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Resource Packet for Victims of Sexual Assault

Sexual assault is a serious crime. Help is available whether you or a child is a victim. The Hunterdon
County Office of Victim Witness Advocacy provides assistance to victims to help lessen the impact of
this crime.

If you feel that you or your child is in need of immediate support or counseling services as the victim of a
sexual assault, please contact SAFE in Hunterdon for free and confidential services on their 24-hour
helpline at (908) 788-4044.

The Hunterdon County Office of Victim Witness Advocacy can help you apply for reimbursement of
medical expenses and/or loss of earnings through the New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office.
Our advocates also act as a liaison, assisting with social service agencies, employers, and school
intervention, as needed.

If criminal charges have not been filed, and you would like to file for a Sexual Assault Survivors
Protection Order (S.A.S.P.A.) for yourself or a child victim on their behalf, please complete the attached
form and email it to the Hunterdon County Family Court Division at
HntEmergent.Mailbox@njcourts.gov. A member of the Family Division staff will promptly review the
submitted paperwork and will contact you to coordinate a time for a telephonic or video hearing on the
application before a Superior Court judge.

If criminal charges are filed, you or the child victim may be entitled to a Sexual Offense Restraining
Order (S.0.R.0.). Please contact this Office to discuss that option.

If you or your child is in a relationship with the perpetrator that triggers the Prevention of Domestic
Violence Act, a Domestic Violence Restraining Order may be an option. To determine eligibility, please
contact the Hunterdon County Family Division at (908) 824-9750, ext. 13830.

For statewide information on additional resources, please visit: https://njcasa.org/our-work/resources/.

For case updates or if you have any questions, feel free to contact the Hunterdon County Office of Victim
Witness Advocacy 24-hours a day at (908) 788-1403. Please leave a message and someone will return
your call.

Holly Hoff, Victim Witness Coordinator

Hunterdon County Office of Victim Witness Advocacy

Si tiene cualquier pregunta, por favor llame a la Oficina de Victimas y Testigos del Condado de Hunterdon al (908)
788-1403
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Sexual Assault Victim’s

Bill of Rights

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 52:4B-60.1 et seq.

In New Jersey, victims of sexual violence are afforded the following rights:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

(5)

To have any allegation of sexual assault treated
seriously; to be treated with dignity and compassion;
and to be notified of existing medical, counseling,
mental health, or other services available for victims
of sexual assault, whether or not the crime is reported
to law enforcement;

To be free, to the extent consistent with the New
Jersey or United States Constitution, from any
suggestion that victims are responsible for the
commission of crimes against them or any suggestion
that victims were contributorily negligent or assumed
the risk of being assaulted;

To be free from any suggestion that victims are to report
the crimes to be assured of any other guaranteed right
and that victims should refrain from reporting crimes in
order to avoid unwanted personal publicity;

When applicable, to no-cost access to the services of a
sexual assault response team comprised of: a certified
forensic nurse examiner, a confidential sexual violence
advocate, and a law enforcement official as provided in
accordance with the Attorney General’s Standards for
Providing Services to Victims of Sexual Assault, and the
choice to opt into or out of any of the team’s services;

To be informed of, and assisted in exercising, the right
to be confidentially or anonymously tested for acquired
immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or infection with
the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other
related virus identified as a probable causative agent of
AIDS; and to be informed of, and assisted in exercising,
any rights that may be provided by law to compel and
disclose the results of testing of a sexual assault suspect
for communicable diseases;

DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE

(6) To have forensic medical evidence, if collected, retained
for a minimum of five years, and to receive information
about the status of the evidence upon request;

(7) To choose whether to participate in any investigation
of the assault;

(8) To reasonable efforts to provide treatment and
interviews in a language in which the victim is fluent
and the right to be given access to appropriate assistive
devices to accommodate disabilities that the victim
may have, whether temporary or long term;

(9) To information and assistance in accessing specialized
mental health services; protection from further violence;
other appropriate community or governmental services,
including services provided by the Victims of Crime
Compensation Office; and all other assistance available
to crime victims under current law;

(10) To be apprised of the availability and process by
which a court may order the taking of testimony
from a victim via closed circuit television in
accordance with section 1 of PL.1985, ¢.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); and

(11) To be apprised of the availability and process by which
to seek protections through a temporary or final
protective order under the “Sexual Assault Survivor
Protection Act of 2015,” P1..2015, c.147 (C.2C:14-13
et seq.), if the victim believes that the victim is at risk
for re-victimization or further harm by the perpetrator.




En Nueva Jersey a las victimas de violencia sexual se les otorgan los siguientes derechos:

(1) Que toda denuncia de agresién sexual sea tratada
con setiedad; ser tratada/o con dignidad y compasién;
y de ser notificada/o de servicios disponibles ya sean
médicos, de consejeria y asesoramiento, de salud
mental, o de otros tipos disponibles para las victimas
de agresion sexual ya sea que se haya reportada el
delito a las agencias del orden publico o no.

(2) De estar libres, en la medida compatible con la
Constitucién de Nueva Jersey o de Los Estados
Unidos, de cualquier inferencia que las victimas
son las responsables por los delitos que se cometen
en su contra o de alguna inferencia que las victimas
contribuyeron al delito por su negligencia o que
asumido el riesgo de ser agredidas/os.

(3) De estar libres de cualquier inferencia que las
victimas deben reportar los delitos para que se les
asegure alglin otro derecho garantizado y que las
victimas deben evitar reportar los delitos para evitar
publicidad personal no deseada.

(4) Cuando aplique, al acceso sin costo a los servicios de un
equipo de respuesta a la agresion sexual comprendido por
una enfermera examinadora forense certificada, un asesor
confidencial de violencia sexual, y un oficial del orden
publico como lo indican los Estindares de la Oficina del
Fiscal General para proveer servicios a las Victimas de
Agresién Sexual, y de tener la opcién de participar o no
con los servicios que provee el equipo y que usted escoja.

(5) De que se le informe y que se le ayude a ejercer su
derecho a obtener pruebas confidenciales para detectar
el Sindrome de Inmunodeficiencia Adquirida (SIDA)
o la infeccion con el Virus de Inmunodeficiencia
Humana (VIH) o de cualquier otro virus relacionado e
identificado como probable agente causante del SIDA;
y de permanecer informada/o y recibir asistencia al
ejercer cualquier derecho que le otorgue la ley para
requerir y divulgar los resultados de pruebas que se le
hayan hecho a un sospechoso de agresién sexual para
detectar enfermedades transmisibles;

DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE

(6) Que se guarden los resultados de las pruebas médicas
forenses, si es que se han colectado, por un minimo
de cinco afios, y de recibir informacién sobre la
condicidn/estatus de las evidencias cuando la solicite.

(7) Decidir si participar o no en la investigacion
de la agresion.

