplace that is severe or pervasive enough to create a work environment that is intimidating, hostile, or offensive.
The NJ Department of Labor does not enforce the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination; it is enforced by the NJ Division on Civil Rights. To find out more or to file a complaint, go to NJCivilRights.gov or call 973-648-2700.
Referrals to domestic violence or sexual violence agencies
- New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault Hotline: 800-601-7200
- New Jersey Domestic Violence Hotline: 800-572-SAFE (7233)
- Women’s Referral Central: 800-322-8092
- Division on Women: General information
- WorkFirst NJ and DV: This program created special pathways to assistance for those that experienced domestic violence.
- Domestic Violence Policy for State Employees
- Sexual Violence Survivor Bill of Rights: Know your rights as a survivor
- Victims of crime rights and resources
- New Jersey Courts
The following organizations are not all State agencies, and are not officially affiliated with the NJ Department of Labor in terms of services for sexual/domestic violence victims and survivors. Please contact them to determine if their services are appropriate for you.
- New Jersey Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence State Coalitions
- Legal Resources
Culturally specific organizations that provide services:
- WAFA House
- Hispanic Family Center
- Community Affairs and Resource Center
- Harambe Social Services
- Mercy Center
- Project SARAH