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We have learned that you are a victim of a crime. The Victim Withess Unit at the Gloucester County
Prosecutor's Office provides assistance to victims to help lessen the loss and any inconveniences as a
result of being victimized.

The Victim Witness Unit can help you apply for reimbursement of medical expenses and/or loss of earnings
through the New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office. If you feel that you are in need of
immediate support or counseling services, please contact Services Empowering Rights of Victims (SERV)
for free and confidential services on their 24-hour bilingual helpline at (866) 295-7378.

Enclosed, please find information on resources available fo you. For statewide information on additional
resources, you can visit hitps://nicasa.org/our-work/resources/.

If you would like further information, or have any questions, please feel free to contact the Victim Withess
Unit at (856) 384-5500.

Hemos aprendido que usted ha sido victima de un crimen. La Unidad de Testigos de Victimas en la
oficina del Fiscalia en el Condado de Gloucester proporciona asistencia a las victimas para ayudar a
disminuir la pérdida y cualquier inconveniente como resultado de ser victimas.

La Unidad de Testigos de Victimas puede ayudarle a solicitar el reembolso de los gastos medicos o
pérdida de ganancias a traves de la Junta de Compensacion para Victimas de Crimenes de Estado de
New Jersey. Sisiente que necesita servicios inmediatos de apoyo o asesoramiento, pdngase en contacto
con servicios que empoderan los derechos de las victimas (SERV) servicios gratuitos y confidenciales y su
linea de ayuda bilingUe las 24-hora a (866) 295-7378.

Adjunto, encontrara informacién sobre los recursos disponibles para usted. Para obtener informacion a
nivel estatal sobre recursos adicionales, puede visitar https://njcasa.org/our-work/resources/.

Si desea obtener mds informacion o tiene alguna pregunta, no dude en ponerse en contacto con la
unidad Consejera de Victimas a (856) 384.5579.

Sincerely/Atentamente,

Eillin M. (Robinson

Lillian M. Robinson
Victim Witness Coordinator/Coordinador de Victimas y Testigos

The County of Gloucester complies with all state and federal rules and regulations against discrimination in admission to, access to, or
operations of its programs, services, and activities. In addition, County encourages participation of people with disabilities in its
programs and activities and offers special services to all residents 60 years of age and older. Inquiries regarding compliance may be
directed to the County’s ADA Coordinator at (856) 384-6842/ New Jersey Relay Service 711.

A NIJSACOP Accredited and CALEA Recognized Law Enforcement Agency
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The Gloucester County Office of

Victim Witness Advocacy
Providesthefollowingservices

to victims and witnesses:

Criminal justice orientation and information
Assistance in completing victimimpact
statement

Referrals for counseling and supportservices
Case status notification

Courtroom accompaniment

Information about transportation, parking,
courthouse location

Child care when attending courtproceedings
Information and assistance in filing claimswith
the victims of Crime Compensation Office
Assistance in applying for restitution
Employer and creditor intercession
Aseparate and secure waiting area while waiting
to appear in court

Information and assistance regarding NJVINE
System

In sexual assault cases, assistance inobtaining

HIV/AIDS test results of the defendant

Suggestions For

Courtroom Testimony

Be prepared. Before you testify, try to remember
the scene and what happened. Do not try to
memorize your testimony, just be prepared to tell
what happened in your own words.

Listen carefully to the questions. If you do not
understand a question, ask that it be explained or
repeated.

Think before you speak. Give an accurate answer
to the best of your ability. If you do not know the
answer to a question, or if you do not remember,
say so.

Speak clearly and loud enough so that all the
jurors can hear you.

Answer only the questions that are asked of you. Do
not volunteer information.

Dress neatly and appropriately for court. Avoid
distracting mannerisms, such as chewing gum while
testifying. Be serious and avoid joking.

Stop when the judge interrupts you or when an
attorney objects to a question. Wait until the court
gives its ruling. You will be told when to continue.

Be courteous, even if the lawyer asking questions
is not. It is important that you do not lose your
temper or argue with either attorney. Stay calm at
all times while you are being questioned.

Tell the truth at all times. You will be sworn to
tell the truth. Do not guess or make up an answer.

As a victim or witness, it is important that you
keep the Office of Victim Witness Advocacy
informed of any change of address or telephone
number before and after the case has concluded.



New Jersey Crime Victims Bill of Rights
(NJS 52:4B-36)
(Amended October 6, 2012)

Crime victims and witnesses are entitled to the
following rights:

1.

a. To be treated with dignity and compassion
by the criminal justice system

b. To be informed about the criminal justice
process

c. To be free from intimidation

d. To have inconveniences associated with
participation in the criminal justice process
minimized to the fullest extent possible

e. To make at least one telephone call provided
the call is reasonable in both length and
location called

f. To medical assistance if, in the judgment of
the law enforcement agency, medical
assistance appears necessary

g. To be notified if presence in court is not
needed

h. To be informed about available remedies,
financial assistance and social services

i. To be compensated for their loss whenever
possible

j.  To be provided a secure, but not necessarily
separate, waiting area during court
proceedings

k. To be advised of case progress and final
disposition :

1. To the prompt return of property when n
longer needed as evidence

m. To submit a written statement about the
impact of the crime to a representative of the
county prosecutor's office which shall be
considered prior to the prosecutor's final
decision concerning whether formal criminal
charges will be filed

n. To make, prior to sentencing, an in-person
statement directly to the sentencing court
concerning the impact of the crime. This
statement is to be made in addition to the
statement permitted for inclusion in the
presentence report by N.J.S. 2C:44-6. In any
homicide prosecution the victim's survivor
may display directly to the sentencing court
at the time of this statement a photograph of
the victim taken before the homicide.

To have the opportunity to consult with the
prosecuting authority prior to the conclusion of
any plea negotiations, and to have the prosecutor
advise the court of the consultation and the
victim’s position regarding the plea agreement,
provided however that nothing herein shall be
construed to alter or limit the authority or
discretion of the prosecutor to enter into any
plea agreement which the prosecutor deems
appropriate. -

To be present at any judicial proceeding
involving a crime or any juvenile proceeding
involving a criminal offense except as otherwise
provided by Article I, paragraph 22 of the New
Jersey Constitution.

To be notified of any release or escape of the
defendant.

To appear in any court before which a
proceeding implicating the right of the victim is
being held, with standing to file a motion or
present argument on a motion filed to enforce
any right conferred herein or by Article 1,
Paragraph 22 of the New Jersey Constitution,
and to receive an adjudicative decision by the
court on any such motion.

A victim survivor n%éy, at the time of making the
in-person statement to the sentencing court
authorized by subsection. n. section 3 of P.L.
1985, c.249 (C.52:4B-36), display directly to the
sentencing court a photograph of the victim
taken before the homicide including, but not
limited to, a still photograph, a computer
generated presentation, or a video presentation
of the victim. The time, length, and content of
such presentation shall be within the sound
discretion of the sentencing judge.

A victim survivor may, during any judicial
proceeding involving the defendant, wear a
button not exceeding four inches in diameter that
contains a picture of the victim, if the court
determines that the wearing of such button will
not deprive the defendant of his right to a fair
trial under the Sixth Amendment of the United
States Constitution and Article I of the New
Jersey Constitution. Other spectators at such
judicial proceedings may also wear similar
buttons if the court so determines. If the victim’s
survivor seeks to wear the button to trial, the
victim’s survivor shall give notice to the
defendant and to the court no less than 30 days
prior to the final trial date.



The Criminal Case Process

Investigation
and/or Arrest

Initial Case

Screening

—

Refer to Direct Charges Authorized Charges
Municipal Presentation (Complaint Issued) Declined
Court
First Pre-Trial
Appearance Intervention
Pre-Indictment Detention
Conference Hearing
Grand Jury
Remand to True Bill {Indictment) No Bill

Municipal Court

Plea Negotiation

Post Indictment
Arraignment

Initial Case
Disposition

Final Case Disposition
Conference

Discretionary Case
Disposition Conference

Pre-Trial Conference

Guilty
Sentencing

Trial

r Not Guilty l | Guilty I

Sentencing

Appeal
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Criminal Justice
Terms and Definitions

Assistant Prosecutor: A lawyer employed by the county
prosecutor’s office to prosecute cases for the State of New
Jersey.

Public Defender: A lawyer employed by the State of New
Jersey to represent indigent defendants of a crime.
Complaint: Tnitial formal document charging defendant with
a crime

First Appearance Hearing: Once a complaint is issued,
defendants are either arrested or issued a summons or notice to
appear in Superior Court on a first appearance. At the First
Appearance incarcerated defendants can be released subject to
conditions set by the court or held without bail because the
state is seeking to detain the defendant without bail until trial.
First Appearance hearings are held within 24 hours of arrest or
issuance of a warrant complaint for incarcerated defendants.
First Appearances are held no more than 60 days after arrest or
issuance of a summons for non-incarcerated defendants.
Pre-Indictment Conference: This hearing is scheduled 45
days from the time of the First Appearance. The hearing is an
opportunity for the assistant prosecutor to discuss with the
defense attorney potential pre- indictment case resolutions
(guilty plea).

Grand Jury: A 23-person jury that hears evidence presented
by an assistant prosecutor to determine whether or not there is
a sufficient basis for a formal charge to be issued.
Post-Indictment Arraignment: This is the first appearance
made by the defendant before a Superior Court Judge after
indictment. The assistant prosecutor will advise the defendant
of the indictment. The defendant, through his/her attorney will
enter a guilty or not guilty plea. This hearing will be held 14
days after indictment.

Status Conferences: There are two status conference
hearings, with the possible exception of a third conference at
the judge’s discretion, The first status conference is called the
Initial Case Disposition Conference; the second conference is
called the Final Case Disposition Conference and the third, the
Discretionary Case Disposition Conference. These hearings
are public hearings where the defendant and his/her lawyer
and an assistant prosecutor appear before a Superior Court
judge.

Plea Negotiation: A process in which the assistant prosecutor
and the defendant, through his/her attorney, attempt to reach a
plea agreement in which the defendant agrees to plead guilty
to some or all of the charges. The first plea offer by the
assistant prosecutor may be provided to the defense attorney
as early as the Pre-Indictment Conference.

Petit Jury: A group of twelve citizens selected to hear
evidence relating to the charges stated in the indictment.
Sentencing: The disposition/punishment phase of the criminal
matter before a Superior Court judge. A sentence can include
prison, probation, restitution, community service, mental
health counseling, fines & penalties, or any combination of
these. This is the phase where a victim has the opportunity to -
address the court with a Victim ITmpact Statement, which is a
statement, written and/or oral, made by the victim describing
how the crime has affected his/her life.



Important Phone Numbers
The Gloucester County Office of Victim Witness
Advocacy has compiled the following brief list of
agencies and organizations, which may be of
assistance to victims and witnesses.

State Agencies

Victims of Crime Compensation Office
1-877-658-2221
WWW.njvictims.org

State Parole Board
1-609-292-4582
www.state.nj.us/parole

Department of Corrections/Victim Services Unit
1-609-292-4036 x 5299
www.state.nj.us/corrections

State Police Sex Offender Registry
www.njsp.org/sex-offender-registry

State Domestic Violence Hotline
1-800-572-7233

State Sexual Assault Hotline
1-800-601-7200

Counseling
Center for Family Services

1-877-922-2377
www.centerffs.org

Catholic Charities
1-866-628-2166

Newpoint Behavioral Health
856-845-8050
www.newpointbhc.org

Support Groups

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (M.A.D.D.)
609-409-1220

Compassionate Friends (Loss of child)
856-423-7919

Judicial and Legal Information’
(856 area code)

Prosecutor’s Office 384-5500
Probation Department 878-5050
Family Division 878-5050
Sheriff’s Department 384-4600
Salem County Jail 769-4300
GC Legal Referral Service . 848-4589

Domestic Violence Information
Services Empowering the Rights of Victims -
(SERV) ' 964-7378
DV Shelter and Support - 881-3335

Child Abuse
Division of Child Protection and Permanency
East Division (Sewell) 582-1238
West Division (West Deptford) 853-5525
Abuse and Neglect Hotline 1-877-652-2873

Adult Protective Services

County Board of Social Services 582-9200
Adult Protective Services 256-2101

Division of Aging/Senior Services ~ 384-6900
Division of Human

and Disability Services 384-6842
Emergency Services
Police, Fire and Rescue 911
Psychiatric Crisis Support 845-9100
Addictive Services
GC Office of Addiction 384-6885
First Step Program 609-743-2191

856-562-8187

Sexual Assault Response Team
Inspira Medical Center Emergency (Woodbury)
845-0100
Jefferson Health Emergency (Washington TWP)
582-2500



GLOUCESTER COUNTY

- MUNICIPAL COURTS
CLAYTON (See ELK)

DEPTFORD TWP 856-686-2230
EAST GREENWICH TWP JOINT MC 856-423-3010

ELK TOWNSHIP JOINT MC 856-881-6525
FRANKLIN TWPJOINT MC 856-694-1661
GLASSBORO 856-881-0383
GREENWICH TOWNSHIP 856-423-0113
"HARRISON TWP JOINT MC 856-478-4049
LOGAN TOWNSHIP 856-467-3425
MANTUA TWP JOINT MC 856-468-3078
MONROE TOWNSHIP 856-728-2144

NATIONAL PARK (See WESTVILLE)

NEWFIELD (See ELK)

PAULSBORO 856-423-3888
PITMAN (See MANTUA)

SOUTH HARRISON (See HARRISON)
WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 856-589-0546

WENONAH (See MANTUA)
WEST DEPTFORD TWP 856-845-4004
WESTVILLE JOINT MC 856-456-0066

WOODBURY (See DEPTFORD)

WOODBURY HEIGHTS (See MANTUA)

WOOLWICH TWP JOINT MC 856-467-1555
LOCATION

The Gloucester County Office of Victim Witness
Advocacy and Gloucester County Courthouse are
located on 70 North Hunter Street in Woodbury. Free
parking available at parking garage on the corner of
Hunter and Broad Streets in Woodbury.