(8) Que se hagan esfuerzos razonables para proveer
tratamiento y entrevistas en el idioma en el que la
victima hable con fuidez y dar acceso a dispositivos
de asistencia adecuados en relacién a cualquier
incapacidad que pueda tener la victima ya sea
temporal o a?argo plazo;

(9) A tener informacidén y ayuda para poder tener

acceso a servicios especializados de salud mental;

a proteccién contra nuevos actos de violencia; a
otros servicios apropiados ya sean comunitarios o
gubernamentales, incluyendo los servicios proveidos
por la Oficina de Compensacién para Victimas del
Crimen; y toda otra ayuda disponible a victimas de
delitos conforme a las leyes vigentes.

(10) De ser informada/o de la disponibilidad y el proceso
por el cual un tribunal puede ordenar testimonio de
una victima a través de circuito cerrado de televisién
conforme a la seccién 1 de PL. 1985, c.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); y

(11) De ser informada/o sobre la disponibilidad y el
proceso para solicitar proteccion mediante una
orden de alejamiento temporal o permanente
conforme a “la Ley de proteccién a sobrevivientes
de agresiones sexuales del 2015,” PL.2015, c.147
(C.2C:14-13 et seq.), si la victima cree que corre el
riesgo de ser victima de nuevo o de dafio adicional
por parte del autor.




FACT SHEET

FACT SHEET

The Sexual Assault Victim’s Bill of Rights was enacted in 2019 to outline basic protections
and fundamental rights for survivors. As a survivor of sexual violence, the time immediately
following an assault can seem confusing and overwhelming. Next steps in the aftermath of an
assault should be led by the survivor.

No matter what a survivor chooses to do in the aftermath of an assault, they should know their rights
are guaranteed, even if the assault is not reported to law enforcement. The Sexual Assault Victim’s Bill of
Rights declares all survivors of sexual violence have the right to be treated with dignity and compassion and the
right to be free from blame. The Bill of Rights also affirms that the survivor should be free from any suggestion
that they contributed to the risk of being assaulted. Sexual violence is never the fault of the survivor.

SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO:

Choose whether to report to law enforcement.
Be free from any suggestion that they must report
the crime to have their rights guaranteed.

Be free from any suggestion that victims should
refrain from reporting crimes in order to avoid
unwanted personal publicity.

Have their report of sexual assault treated seriously.

SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE INFORMED OF AND ACCESS:

Existing medical, counseling, mental health,
or other services available for victims of sexual
assault, whether or not the crime is reported to
law enforcement.

Treatment and interviews provided in a language
in which the victim is fluent.

Assistive devices to accommodate disabilities that
the victim may have.

Testing for HIV or any other sexually transmitted
infections and assistance with compelling and
disclosing the results of testing for a communicable
disease from the person who caused harm.

CONTINUED...



SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE INFORMED OF AND ACCESS:

* Evidence collection and preservation. Evidence °
collection is time sensitive and should occur within
five days of the assault. Survivors can choose to
have evidence collected whether or not they pursue
a criminal case. All forensic evidence is retained for
a minimum of five years. If the survivor chooses to
report to police, either at the time of collection or
later, they can request information on the status
of the evidence.

* Financial compensation. The Victims of Crime
Compensation Office (VCCO) offers assistance with
accessing compensation for expenses that occurred
as aresult of an assault, including the cost of mental
health counseling, medical bills, relocation, and loss
of earnings. Survivors can reach the VCCO at (877)
658-2221 or www.NJVictims.org.

* Adcivil protective order. Under the Sexual Assault
Survivor Protection Act of 2015, survivors can seek
a civil protective order against the person who
caused them harm if there is risk of further harm.

The no-cost services of a Sexual Assault Response
Team (SART), if the survivor is over the age of
13. A SART is comprised of a Confidential Sexual
Violence Advocate (CSVA), a Law Enforcement
Officer (LEO), and a Forensic Nurse Examiner (FNE).

*The CSVA is a confidential resource who can
support the survivor through the SART process.
The CSVA provides emotional support and can
help the survivor explore their rights, options,
and available resources.

*The LEO can provide thorough and objective
assistance in responding to and conducting a
criminal investigation of sexual assault.

* If the assault occurred within the last five days,
the FNE can tend to the medical needs of the
survivor and perform a Sexual Assault Forensic
Exam (SAFE) Kit to collect forensic evidence. The
survivor can choose to work with one, two,
or all three of the SART members.

The support of a Confidential Sexual Violence Advocate is always available, 24 hours
a day. To learn more about survivors' rights and options or to speak with an advocate,

contact your local sexual violence service provider.

If you are in immediate danger, call 911.

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault
WWww.njcasa.org
24-hour Statewide Hotline:
(800) 601-7200
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The New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) is the statewide
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Family — SASPA Complaint

How to File a New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act (SASPA) Complaint
Superior Court of New Jersey - Chancery Division - Family Part

**Please be advised this packet is intended to only be used during the COVID-19 crisis.**

Who Should Use This Packet?

This packet should only be used the first time you file for a Sexual Assault Survivor Protective Order.

Use this packet if you are:
A victim of nonconsensual sexual contact, sexual penetration, or lewdness, (see definitions on page 3) or any attempt at
such conduct, and who does not meet the definition of a “domestic violence victim” in the Prevention of Domestic
Violence Act (PDVA).
e A victim's parent or guardian may file on behalf of the victim in any case in which the victim:
O is less than 18 years of age; or
O has a developmental disability or a mental disease or defect that renders the victim temporarily or
permanently incapable of understanding the nature of the victim’s conduct, including, but not limited to,
being incapable of providing consent
Do NOT use this packet if:
e You meet the definition of a “victim” under the PDVA - N.J.S.A. 2C:25-19 (d)(a) which is as follows:
0 A person protected by the PDVA includes any person:
=  Whois 18 years of age or older, or who is an emancipated minor, and who has been subjected to
domestic violence by:
s Spouse
+ Former spouse
¢ Any other person who is a present household member or was at any time a household
member, or
= Who, regardless of age, has been subjected to domestic violence by a person:

@,

¢  With whom the victim has a child in common, or
+ With whom the victim anticipates having a child in common, if one of the parties is
pregnant, or has been subjected to domestic violence by a person with whom the victim

has had a dating relationship.

NOTE: If you are a victim of domestic violence and want to file for a domestic violence restraining order, please contact
your local law enforcement agency.

e If you are filing on behalf of a minor child and the person you are filing against is a parent or guardian of the minor
child, you cannot file under the Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act. You must call the Division of Permanency
and Protection at: 1-877 NJ ABUSE (1-877-652-2873); TTY/TDD 1-800-835-5510

Note: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts for use by self-represented litigants. The guides,
instructions, and forms will be periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jersey statutes and court rules. The most recent version of
the forms will be available at the county courthouse or on the Judiciary’s Internet site njcourts.gov. However, you are ultimately responsible for
the content of your court papers.

