













NEW JERSEY DIVISON OF WAGE AND HOUR COMPLIANCE

BULLETIN

Camp Counselors

TIME WORKED MEANS MONEY PAID



Paid training
 PAY MINORS FAIRLY

Pay minors for all work hours, including activities like training or orientation outside regular camp hours.

Recordkeeping
 MAINTAIN ACCURATE LOGS

Track work hours and meal breaks for all workers, especially minors.

• Earned Sick Leave KEEP TRACK

Employees earn up to 40 hours of sick leave yearly. Employers must track and share these hours with workers.

And more!



Young workers have rights, too. This notice serves as a reminder that all employers must comply with New Jersey labor laws when hiring workers, including young camp counselors.

While certain exemptions exist for minors, it is critical to understand that these do not negate the overarching legal requirements for employment practices. Despite these exclusions, employers must adhere to all applicable labor laws concerning the employment of all workers, including minors. This includes regulations around working hours, wages, and working conditions specific to minors. Minors working for summer camps operated by a religious or non-profit organization may have some other limited exemptions, but these do not exempt for-profit summer camps from ensuring fair wages and safe working conditions.

Here's what you need to know about New Jersey's Wage and Hour laws to ensure a compliant and supportive work environment for young workers:

- **Age Requirement:** Minors must be at least 14 years old to work at a summer camp.
- Working Papers: Each employer must complete the registration process for working papers before hiring any minors. Each minor employee must apply for working papers before they start working.
- **Meal Breaks:** Minors cannot work more than 6 hours in a row without a documented 30-minute, uninterrupted meal break.
- Fair Compensation: Compensate minors for all hours
 worked and pay them on regularly scheduled paydays at
 least twice per month. Include a detailed pay stub with each
 paycheck, clearly showing any deductions. Once a job offer
 is made to a minor, employers are expected to stick to the
 pay rate promised.
- Extra Hours: Minors should be compensated for all hours of work including mandatory activities required by their employer that might occur before camp starts or outside of the regular camp hours such as training sessions or orientation.*

- **Work Hours:** While working restrictions for minors are more relaxed in the summer, there still are restrictions in the number of daily and weekly hours they are permitted to work in the summer months.
 - » Minors age 14 or 15 cannot work more than eight hours per day and 40 hours per week, and no more than six consecutive days.
 - » Minors age 14 or 15 cannot work before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.
 - » Minors age 16 or 17 cannot work more than 10 hours per day and 50 hours per week, and no more than six consecutive days.
 - » Minors age 16 or 17 cannot work before 6 a.m. or after 11 p.m.

These work hour restrictions do not apply to employment in June, July, August, or September if the camp is operated by a religious or nonprofit organization unless the employment is primarily in maintenance work or food service.*

- **Earned Sick Leave:** All employees, including minors, are eligible to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year accruing one hour for every 30 hours of work. Employers must keep track and record all hours accrued and used by each worker and make that available to each employee.
- **Recordkeeping:** Employers are responsible for keeping accurate daily and weekly time records for all employees. Records for minors must include the beginning and ending hours for every day of work, and the beginning and ending times of meal periods.
- **Know Their Rights:** Minors can file complaints with the NJDOL Division of Wage and Hour Compliance if their rights related to payment and hours worked are compromised or if they face retaliation for exercising their wage and hour rights.

Employers should familiarize themselves with New Jersey labor laws and ensure full compliance, as NJDOL is resolved to ensure all employers are paying our young workers every penny they have rightfully earned. For detailed guidance, visit **nj.gov/labor/youngworkers**.

* Employees at non-profit or religious-owned summer camps are exempt from minimum wage and overtime requirements during the months of June, July, August and September. Employees at nonprofit- or religious-owned summer resident camps may have further exemptions related to restrictions on working hours during the summer months.

Disclaimer: This guide is for informational purposes only, and it is not legal advice. This guide was drafted with the assistance of Generative AI and thoroughly reviewed by humans.

