
Atlantic City	 1333 Atlantic Ave., 4th Fl.	 (609) 441-3160
	 Atlantic City, NJ 08401
	 (Atlantic and Cape May counties)

Bridgeton	 40 East Broad Street	 (856) 453-3930
	 Suite 203
	 Bridgeton, NJ  08302-2880 
	 (Cumberland  & Salem counties)

Camden	 2 Riverside Dr., 3rd Fl.	 (856) 614-2850
	 Camden,  NJ 08103
	 (Camden & Gloucester counties)

Freehold	 2 Paragon Way	 (732) 462-9321
	 Freehold, NJ 07728
	 (Monmouth County)

Hackensack	 60 State Street	 (201) 996-8930
	 Hackensack, NJ 07601-5427
	 (Bergen County)

Jersey City	 438 Summit Ave., 3rd Fl.	 (201) 217-7205
	 Jersey City, NJ 07306-0603
	 (Hudson County)

Lebanon	 Hunterdon Hills Plaza	 (908) 236-8026
	 1390 Rt. 22 W.
	 Lebanon, NJ 08833
	 (Hunterdon, lower Warren, Somerset counties)

Mt. Arlington	 100 Valley Rd., Suite 100	 (973) 770-4480
	 Mt. Arlington, NJ 07856
	 (Morris, Sussex and upper Warren counties)

Mt. Holly	 555 High Street	 (609) 518-1790 
	 Fairground Plaza  
	 Mt. Holly, NJ 08060 
	 (Burlington County)

Newark	 124 Halsey Street, 2nd Fl. 	 (973) 648-2663
	 Newark, NJ 07101-0226
	 (Essex County)

New Brunswick	 550 Jersey Avenue	 (732) 937-6333
	 New Brunswick, NJ 08901-3502 
	 (Middlesex County)

Paterson	 100 Hamilton Plaza, 8th Fl. 	 (973) 977-4526 
	 Clark Street 
	 Paterson, NJ 07505-2109
	 (Passaic County)
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District Office Directory Plainfield	 200 West 2nd St., 2nd Fl.	 (908) 412-7750
	 Plainfield, NJ 07060
	 (Union County)

Toms River	 954 Route 166	 (732) 349-9592
	 Toms River, NJ 08753-7331
	 (Ocean County)

Trenton	 Station Plaza 4	 (609) 292-2508
	 28 Yard Ave.
	 P.O. Box 958
	 Trenton, NJ  08625-0958
	 (Mercer County)

01/01/2015	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $855	 $855	
	 minimum of	 $228	 $35

01/01/2016 	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $871	 $871
	 minimum of	 $232	 $35

01/01/2017  	70% of wages to maximum of	 $896	 $896	
	 minimum of	 $239	 $35

01/01/2018	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $903	 $903	
	 minimum of	 $241	 $35

01/01/2019	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $921	 $921	
	 minimum of	 $246	 $35

01/01/2020 	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $945	 $945
	 minimum of	 $252	 $35

01/01/2021  	70% of wages to maximum of	 $969	 $969	
	 minimum of	 $258	 $35

01/01/2022	 70% of wages to maximum of	 $1,065	 $1,065	
	 minimum of	 $284	 $35

WC(G)-338 (6/22)

Rate in effect on the date of accident or
 exposure/manifestation in cases of occupational disease.

Permanent 
Partial 

Effective
Date

Temporary & 
Permanent 

Total

This pamphlet is published for general information only and 
does not have the status of law or regulation. For specific 
wording of the law see the New Jersey Workers’ Compensa-
tion Act (NJSA 34:15-1 et seq.) or consult your attorney.

For more information about Workers’ Comp,  
visit us online at nj.gov/labor,  

then click on Workers' Compensation. 
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development 
is an equal opportunity employer with equal opportunity 
programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon 
request to individuals with disabilities.

Benefits



Weekly payments for permanent total disability 
are 70 percent of the gross weekly wage at the 
time of the injury up to a maximum established 
annually by the Commissioner of Labor and 
Workforce Development.*

Permanent total disability is presumed when the 
worker has lost two major members or a com-
bination of members of the body such as eyes, 
arms, hands, legs or feet. However, permanent 
total disability can result from other injuries that 
render the worker unemployable.

Death Benefits

When a job-related accident or illness results in 
the worker’s death, benefits are payable to the 
dependents of the worker as defined by the law. 
The weekly benefit payment is 70 percent of 
wages, but the maximum total benefit payable to 
all of the worker’s dependents cannot exceed the 
maximum established annually by the Commis-
sioner of Labor and Workforce Development.*

A surviving spouse or civil union partner and natural 
children who were a part of decedent’s household 
at the time of death are conclusively presumed to be 
dependents.

A surviving spouse or civil union partner and natural 
children who were not a part of decendent’s house-
hold at the time of death and all other alleged depen-
dents (parents, grandparents, grandchildren, broth-
ers, sisters, etc.) must prove actual dependency.

Children who are deemed to be dependents remain 
so until the age of 18 years or, if a full-time student, until 
the age of 23 years. If a child is physically or mentally 
disabled he/she may be eligible for further benefits.