Completed forms are to be submitted to your local Family Division. A list of Family Division Offices can be found
on njcourts.gov

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 1 of 10


http://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/index.html
http://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/index.html
http://www.njcourts.gov/public/directories.html

Things to Think About Before You Represent Yourself in Court

Try to Get a Lawyer

The law, the proofs necessary to present your case,
and the procedural rules governing cases in the
Family Division are complex. It is recommended
that you make every effort to obtain the assistance
of a lawyer. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may
contact the legal services program in your county to
see if you qualify for free legal services. Their
telephone number can be found online under “Legal

Aid” or “Legal Services.”

If you do not qualify for free legal services and need
help in locating an attorney, you can contact the bar
association in your county. The telephone number
can also be found in your local yellow pages. Most
county bar associations have a Lawyer Referral
Service.

The County Bar Lawyer Referral Service can
supply you with the names of attorneys in your area
willing to handle your particular type of case and
will sometimes consult with you at a reduced fee.

There are a variety of organizations of minority
lawyers throughout New Jersey, as well as
organizations of lawyers who handle specialized
types of cases. Ask the Family court staff in your
county for a list of lawyer referral services that
include these organizations.

What You Should Expect If You Represent
Yourself

While you have the right to represent yourself in
court, you should not expect special treatment, help
or attention from the court. The following is a list
of some things court staff can and cannot do for
you. Please read it carefully before asking court
staff for help.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)

*  We can explain and answer questions about
how the court works.

We can tell you what the requirements are to
have your case considered by the court.

*  We can give you some information from your
case file.

*  We can provide you with samples of court
forms that are available.

*  We can provide you with guidance on how to
fill out forms.

*  We can usually answer questions about court
deadlines.

*  We cannot give you legal advice. Only your
lawyer can give you legal advice.

*  We cannot tell you whether or not you should
bring your case to court.

*  We cannot give you an opinion about what will
happen if you bring your case to court.

*  We cannot recommend a lawyer, but we can
provide you with the telephone number of a
local lawyer referral service.

*  We can cannot not talk to the judge for you
about what will happen in your case.

*  We cannot let you talk to the judge outside of
court.

*  We cannot change an order issued by a judge.
Keep Copies of All Papers
Make and keep copies for yourself, written

agreements, Case Information Statements, and other
important papers that relate to your case

page 2 of 10
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Definitions of Court Terms Used in SASPA Cases

Certification - A certification is a written statement made to the court when you file papers with the court,
swearing that the information contained in the filed papers is true subject to penalty if any statement is willfully
false.

Complaint - A complaint is a formal document filed in court that starts a case. It typically includes the names
of the parties and the issues you are asking the court to decide.

Court Order - A court order is the written decision issued by a court of law. For example, a child support
court order sets forth how often, how much, and what kind of support is to be paid.

Defendant - the party sued in a civil lawsuit or the party charged with a crime in a criminal prosecution. In
some types of cases (such as divorce) a defendant may be called a respondent.

Docket Number - The docket number is the identifying number assigned to every case filed in the court.
File - To file means to give the appropriate forms to the court to begin the court’s consideration of your request.

Intimate Parts - Means the following body parts: sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin,
buttock, or breast of a person.

Lewdness - Means the exposing of the genitals for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual of the actor.

Party - A party is a person, business, or governmental agency involved in a court action.

Petitioner - Petitioner is another name for the person starting the court action by filing the appropriate papers
the court will consider.

Respondent - Respondent is the person who is named as the other party in the court action filed by the
petitioner. This person can respond to the complaint or application filed by the petitioner by filing a cross
application or written response with the court.

Sexual Conduct - Means an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of
the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing
or sexually gratifying the actor.

Sexual Penetration - Means vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons or
insertion of the hand, finger, or object into the anus or vagina either by the actor or upon the actor’s instruction.
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The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them. Each form should be typed or
printed clearly on 8 2 “x 11” white paper only. Forms cannot be filed on a different size or color paper. Use only the forms included
in this packet. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Steps for Filing a Complaint

STEP 1: Fill out the Intake Form (Form A)
The Intake form provides your and/or the minor child’s demographic information. This information will be kept
confidential and will not be shared with the defendant.

STEP 2: Fill out the Verified Complaint (Form B)

The Verified Complaint is a written request in which you ask the court to establish a court order on your behalf
or on a minor child’s behalf. The court will establish an order based on testimony of the parties and written
documentation submitted.

STEP 3: Additional Information Sheet (FORM C)
This form is provided if you need additional space to type the details of the incident for which you are filing for
a protective order.

STEP 4: Provide the court with the most recent address of the other party

If the court grants a temporary order of protection, the court will send a Notice to Appear to the plaintiff and the
defendant and any attorney(s) connected to your case when the case is scheduled for a final hearing. Your
appearance is mandatory.

Note: The other party will receive copies of all the papers you attach (except for the Intake Form) to your
complaint with the Notice to Appear, unless court rules prohibit this information from being shared.

You must provide the court with the most current address (that you know of) for the other party and the name of
their attorney (if you know it) when you file your complaint.

STEP 5: Check your completed forms and make copies
Check your forms and make sure they are complete. Remove all instruction sheets. Make sure you have signed
all the forms wherever necessary.

STEP 6: Submit your completed paperwork

Submit your completed packet through the Judiciary Electronic Document System (JEDS). You may find the
link to JEDS here https://www.njcourts.gov/selthelp/jeds.html. In JEDS please select the county where you
would like to file your application. You may file your complaint in the county where the conduct or attempted
conduct occurred, where the defendant resides, or where you reside or are sheltered.

NOTE:
These applications may only be filed in the Family Division of the Superior Court during normal business
hours.

These applications may only be taken at the Superior Court and are not to be accepted at Municipal Courts
and/or police departments.

All courthouse addresses can be found on njcourts.gov.
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Instructions for Completing the SASPA Intake Form (Form A)

1. Part I of the SASPA Intake form is for the Plaintiff/Victim information. If you are the victim, enter your
own information or if you are a parent or guardian enter the minor child’s information for the following

fields:
a.

mETITEE e a0 o

Name

Social security number

Date of birth

Address

Telephone number

Cell phone number

Email Address

Employer name

Employer address

Employer telephone number
Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact telephone number

2. Ifyou are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter complete the following fields on the second portion of
the intake form under Parent/Guardian section.

a.

Name

b. Relation to the child

AT @ e a0

Social security number

Date of birth

Address

Telephone number

Cell phone number

Email Address

Employer name

Employer address
Employer telephone number

NOTE: The Intake Form (FORM A) will be kept confidential and will not be given to the other
party/defendant.
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Instructions for Completing a Verified Complaint (Form B)
A. Leave the Docket Number blank. The court will provide this number for you.
B. On the right side of the form, enter the County where you are filing the application.

C. Enter your name or the minor’s name, if you are filing a complaint on the behalf of a minor child, in the
space marked “Plaintiff/Victim”.

D. If you are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter your name in the space marked
“Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian”.