ArticleOne—Paragraph22
New Jersey
‘State Constitution
Adopted November 5,1991

The victim of a crime shall be
treated with fairnes&,
compassionandrespect by the

criminal justicesystem.

Notes

Statev.

Assistant Prosecutor:

Trial Aide:

Telephone Number:

Detective:

Telephone Number:

Victim Advocate:

Telephone Number:

GLOUCESTER COUNTY
PROSECUTOR’S
OFFICE

www.co.gloucester.nj.us




Mission Statement

The Gloucester County Prosecutor's Office is dedicated
towards providing our citizens with the most skilled and
professional investigation and prosecution of criminal
offenders by using all available resources. It is our goal
to enforce the laws without prejudice in a timely manner,
while treating the victims of crime with the respect and
compassion they deserve. The members of this Office
will work in partnership with the law enforcement
community and citizens of Gloucester County to
promote a safe environment in all municipalities. The
Gloucester County Prosecutor's Office, as the chief law
enforcement agency in Gloucester County, provides
leadership and supervision over the chiefs of police and
municipal prosecutors with a view to ensure the
effective, efficient and uniform enforcement of the
criminal laws and the administration of criminal justice
throughout Gloucester County.

GLOUCESTER COUNTY
PROSECUTOR’S OFFICE
70 North Hunter Street
PO Box 623
Woodbury, NJ 08096
(856) 384-5500

www.co.gloucester.nj.us

The County of Gloucester complies with all state and federal rules
and regulations against discrimination in admission to, access to,
or operations of its programs, services, and activities. In addition,
Gloucester County encourages participation of people with
disabilities in its programs and activities and offers special
services to all residents 60 years of age and older. Inquiries
regarding compliance may be directed to the County’s ADA
Coordinator at (856) 384-6842/ New Jersey Relay Service 711.

7/2020



N.J. Stat. Ann. § 52:4B-60.1 et seq.

In New Jersey; victims of sexual violence are afforded the following rights:

(1) To have any allegation of sexual assault treated

(2)

3

(4)

(5)

seriously; to be treated with dignity and compassion;
and to be notified of existing medical, counseling,
mental health, or other services available for victims
of sexual assault, whether or not the crime is reported
to law enforcement;

To be free, to the extent consistent with the New
Jersey or United States Constitution, from any
suggestion that victims are responsible for the
commission of crimes against them or any suggestion
that victims were contributorily negligent or assumed
the risk of being assaulted;

To be free from any suggestion that victims are to report
the crimes to be assured of any other guaranteed right
and that victims should refrain from reporting crimes in
order to avoid unwanted personal publicity;

When applicable, to no-cost access to the services of a
sexual assault response team comprised of: a certified
forensic nurse examiner, a confidential sexual violence
advocate, and a law enforcement official as provided in
accordance with the Attorney General’s Standards for
Providing Services to Victims of Sexual Assault, and the
choice to opt into or out of any of the team’s services;

To be informed of, and assisted in exercising, the right
to be confidentially or anonymously tested for acquired
immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or infection with
the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other
related virus identified as a probable causative agent of
AIDS; and to be informed of, and assisted in exercising,
any rights that may be provided by law to compel and
disclose the results of testing of a sexual assault suspect
for communicable diseases;

NEw JErRSEY OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY (GENERAL

(6) 'To have forensic medical evidence, if collected, retained
for a minimum of five years, and to receive information
about the status of the evidence upon request;

(7) To choose whether to participate in any investigation
of the assault;

(8) To reasonable efforts to provide treatment and
interviews in a language in which the victim is fluent
and the right to be given access to appropriate assistive
devices to accommodate disabilities that the victim
may have, whether temporary or long term;

(9) 'To information and assistance in accessing specialized
mental health services; protection from further violence;
other appropriate community or governmental services,
including services provided by the Victims of Crime
Compensation Office; and all other assistance available
to crime victims under current law;

(10) To be apprised of the availability and process by
which a court may order the taking of testimony
from a victim via closed circuit television in
accordance with section 1 of P1.1985, ¢.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); and

(11) To be apprised of the availability and process by which
to seek protections through a temporary or final
protective order under the “Sexual Assault Survivor
Protection Act of 2015,” P1.2015, c.147 (C.2C:14-13
et seq.), if the victim believes that the victim is at risk
for re-victimization or further harm by the perpetrator.

DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE




En Nueva Jersey a las victimas de violencia sexual se les otorgan los siguientes derechos:

(1) Que toda denuncia de agresién sexual sea tratada
con seriedad; ser tratada/o con dignidad y compasion;
y de ser notificada/o de servicios disponibles ya sean
médicos, de consejerfa y asesoramiento, de salud
mental, o de otros tipos disponibles para las victimas
de agresion sexual ya sea que se haya reportada el
delito a las agencias del orden piblico o no.

(2) De estar libres, en la medida compatible con la
Constitucién de Nueva Jersey o de Los Estados
Unidos, de cualquier inferencia que las victimas
son las responsables por los delitos que se cometen
en su contra o de alguna inferencia que las victimas
contribuyeron al delito por su negligencia o que
asumido el riesgo de ser agredidas/os.

(3) De estar libres de cualquier inferencia que las
victimas deben reportar los delitos para que se les
asegure algtin otro derecho garantizado y que las
victimas deben evitar reportar los delitos para evitar
publicidad personal no deseada.

(4) Cuando aplique, al acceso sin costo a los servicios de un
equipo de respuesta a la agresion sexual comprendido por
una enfermera examinadora forense certificada, un asesor
confidencial de violencia sexual, y un oficial del orden
piblico como lo indican los Estdndares de la Oficina del
Fiscal General para proveer servicios a las Victimas de
Agresion Sexual, y de tener la opcién de participar o no
con los servicios que provee el equipo y que usted escoja.

(5) De que se le informe y que se le ayude a ejercer su
derecho a obtener pruebas confidenciales para detectar
el Sindrome de Inmunodeficiencia Adquirida (SIDA)
o la infeccién con el Virus de Inmunodeficiencia
Humana (VIH) o de cualquier otro vitus relacionado e
identificado como probab(}c agente causante del SIDA;
y de permanecer informada/o y recibir asistencia al
ejercer cualquier derecho que le otorgue la ley para
requerir y divulgar los resultados de pruebas que se le
hayan hecho a un sospechoso de agresién sexual para
detectar enfermedades transmisibles;

(6) Que se guarden los resultados de las pruebas médicas
forenses, si es que se han colectado, por un minimo
de cinco afios, y de recibir informacién sobre la
condicién/estatus de las evidencias cuando la solicite.

(7) Decidir si participar o no en la investigacién
de la agresién.

(8) Que se hagan esfuerzos razonables para proveer
tratamiento y entrevistas en el idioma en el que la
victima hable con fluidez y dar acceso a dispositivos
de asistencia adecuados en relacién a cualquier
incapacidad que pueda tener la victima ya sea
temporal o a largo plazo;

(9) A tener informacién y ayuda para poder tener
acceso a servicios especializados de salud mental;
a proteccion contra NUEVos actos de violencia; a
otros servicios apropiados ya sean comunitarios o
gubernamentales, incluyendo los servicios proveidos
por la Oficina de Compensacién para Victimas del
Crimen; y toda otra ayuda disponible a victimas de
delitos conforme a las leyes vigentes.

(10) De ser informada/o de la disponibilidad y el proceso
por el cual un tribunal puede ordenar testimonio de
una victima a través de circuito cerrado de television
conforme a la seccién 1 de PL. 1985, c.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); y

(11) De ser informada/o sobre la disponibilidad y el
proceso para solicitar proteccién mediante una
orden de alejamiento temporal o permanente
conforme a “la Ley de proteccion a sobrevivientes
de agresiones sexuales del 2015,” PL.2015, c.147
(C.2C:14-13 et seq.), si la victima cree que corre el
riesgo de ser victima de nuevo o de dafio adicional
por parte del autor.

NEw JERSEY OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY (GENERAL

DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
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FACT SHEET

The Sexual Assault Victim’s Bill of Rights was enacted in 2019 to outline basic protections
and fundamental rights for survivors. As a survivor of sexual violence, the time immediately
following an assault can seem confusing and overwhelming. Next steps in the aftermath of an
assault should be led by the survivor.

No matter what a survivor chooses to do in the aftermath of an assault, they should know their rights
are guaranteed, even if the assault is not reported to law enforcement. The Sexual Assault Victim’s Bill of
Rights declares all survivors of sexual violence have the right to be treated with dignity and compassion and the
right to be free from blame. The Bill of Rights also affirms that the survivor should be free from any suggestion
that they contributed to the risk of being assaulted. Sexual violence is never the fault of the survivor.

SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO:

Choose whether to report to law enforcement.
Be free from any suggestion that they must report
the crime to have their rights guaranteed.

Be free from any suggestion that victims should
refrain from reporting crimes in order to avoid
unwanted personal publicity.

Have their report of sexual assault treated seriously.

SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE INFORMED OF AND ACCESS:

Existing medical, counseling, mental health,
or other services available for victims of sexual
assault, whether or not the crime is reported to
law enforcement.

Treatment and interviews provided in a language
in which the victim is fluent.

Assistive devices to accommodate disabilities that
the victim may have.

Testing for HIV or any other sexually transmitted
infections and assistance with compelling and
disclosing the results of testing for a communicable
disease from the person who caused harm.

CONTINUED...



SURVIVORS HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE INFORMED OF AND ACCESS:

» Evidence collection and preservation. Evidence
collection is time sensitive and should occur within
five days of the assault. Survivors can choose to
have evidence collected whether or not they pursue
a criminal case. All forensic evidence is retained for
a minimum of five years. If the survivor chooses to
report to police, either at the time of collection or
later, they can request information on the status
of the evidence.

* Financial compensation. The Victims of Crime
Compensation Office (VCCO) offers assistance with
accessing compensation for expenses that occurred
as a result of an assault, including the cost of mental
health counseling, medical bills, relocation, and loss
of earnings. Survivors can reach the VCCO at (877)
658-2221 or www.NJVictims.org.

» Acivil protective order. Under the Sexual Assault
Survivor Protection Act of 2015, survivors can seek
a civil protective order against the person who
caused them harm if there is risk of further harm.

The no-cost services of a Sexual Assault Response
Team (SART), if the survivor is over the age of
13. A SART is comprised of a Confidential Sexual
Violence Advocate (CSVA), a Law Enforcement
Officer (LEO), and a Forensic Nurse Examiner (FNE).

*The CSVA is a confidential resource who can
support the survivor through the SART process.
The CSVA provides emotional support and can
help the survivor explore their rights, options,
and available resources.

*The LEO can provide thorough and objective
assistance in responding to and conducting a
criminal investigation of sexual assault.

« If the assault occurred within the last five days,
the FNE can tend to the medical needs of the
survivor and perform a Sexual Assault Forensic
Exam (SAFE) Kit to collect forensic evidence. The
survivor can choose to work with one, two,
or all three of the SART members.

The support of a Confidential Sexual Violence Advocate is always available, 24 hours
a day. To learn more about survivors' rights and options or to speak with an advocate,

contact your local sexual violence service provider.

If you are in immediate danger, call 911.

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault

WWW.Njcasa.org
24-hour Statewide Hotline:
(800) 601-7200

REFERENCES
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© New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault 2020.

