
1  In New Jersey the offense of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or with a
blood alcohol content at or above the legal limit is a motor vehicle offense, not a criminal
offense.  Once a person has been appropriately charged with the motor vehicle violation of
operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (DWI) or refusing to submit to chemical breath
testing, and has been issued the appropriate motor vehicle summons or summonses, that person
should ordinarily be released, even though they may still be intoxicated.
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People who are intoxicated, and who operate a motor vehicle while they are
intoxicated, pose a serious threat to the public, as well as to themselves.  This risk of harm can
extend well beyond the time an intoxicated driver has been arrested, processed and released.1  On
average, a defendant whose breath test results showed a concentration of alcohol of 0.10% will
require a minimum of six or more hours before the alcohol in their body will be fully
metabolized.  A person whose breath test results showed a concentration of alcohol of 0.20% will
require, on average, up to 14 hours before their body will have fully metabolized all of the
alcohol in their system.  

The ability of a released drunken driver to immediately gain access to a motor
vehicle and to resume driving following his or her arrest has resulted in motor vehicle collisions
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where other innocent people have been injured and killed.  In at least one such case, an
intoxicated driver had been released by the police to another person.  That other person was to
take the intoxicated driver home.  But, instead of taking the intoxicated driver home, the other
person took the intoxicated driver to his automobile.  The intoxicated driver then got into his
vehicle and drove it.  Within a short period of time, the intoxicated driver collided with another
vehicle, killing its driver, John Elliott.  In response to that tragedy, and to the clear threat posed
to the public by released drunken drivers who continue to drive while they remain intoxicated,
the Legislature passed and the Acting Governor signed, P.L. 2001, c. 69.  That law, which was
designated by the Sponsor as "John's Law," becomes effective August 1, 2001.

P.L. 2001, c. 69 contains two major provisions.  (1) Any person summoned by or
on behalf of a defendant charged with a driving while intoxicated (DWI) or refusal to submit to
chemical breath testing (Refusal) violation must be provided with a written statement advising
that summoned person of his or her "potential criminal and civil liability for permitting or
facilitating the arrestee's operation of a motor vehicle while the arrestee remains intoxicated." 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22.  (2) The vehicle operated by the person placed under arrest shall be
impounded by the law enforcement agency making the arrest for 12 hours from the time of the
arrest.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.23.  This second section remains subject to the New Jersey Supreme
Court's holding that places restrictions on the authority of law enforcement agencies to impound
motor vehicles.

The implementation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22 and 39:4-50.23 has been delegated, by
the Legislature, to the Attorney General.  In addition, the Attorney General may issue directives
to ensure uniform enforcement of the law pursuant to the Criminal Justice Act of 1970, N.J.S.A.
52:17B-97 et seq.

THEREFORE, I, PAUL H. ZOUBEK, Acting Attorney General of the State of
New Jersey, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution of the State of New Jersey
and the Criminal Justice Act of 1970, N.J.S.A. 52:17B-97 et seq., and pursuant to the provisions
of P.L. 2001, c. 69, §1, do hereby DIRECT that:

1. Under the provisions of P.L. 2001, c. 69, §1, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22, the content and
form of the written statement and acknowledgment of receipt of the written
statement of potential criminal and civil liability for permitting or facilitating the
arrestee's operation of a motor vehicle while the arrestee remains intoxicated,
[hereafter referred to as the POTENTIAL LIABILITY WARNING - N.J.S.A.
39:4-50.22], is established pursuant to this DIRECTIVE.  This POTENTIAL
LIABILITY WARNING - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22 form shall be used by all law
enforcement agencies in and of this State.  The POTENTIAL LIABILITY
WARNING - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22 form is contained in Appendix A, attached to
this DIRECTIVE.  
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The POTENTIAL LIABILITY WARNING - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22 form has been
prepared in both English and an official Spanish translation from the English.

2. Under the provisions of P.L. 2001, c. 69, §1, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22, Guidelines for
the use of the POTENTIAL LIABILITY WARNING - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22 form,
are established pursuant to this DIRECTIVE.  The POTENTIAL LIABILITY
WARNING - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22, Form and Guidelines are contained in
Appendix A, attached to this DIRECTIVE.  These Guidelines shall be used by all
law enforcement agencies in and of this State.

3. Under the provisions of P.L. 2001, c. 69, §1, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.22, Guidelines for
the implementation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.23, the mandatory 12-hour impoundment
of the motor vehicle operated by a person arrested for a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-
50 (DWI) or N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a (Refusal to submit to chemical breath testing) are
established pursuant to this DIRECTIVE.  The Guidelines are contained in
Appendix B, attached to this DIRECTIVE.  These Guidelines shall be used by all
law enforcement agencies in and of this State.

This DIRECTIVE and these Guidelines are also available on the Division of Criminal
Justice Internet website at www.njdcj.org.
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