E. Enter your date of birth or the minor’s date of birth in the space marked “Plaintiff/Victim’s Date of Birth”.

F. Enter your date of birth if you are filing on behalf of a minor child in the space marked
“Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian Date of Birth”.

G. On the right side of the form, enter the defendant’s description if known in the following fields:
a. Defendant’s sex
b. Defendant’s race
c. Defendant’s date of birth
d. Defendant’s height
e. Defendant’s weight
f. Defendant’s eye color
g. Defendant’s hair color
h. Any distinguishing features that the defendant may have such as scars, tattoos, facial hair etc.
1. Defendant’s driver’s license number and the state it was issued if known.
H. Enter the Defendant’s name in the space marked “Defendant Information: Name:”.

I NT

I.  Enter the Defendant’s “home and cell phone number”, “work phone number”, “social security number” “e-
mail address” and “home and work address” in the appropriately marked spaces on the form.

J. Enter the date the defendant committed the act in the space marked “ON (Date)”.
K. Enter the time the defendant committed the act in the space marked “AT (Time) .

L. Enter the details of the act(s) the defendant committed in the space marked “BY (Details)”. You can
continue to use as many lines as necessary to state the exact details of the act(s) the defendant committed
against you or minor child.

M. Check off the act or acts the defendant committed: “Sexual Contact, Sexual Penetration, Lewdness”. See
definitions of each act in the definitions section of this packet.

N. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 1 regarding prior or pending court proceedings involving yourself, if
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you are the plaintiff/victim, or the minor plaintiff/victim, and the defendant in this complaint. If you select
“Yes”, enter the title of the case, the docket number and the county and state where the case is being heard.

O. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 2 regarding whether a criminal complaint has been filed in this matter.
If you select “Yes”, enter the date, docket number and the county and state where the case in being.

The form must have the signature of the party filing the complaint. If you cannot scan a signed copy of this
document, please type your name in the signature line.
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Clear

New Jersey Judiciary

Sexual Assault Survivors Protection Act (SASPA)

Intake Form

To assure accuracy of court records — To be filled out by the Plaintiff or Attorney
Confidentiality of this information must be maintained

Please complete the entire form, leaving no blank spaces. If something does not apply to you, enter
“N/A”. This form is confidential and will not be shared with the other party.

! I. Victim Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial

Social Security Number Date of Birth |

Address: Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number Cell Phone Number I |

Email Address

Employer Name

Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code

Employer Telephone Number | | |

Emergency Contact Name Emergency Contact Telephone Number
! Il. Parent/Guardian Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial

Relation to the Child Social Security Number Date of Birth |

Address: Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number Cell Phone Number | |

Email Address

Employer Name

Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code

Employer Telephone Number

Emergency Contact Name

Emergency Contact Telephone Number

. Ill. Hearing Information

Will an interpreter be required? O Yes 0 No
If yes, indicate language:
Will an accommodation for a disability be required? O Yes U No
If yes, indicate requested accommodation:
Published: 03/2020, CN: 12591 page 8 of 10
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New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act Complaint County, Superior Court,

Docket Number Chancery Division, Family Part
FV - Defendant's Sex Defendant's Race
Plaintiff/Victim Plaintiff/Victim’s Date of Birth

Date of Birth Height Weight

Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian of Minor Plaintiff/Victim

Eye Color Hair Color

Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian of Minor Plaintiff/Victim Date of Birth

Distinguishing Features (Scars, Facial Hair, Etc.)

Defendant Information: Name

Driver's License Number

Home Phone Number Work Phone Number Defendant's Social Security Number

State Driver's License Expiration Date

Cell Phone Number: Email Address:

Home Address

Work Address

The undersigned complains that said defendant did commit the following act(s):
ON (Date) AT (Time) BY (Details)

The above constitute(s) the following criminal offenses(s): (Check all applicable boxes — see page 3 of instructions ):

[] Sexual Contact [] Sexual Penetration [ Lewdness
[ Attempted Sexual Contact ] Attempted Sexual Penetration [] Attempted Lewdness
1. Any prior or pending court proceedings involving this plaintiff/victim and defendant? (If Yes, enter docket [ Yes 1 No

number, court, county, state)

2. Has a criminal complaint been filed in this matter? (If Yes, enter date, docket number, court, county, state) [ Yes [ No

If yes, was a Restraining Order granted? [ Yes I No

Certification by Parent/Guardian

I, am the parent or legal guardian of minor victim, and am filing
this complaint on their behalf. The minor victim is not present for the following reason(s):

Certification by Plaintiff/Victim
| certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing responses made by
me are willfully false, | am subject to punishment.

Date Signature

New Jersey Sexual Assault TPO Revised: 03/2020, CN: 11925

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 9 of 10



New Jersey Judiciary
Family Practice Division

Additional Information Sheet

Full Name: Date:

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing
statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment

Date Signature Plaintiff/Counterclaimant

Published 09/2011, CN: 11532 (Family Additional Information Sheet) page 10 of 10
Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)



The Criminal Case Process

Investigation
and/or Amest

Inttial Case
Screening

Refer tol Direct A Sd
Municipa 3 uthcrize
Court LLesentition (Complaint Issued)

Charges
Dedined

First Pre-Trial

Appearance \ Intervention

Predndictment Detention
Conference Hearing

Grand Jury

|
I I
Remand to True Bill
Municipal Court (Indictment)

Post Indictment
Arraignment

Initial Case
Disposition

Final Case Disposition
Conference

Discretionary Case
Disposition Conference

Pre-Trial Conference

I
|
Plea Negotiation Teial

l— Guilty [ I I

| NotGuilty Guilty
Sentendng |

L e

No &l

Sentendng
I— Appeal




New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place ¢ 5th Floor * Newark, NJ 07102
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effective.8.1.20

We help put the pieces back together

our mission

The New Jersey Victims of Cri
(VCCO) reimburses certain vi
the expenses they suffer as a re
is mindful of the special need
to be treated with fairness, ¢

eligible crimes

This is a list of the types of crimes
that may qualify. Certain conditions
may apply. For more information,
please contact the VCCO:

® Assault

M Arson

M Bias crime

® Burglary*

® Disorderly conduct offenses
® Domestic violence

® Human trafficking

¥ Indecent acts with children
® Kidnapping

M Lewd, indecent or obscene acts
¥ Manslaughter

¥ Motor vehicle offenses

" Murder

¥ Robbery

® Sexual assault

® Stalking

W Threats to do bodily harm

*Must be in structure during burglary.

apply online at...

conditions

M The crime must have occurred in
New Jersey or to a New Jersey resident

M The victim must have reported
the crime to police

M The victim should cooperate with
the investigation and prosecution
of the crime, if reasonable

B The claim must be filed within
5 years of the date of the crime
in most cases

www.njvictims.org

VICTIMS OF CRIME
COMPENSATION OFFICE

£,
N& o)
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Toll Free 877-658-2221

effective.8.1.20



Expenses that may be eligible
for reimbursement include:

Hospital, physician and medical
expenses

Mental health counseling expenses
up to $20,000

Loss of earnings up to $600 per week

Temporary disability, not to exceed
24 months

Permanent disability, maximum

60 months

Loss of earning for dependants
or family members

Bereavement, maximum two weeks

Loss of wages due to court
attendance

Loss of financial support up to
$600 per week, maximum 48 months

Funeral expenses maximum $7,500
Attorney fees:

Victims’ rights attorney fees up to
$275 per hour, maximum $10,000

Representation with the VCCO claim
up to 15% of award at $275 per hour

Relocation expenses up to $3,000
Crime scene clean up to $4,000

Child care/day care/domestic
help services up to $6,500

The VCCO is a payer of last resort

Victims must first utilize and exhaust
other resources including State
benefits and insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Crime Victims’
Compensation?