The New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) is the statewide
organization representing 21 county-based rape crisis centers and Rutgers
University's Office for Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance. NJCASA
elevates the voice of survivors and service providers through advocacy,
training, and support for efforts to create safer communities for all people.
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LAW & LEGISLATION

LAW & LEGISLATION

I the sexual
;assault survivor

protection act
(SASPA)

@

The Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act (SASPA) expands opportunities for survivors of sexual
violence to apply for a protective order against their perpetrator, without reporting to law enforcement
or filing criminal charges. SASPA was passed into law in November 2015 and was enacted in May 2016.

The vast majority of sexual violence survivors know their perpetrator. SASPA closed a legal loophole,
where protective orders weren’t available for survivors of sexual assault unless there was a charge or
conviction.

46.7% ACQUAINTANCE

WHAT IS A PROTECTIVE ORDER & WHAT DOES IT
DO?

A protective order is a document issued by the courtto help
protect a survivor from a perpetrator and stop any further
acts of violence or intimidating behaviors.

A protective order can shield survivors from:

- Further acts of violence

- Seeing a perpetrator (the person can be prevented
from entering specific places that the survivor or their
household members regularly frequent, such as work,
home, or school)

- Future contact with their perpetrator (whether in-person,

over the phone, or through another person) 12.1%
FAMILY
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- Stalking behaviors v 9 45.4% CURRENT OR

- Harassment, including online harassment, of the survivor, 12.9% STRANGER | ORMER PARTNER
their family members, or their employer/employees 9 6% SOMEONE IN

- Any other relief the court deems appropriate POSITION OF AUTHORITY

Data per the National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2014. Results add up to over 100% to account for multiple perpetrators.

© New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault 2017.

The New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) is the statewide organization representing 21 county-based rape crisis centers and Rutgers
University's Office for Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance. NJCASA elevates the voices of survivors and service providers through advocacy, training,
and support for efforts to create safer communities for all women, men and children.



WHAT IS A PROTECTIVE ORDER & WHAT
DOES IT DO?

There are two types of protective orders: a temporary
protective order (TPO) and a final protective order
(FPO).

- Atemporary protective order is the initial type of
protective order survivors can receive. It protects

against the same kind of harassing behaviors as a
final protective order, but it only remains in place
until the final protective order hearing.

- A final protective order outlines harassing
behaviors that cannot continue. It is forwarded to
the police department where the survivor lives, as
well as where the perpetrator lives. FPOs never
expire, and are valid anywhere in New Jersey.

WHO CAN APPLY FOR A PROTECTIVE ORDER
UNDER SASPA?

Generally, survivors of sexual violence who are
subjected to continued harassing behaviors from their
abuser, who do not qualify for a domestic violence
restraining order, can apply for a protective order
under SASPA. '

Survivors can apply for a protective order regardless
of if the assault was reported to law enforcement.

If you feel you are in immediate danger, contact local
law enforcement.

WHY MAY SOMEONE CHOOSE TO APPLY FOR
A PROTECTIVE ORDER?

Everyone's situation is unique and requesting a
protective order is a decision only the survivor can
make. For some, a protective order will end harmful
behaviors. Others may feel a protective order could
cause a perpetrator to escalate.

Protective order hearings can be stressful - it may
not be the right decision for you at this time, or ever.
Every person has the right to practice self-care and
make decisions that are best for their own wellbeing.

HOW DO SURVIVORS APPLY FOR A TEMPORARY PROTECTIVE ORDER?

A person who is seeking a protective order may file in
person at the Superior Court in their county. A list of
courthouses in New Jersey is available at:

il jcasa find-a-court

The process may take several hours. You will need
to provide a specific and comprehensive written
statement to a hearing officer. Everything included in
this statement can be brought up in the protective order
hearing(s); anything not included cannot be referenced
in your testimony.

It's important that the statement comprehensively
details abusive or harassing behaviors and is specific.
Include actual language the perpetrator used.

@) example:
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There are no court fees associated with receiving a
TPO. While a lawyer is not necessary to seek a PO,
it may be helpful to speak to one or to contact an
advocate. Your county-based sexual violence service
provider can provide trained advocates to provide
additional information, link you with resources, and
offer emotional support; find a program at:
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FOR MORE INFORMATION:
HTTPS://WWW.NJCASA.ORG/SASPA/
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How to File a New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act (SASPA) Complaint
Superior Court of New Jersey - Chancery Division - Family Part

**Please be advised this packet is intended to only be used during the COVID-19 crisis.**

‘Who Should Use This Packet?

This packet should only be used the first time you file for a Sexual Assault Survivor Protective Order.

Use this packet if you are:
A victim of nonconsensual sexual contact, sexual penetration, or lewdness, (see definitions on page 3) or any attempt at
such conduct, and who does nof meet the definition of a “domestic violence victim” in the Prevention of Domestic
Violence Act (PDVA).
e A victim's parent or guardian may file on behalf of the victim in any case in which the victim:
o is less than 18 years of age; or
o has a developmental disability or a mental disease or defect that renders the victim temporarily or
permanently incapable of understanding the nature of the victim’s conduct, including, but not limited to,
being incapable of providing consent
Do NOT use this packet if:
e You meet the definition of a “victim” under the PDVA - N.I.S.A. 2C:25-19 (d)(a) which is as follows:
o A person protected by the PDVA includes any person:
*  Who is 18 years of age or older, or who is an emancipated minor, and who has been subjected to
domestic violence by:
%+ Spouse
% Former spouse
% Any other person who is a present household member or was at any time a household
member, or
»  Who, regardless of age, has been subjected to domestic violence by a person:
%  With whom the victim has a child in common, or
% With whom the victim anticipates having a child in common, if one of the parties is
pregnant, or has been subjected to domestic violence by a person with whom the victim
has had a dating relationship.

NOTE: If you are a victim of domestic violence and want to file for a domestic violence restraining order, please contact
your local law enforcement agency.

o If you are filing on behalf of a minor child and the person you are filing against is a parent or guardian of the minor
child, you cannot file under the Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act. You must call the Division of Permanency
and Protection at: 1-877 NJ ABUSE (1-877-652-2873); TTY/TDD 1-800-835-5510

Note: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts for use by self-represented litigants. The guides,
instructions, and forms will be periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jctsey statutes and court rules. The most recent version of
the forms will be available at the county courthouse or on the Judiciary’s Internet site njcourts.gov. However, you are ultimately responsible for
the content of your court papers.

Completed forms are to be submitted to your local Family Division. A list of Family Division Offices can be found
on njcourts.gov

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 1 of 10



Things to Think About Before You Represent Yourself in Court

Try to Get a Lawyer

The law, the proofs necessary to present your case,
and the procedural rules governing cases in the
Family Division are complex. It is recommended
that you make every effort to obtain the assistance
of a lawyer. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may
contact the legal services program in your county to
see if you qualify for free legal services. Their
telephone number can be found online under “Legal

Aid” or “Legal Services.”

If you do not qualify for free legal services and need

~ help in locating an attorney, you can contact the bar

association in your county. The telephone number
can also be found in your local yellow pages. Most
county bar associations have a Lawyer Referral
Service.

The County Bar Lawyer Referral Service can
supply you with the names of attorneys in your area
willing to handle your particular type of case and
will sometimes consult with you at a reduced fee.

There are a variety of organizations of minority
lawyers throughout New Jersey, as well as
organizations of lawyers who handle specialized
types of cases. Ask the Family court staff in your
county for a list of lawyer referral services that
include these organizations.

What You Should Expect If You Represent
Yourself

While you have the right to represent yourself in
court, you should not expect special treatment, help
or attention from the court. The following is a list
of some things court staff can and cannot do for
you. Please read it carefully before asking court
staff for help.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)

e We can explain and answer questions about
how the court works.

We can tell you what the requirements are to
have your case considered by the court.

e We can give you some information from your
case file.

e We can provide you with samples of court
forms that are available.

e We can provide you with guidance on how to
fill out forms.

e We can usually answer questions about court
deadlines.

e We cannot give you legal advice. Only your
lawyer can give you legal advice.

» We cannot tell you whether or not you should
bring your case to court.

»  We cannot give you an opinion about what will
happen if you bring your case to court.

»  We cannot recommend a lawyer, but we can
provide you with the telephone number of a
local lawyer referral service.

e We can cannot not talk to the judge for you
about what will happen in your case.

e We cannot let you talk to the judge outside of
court.

e We cannot change an order issued by a judge.
Keep Copies of All Papers
Make and keep copies for yourself, written

agreements, Case Information Statements, and other
important papers that relate to your case

page 2 of 10



Definitions of Court Terms Used in SASPA Cases

Certification - A certification is a written statement made to the court when you file papers with the court,
swearing that the information contained in the filed papers is true subject to penalty if any statement is willfully
false.

Complaint - A complaint is a formal document filed in court that starts a case. It typically includes the names
of the parties and the issues you are asking the court to decide.

Court Order - A court order is the written decision issued by a court of law. For example, a child support
court order sets forth how often, how much, and what kind of support is to be paid.

Defendant - the party sued in a civil lawsuit or the party charged with a crime in a criminal prosecution. In
some types of cases (such as divorce) a defendant may be called a respondent.

Docket Number - The docket number is the identifying number assigned to every case filed in the court.
File - To file means to give the appropriate forms to the court to begin the court’s consideration of your request.

Intimate Parts - Means the following body parts: sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin,
buttock, or breast of a person.

Lewdness - Means the exposing of the genitals for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual of the actor.

Party - A party is a person, business, or governmental agency involved in a court action.

Petitioner - Petitioner is another name for the person starting the court action by filing the appropriate papers
the court will consider.

Respondent - Respondent is the person who is named as the other party in the court action filed by the
petitioner. This person can respond to the complaint or application filed by the petitioner by filing a cross
application or written response with the court.

Sexual Conduct - Means an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of
the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing
or sexually gratifying the actor.

Sexual Penetration - Means vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons or
insertion of the hand, finger, or object into the anus or vagina either by the actor or upon the actor’s instruction.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 3 of 10



The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them. Each form should be typed or
printed clearly on 8 ¥ “x 11” white paper only. Forms cannot be filed on a different size or color paper. Use only the forms included
in this packet. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Steps for Filing a Complaint

STEP 1: Fill out the Intake Form (Form A)
The Intake form provides your and/or the minor child’s demographic information. This information will be kept
confidential and will not be shared with the defendant.

STEP 2: Fill out the Verified Complaint (Form B)

The Verified Complaint is a written request in which you ask the court to establish a court order on your behalf
or on a minor child’s behalf. The court will establish an order based on testimony of the parties and written
documentation submitted.

STEP 3: Additional Information Sheet (FORM C)
This form is provided if you need additional space to type the details of the incident for which you are filing for
a protective order.

STEP 4: Provide the court with the most recent address of the other party

If the court grants a temporary order of protection, the court will send a Notice to Appear to the plaintiff and the
defendant and any attorney(s) connected to your case when the case is scheduled for a final hearing. Your
appearance is mandatory.

Note: The other party will receive copies of all the papers you attach (except for the Intake Form) to your
complaint with the Notice to Appear, unless court rules prohibit this information from being shared.

You must provide the court with the most current address (that you know of) for the other party and the name of
their attorney (if you know it) when you file your complaint.

STEP 5: Check your completed forms and make copies
Check your forms and make sure they are complete. Remove all instruction sheets. Make sure you have signed
all the forms wherever necessary.

STEP 6: Submit your completed paperwork

Submit your completed packet through the Judiciary Electronic Document System (JEDS). You may find the
link to JEDS here https://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/jeds.html. In JEDS please select the county where you
would like to file your application. You may file your complaint in the county where the conduct or attempted
conduct occurred, where the defendant resides, or where you reside or are sheltered.

NOTE:
These applications may only be filed in the Family Division of the Superior Court during normal business
hours.

These applications may only be taken at the Superior Court and are not to be accepted at Municipal Courts
and/or police departments.

All courthouse addresses can be found on njcourts.gov.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 4 of 10



Instructions for Completing the SASPA Intake Form (Form A)

1. Part]of the SASPA Intake form is for the Plaintiff/Victim information. If you are the victim, enter your
own information or if you are a parent or guardian enter the minor child’s information for the following

fields:
a. Name
b. Social security number
c. Date of birth
d. Address
e. Telephone number
f. Cell phone number
g. Email Address
h. Employer name
i. Employer address
j.  Employer telephone number
k. Emergency Contact
I.  Emergency Contact telephone number

2. Ifyou are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter complete the following fields on the second portion of
the intake form under Parent/Guardian section.

a. Name

b. Relation to the child

c. Social security number
d. Date of birth

e. Address

f. Telephone number

g. Cell phone number

h. Email Address

i. Employer name

j.  Employer address

k. Employer telephone number

NOTE: The Intake Form (FORM A) will be kept confidential and will not be given to the other
party/defendant.
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Instructions for Completing a Verified Complaint (Form B)
A. Leave the Docket Number blank. The court will provide this number for you.
B. On the right side of the form, enter the County where you are filing the application.