FOR MORE INFO:

VISIT

youngworkers.nj.gov

CONTACT

P.O. Box 389
Trenton, NJ 08625-0389

(609) 292-2305

(609) 695-1174

wage.hour@dol.nj.gov







ROBERT ASARO-ANGELO Commissioner, NJDOL



Governor | Lieutenant Governor



New Jersey Department of Health

JEFFREY A. BROWN Acting Commissioner, NJDOH

Subject: Essential Compliance with New Jersey Labor Laws for Young Workers in Summer Camps

New Jersey Summer Camp Operators,

We, the Commissioners of the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJDOL) and the New Jersey Department of Health (DOH), are reaching out to emphasize the importance of adhering to our state's labor laws, particularly concerning the employment of minor workers. It is vital to recognize that young workers have rights, and all employers, including those managing summer youth camps, must comply with these legal standards. NJDOL is proactively providing free educational resources to businesses that hire minors to support their compliance with the law.

New Jersey's youth camps provide a safe, fun, and enriching experience for children, and are a critical pillar of the community that many families rely on. A successful youth camp fosters personal growth, community trust, and long-term sustainability. Youth camps are also crucial to our state's workforce, providing an important first job for thousands of New Jersey minor workers.

While certain exemptions exist for minors, they do not override the fundamental legal obligations regarding employment practices. New Jersey employers are required to follow all applicable labor laws concerning the employment of all workers, including minors. This encompasses regulations concerning working hours, wages, and working conditions specific to workers under the age of 18. Minors working for summer camps operated by religious or nonprofit organizations may have limited exemptions; however, for-profit summer camps are required under state law to ensure fair wages and safe working conditions year-round.

Just as each Youth Camp must comply with the New Jersey Youth Camp Safety Standards to ensure the safety and health of campers, they must also abide by applicable labor laws, particularly surrounding young workers.

To facilitate a compliant and supportive work environment for young workers, please take note of the following key elements of New Jersey's Wage and Hour laws:

- 1. Age Requirement: Minors must be at least 14 years old to be employed at a summer camp.
- **2. Working Papers:** Employers are required to complete the registration process for working papers before hiring any minors. Each minor employee must apply for working papers prior to commencing employment.
- **3. Meal Breaks:** Minors are prohibited from working more than six consecutive hours without a documented 30-minute, uninterrupted meal break.
- **4. Work Hours:** Although working restrictions for minors are more relaxed in the summer, there are still limitations on the daily and weekly hours they may work during the summer months.
 - » Minors aged 14 or 15 cannot work more than eight hours per day, 40 hours per week, or more than six consecutive days. Their work hours must be scheduled between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.
 - Minors aged 16 or 17 cannot work more than 10 hours per day, 50 hours per week, or more than six consecutive days. Their working hours must be scheduled between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
 - » These work hour restrictions do not apply to employment in June, July, August, or September for youth camps operated by a religious or nonprofit organization, unless the employment primarily involves maintenance or food service.



ROBERT ASARO-ANGELO Commissioner, NJDOL



PHILIP D. MURPHY TAHESHA L. WAY

Governor Lieutenant Governor



JEFFREY A. BROWN Acting Commissioner, NJDOH

- **5. Fair Compensation:** Minors must be compensated for all hours worked, with payment provided on regularly scheduled paydays at least twice per month. Each paycheck must include a detailed pay stub outlining any deductions. Once a job offer is made to a minor, employers are expected to hold to the pay rate promised.
- **6. Extra Hours:** Minors should be compensated for all work hours, including mandatory activities required by their employer that occur before camp starts or outside of regular camp hours, such as training sessions or orientation.
- 7. Earned Sick Leave: All employees, including minors, are entitled to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick leave annually, accruing one hour for every 30 hours worked. Employers must meticulously track and record all hours accrued and used by each worker and provide this information to each employee.
- **8. Record-Keeping:** Employers are responsible for maintaining accurate daily and weekly time records for all employees. Records for minors must include the start and end times of work each day, as well as the start and end times of meal periods.
- **9. Know Their Rights:** Minors have the right to file complaints with the NJDOL Division of Wage and Hour Compliance if their rights related to payment and hours worked are compromised or if they face retaliation for exercising their wage and hour rights.

We urge you to familiarize yourself with New Jersey labor laws and ensure full compliance, as the NJDOL is steadfast in its commitment to ensuring all employers compensate our young workers for every penny they have rightfully earned. For detailed guidance, please visit nj.gov/labor/youngworkers.

Thank you for your attention to these critical matters, and for your commitment to fostering a lawful and supportive working environment for the Garden State's young workforce.

Sincerely,

Robert Asaro-Angelo, Commissioner

Mangelo

New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development

Jeffrey A. Brown, Acting Commissioner New Jersey Department of Health

JAMA