The Victims of Crime Compensation
Office (VCCO) reimburses victims
of a crime for some of the expenses
they incur as a result of a crime.

Do all crime

victims get paid?

Not always. The law sets forth the
types of crimes that can be covered

by the VCCO. Further, if victims
participated in the crime or contributed
to their injuries, they may be denied
compensation.

Who is eligible to file?

Victims may file their own applications.

Family members, and dependents
of victims or the estate of the victims

A person who paid for some
of the services for the victim

The guardian, guardian ad litem,
estate representative, authorized

agent of the victim or the victim’s

dependents

Can the VCCO reimburse
me directly for expenses?

Yes. Victims or claimants can be
reimbursed for some expenses.

Can | still file a claim

if the suspect has not been
arrested or if the accused
is acquitted at trial?

Yes. Compensation may be made

whether or not a person is prosecuted
or found guilty.

Can the VCCO
pay providers directly?
Yes. Once a claim is approved,

payment can be made directly
to providers.

| have received additional
bills that were not considered
in my initial award.

Can | still submit them?

Yes. Crime related bills can

be considered for additional
reimbursement after the initial
payment award has been made.

How do I apply?

Complete the online VCCO claim

form at www.njvictims.org. Include
police reports and any documentation
showing financial loss or need if possible.
Once an application is received, a claims
specialist will contact you.

Applications are also available from
any of the 21 County Prosecutors’
Offices through their Victim Witness
Coordinators.

For more information or for a claim
application, please contact us by phone,
mail, fax, or visit our web site.

NJ Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place, 5th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Walk-in Clients: Please visit our
web site, or call our toll free number
for details.

Toll Free: 877-658-2221
Phone: 973-648-2107
Fax: 973-648-3937

Web site: www.njvictims.org

VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE



50 Park Place ¢ 5th Floor * Newark, NJ 07102
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Los ayudamos a normalizar su vida
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Crimenes elegibles

Esta es una lista de los fipos de crimenes
que pueden calificar. Pueden aplicar ciertas
condiciones. Para mayor informacién, favor
contactar a la VCCO:

W Agresion

¥ Incendio provocado

& Discriminacion

m Allanamiento*

m Ofensas de comportamiento escandaloso
M Violencia Domestica

M Trata de personas

B Actos indecentes con menores

M Secuestro

1 Actos lascivos, obscenos o indecentes
® Homicidio Culposo

m Ofensas de vehiculos motorizados

B Asesinato

M Robo con violencia

m Agresion Sexual

B Acecho

® Amenazas de lesién corporal

*Debe encontrarse en el edificio durante
la comisién del crimen

aplique en linea en:

de Nueva Jersey (VCCO) ree
del crimen por algunos de los
de un crimen. La VCCO reco
de las victimas y el derecho
justicia, compasion y respe

“rew\ huestra misio
Q% La Oficina de Compensacién g

requisitos
M El crimen tiene que haber ocurrido

en Nueva Jersey o a un residente
de Nueva Jersey

¥ La victima debe haber reportado
el crimen a la policia

M La victima debe cooperar con la
investigacién y el procesamiento
del crimen, si es factible

B El reclamo debe ser presentado
dentro de un plazo de 5 afios de
la fecha del crimen en la mayoria
de los casos

www.njvictims.org

(=)
2 % 2] NEW JERSEY
N\ CH ,
2, w 5/ OFICINA DE COMPENSACION
PARA ViCTIMAS DEL CRIMEN

Numero de llamada gratuita

877-658-2221

vigente.1.8.20



Gastos que pueden ser elegibles
para reembolso incluyen:

Gastos de Hospital, de médicos
y gastos médicos

Asesoria de Salud Mental gastos

de hasta $20,000

Pérdida de ingresos de hasta
$600 a la semana

Discapacidad Temporal,
a no exceder 24 meses

Discapacidad Permanente,
méximo 60 meses

Perdida de ingresos de dependientes
o miembros de familia

Duelo, méximo dos semanas
Perdida de ingresos por asistir al tribunal

Perdida de apoyo econémico
de $600 semanales, maximo 48 meses

Gastos de funeral hasta $7,500
Honorarios de Abogados:

Honorarios de abogados de derechos
de las victimas hasta $275 por hora,

méximo $10,000

Representacion con el reclamo VCCO
de hasta el 15% de la compensacion
en $275 por hora

Gastos de Reubicacién de hasta $3,000
Limpieza lugar del crimen hasta $4,000

Cuidado Infantil/Guarderia servicios
domésticos hasta $6,500

La VCCO es pagador de tltimo recurso

Las victimas primero deberdn utilizar
y agotar ofros recursos incluyendo
el seguro y los beneficios del estado.

Preguntas frecuentes

2Qué es la Compensacion
para victimas del crimen?

La Oficina para compensacién para
victimas del crimen (VCCO) reembolsa
a las victimas de un crimen por algunos
de los gastos que tuvieron como
resultado de un crimen.

¢Se le paga a todas
las victimas del crimen?

No siempre. La ley establece los tipos
de crimenes que cubre la VCCO.
Ademds, si las victimas participaron en
el crimen o contribuyeron a sus lesiones,
se le puede negar la compensacion.

2Quién es elegible
para solicitar?

Las victimas pueden presentar
sus propias solicitudes.

Miembros de familia y dependientes
de las victimas o el caudal hereditario
de la victima

Una persona que haya pagado
por algunos de los servicios que
recibié la victima

El tutor, tutor legal, representante
del caudal hereditario, agente
autorizado de la victima o de los
dependientes de la victima

¢Puede la VCCO reembolsarme
directamente por gastos?

Si. Alas victimas o reclamantes de les
puede reembolsar por algunos gastos.

¢Puedo presentar un reclamo
si el sospechoso aln no ha sido
arrestado o si queda absuelto
luego de un juicio?

Si. La compensacién puede otorgarse

ya sea que la persona sea enjuiciada
o determinada culpable o no.

¢La VCCO puede Pagarles
directamente a los proveedores
de servicios?

Si. Una vez sea aprobado el reclamo,

el pago puede hacerse directamente
a los proveedores de servicios.