C. Enter your name or the minor’s name, if you are filing a complaint on the behalf of a minor child, in the
space marked “Plaintiff/Victim”.

D. If you are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter your name in the space marked
“Plaintiff/ Parent/Guardian”.

E. Enter your date of birth or the minor’s date of birth in the space marked “Plaintiff/Victim's Date of Birth”.

F. Enter your date of birth if you are filing on behalf of a minor child in the space marked
“Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian Date of Birth”.

G. On the right side of the form, enter the defendant’s description if known in the following fields:
a. Defendant’s sex
b. Defendant’s race
¢. Defendant’s date of birth
d. Defendant’s height
e. Defendant’s weight
f. Defendant’s eye color
g. Defendant’s hair color
h. Any distinguishing features that the defendant may have such as scars, tattoos, facial hair etc.
i. Defendant’s driver’s license number and the state ft was issued if known.
H. Enter the Defendant’s name in the space marked “Defendant Information: Name:”.

EE il RN

I. Enter the Defendant’s “home and cell phone number ", “work phone number”, “social security number” “e-
mail address” and “home and work address” in the appropriately marked spaces on the form.

J. Enter the date the defendant committed the act in the space marked “ON (Date)”.
K. Enter the time the defendant committed the act in the space marked “AT (Time)".

L. Enter the details of the act(s) the defendant committed in the space marked “BY (Details)”. You can
continue to use as many lines as necessary to state the exact details of the act(s) the defendant committed
against you or minor child.

M. Check off the act or acts the defendant committed: “Sexual Contact, Sexual Penetration, Lewdness”. See
definitions of each act in the definitions section of this packet.

N. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 1 regarding prior or pending court proceedings involving yourself, if

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 6 of 10



you are the plaintiff/victim, or the minor plaintiff/victim, and the defendant in this complaint. If you select
“Yes”, enter the title of the case, the docket number and the county and state where the case is being heard.

0. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 2 regarding whether a criminal complaint has been filed in this matter.
If you select “Yes”, enter the date, docket number and the county and state where the case in being.

P. The form must have the signature of the party filing the complaint. If you cannot scan a signed copy of this
document, please type your name in the signature line.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 7 of 10
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Sexual Assault Survivors Protection Act (SASPA)

Intake Form

To assure accuracy of court records — To be filled out by the Plaintiff or Attorney
Confidentiality of this information must be maintained

Please complete the entire form, leaving no blank spaces. If something does not apply to you, enter
“N/A”. This form is confidential and will not be shared with the other party.

|. Victim Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial
Social Security Number Date of Birth
Address: Street City State Zip Code
Telephone Number Cell Phone Number
Email Address

| Employer Name
Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code
Employer Telephone Number |
Emergency Contact Name Emergency Contact Telephone Number

Il. Parent/Guardian Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial
Relation to the Child Social Security Number Date of Birth
Address: Street City State Zip Code
Telephone Number Cell Phone Number
Email Address
Employer Name
Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code

Employer Telephone Number

Emergency Contact Name

Emergency Contact Telephone Number

Bl I1I. Hearing Information

Will an interpreter be required?
If yes, indicate language:

[J Yes [0 No

Will an accommodation for a disability be required?
If yes, indicate requested accommaodation:

[ Yes ] No

Published: 03/2020, CN: 12591
Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)
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New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act Complaint County, Superior Court,

Docket Number Chancery Division, Family Part
FV - Defendant's Sex Defendant's Race
Plaintiff/\Victim PlaintifffVictim's Date of Birth

Date of Birth Height Welight

PlaintifffParent/Guardian of Minor Plaintiff\Victim

Eye Color Hair Color

PlaintifffParent/Guardian of Minor PlaintiffVictim Date of Birth

Distinguishing Features (Scars, Facial Hair, Etc.)

Defendant Information: Name

Driver's License Number

Home Phone Number Work Phone Number Defendant's Social Security Number

State Driver's License Expiration Date

Cell Phone Number: Email Address:

Home Address

Work Address

The undersigned complains that said defendant did commit the following act(s):
ON (Date) AT (Time)  BY (Details)

The above constitute(s) the following criminal offenses(s): (Check all applicable boxes — see page 3 of instructions ).

[] Sexual Contact [] Sexual Penetration [J Lewdness
[1 Attempted Sexual Contact [] Attempted Sexual Penetration [ Attempted Lewdness
1. Any prior or pending court proceedings involving this plaintiff/victim and defendant? (If Yes, enter docket [ Yes [ No

number, court, county, state)

2. Has a criminal complaint been filed in this matter? (If Yes, enter date, docket number, court, county, state) [ Yes [ No

If yes, was a Restraining Order granted? [ ves [INo

Certification by Parent/Guardian
I, am the parent or legal guardian of minor victim, and am filing
this complaint on their behalf. The minor victim is not present for the following reason(s):

Certification by Plaintiff/\Victim
| certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing responses made by
me are willfully false, | am subject to punishment.

Date Signature

New Jersey Sexual Assault TPO Revised: 03/2020, CN: 11925
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- New Jersey Judiciary
% Family Practice Division
n.,,,,.,.",ﬁ, Additional Information Sheet
Full Name: Date:

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing
statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment

Date Signature Plaintiff/Counterclaimant

Published 09/2011, CN: 11532 (Family Additional Information Sheet) page 10 of 10
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NEW JERSEY
VicTiMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE

Claim Application
and Instructions (effective.8.1.20)

We help put the pieces back together






NJ VicTiMs OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE
Claim Information and Application Instructions

New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO) compensates victims of crime

for losses and expenses resulting from cerfain criminal acts. For your convenience, below

are the most frequently asked questions. However, we urge you to visit our website for more
information at www.njvictims.org. You can also contact your Victim/Witness Coordinator which
is located in each County Prosecutor’s Office. A link to those offices is on the VCCO website.

What crimes are covered?

The crimes covered include but are not limited to, assault, homicide, sexual assault, kidnapping
and all domestic violence incidents.

How much help can I get from the New Jersey Victims of Crime
Compensation Office (VCCO)?

The VCCO can award up to $25,000* for all expenses. However, many fypes of benefits
have caps. Examples of expense types and the respective caps for some of them are:

B Emergency relocation costs $3,000 M Loss of earnings or support

B Care of child or dependent $6,500 M Victim rights in criminal proceedings.

B Mental Health counseling $20,000 M Hospital, physician and physical therapy

M Funeral expenses $7,500 W Attorney fees for assistance in filing a claim
B Attorney fees $10,000 and representing you in the appeal process.

How do I qualify for assistance?

If you are a victim or claimant (person filing for a victim or dependents of the victim)
you must show that:

B Crime is eligible under the statute.
B You are a resident of the State of New Jersey or the crime occurred in this State.
B You have compensable financial losses as a result of the criminal act.

B The crime was reported to law enforcement within 9 months, and you submitted
this application within 5 years from the date of the crime. Consideration will be taken
if “good cause” exists for delayed filing.

M You cooperated with police and prosecutor’s office. However, eligibility is not dependent
upon conviction or prosecution of the offender.

M Insurance and other payment sources such as restitution paid by the offender
will not cover the bills submitted.

W With the exception of homicide cases, you did not contribute to your injuries, provoke the
incident, and were not responsible for or participated in the crime that caused your injuries.

M You do not have any outstanding VCCO assessments imposed for convictions.

M You do not have any outstanding warrants for indictable offenses or pending criminal
charges in Superior Court.

What common losses are not covered?
B Property damage or loss, except crime scene clean up.
M Pain and suffering.

*Additional $35,000.00 can be awarded for catastrophic benefits for victims with permanent disabilities.

ez AR50 Instructions * page |



NJ VCCO Claim Application Instructions

B Please read the instructions prior to starting the application. Include
copies of as much related information (i.e. copies of itemized receiE’rs, Contact your County

E, insurance statements) as you have. The more information we

now, the sooner your application can be processed. However, you can

always forward additional information at a later time.

bil

B The Agency will send you a confirmation letter. Please be aware that if
you are submitting your application through another Agency, there will be

a delay in the VCCO receiving it.

B |n addition to calling to obtain status, you can also email us

at njvictims@njvictims.org.

B |f you moved or if your phone number changes, please let us know.

B Due fo the high volume of the claims we receive and according to the
law, the turn around time for processing a claim is 3 months of receipt of

all documentation.

B The key to processing the claim expeditiously is receipt of all

Where can | get help
with this application?

ave Office of Victim/Witness
Advocacy or the VCCO at:

Phone: (877) 658-2221
Phone: (973) 648-2107
Fax: (973) 648-3937

www.NJVictims.org
njvictims@njvictims.org

Mail all applications
to Newark office at:

VEECEH
50 Park Place, 5th floor
Newark, NJ 07102

documentation from you, the hospitals, doctors, law enforcement,

employers, governmental agencies, efc.

SECTION 1:
Victim Information (Required Section)

Print the name of the person injured at the crime
scene. This should be the same person listed as the
“Victim” on the law enforcement report. Complete the
rest of this section with information about the victim.

SECTION 2:
Claimant Information (Required Section)

Print the name of the person applying for
compensation if different than the victim.
This person may also be the adult assuming
responsibility for the crime related bills or the
financially responsible person (e.g. parent,
guardian, spouse) of a minor, incapacitated
or incompetent person injured as a result

of the crime.

SECTION 3:
Additional Informaiion

Print the name of a person that the VCCO may
contact if we are unable to reach you.

SECTION 4:
Crime Information (Required Section)

Print details about the crime here. Attach a copy
of the incident report. If you don't have one, the
VCCO will request one from the police and/or
prosecutor. The law enforcement incident report
on the crime is necessary fo determine your
eligibility and process the claim.

Instructions « page Il



SECTION 5:
Services Requested (Required Section)

Please review the possible benefits available
and select which services are being requested.
Supporting documentation will be requested for
each benefit that is selected.

SECTION 6:
Insurance Information (Required Section)

If you have insurance that may cover some of your
crime-related bills, list your insurance information here.

SECTION 7:
Medical/Counseling Providers

List the names of doctors, hospitals and others
who have provided services. If you already
have itemized bills, please send copies with
your application.

SECTION 8:
Employment Information

List your job information if you have not been able
to work because of crime-related injuries or to take
care of someone with crime related injuries.

SECTION 9:
Dependent Information

In an incident of homicide, list the victim's dependents
who depended upon the victim for support.

SECTION 10:
Attorney Information

Complete this section if you hired a lawyer fo represent
you in this claim, assist you in court, settle an insurance
claim or file a lawsuit related to this crime.

SECTION 11:
Referral Source Information

Print the name of the victim advocate or other
professional who assisted you with this application.

SECTION 12:
Legal Responsibility and Signature
(Required Section)

This application is a legal document that must be
read and signed by the adult Claimant.

SECTION 13:
Authorization to Obtain Records
(Required Section)

This Authorization to Obtain Records is necessary
to obtain information from your doctors, hospital,
employer, police and prosecutor, so that the VCCO
can process your claim.

SECTION 14:
Assignment of Interest (Required Section)

This is a legal agreement that must be signed in
order for the VCCO to pay compensation to you.

SECTION 15:

Authorization for Release of Information
Under the Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act (Required Section)

This authorization is necessary to obtain information
from your health care providers under federal law.
lt must be completed, signed and dated in order
for the VCCO to process your claim.

SECTION 16:
Section to Provide Additional Details
(If Needed)

¥\ New Jersey Office of the Attorney General

i}f Victims of Crime Compensation Office

877-658-2221 « www.N]JVictims.org ¢ njvictims@njvictims.org
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New Jersey Office of the Attorney General FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

Victims of Crime Compensation Office Application No.
50 Park Place s Newark » N] 07102 » 877-658-2221 « www.N]Victims.org

Claim No. -

CIaim Application [] Death [ Personal Injury
SECTION 1: VICTIM INFORMATION |

The victim is the same person listed as a victim on the crime incident report. (complete a separate application for each victim)
The claimant is the person applying for compensation. Do not complete SECTION 2 if the victim is the claimant.

O Mr. O Mrs. O Ms. O Mx. (Choose One)

Full Legal Name of Victim

Last Name First Name Middle Initial
Social Security Number - - Date of Birth / /
Check if Victim is: O Deceased (date of death / / ) O Under 18 O Incompetent O Disabled

Home Mailing Address

City County State Zip Code
Home Phone ( ) - Work Phone ( ) -
Cell Phone ( ) - Email

Sex: OMaIe OFemaIe OUndesignateleon-Binary

Race/Ethnicity: OAsian O African American O American Indian/Alaska Native
O Latino O Middle Eastern O Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander
O Caucasian O Multiple Races O Other

Marital Status: OSingIe OMarried ODivorced OSeparated OWidowed

SECTION 2: CLAIMANT INFORMATION

Claimant Definition: “Claimant” means the person applying for compensation, who may or may not be the victim of the crime
that forms the basis for the claim application for compensation. Do not complete this section if you are the victim stated above.