The employer or the employer’s insurance carrier is 
responsible to pay up to $3,500 in funeral expenses 
for a job-related death. These funds are payable 
to whomever is liable for the funeral bill, be it the 
estate or an individual.

Medical Benefits

All necessary medical treatment and hospitalization 
services should be provided by the employer or the 
employer’s insurance carrier.

The employer has the right to choose the treating 
physician. If the employer refuses to provide 
medical treatment, the injured worker is free to 
choose the treating physician. However, in the case 
of an emergency, an injured worker may obtain 
medical or hospital treatment without specific 
authorization from the employer, but the employer 
should be notified as soon as possible concerning 
the treatment being received.

Temporary Disability Benefits

If there is lost time which extends beyond seven 
calendar days due to the injury, temporary disability 
benefits become payable starting with the first 
day lost. The benefit amount is 70 percent of 
gross weekly wages received at the time of the 
injury, up to a maximum established annually 
by the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce 
Development.* 

Permanent Partial Benefits

When a job-related injury or illness results in a 
permanent partial disability, benefits are based 
upon a percentage of certain “scheduled” or 
“nonscheduled” losses. A “scheduled” loss is one 
involving arms, hands, fingers, legs, feet, toes, 
eyes, ears, or teeth. A “nonscheduled” loss is one 
involving the back, heart, lungs, etc.

Permanent Total Benefits

When a job-related injury results in permanent total 
disability, the injured worker is entitled to payments 
for 450 weeks which will be continued thereafter 
for as long as the total disability exists. However, 
after the 450 weeks, these payments are subject to 
reduction for wages earned from employment.  

In cases of occupational illness, the Claim Petition 
must be filed within two years from the date the 
worker first became aware of the condition and its 
relationship to employment. The statute of limita-
tions applies to minors also.
An injured worker may also file an application for 
an informal hearing before a Judge of Compensa-
tion. At the informal hearing a representative of 
the employer or the employer’s insurance carrier 
is usually present. The suggestions made by the 
judge at an informal hearing are, however, not 
binding on either party. The filing of an application 
for an informal hearing does not stop the two-year 
statute of limitations from running.
What happens after a claim is reported?
The employer or the employer’s insurance carrier 
will investigate the claim. If the claim is found 
compensable, they will pay for necessary and 
reasonable medical treatment, loss of wages 
during the period of rehabilitation, and, when 
documented, benefits for permanent disability.
Within 21 days of receiving notice of the accident, 
the insurance carrier should file a First Report of 
Injury form with the Division. This form gives the 
Division initial information about the accident and 
injuries. Another form, called the Subsequent 
Report of Injury, must be filed with the Division 
within 26 weeks after the worker returns to work or 
has reached maximum medical improvement. At 
that time, the worker should receive a letter from 
the insurance carrier explaining the benefits paid 
to date on their claim. The information from these 
forms helps the Division ensure that workers 
receive fair and timely benefits for work-related 
injuries.
Can an employer take action against a worker 
for filing a claim?
The Workers’ Compensation Statute prohibits the 
employer from discharging or discriminating in 
any manner against an employee because the 
employee has claimed or attempted to claim 
workers’ compensation benefits, or has testified, or 
is about to testify, in a workers’ compensation case.
Does the Workers’ Compensation Law give 
special consideration to minors?
Yes. If a minor, employed in violation of the Child 
Labor Law, suffers a disability because of a job-
related injury or illness, benefits will be double the 
amount ordinarily awarded.

What is Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ Compensation is a system created by 
the New Jersey Legislature that provides benefits 
to workers who are injured or who contract an 
occupational disease while working. The benefits 
include medical care, temporary disability pay-
ments, and compensation for a resulting per-
manent disability. In the event of the death of an 
injured worker, benefits are payable to the family 
of the worker. Benefits may be paid voluntarily 
or it may be necessary to apply to the Workers’ 
Compensation Courts for relief.
Who is covered?
Virtually every worker who performs services for 
wages is covered by the law, regardless of the 
number of workers employed by the employer. 
Under New Jersey law, domestic and farm work-
ers are covered. However, workers considered to 
be independent contractors, rather than employ-
ees, are not covered.
Seamen, maritime workers, railroad workers, and 
federal employees are covered under federal 
workers’ compensation law. 
What must a worker do if injured?
The worker should notify the employer as soon as 
possible, but not later than 90 days from the date 
of the accident. The notice may be given to the 
supervisor, personnel office, or anyone in author-
ity at the employer’s place of business. Notice 
need not be in writing. If the worker needs medi-
cal treatment, a request should be made to the 
employer as soon as possible.
What if an employer refuses to provide medical 
services and/or temporary disability benefits?
The injured worker should seek the services of an 
attorney who will file a formal claim petition and 
a motion for medical and temporary benefits with 
the Division of Workers’ Compensation. Attorneys 
are prohibited by law from charging a fee in ad-
vance for such services. Fees will  be fixed by the 
court only if a compensation award is made.
Important: There is a two-year statute of limita-
tions. A formal Claim Petition must be filed within 
two years of the date of the injury or the last pay-
ment of compensation, whichever is later. Medical 
treatment authorized by the employer is consid-
ered a payment of compensation. * Maximum weekly rates for the past eight years are shown on the reverse.  ➤

Benefits Available Through Workers’ Compensation