He recibido facturas adicionales
que no se consideraron en mi
otorgamiento inicial.

¢AUn puedo presentarlas?

Si. Se pueden considerar cuentas relacionadas
con el crimen para reembolso adicional
luego del otorgamiento inicial

;Como presento
la solicitud?

Llene el formulario VCCO en linea en
www.njvictims.org. Incluya informes de
la policia y cualquier prueba que muestre
pérdidas econémicas o necesidad si es
posible. Una vez recibamos su solicitud,
un especialista en reclamos le atenderd.

También hay solicitudes disponibles en cada
una de las 21 Oficinas del Procurador del
Condado a través de su Coordinador
Victima/Testigo.

Para mds informacién o para pedir una
solicitud de reclamo, favor contactarnos por
teléfono, correo, fax, o visite nuestro sitio web.

NJ Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place, 5th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Horario: 8:00 a.m. a 5:00 p.m.

Atencidén sin cita: Por favor visite nuestro
sitio web, o llame a nuestro nGmero sin
cobros para mas detalles.

Sin cobros: 877-658-2221
Teléfono: 973-648-2107
Fax: 973-648-3937

Sitio Web: www.njvictims.org

OFICINA DE COMPENSACION A VicTIMAS DEL CRIMEN



Hunterdon County Resources

Organization | Services Contact Information
Address Safety planning 1-877-218-9133

Confidentiality and address

Program confidentiality

Catholic Charities

Housing, food,
mental health,
addiction
services

6 Park Avenue
Flemington, NJ 08822
908-782-7905

Child Play Therapy
with a Family
Connection, LLC

Mental health
(children and
adolescents)

1360 US HWY 22

Lebanon, NJ 08822

908-236-2763
http://www.childplaytherapyl.com/

Domestic Abuse &
Sexual Assault Center
(DASACC)

Emergency
shelter, mental
health, safety
planning, legal

29C Broad Street
Washington, NJ 07882
908-453-4121
https://www.dasacc.org/

advocacy
Family Crisis Immediate crisis | (908) 788-6401, ask for the Family Crisis Intervention
Intervention Unit counseling Coordinator

(FCIV)

Family Promise of
Hunterdon County,
LLC

Housing, mental
health

8 Bartles Corner Road, Suite 11
Flemington, NJ 08822
(908) 782-2490

Harvest Family
Success Center

Financial, mental
health, legal
assistance, child
care, DV,
transportation,
food/clothing

(908) 237-0465

5 East Main Street
Flemington, NJ 08822
https://harvestfsc.com/

Flemington Food
Pantry

Food and
personal care
items

154 Route 31 North
Flemington, NJ 08822
(908) 788-5568

Hunterdon Behavioral
Health

Mental health
(adults, children
and adolescents)

2100 Wescott Drive
Flemington, NJ 08822
(908) 788-6401

Hunterdon County
Division of Social
Services

Housing, health
services, job
services,
referrals, food

6 Gauntt Place

Flemington, NJ 08822

(908) 788-1300
https://www.co.hunterdon.nj.us/depts/social/socserv.htm

Updated May 2021



http://www.childplaytherapy1.com/
https://www.dasacc.org/
https://harvestfsc.com/
https://www.co.hunterdon.nj.us/depts/social/socserv.htm

Hunterdon Helpline

Mental health,
homelessness,
financial
assistance,
housing,
transportation

(908) 782-4357 (24 hours a day, 365 days a year)
http://www.helplinehc.org/

Hunterdon Healthcare

Bereavement
Support Group

Flemington, New Jersey
908-788-6600

Jewish Family Services
of Somerset,
Hunterdon and
Warren Counties

Job services,
utilities
assistance,
referrals, mental
health, food,
housing

150-A West High Street
Somerville, NJ 08876

(908) 725-7799
https://jewishfamilysvc.org/

Legal Services of
Northwest New Jersey

Legal Services

82 Park Avenue
Flemington, NJ 08822
(908) 782-7979

National Suicide
Prevention Lifeline

Mental health

1-800-273-8255 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week)

New Jersey Crime
Victims’ Law Center

Legal Services

1 Professional Quadrangle, Suite 1
Sparta, NJ 07871

(973) 512-3246
http://www.njcvlc.org/

NJ 211 Mental health, https://www.nj211.org/
child care, food, Dial 2-1-1 or Text your zip 898-211
utilities, housing

Parents Inc Support Groups, 1-800-843-5437

Workshop &
Training

http://www.pofnj.com/

Perform Care (Mobile
Response)

Mental health
(children and
adolescents)

1-877-652-7624
http://www.performcarenj.org/

Safe Harbor

Trauma Sensitive

(908) 268-4284

Counseling https://gosafeharbor.org/
SAFE in Hunterdon Emergency (908) 788-4044

shelter, mental PO Box 63

health, legal Flemington, NJ 08822

advocacy https://safeinhunterdon.org/
V.I.N.E. Inmate custody 1-877-846-3465

status
1in6 Support for men

who experienced
sexual abuse.
24/7 chat line,
Weekly chat
groups

https://1lin6.org/

Updated May 2021



http://www.helplinehc.org/
https://jewishfamilysvc.org/
http://www.njcvlc.org/
https://www.nj211.org/
http://www.pofnj.com/
http://www.performcarenj.org/
https://gosafeharbor.org/
https://safeinhunterdon.org/
https://1in6.org/

How Can You Help? Contact Us

Community members can get involved 24/7 Emergency Hotline

with our organization in a variety of 908.788.4044
ways, including:

e volunteering for our Domestic : 3 .
Violence & Sexual Assault Main Office Line
Response Teams 908.806.0019

e attending agency events in the
community

* requesting a presentation for their FOHOW Us
local organizations or places of
employment ﬁ SAFE in Hunterdon

* following SAFE on social media and

sharing our content
e donating supplies for our

emergency shelter SAFE in Hunterdon is dedicated to offering
* making a monetary donation to our @ @safeinhunterdon safety, hope, supportive services, and
organization . advocacy to survivors of domestic violence
* telling friends and family members .
about our services and sexual assault in Hunterdon County.

SAFE relies on community support and
engagement to serve Hunterdon
County survivors.

@SAFE_Hunterdon We envision a community with the strength
and knowledge to support all individuals in
their journey to maintain physical and

No action of support is too small, and emotional safety.
all support is appreciated!
IN HUNTERDON

HopeerielpeHealing
m [ ] ' ) v
Scan this QR code to visit our website! All SAFE services are free and confidential.
, Services are offered in both English and
Spanish.



SAFE in Hunterdon recognizes
domestic violence as any behavior or
action that makes an individual feel
threatened, controlled, or unsafe.

Domestic violence behaviors may
include:

e Physical or sexual violence

e Intimidation and coercion

e TForced isolation from friends/family

e Verbal abuse or harassment

e Threats against you, your family, or

your pets

e Economic control and abuse

e Destruction of property

e Spying or stalking

SAFE in Hunterdon recognizes sexual
violence as the manipulation, coercion,
or use of threat or force to engage in
unwanted sexual activity.