O Mr. O Mrs. O Ms. O Mx. (Choose One)

Full Legal Name of Claimant

Last Name First Name Middle Initial

Social Security Number - - Date of Birth / /
The Claimantis the Victim's (O spouse (O Parent O sibling O child - O Other

Home Mailing Address

City County - State Zip Code
Home Phone ( ) - Work Phone ( ) -
Cell Phone ( ) - Email
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SECTION 3: ADDITIONAL CONTACT

A person that the Victim/Claimant is comfortable with the VCCO reaching out to if the Victim/Claimant is not available.
Name

Relationship O Parent O Sibling O Friend O Attorney O Therapist O Other

Address

City County State Zip Code

Phone ( ) - Work Phone ( )

Cell Phone ( ) - Email

SECTION 4: CRIME INCIDENT INFORMATION

If available, attach a copy of the following: police report, incident report, TRO, FRO, etc.
Date of Crime / / Date Reported / /

Name as it Appears on Incident Report
Name of Law Enforcement Agency
Location/Address of Crime
City County State Zip Code
Police Corhplaint Number Prosecutor's File Number

Type of Crime O Arson O Kidnapping O Aggravated assault O Indecent acts with children
' O Bias crime O Manslaughter O Human trafficking O Lewd, indecent or obscene acts
O Burglary** O Robbery O Domestic violence O Disorderly conduct offenses
O Murder O Sexual assault O Motor vehicle offenses**
O Stalking O Simple assault O Threats to do bodily harm

Brief Description of Incident and Your Injuries:

Name(s) of Offender(s), if known:
Relationship to Offender(s), if any:
Was the victim living in the same household with the offender at the time of the crime? O Yes O No
Has restitution been ordered? OYes O No

Did you file a police report within 9 months? O Yes O No*

Is this claim filed within 5 years of the crime? O Yes O No*

* If you answer “No” to either of the above two questions, you must provide the Agency with legitimate reasons showing
“g00d cause” for your failure to file timely reports. (See Section 16A or B for space to provide reasons). **Certain conditions apply
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SECTION 5: SERVICES REQUESTED

Please select which service(s) are being requested. Depending on the services selected,
additional information may be required.

O Medical: Medical expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally covered
by insurance or charity care.

O Counseling: Mental health counseling expenses related to the incident and not covered
by insurance. The maximum allowance for counseling expenses is as follows: Homicide
Survivor $20,000, Injured victim $20,000, Secondary victim(s) $7,000, Group Counseling
$50 a session per victim.

O Dental: Dental expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally covered
by insurance.

O Prescription: Prescription expenses directly related to a crime related injury and not totally
covered by insurance.

O Relocation: The maximum allowance for relocation assistance is $3,000. The VCCO may
consider relocation expenses where there is a need to protect the health and safety of the
victim and/or their family. The Office may consider expenses such as the security deposit
payable directly to the landlord, temporary shelter, moving services, monthly rental and
mortgage cost differential, first month’s rent, one month’s rent if relocation occurred within one
year of filing the application and/or personal expense items deemed reasonable and necessary.

O Funeral: The maximum allowance for funeral expenses is $7,500. The office may consider
expenses such as the funeral costs, flowers, repast expenses, cemetery costs and grave
markers/headstones.

O Transportation to Funeral: $500 per person with a maximum reimbursement of $3,000.
This may include air fare or railroad expenses.

O Loss of earnings (victim): Loss of earnings to a victim that were incurred directly due to the
crime related injury while in a no pay status. The VCCO cannot consider reimbursement if the
victim was paid through accrued vacation or sick time. Maximum loss of earnings considered
is $600 per week with a maximum of 104 weeks.

O Loss of earnings (claimant): When the claimant was employed at the time of the incident, but
missed time from work for having to care for the victim as a result of their injuries. The VCCO
cannot consider reimbursement if the claimant was paid through accrued vacation or sick time.
Maximum loss of earnings considered is $600 per week with a maximum of $7,000.

O Loss of support (homicide claim): Loss of support may be considered when the victim was
supporting the claimant/household at the time of their death. Maximum loss of support to be
considered is $600 per week not to exceed 48 months. '

O Loss of support (from the offender): Loss of support may be considered where it can
be determined the offender was supporting the household prior to the incident and is now
incarcerated, a fugitive or has ceased providing support due to the incident. Maximum loss of
support considered is $600 per week not to exceed 48 months.

O Stolen cash reimbursement: (Senior citizen or permanently disabled persons only) VCCO
may reimburse cash (minimum $50) stolen directly from the person of an eligible crime victim
where the monetary loss was reported to police. Maximum reimbursement is $1,000.
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SECTION 5: SERVICES REQUESTED continued

O Attorney fees (victims' rights in certain criminal and/or civil proceedings that are directly
related to the VCCO claim): VCCO can assist with certain fees when the representation is
related to the criminal matter upon which the claim is based. Attorney fees are payable at $275
per hour not to exceed $10,000 maximum allowance.

O Attorney representation with filing claim: Attorney fees payable at $275 per hour or 15% of the
total award whichever is less. -

O Domestic help: VCCO may reimburse domestic help expenses arising as a direct result of the crime.
Domestic help may include housecleaning, laundry, cooking, companionship and other services
related to providing day to day living support for the victim. Maximum reimbursement is $6,500.

O Day care services: VCCO may reimburse child care or day care expenses for a minor child
(14 years old or less) or for an adult where the need for such services is a direct result of the
crime. Maximum reimbursement is $6,500.

O Medical equipment: VCCO may reimburse reasonable charges for reasonably needed
products such as wheelchairs, braces, splints, crutches, walkers and other personal adaptive
equipment required to meet the victim’s disability needs.

O Medically related transportation: VCCO may reimburse transportation costs for the victim’s
visits to treating physicians and other health care facilities. Maximum reimbursement is 31
cents per mile not to exceed $10 per day and $3,000 total.

O Crime Scene Clean up: VCCO may compensate the reasonable and necessary costs for the
cleaning of a victim’s residence and/or personal vehicle where the injurious crime occurred
or where the direct costs have become the direct victim or claimant’s financial responsibility.
Compensation includes the actual clean-up costs, reasonable replacement value of bedding,
carpeting, doors, windows, locks or furniture which has been rendered damaged or useless
as a result of the crime or the collection of evidence. Maximum allowance for crime scene
clean-up shall not exceed $4,000 in the aggregate.

O Bereavement: Loss of earnings may be paid to members of the victim’s family for funeral
attendance and bereavement for a period of no more than two weeks. Maximum loss of
earnings to be considered is $600 per week.

O Court Attendance: Loss of earnings may be paid to victims and secondary victims for court
attendance. Maximum loss of earnings to be considered is $600 per week with a maximum
| allowance of $7,000 for all secondary victim expenses.

O Court Attendance transportation: VCCO may reimburse transportation costs for the victim/
claimant’s court attendance. Maximum reimbursement is 31 cents per mile not to exceed $10
per day and $3,000 total.

| Supplemental Compensation for Catastrophically Injured (CAT): A catastrophically injured crime
victim is defined as a person who has been determined by the Office to have sustained a severe
long-term or life-long injury. Compensation for loss of earnings, loss of support, property damage
and pain and suffering is excluded from catastrophic injury compensation. The VCCO may make
one or more supplemental awards solely for the purpose of providing rehabilitative assistance and
services to direct victims who have been catastrophically injured.

O Please check if you believe you may meet these criteria and wish to apply for CAT assistance.
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SECTION 6: HEALTH INSURANCE/BENEFITS INFORMATION

Please identify any Health and/or Automobile Insurance coverage. The insurance information provided may be
used to notify a provider of medical services that there is another source of payment before the VCCO can consider
compensation in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:75- 1.19.

MEDICAL INSURANCE (O Yes (O No Carrier
Palicy No.

SECONDARY MEDICAL INSURANCE (O Yes (O No Carrier
| Policy No.

DENTAL INSURANCE O Yes (O No Carrier
Policy No.

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE (O Yes (O No Carrier
Policy No.

If neither the victim nor the offender has auto insurance, and the incident involves a motor vehicle, then the claimant must apply
to the New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranteed Association (NJPLIGA) within 180 days from the date of the incident.

Have you applied to NJPLIGA? (OYes (O No

WORKER'S COMPENSATION (O Yes ONo

HOME OWNER'S/RENTER'S INSURANCE () Yes (ONo  Carrier
Policy No.

Charity Care O Yes O No  Date of charity care application / /

If you checked no, VCCO is the payer of the last resort, the victim's/claimant’s primary insurance or charity care wil
come first. Please apply for charity care at the hospital where the victim was treated.

SECTION 7: MEDICAL/COUNSELING PROVIDERS

Hospital/Doctor Name Date(s) of Treatment

Address

Phone Number

Hospital/Doctor Name Date(s) of Treatment
Address

Phone Number

Hospital/Doctor Name Date(s) of Treatment
Address

Phone Number
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SECTION 8: LOST WAGES/SUPPORT INFORMATION

Complete if you have lost time from work because of your injuries or to take care of an injured victim.
(If more than one employer, please attach additional sheets)

O Victim loss of Earnings O Claimant Loss of Earnings O Loss of Support

Employee Name

Company Phone ( ) - Company Fax ( )

Company/Business Name

Company/Business Address

City County State Zip Code

Dates absent from work due to crime related injuries: / / to / /

Did the incident occur while on the job? OYes ONo

If injured on the job, does your employer have Worker's Compensation? O Yes O No

Have you applied for State/ Private Disability or Family Leave for reimbursement for lost wages? O Yes O No
If YES, supply all notices received from State/Private Disability or Family Leave.

Is your household losing income/paychecks due to the crime? O Yes O No
Are you missing work to care for the victim? O Yes O No

O If available, please supply your pay stubs from the week before the crime, the week you returned to work
and a letter from your doctor stating your period of disability.

O If you are self-employed, you must supply copies of your income tax retums and business tax returns for the last 2 years before the crime.

O Loss of support may be awarded for dependents of homicide victims. Please supply copies of the victim’s
income tax returns for the last three years.

SECTION 9: DEPENDENT INFORMATION

Tell us about the victim's dependents or others who depended on the victim for support. (if none, skip to section 10)

Dependent Name Relationship to Victim

Address Date of Birth / /

Social Security Number - - Are you the legal guardian? O Yes O No
Dependent Name Relationship to Victim

Address Date of Birth / /

Social Security Number - - Are you the legal guardian? O Yes O No
Dependent Name Relationship to Victim

Address Date of Birth / /

Social Security Number - - Are you the legal guardian? O Yes O No

Is there anyone else who depended upon the victim for court ordered support? O Yes O No
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SECTION 10: ATTORNEY INFORMATION

A. Type of representation: O VCCO Application O Civil Suit O Victim rights in criminal matters/criminal proceedings
Name of Attorney
Address
City County State Zip Code
Phone ( ) -

B. Type of representation: O VCCO Application O Civil Suit O Victim rights in criminal matters/criminal proceedings

Name of Attorney
Address
City County State Zip Code
Phone ( ) -

C. lintend to file a lawsuit at a later date O Yes O No

SECTION 11: REFERRAL INFORMATION

Who referred you to the VCCO? O Police O Friend/Relative O Prosecutor O Victim Witness Coordinator
O Hospital O Funeral Home O Domestic Violence/Rape Crisis Center O Brochure/Poster O Internet
O Medical professional O Other

SECTION 12: LEGAL AUTHORIZATION AND SIGNATURE

This is a legal document which must be signed by an adult.”

Program Qualification:
| understand that | am responsible for all bills and the compensation program is designed to pay certain
costs not covered by another source. Submitting this application does not entitle me to benefits.

Reimbursement:
| agree to repay the VCCO if | receive money from another source up to the amount paid on my behalf. This includes
any payment | may receive from the offender, any insurance policy or settlements, judgments, or civil law suits.

| have provided accurate and truthful information to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. | have not
knowingly withheld, concealed or misrepresented any information that would have a material bearing on my eligibility
for benefits or compensation. | understand that if any of the information | have provided is knowingly false, | may be
subject to civil and criminal punishment.

X Date
Signature of Victim/Claimant

* Legal representative must sign if the victim is under 18, legally declared incompetent or deceased.
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SECTION 13: AUTHORIZATION TO OBTAIN RECORDS

l, . authorize the NJ Victims of Crime Compensation
Office (VCCO) or its agent, representative or bearer to inspect, review and make copies, including photostatic
copies, of all medical records and records pertaining to employment, earnings, income or grant from any
agency, attendance and any other records pertaining to or related to employment or economic assistance, and
police and prosecutors reports necessary to determine qualification for my claim for compensation. Photocopies
of this authorization will be considered as valid as the original.