Sexual violence behaviors may include:
* Unwanted touching
e Any non-consensual sexual activity
* Any drug-facilitated sexual assault
e Sexual abuse against a child
e Sexual harassment

COUNSELING

SAFE in Hunterdon offers
confidential, trauma-informed
counseling to both children and
adults who have experienced
domestic violence and sexual assault.

Our counselors provide clients with
options, resources, emotional
support, and safety planning.

LEGAL ADVOCACY

SAFE's legal advocates provide free and
confidential assistance to survivors
(plaintiffs) in the restraining order and
protective order processes.

Legal advocates can provide court
accompaniment, advocacy, and
referrals to both SAFE resources and
community services.

24/7 HOTLINE ASSISTANCE

The SAFE emergency hotline is staffed
24/7 by Advocates ready to provide
information, emotional support,
referrals, crisis counseling, and safety
planning to callers.

EMERGENCY SHELTER

SAFE provides emergency shelter to
survivors and their families fleeing
from abuse for up to 30 days.

Our agency Safe House is a communal
living environment. Shelter residents
may access all SAFE services during
their stay.

COMMUNITY OUTREACH &
PREVENTION EFFORTS

As part of its mission, SAFE in
Hunterdon provides education and
training to those seeking to learn how
to prevent or respond to domestic and
sexual violence in their community.

SAFE provides customized workshops
on a variety of topics for:

e individuals

* neighborhoods

* community organizations

* schools, colleges and universities

* religious and civic groups

e small businesses

e gervice providers

e and more!

Our educators use a variety of
techniques to engage participants,
including lectures, guided discussion,
technology, interactive lessons and
other materials.

CRISIS INTERVENTION

The Domestic Violence Response Team
(DVRT) and Sexual Assault Response Team
(SART) provide emotional support, safety
planning, advocacy, and information
regarding legal options and community
resources to survivors at all Hunterdon
County police stations, State Police barracks
and at Hunterdon Medical Center.



3Como puedes Contéactanos
ayudar?

Los miembros de la comunidad pueden 24/7 Linea de Emergencia

involucrarse con nuestra organizacion 908.788.4044
de varias maneras, incluyendo:

e voluntariado para nuestros equipos

. . U] Linea de oficina principal
de respuesta a violencia doméstica

y agresion sexual 908.806.0019
e asistir a eventos de agencias en la

comunidad Si enos
e solicitar una presentacion para sus gu

organizaciones locales o lugares de

empleo ﬁ SAFE in Hunterdon

* seguir a SAFE en las redes sociales n
y compartir nuestro contenido

e donar suministros para nuestro
refugio de emergencia SAFE en Hunterdon se dedica a ofrecer

¢ hacer una donacién monetaria a @Safeinhunterdon seguridad, esperanza, servicios de apoyoy
nuestra organizacion

e contarle a amigos y familiares
sobre nuestros servicios

defensa a los sobrevivientes de violencia
doméstica y agresion sexual en el Condado de
Hunterdon.
@SATE _ Hunterdon Imaginamos una comunidad con la fuerza y el
conocimiento para apoyar a todas las
personas en su viaje para mantener la

SAFE depende del apoyo y la
participacion de la comunidad para
servir a los sobrevivientes del Condado
de Hunterdon.

Ninguna accién de apoyo es demasiado seguridad fisica y emocional.
pequena, y todo el apoyo es apreciado!
IN HUNTERDON

HopewtHelpetiealing

iEscanee este codigo QR para visitar Todos los servicios de SAFE son gratuitos y

nuestro sitio web! confidenciales.

Servicios se ofrecen en Inglés y Espaiiol.

) 0L O




SAFE in Hunterdon reconoce la
violencia doméstica como cualquier
comportamiento o accién que hace que
un individuo se sienta amenazado,
controlado o inseguro.

Los comportamientos de violencia
doméstica pueden incluir:
* Violencia fisica o sexual
e Intimidacion y coercién
e Aislamiento forzado de
amigos/familiares
e Abuso verbal o acoso
e Amenazas contra usted, su familia o
sus mascotas
e Control econémico y abuso
* Destruccion de propiedad
e Espionaje o acoso

SAFE in Hunterdon reconoce la
violencia sexual como la manipulacion,
coercion o uso de amenazas o fuerza
para participar en actividades sexuales
no deseadas.

Los comportamientos de violencia
sexual pueden incluir:
e Tocamientos no deseados
e Cualquier actividad sexual no
consentida
* Cualquier agresion sexual facilitada
por drogas
e Abuso sexual contra un nino
e Acoso sexual

TERAPIA/ ASESORAMIENTO
SAFE en Hunterdon ofrece consejeria
confidencial, informada sobre el
trauma, tanto para nifios como para
adultos que han experimentado
violencia doméstica y agresion sexual.
Nuestros consejeros brindan a los
clientes opciones, recursos, apoyo
emocional y planificacion de
seguridad.

ABOGACIA LEGAL

Los defensores legales de SAFE brindan
asistencia gratuita y confidencial a los
sobrevivientes (demandantes) en los
procesos de ordenes de restriccion y
ordenes de proteccion.

Los defensores legales de SAFE brindan
asistencia gratuita y confidencial a los
sobrevivientes (demandantes) en los
procesos de 6rdenes de restriccion y
ordenes de proteccion.

24/7 LINEA DE EMERGENCIA
La linea directa de emergencia SAFE esta
atendida las 24/7 dias de la semana, por
defensores dispuestos a proporcionar
informacion, apoyo emocional, referencias,
asesoramiento en caso de crisis y
planificacion de seguridad a las personas
que llaman.

REFUGIO DE EMERGENCIA
SAFE proporciona refugio de emergencia
a sobrevivientes y sus familias que huyen
del abuso por hasta 30 dias.

Nuestra agencia de refugio es un entorno
de vida comunal. Los residentes del
refugio pueden acceder a todos los
servicios seguros durante su estancia.

ESFUERZOS DE PARTICIPACION
COMUNITARIA

Como parte de su mision, SAFE in
Hunterdon proporciona educacion y
capacitacion a aquellos que buscan
aprender coémo prevenir o responder a
la violencia doméstica y sexual en su
comunidad.
SAFE ofrece talleres personalizados
sobre una variedad de temas para:

e individuos

e vecindario

* organizaciones comunitarias

* escuelas, colegios y universidades

e grupos religiosos y civicos

* pequeilas empresas

e proveedores de servicio

e ;y mas!

Nuestros educadores utilizan una
variedad de técnicas para involucrar a
los participantes, incluidas
conferencias, debates guiados,
tecnologia, lecciones interactivas y
otros materiales.