X Date
Signature of Victim/Claimant

Legal representative must sign if the victim is under 18, legally declared incompetent or deceased.

SECTION 14: ASSIGNMENT OF INTEREST

l, . understand that New Jersey law requires me to
reimburse the NJ Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO) for any monies | may receive from other
sources. | shall contact the VCCO upon receipt of such additional monies from the offender, civil law suit,
restitution, insurance program, or any other governmental or private agency.

| further assign and give to the VCCO the right to be directly reimbursed for two-thirds of the VCCO's award
to me from the proceeds of any civil law suit | have started or will start arising out of this incident.

| also assign and give to the VCCO the right to be reimbursed from Probation, the Juvenile Justice
Commission, the Department of Corrections for the amount to be paid to me in the way of restitution ordered
by the court in any criminal proceedings related to the incident. Reimbursement to the VCCO shall be limited
to expenses for which the VCCO has awarded compensation to me.

| certify that | am signing this Assignment of Interest freely and voluntarily. | understand that this Assignment
must be signed in order to receive compensation. | further certify that if at any time | initiate a civil lawsuit,

| will provide a copy of this Assignment of Interest to my attorney with the instruction that my attorney is
bound by its terms. | understand that the VCCO is relying in good faith on this Assignment in order to pay
compensation to me.

X ~ Date
Signature of Victim/Claimant

Legal representative must sign if the victim is under 18, legally declared incompetent or deceased.
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SECTION 15: AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF

INFORMATION UNDER THE HEALTH INSURANCE
PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT

Patient's Name Social Security Number - .
Date of Birth / / Phone ( ) -

Address

City County State Zip Code

| authorize the use and disclosure of health information about me as described below

Facility authorized to release my health information:
Agency or individual(s) authorized to receive my health information; ___N Victims of Crime Compensation Office

Health information that may be used/disclosed is limited to the following:

O Discharge Summary O History & Physical O Consultation(s) O Lab

O Operative Notes(s) O Pathology Report O Imaging/X-ray @Entire Record
(O Other (specify)

Health information that may be used/disclosed is limited to the following treatment dates:

Health information to be released to the above named agency/individual is to be used/disclosed for the following purpose(s)
(include Research or Marketing, if appropriate): To determine the amount of compensation the patient is entitled to receive
including the payment of any outstanding bills for services rendered by the facility to the patient.

Health information identifies you (the patient) by name, and includes other demographic information about you. Health information
may include, but is not limited to: medical records, x-ray films, slides, tracings, strips, etc. | hereby discharge the releasing facility
its agents and employees from any and all liabilities, responsibilities, damages and claims which might arise from the release of
information authorized herein, to include alcohal, drug abuse, communicable disease including HIV status, and/or psychiatric
diagnoses compiled during my visit, encounter or hospitalization, or make copies thereof in accordance with the policies of this facility.

Protected Health information used or disclosed pursuant to this authorization may be subject to re-disclosure by the recipient
and no longer protected by this privacy rule. If research-related Health information is used or disclosed for continued research
purposes, an expiration date or event does not apply. :

This authorization shall be valid for the entire duration of the processing of my compensation claim at the NJVCCO and shall terminate
at such time the NJVCCO has rendered a final decision for my compensation benefits. | understand that | have a right to revoke this
authorization at any time, in writing, as stated in the Notice of Privacy Practices, except where the facility has already made disclosures
in reliance upon my prior authorization.

Treatment, payment, enroliment or eligibility for benefits may not be conditioned on obtaining an authorization if the Health Insurance
Portability Accountability Act prohibits such conditioning. If conditioning is permitted, refusal to sign the authorization may result in
denial of care or coverage.

NOTICE TO RECEIVING AGENCY OR INDIVIDUAL: This information is to be treated in accordance with Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA) privacy regulations.

Patient's or Authorized Personal Representative’s Signature Date Time O AM
¥ Oem.
Relationship to Patient / Authority to Act on Patient's Behalf Interpreter, if Utilized

Witness Signature Expiration Date ar Event

X
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SECTION 16: ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office

877-658-2221 « www.N]JVictims.org ¢ njvictims@njvictims.org
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NEW JERSEY
OFICINA DE COMPENSACION PARA ViCTIMAS DEL CRIMEN

Solicitud de reclamo
e instrucciones (vigente.8.1.20)

Ayudamos a que todo vuelva a la normalidad






OFICINA DE COMPENSACION PARA ViCTIMAS DEL CRIMEN DE NEW JERSEY
Informacién de reclamos e instrucciones para la solicitud

La Oficina de Compensacién para Victimas del Crimen (VCCO, por sus siglas en inglés)
de Nueva Jersey compensa a las victimas de un crimen por las pérdidas y los gastos
resultantes durante la comisién de ciertos actos delictivos. Para su conveniencia,

a continuacién encontrard las preguntas que se presentan con mas frecuencia.

Sin embargo le pedimos visitar nuestro sitio web en www.njvictims.org para mayor
informacién. Ademds puede contactar al Coordinador de Victimas/Testigos,
localizado en cada oficina del Procurador del Condado. Un enlace para

esas oficinas estd localizado en el sitio web de la VCCO.

;. Qué crimenes estan cubiertos?
Los crimenes aue cubre incluyen pero no se limitan a, agresién, homicidio, agresién sexual,
secuestro y fodos los incidentes relacionados con la violencia doméstica.

;Cuanta ayuda puedo obtener de la Oficina de Compensacioén
para Victimas del Crimen (VCCO) de New Jersey?

La VCCO puede oforgar hasta $25,000* por todos los gastos. Sin embargo, muchos tipos
de beneficios tienen limites. Ejemplos de diferentes gastos y de sus respectivos limites:

B Reubicacién de emergencia $3,000 W Pérdida de ingresos o manutencién

B Cuidado de nifio o dependiente $6,500 M Derechos de victimas en procesos penales

B Consejeria de Salud Mental $20,000 B Gastos médicos, de hospitales y de terapia fisica
B Gastos de Funeral $7,500 B Cuotas de Abogado para ayudarle a entablar
B Cuotas de Abogados $10,000 una demanda y al representarle en el proceso

de la apelacién.

:Como califico para recibir asistencia?

Si usted es la victima o solicitante (persona que presenta la solicitud de parte
de la victima o de parfe de los dependientes de la victima) usted debe probar que:

B E| delito es elegible bajo la ley.
W Usted es residente del Estado de Nueva Jersey o que el delito ocurrié en este estado.
W Usted sufrié pérdidas econémicas indemnizables como resultado del acto penall.

M F| delito fue reportado a las agencias del orden publico dentro de un plazo de 9 meses,
y usted presenté esta solicitud dentro del plazo de 3 afios desde la fecha del delito.
Se tomard consideracién al presentar una solicitud tardia si existe justificacion
suficiente para ello.

W Usted coopero con la Policia y con la Oficina del Procurador. Sin embargo,
su elegibilidad no depende de una condena o del enjuiciamiento del ofensor.

W E| seguro y otras fuentes de pago tales como la restitucién que haya pagado
el ofensor no logran cubrir el monto de las facturas que se han presentado.

W Con la excepcién de casos de homicidio, usted no contribuyé a sus lesiones, provocd
el incidente, y no es responsable por ni participé en el delito que le causo sus lesiones.

B No tiene ninguna multa de VCCO atn pendiente que pagar por alguna condena.
B Usted no tiene ninguna orden de arresto pendiente por ofensas procesables ni tiene cargos

;Qué pérdidas comunes no estan cubiertas?
B Daiio a propiedad o pérdidas, excepto la limpieza a un lugar del crimen.
B Dolor y Sufrimiento.

*Otros mds $35,000.00 se pueden otorgar para beneficios catastréficos a victimas con discapacidades permanentes.

g, 10.27.20
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Instrucciones para la solicitud de
reclmo a la VCCO de New Jersey

B Por favor lea las instrucciones antes de empezar la solicitud.
Incluya copias de toda la informacién relacionada (ej. copias
de facturas detallados, cuentas, estados de cuentas de seguros)
que usted tenga. Cuanta més informacién tengamos ahora,
lo antes que podré procesarse su solicitud. Sin embargo,
siempre puede enviarnos informacién adicional después.

B La agencia le enviara una carta de confirmacién.
Por favor sepa que si usted estd presentando su solicitud
a través de otra agencia, se retrasard en que la reciba la VCCO.

B Ademds de llamarnos para averiguar cémo va su reclamo, también
puede enviarnos un correo electrénico a njvictims@njvictims.org.

B Si se ha mudado o si cambia su nOmero de teléfono,
favor de notificarnos.

B Debido a la gran cantidad de reclamos que recibimos y de acuerdo
con la ley, el tiempo que tarda procesar un reclamo es de 3 meses
luego de haber recibido todos los documentos de prueba.

W La clave para poder procesar el reclamo rdpidamente es el haber

éDénde puedo
obtener ayuda con
esta solicitud?

Comuniquese con la
Oficina de Defensa de
Victimas/Testigos de su
condado o con la VCCO

de las siguientes formas:

Teléfono: (877) 658-2221
Teléfono: (973) 648-2107
Fax: (973) 648-3937

www.NJVictims.org
njvictims@nijvictims.org

Envie por correo todas
las solicitudes a la
oficina de Newark:

VCCO
50 Park Place, 5th floor
Newark, NJ 07102

recibido fodos sus documentos, de los hospitales, doctores, agencias
del orden publico, patrones, agencias gubernamentales, etc.

SECCION 1:

Informacién de Victima

(Seccién Requerida)

Escriba en letra de molde el nombre de la persona que
resulté herida en el sitio del crimen. Deberd ser la misma
persona que aparece listada como “Victima” en el
informe de las agencias del Orden Publico. Complete el
resto de esta seccién con informacién sobre la victima.

SECCION 2:

Informacién del Solicitante

(Seccién Requerida)

Escriba en letra de molde el nombre de la persona
que estd solicitando la compensacién si es diferente
a la victima. Esta persona ademds puede ser el
adulto que asuma responsabilidad por las cuentas
relacionadas con el crimen o puede ser la persona
econémicamente responsable (e.j. padre/madre,
tutor, esposo) de un menor de edad, o persona
discapacitada o no competente que haya sido
lesionada como resultado de un crimen.

SECCION 3:

Informacién Adicional

Escriba en letra de molde el nombre de una
persona que la VCCO puede contactar si no
logramos contactarle a usted.

SECCION 4:

Informacién del Crimen

(Seccién Requerida)

Escriba los detalles del crimen en letra de molde
aquf. Adjunte una copia del informe del incidente.
Si no la tiene, la VCCO le pedird una a la
agencia del orden publico o al procurador.

El informe del incidente de las agencias del
orden pUblico es necesario para determinar

su elegibilidad y para procesar el reclamo.
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SECCION 5:
Servicios Solicitados
(Seccién Requerida)

Por Favor repase los posibles beneficios disponibles
y seleccione cuales servicios estd solicitando.
Se pedird documentacién en apoyo a cada
beneficio que se seleccione.

SECCION 6:

Informaciéon de Seguros

(Seccién Requeridal)

Si usted tiene seguro que pueda cubrir algunos
de sus cuentas relacionadas con su crimen,
proporcione su informacién de seguro aqui.

SECCION 7

Proveedores de Tratamiento Médico/Consejeria
Liste el nombre de Hospitales y doctores que le han
provefdo servicios. Si ya tiene facturas detalladas,
favor de enviar copias con su solicitud.

SECCION 8:

Informacién de Trabajo

Liste la informacién de su trabajo si usted no ha
podido trabajar por lesiones relacionadas al crimen
o por estar cuidando de alguien que tiene lesiones
relacionadas al crimen.

SECCION 9:
Informacién de Dependientes
En un incidente de homicidio, liste los dependientes de la

victima que dependian de la victima para su manutencién.

SECCION 10:

Informacién de su Abogado

Complete esta seccién si usted contraté a un
abogado para representarlo/a en este reclamo,
ayudarle en el tribunal, llegar a un acuerdo en un
reclamo de seguros o para entablar una demanda
relacionada con este crimen.

SECCION 11:

Informacién de Fuente de Referido
Escriba el nombre del/de la representante
de victimas o del/de la profesional que le
ayudé a usted con esta solicitud.

SECCION 12:

Responsabilidad Legal y Firma

(Seccién Requerida)

Esta solicitud es un documento legal que debe
ser lefdo y firmado por el adulto solicitante.

SECCION 13:

Autorizacién para obtener expedientes
(Seccién Requerida)

Este permiso para obtener sus expedientes es
para obtener informacién de parte de sus docfores,
su hospital, patrén, la policia y el procurador para
que la VCCO pueda procesar su reclamo.

SECCION 14:

Asignacion de Interés

(Seccién Requerida)

Este es un acuerdo legal que debe ser
firmado para que la VCCO le pague alguna
compensacién a usted.

SECCION 15:

Autorizacién para divulgar informacion
Conforme a la Ley de Privacidad HIPAA
(Seccién Requeridal)

Esta autorizacién es necesaria para obtener
informacién de parte de fodos sus proveedores
de servicios de salud bajo las leyes federales.

Debe ser llenada firmada y fechada para
que la VCCO pueda procesar su reclamo.

SECCION 16:
Secciéon Para Detalles Adicionales
(Si es Necesario)

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office

877-658-2221 « www.N]JVictims.org ¢ njvictims@njvictims.org
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New Jersey Office of the Attorney General PARA USO OFICIAL SOLAMENTE

Victims of Crime Compensation Office Application No.
50 Park Place e Newark ¢ N] 07102 « 877-658-2221 » www.N|Victims.org
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Claim No. =

SOIiCitUd de reclamo [C1Death [ Personal Injury

SECCION 1: INFORMACION SOBRE LA VICTIMA

La victima es la misma persona listada como victima en el informe del incidente del crimen (complete una solicitud separada para cada
victima) Elfla solicitante es la persona que esté solicitando compensacion. No complete La SECCION 2 si la victima es elfla solicitante.

O Sr. O Sra. O Srta. O MX. (Elija uno)

Nombre legal completo de la victima

Apellido Primer nombre Inicial del
, . L. segundo nombre
Namero de Seguro Social . - Fecha de nacimiento / /

Marcar si la victima: (O Falleci6 (fecha de fallecimiento / / )
O Es Menor de 18 afios (O Es incompetente O Esta Discapacitado/a

Direccion de correo de casa

Ciudad Condado Estado Cédigo postal

Teléfono de casa ( ) - Teléfono de trabajo ( ) -

Teléfono celular ( ) - Correo electronico

Sexo: O Masculino O Femenino O No designado/No-Binario

Raza/Etnicidad: O Asiatico/a O Latino/a O Indio Americano / Nativo de Alaska
(O caucasico (O Multiples Razas (O Nativo de Hawai / Islas del Pacifico
O Oriente Medio O Afro Americano/a O Otro

Estado civil: O Soltero/a O Casado/a O Divorciado/a O Separado/a O Viudo/a

SECCION 2: INFORMACION SOBRE EL SOLICITANTE

Definicion de solicitante; “Solicitante” quiere decir la persona que solicita la compensacion, que puede o no ser la victima del crimen
que constituye la base de la solicitud de reclamo de compensacion. No llene esta seccion si usted es la victima arriba mencionada.

O Sr. O Sra. O Srta. O MX. (Elija uno)

Nombre legal completo del solicitante

Apelido Primer nombre Inicial del
segundo nombre

Namero de Seguro Social - - Fecha de nacimiento / /
Relacion del solicitante con la victima: O Conyuge O Padre/madre O Hermano/a O Hijo/a O Otro

Direccion de correo de casa

Ciudad Condado Estado_______ Cadigo postal
Teléfono de casa ( ) - Teléfono de trabajo ( ) -
Teléfono celular ( ) . Correo electronico
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SECCION 3: CONTACTO ADICIONAL

Una persona en la que confia el/la solicitante y que la VCCO pueda contactar en caso de no estar disponible la victima o solicitante.

Nombre
Relacion: O Padre/madre O Hermano/a OAmigoia OAbogado/a O Terapista O Otro_______

Direccion

Ciudad Condado Estado_____ Cédigo postal
Teléfono ( ) - ___ Teléfono de trabajo ( ) -
Teléfono celular ( ) - Correo electronico

SECCION 4: INFORMACION SOBRE EL INCIDENTE CRIMINAL

Si los tiene disponibles, adjunte una copia de los siguientes: informe de policia, informe del incidente, Orden de restriccidn
temporal, Orden de restriccidn permanente, efc.

Fecha del crimen / / Fecha que se reportd / /

Nombre, tal como aparece en el informe del incidente

Nombre de agencia del orden publico

Lugar/direccion del crimen

Ciudad Condado Estado_______ Cddigo postal

Namero de denuncia policial Numero de expediente del procurador

Tipo de crimen:

OAcecho O Robo violento® (O Incendio provocado O Comportamiento Escandaloso
OAsesinato OAgresién simple O Violencia Domestica OActos indecentes con menores

O Secuestro O Agresion Sexual O Agresién con agravantes O Ofensas de vehiculos motorizados™

O Discriminacion O Trata de personas O Amenazas de propinar dafio corporal
OAIIanamiento** O Homicidio Culposo OActos lascivos, obscenos, indecentes
Breve descripcion del incidente y de las lesiones que sostuvo:

Nombre(s) del (los) Ofensor(es), si los sabe:

Relacion con el (los) ofensor (es), si hay alguna:
¢ Ha presentado este reclamo dentro de los 5 afios desde que ocurri6 el crimen? O Si O No*
¢ Vivia la victima en el mismo hogar que el ofensor cuando ocurrié el crimen? O Si O No
¢Se ha ordenado pagar restitucion? O Si O No

¢ Presentd un reportea la policia dentro de los 9 meses? O Si O No*

*Si contestd “No” a alguna de las dos preguntas anteriores, debe proveerle a la agencia razones legitimas para justificar
el no presentarlos informes a tiempo. (Ver la seccién 16A o B para el espacio donde deberd listar sus razones).
**Ciertas condiciones aplican.
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SECCION 5: SERVICIOS SOLICITADOS

Por favor seleccione los servicios que solicitara. Dependiendo de cuales servicios solicite,
es posible se le requiera presentar informacién adicional.

O Servicios Médicos: gastos médicos directamente relacionados con una lesion asociada con
el incidente y que no esté cubierta por el Seguro o por el “charity care” (servicios de caridad).

O Consejeria y Terapia: gastos de asesoria de salud mental relacionados con el incidente y
que no estén cubiertos por el seguro. El otorgamiento maximo de asesoria de salud mental
es el siguiente: Sobreviviente de homicidio $20,000, victima lesionada $20,000, victima(as)
secundaria (s) $7,000, Consejeria y Terapia en grupo $50 por sesién por victima.

O Servicios Dentales: Gastos dentales relacionados directamente con una lesion o golpe
asociados con un crimen y no cubiertos en su totalidad por el seguro.

O Recetas Médicas: Gastos de recetas médicas directamente relacionados con una lesion
asociada con un crimen y no estén totalmente cubiertos por el seguro.

O Reubicacion: La cantidad maxima que se otorga para la reubicacion es $3,000. La VCCO puede
considerar pagar gastos de reubicacion cuando exista la necesidad de proteger la salud y seguridad
de la victima o de su familia. La oficina puede considerar pagar gastos tales como el depdsito de
seguridad directamente al arrendador, albergue temporal, servicios de mudanzas, la diferencia entre
los pagos mensuales de hipoteca y los pagos de renta mensual, pagos del primer mes de alquiler,
un mes de renta si la reubicacion tomo lugar dentro de un plazo de un afio de haber presentado la
solicitud y o gastos razonables que se consideren ser razonables y necesarios.

O Funeral: El otorgamiento maximo para gastos de funeral es de $7,500. La oficina puede
considerar pagar por gastos tales como gastos de funeral, flores, gastos de comidas, gastos
de cementerio, y gastos de lapidas y marcadores de tumbas.

O Transporte al Funeral: $500 por persona con un reembolso maximo de $3,000. Esto puede
incluir gastos de transporte aéreo o transporte en ferrocarril.

O Pérdida de ingresos (victima): Perdida de ingresos de una victima producida directamente
debido a la lesién relacionada con el crimen cuando la victima no estaba recibiendo pagos.
La VCCO no puede considerar presentar un reembolso si el/la solicitante recibio algln
pago debido a dias acumulados por enfermedad o por vacaciones. La Pérdida maxima de
ingresos a considerarse es de $600 por semana con un maximo de 104 semanas.

O Pérdida de ingresos (solicitante): Cuando el solicitante estaba empleado cuando ocurrié el
incidente, pero perdi6 tiempo de su trabajo por tener que cuidar de la victima como resultado
de las lesiones de ésta. La VCCO no puede considerar pagos si al solicitante se le pagé por
dias acumulados de enfermedad o de vacaciones. La Pérdida maxima de ingresos que se
considerara es de $600 por semana con un maximo de $7,000.

O Pérdida de manutencién (reclamo de homicidio): Se puede considerar un reclamo
por pérdida de manutencion si la victima estaba manteniendo al solicitante o a su familia
cuando murié. La cantidad maxima de manutencién que se considerara es de $600 por
semana a no exceder 48 meses.

O Pérdida de manutencién (del ofensor): Se podra considerar la Pérdida de manutencion
cuando se pueda determinar que el ofensor mantenia al hogar antes del incidente y ahora
esta encarcelado, and profugo o ha dejado de mantenerlos debido al incidente. La cantidad
maxima a considerarse es de $600 por semana a no exceder 48 meses.

O Reembolso de dinero en efectivo robado: (solo para ancianos o personas permanentemente
discapacitadas) La VCCO puede reembolsar efectivo (minimo $50) robado directamente a la
victima cuando este robo se haya reportado a la policia. El reembolso maximo es de $1,000.
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SECCION 5: SERVICIOS SOLICITADOS (continuacion)

O Honorarios de Abogado: (derechos de las victimas en ciertos procedimientos penales
ylo civiles directamente relacionados al reclamo VCCO): VCCO puede ayudar con ciertos
honorarios si la representacién esta relacionada con el caso penal en que se basa la
demanda. Los honorarios de abogados son pagaderos en $275 por hora a no exceder
el maximo de $10,000.

O Representacion de abogado al interponer un reclamo: Honorarios de abogado pagaderos
en $275 por hora a no exceder el 15% del otorgamiento total o la cantidad que sea menor.

O Servicios Domésticos: VCCO puede reembolsar gastos de servicios de ayuda domestica
que surjan como resultado directo del crimen. Estos servicios domésticos pueden incluir
limpieza de casa, lavado de ropa, ayuda en la cocina, compaiiia y otros servicios relacionados
al apoyo de la victima en su diario vivir. Reembolso maximo de $6,500.

O Servicios de guarderia: VCCO puede reembolsar gastos de cuidado infantil o guarderia
para un menor (14 afios 0 menos) o para un adulto cuando estos servicios se necesiten
como resultado directo del crimen. Reembolso maximo de $6,500.

O Equipo médico: VCCO puede reembolsar cobros razonables por equipo médico que sea
necesario tal como sillas de rueda, soportes ortopédicos, tablillas, muletas, andadores y
otro equipo de adaptacién personal necesario para manejar la discapacidad de la victima.

O Transporte a las citas médicas: VCCO puede reembolsar los gastos de transporte
de la victima a sus visitas médicas y a otros establecimientos de salud. El reembolso
maximo es de 31 centavos por milla a no exceder $10 al dia y $3,000 total.

O Limpieza del lugar del crimen: La VCCO puede compensar por gastos razonables y
necesarios por la limpieza de la residencia de la victima y/o su vehiculo personal donde haya
ocurrido el crimen ***** o cuando los gastos directos se han convertido en la responsabilidad
financiera de la victima o solicitante. La compensacién incluye, gastos de limpieza, reemplazo
razonable del valor de ropa de cama, alfombrado, puertas, ventanas, cerrajeria o muebles que
hayan resultado dafiados o destrozados como resultado del crimen o la colecta de evidencias.
El otorgamiento total por la limpieza del lugar del crimen no deberé exceder $4,000 en total.

O Duelo: Se puede compensar por Pérdida de ingresos a la familia de la victima por asistir
al funeral y su duelo por un periodo de tiempo de no mas de dos semanas. La pérdida de
ingresos maxima a ser considerada es de $600 por semana.

O Comparecencia al tribunal: Se puede pagar por Pérdida de ingresos a las victimas y a
las victimas secundarias por su comparecencia al tribunal. La cantidad méxima de pérdida
de ingresos a ser considerada es de $600 por semana con un maximo de $7,000 por todo
gasto de la victima secundaria.

O Transporte para comparecer en el tribunal: La VCCO puede reembolsar gastos de
transporte y las comparecencias al tribunal de la victima o el/la solicitante. El reembolso
maximo es de 31 centavos por milla a no exceder $10 por dia y $3,000 en total.

Compensacién suplementaria por lesion catastréfica (CAT): Se define a una victima
catastroficamente lesionada como una persona que la Oficina haya determinado ha sostenido
una lesién grave o que se espera le durara de por vida. La compensacion por pérdida de
ingresos, pérdida de manutencién, dafios a propiedad y dolor y sufrimiento queda excluida
de la compensacién por lesién catastréfica. La VCCO puede proveer un pago suplementario
o mas con el inico propésito de proporcionar ayuda de rehabilitacién y servicios a las victimas
directas de lesiones catastroficas.