INTERVENCION DE CRISIS

El Equipo de Respuesta a la Violencia
Doméstica (DVRT) y el Equipo de Respuesta
ala Agresion Sexual (SART) proporcionan
apoyo emocional, planificacion de la
seguridad, defensa e informacion sobre
opciones legales y recursos comunitarios a
los sobrevivientes en todas las estaciones de

policia del Condado de Hunterdon, cuarteles

de la Policia Estatal y en el Centro Médico
Hunterdon.



SPECIAL VICTIMS
INVESTIGATIVE RESPONSE

“A TEAM EFFORT”
WHAT TO EXPECT

Matter is reported to SVU; information is
gathered to determine the response from
SVU. Some instances require an immediate
response. Others are triaged.

Determine jurisdiction and coordinate with
the local police agency.

If a sexual assault occurred within 5 days,
determine whether the victim wants/needs
the services of the Sexual Assault Nurse
Examiner (SANE).

Determine what services are needed for the
victim. A sexual assault advocate may be o
contacted on the victim’s behalf.

Interview the victim, witnesses, and in-
volved parties.

Gather any evidence if evidence exists.
Interview the suspect if feasible.

All investigations are reviewed by the Assis-
tant Prosecutor at all stages of the investiga-
tion.

All investigations are fact sensitive and
unique. There is no set time frame for an o
investigation to conclude.

If probable cause exists, the suspect may be
criminally charged. If so, they may be de-
tained in county jail. N

If there is not enough probable cause to
charge a suspect, the victim will be so noti-
fied and afforded an opportunity to meet
with the AP to discuss the investigation.

Criminally charged cases will go through °
the court process (first appearance, Grand
Jury, status conferences, plea and/or trial).
The Victim Witness Unit will maintain con-
tact with the victim during all phases of a
criminal matter; victims will be consulted
during plea negotiations.

PROTECTION FOR THE VICTIM

If criminal charges are filed, a victim may
obtain a Sex Offense Restraining Order
(SORQO). The Hunterdon County Prosecu-
tor’s Office will assist a victim in obtaining
this order.

If criminal charges are declined, a court
may determine that the victim is eligible for
a protective order under the “Sexual As-
sault Survivor Protection Act of
2015” (SASPA). A victim must contact the
Hunterdon County Family Division at
(908) 824-9750 to start that process.

RESOURCES

SAFE in Hunterdon (888) 988-4033
Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Support
Services

Catholic Charities-Flemington

Family Service Center (908) 782-7905
Flemington, NJ
Victim Witness Advocacy (908) 788-1403

Hunterdon County Prosecutor’s Office
(908) 788-1129

NJ 24-Hour Sexual Assault
Hotline
WWW.Nnjcasa.org

(800) 601-7200

VCCO (Victims of Crime

Compensation Office) (973) 648-2107
Provides financial assistance to eligible victims
of some crimes

wWww.njvictims.org

National Sexual Assault
Hotline
WWW.Iainn.org

(800) 656-HOPE

National Sexual Violence Resource Center
WWW.NSVIC.0rg

HUNTERDON
COUNTY
PROSECUTOR’S
OFTICE

SPECIAL
VICTIMS
UNIT

INFORMATION
FOR VICTIMS
OF SEXUAL
ASSAULT



SPECIAL VICTIMS UNIT

The Special Victims Unit (SVU) is
primarily responsible for investigating and
prosecuting cases involving sexual and physical
abuse of children. SVU is also responsible for
providing investigative assistance to various
municipal and state police agencies in sexual
assault cases involving adult victims. All
investigations are coordinated with the SVU, the
police agency, and, if applicable, the Division of
Child Protection & Permanency (DCP&P). The
unit is prepared to respond 24 hours a day to
those incidents that require an immediate
response; other matters are investigated in a time-
sensitive manner. Obtaining proper treatment for
the victim is a priority, together with doing a
comprehensive and thorough investigation.

Our Child Advocacy Center (CAC) is
designed to put young victims at ease. The CAC
is always utilized for victims that are under the
age of 13, and often utilized for older victims. To
eliminate the need for multiple interview, the
rooms are equipped with digital video recording
and monitoring so other involved agencies (i.e.
DCP&P) can monitor the interviews.

All investigations are reviewed by an
Assistant Prosecutor (AP). Victims are afforded
an opportunity to spcak with thc AP to discuss
whether their case is to be criminally charged or
not. If a case is charged, a member of the Victim
Witness Unit will remain in contact with the
victim throughout the process, including but not
limited to discussions of plea agreements, trial
preparation, and other matters.

OTHER SVU FUNCTIONS

INTERNET CRIMES AGAINST

CHILDREN (ICAQC)
The SVU is a member of the ICAC, a na-

tional network of federal, state, and local law en-
forcement and prosecutorial agencies. These agen-
cies are engaged in investigations, forensic examina-
tions, and criminal prosecutions. ICAC encom-
passes the exploitation of children on line, most
prominently involving the possession, transmission,
and manufacturing of child pornography. In New
Jersey, child pornography is defined as images or
video depicting persons under the age of 18 engag-
ing in sexual acts or simulated sexual acts. HCPO
SVU actively investigates all tips received from the
ICAC. The detectives involved in ICAC are highly
trained in computer forensics and the latest and
evolving technology.

MEGAN’S LAW
The SVU is responsible for monitoring all

registered sex offenders within Hunterdon County.
Additionally, the SVU is responsible for any com-
munity/law enforcement notification conducted for
each registrant. The process begins when a person
registers within Hunterdon County; the registrant is
then tiered utilizing a risk assessment scale. If a reg-
istrant is tiered as a tier 2 (moderate risk) or tier 3
(high risk), the matter is then scheduled for court for
the purpose of obtaining an order to conduct com-
munity notification and/or internet notification.
*Not all registrants are listed on the sex offender

website located at www.njsp.org

Registrants who fail to verify or register
their addresses are criminally charged by either the
SVU or the local police department.

UNDERSTANDING
WHAT IS SEXUAL ASSAULT

Sexual assault is a term used to define a broad
range of unwanted sexual activities. In New
Jersey, sex crimes are defined under chapter 14
of the 2C Criminal Code. Sex crimes can hap-
pen to anyone, regardless of their age, sex, gen-
der identity, educational level, race, or socioec-
onomic status. Perpetrators can be anyone, in-
cluding but not limited to strangers, family
members, friends, intimate partners, and clergy.
In most cases, perpetrators are someone with
whom the victim is acquainted. Regardless of
the relationship between the victim and the sus-
pect, or the circumstances, no one deserves to
be sexually assaulted.

Victims may react in various ways to a sexual
assault. They should understand that no matter
their reaction, it is normal and that help is
available, whether a victim wants to report the
incident to law enforcement or not.

Victims should always remember that if they
report a crime but it does not lead to criminal
charges, that does not mean that it did not oc-
cur or that they were not believed. Charges can
only be filed when a case can be proved beyond
a reasonable doubt. There also may be instanc-
es where it takes time for charges be brought;
this could be because SVU is waiting for lab
reports, statements, reports, or other evidence.
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