O Por favor marque aqui si usted cree que llena los requisitos y desea solicitar asistencia de CAT.
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SECCION 6: INFORMACION SOBRE SEGUROS/BENEFICIOS DE SALUD

Por favor indique cobertura de Seguro de salud o de automavil. La informacién proporcionada puede ser utilizada
para notificar a un proveedor de servicios de salud que existe otra fuente de pago antes que la VCCO considere
pagar conforme a la ley N.J.A.C. 13:75- 1.19.

secUROMEDICO (Osi ONo Compaiiia
Pliza No.

SEGURO MEDICO SECUNDARIO (O'si (ONo  Compaiiia

Paliza No.
SEGURO DENTAL O'si ONo Compaiiia
Poliza No.
seGURO DE AUTOMOVIL (st ONo Compafifa
Péliza No.

Si ni la victima ni el ofensor tienen seguro de automévil, y el incidente involucrd un vehiculo motorizado, el solicitante debe presentar una solicitud
ala New Jersey Property Liability Insurance Guaranteed Association (NJPLIGA) dentro de un plazo de 180 dias de la fecha def incidente.

;Ha solicitado alaNJPLIGA?  (Osi ONo

coMPENSACION LABORAL (Osi ONo

SEGURO DE ARRENDADOR/ARRENDATARIO O Si O No Compaiiia
Pdliza No.

Charity Care O Si O No Fecha de solicitud de charity care / /

Si marcé “No” la VCCO es el pagador de (ltimo recurso, primero se le cobrara a la compaiiia de seguro de la victimal
solicitante y al charity care. Por favor solicite ayuda de charity care en el hospital donde recibio tratamiento la victima.

SECCION 7: PROVEEDORES DE TRATAMIENTO MEDICO/ASESORAMIENTO

Nombre del médico/hospital: Fecha(s) de tratamiento:

Direccion:

Namero de Tel:
Nombre del médico/hospital: Fecha(s) de tratamiento:
Direccion:

Namero de Tel:
Nombre del médico/hospital: Fecha(s) de tratamiento:
Direccidn:

Nimero de Tel:
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SECCION 8: INFORMACION SOBRE LA PERDIDA DE /SALARIO/AYUDA

Llenar si usted ha perdido tiempo de su trabajo a causa de sus lesiones o para cuidar a una victima lesionada.
(Si cuenta con més de un empleador, adjunte hojas adicionales)

O Pérdida de ingresos de la victima O Pérdida de ingresos del solicitante O Pérdida de manutencion
Nombre del empleado
Num. de teléfono de la compafifa ( ) - Nim. de fax de la compafiia ( )

Nombre de la compafiia 0 negocio

Direccion de la compafiia o negocio
Ciudad Condado Estado Cddigo postal

Fechas de ausencia al trabajo debido a lesiones relacionadas con el crimen: / / hasta / /
¢ Ocurrio el incidente mientras estaba en el trabajo? O Si O No

+Si se lesiono en el trabajo, su empleador cuenta con Seguro de compensacion laboral? O Si O No

¢ Ha solicitado beneficios del estado/Incapacidad Privada o Ausencia
Laboral por razones familiares para que le reembolsen los salarios perdidos? O Si O No

Si respondi6 “Si", presente toda notificacion recibida del Estado/Incapacidad
Privada/ o ausencia Laboral por razones de trabajo.

¢ Ha perdido su familia ingresos/pagos debido al crimen? O Si O No
+ Esta usted faltando al trabajo por cuidar a la victima? O Si O No

O Si los tiene, por favor enviar los comprobantes de pago de la semana anterior al crimen,
de la semana que regresd al trabajo y una carta del médico con la fecha de su discapacidad

O Si trabaja por su propia cuenta debe presentar declaraciones de impuestos de los 2 ultimos anos antes del crimen

O Se puede otorgar perdida de manutencion a los dependientes de victimas de homicidio.
Favor remitir copias de las declaraciones de impuesto de la victima de los tltimos 3 afios

SECCION 9: INFORMACION SOBRE LOS DEPENDIENTES

Presente informacion sobre los dependientes de la victima u otras personas que dependen de la victima para manutencion.
(Si no hay, vaya a la seccion 10).

Nombre del dependiente: Relacion con la victima:

Direccion: Fecha de nacimiento: ___/___/
Namero de Seguro Social: - - ¢ Es usted el tutor legal? O Si O No
Nombre del dependiente: Relacién con la victima:

Direccion: Fecha de nacimiento: ___/___/
Namero de Seguro Social: - - ¢+ Es usted el tutor legal? O Si O No
Nombre del dependiente: Relacion con la victima:

Direccion: Fecha de nacimiento: —_/____/
Numero de Seguro Social: - - ¢ Es usted el tutor legal? O Si O No
2 Hay alguien méas que dependia de la victima para manutencion ordenada por un tribunal? O Si O No
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SECCION 10: INFORMACION SOBRE EL ABOGADO

A. Tipo de representacion: O Solicitud a la VCCO O Demanda civil O Derechos de las victimas
en casos/procesos penales

Nombre del abogado

Direccion

Ciudad Condado Estado____ Codigo postal

Teléfono ( ) -

B. Tipo de representacion: O Solicitud a la VCCO O Demanda civil O Derechos de las victimas
en casos/procesos penales

Nombre del abogado

Direccion

Ciudad Condado Estado___ Cddigo postal

Teléfono ( ) “

C. Tengo la intencion de entablar una demanda en una fecha futura O Si O No

SECCION 11: INFORMACION SOBRE LA REFERENCIA

¢ Quién lo refirié ala VCCO? O Policia OAmigo/pariente O Procurador () Coordinador Victima/Testigo
O Hospital O Funeraria O Centro de asistencia a victimas de violacion/violencia doméstica

OFolletolaﬁche Olnternet OProfesionaI médico OOtro

SECCION 12: FIRMA Y AUTORIZACION LEGAL

Este es un documento legal que debe ser firmado por un adulfo.*

Elegibilidad Para Participar en el Programa:

Entiendo que soy responsable por todas las facturas y que el programa de compensacion esta disefiado para pagar
ciertos gastos no cubiertos por otra fuente. El presentar esta solicitud no me otorga el derecho de recibir beneficios.

Reembolso:

Acuerdo reembolsar a la VCCO si recibo dinero de otra fuente hasta el monto que han pagado de mi parte.
Esto incluye cualquier pago que yo pueda recibir de parte del ofensor, pagos del seguro o por acuerdos
judiciales, fallos, 0 demandas civiles.

He proveido informacién correcta y veraz a mi leal saber y entender. No he omitido, ocultado, o representado
falsamente ninguna informacién deliberadamente que pueda afectar mayormente mi elegibilidad para obtener
beneficios de compensacién. Entiendo que podre estar sujeto a sanciones y castigos penales si cualquier
informacion que he proporcionado es deliberadamente falsa.

X Fecha

Firma de la victima o solicitante

*Deberd firmar el representante legal si la victima es menor de 18 afios, ha sido declarado legalmente incapacitada o ha fallecido
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SECCION 13: AUTORIZACION PARA OBTENER EXPEDIENTES

Yo, , autorizo a la Oficina de Compensacion Para
Victimas del Crimen (VCCO) o su agente, representante o el portador que inspeccione, revise y haga copias,
incluyendo copias fotostéticas, de todos los archivos médicos y expedientes relacionados con ganancias, ingresos,
u otorgamientos de cualquier agencia, expedientes de asistencia y cualquier otro expediente relacionado al empleo
o ayuda econdmica, y también informes de la policia y del procurador necesarios para determinar elegibilidad para
mi reclamo de compensacién. Las fotocopias de esta autorizacion se consideraran tan validas como la original.

X Fecha

Firma de la victima o del solicitante

*Debera firmar el representante legal si la victima es menor de 18 afios, ha sido declarado legalmente incapacitada o ha fallecido.

SECCION 14: CESION DE INTERES

Yo, ; , centiendo que las leyes de NJ me requieren
reembolsar a la Oficina de Compensacion Para Victimas del Crimen (VCCO) por cualquier cantidad de dinero
que pueda recibir de otras fuentes. Deberé contactar a la VCCO al recibir dicho dinero adicional de parte del
ofensor, de una demanda civil, de restitucion, programa de seguros, o de parte de cualquier otra agencia ya
sea privada o del gobierno.

Ademas cedo y confiero a la VCCO el derecho de recibir directamente el reembolso de dos tercios de la cantidad
que me otorgd de las ganancias de cualquier demanda civil que yo haya comenzado o que comenzaré a entablar
surgiendo de este incidente.

Al igual cedo y otorgo a la VCCO el derecho a ser reembolsado de parte de la Oficina de Libertad Condicional,
la Comision de Justicia de Menores, y el Departamento Correccional por la cantidad que se me pagara en forma
de restitucion ordenada por el tribunal en cualquier proceso penal relacionado con el incidente. Los reembolsos

a la VCCO quedaran limitados a gastos por los cuales la VCCO me ha compensado.

Certifico estoy firmando esta Cesion de Participacion libre y voluntariamente. Entiendo que debo firmar esta cesion
para recibir compensacion. Ademas certifico que si en alglin momento doy comienzo a una demanda civil, entregare
ami abogado una copia de esta Cesion de Participacion con las instrucciones que mi abogado quede obligado a
cumplir sus plazos y condiciones. Entiendo que la VCCO esté dependiendo de buena fe de esta Cesion de parte
mia para pagarme la compensacion.

X Fecha
Firma de la victima o del solicitante

*Deber firar el representante legal sila victima es menor de 18 afios, ha sido declarado legalmente incapacitada o ha fallecido.
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SECCION 15: AUTORIZACION PARA LA DIVULGACION DE

INFORMACION EN VIRTUD DE LA LEY DE PORTABILIDAD
Y RESPONSABILIDAD DEL SEGURO DE SALUD

Nombre del paciente Numero de Seguro Social - -
Fecha de nacimiento / / Teléfono ( ) .

Direccidn

Ciudad Condado Estado__ Cédigo postal

Autorizo el uso y la divulgacion de mi informacion de salud, como aparece descrito a continuacion.
Centro autorizado para divulgar mi informacion de salud:

. . I ., Oficina de Compensacidn a Victimas
Entidad o persona(s) autorizada(s) para recibir mi informacion de salud: del Crimen de New Jersey (NJ VCCO)

La informacion de salud que puede ser utilizada/divulgada queda limitada a la siguiente:

(O Resumen de dada de alta O Historial y examenes fisicos O Consulta(s) O Laboratorio

O Reportes de cirugias O Reporte de patologia O Radiografias/imagenes @ Expediente completo
Ootro (especificar)

La informacion de salud que puede ser utilizada esta limitada a las siguientes fechas de tratamiento:

Informacién de salud a ser divulgada a la entidad o persona arriba identificada debera ser utilizada/divulgada para los siguientes propésitos
(incluya la Investigacion o Comercializacion, si es apropiado): Para determinar la cantidad de compensacién que el paciente tiene derecho

a recibir. incluyendo el pago por cualquier factura pendiente a pagarse por servicios proporcionados por el establecimiento al paciente.

La informacién de salud le identifica a usted (el paciente) por nombre, e incluye otra informacién demografica sobre usted.

La informacion de salud puede incluir, pero no queda limitada a: expedientes médicos, placas de rayos-x, diapositivas, graficas,
filmes, etc. Por la presente, relevo de responsabilidad al centro de salud que divulgue la informacidn, a sus agentes y empleados de
cualquier y toda obligacién, responsabilidad, dafios y reclamos que puedan surgir al divulgar la informacién autorizada, a incluir el abuso
de alcohol, el abuso de drogas, enfermedades contagiosas incluyendo la condicién de VIH, ylo diagnésticos psiquiatricos descubiertos
durante mi visita, encuentro o hospitalizacién, o de hacer copias de dicha informacion conforme a la politica de este establecimiento.

La informacién de salud protegida divulgada conforme a esta autorizacion puede ser divulgada de nuevo por parte de la persona que
recibié dicha informacion y que de ser asi ya no esté protegida por esta regla de privacidad. Si la informacion de salud se utiliza con
propdsitos de investigacion continua, la fecha de vencimiento de la autorizacién o la especificacion del evento no aplica.

Esta autorizacion tendra validez durante todo el proceso de mi reclamo con la NJVCCO llegara a su fin cuando NJVCCO haya
pronunciado una decision final en cuanto a mis beneficios de compensacion. Tengo entendido que tengo el derecho de revocar
esta autorizacién por escrito, en cualquier momento, como lo indica la Notificacion de Politica de Privacidad, exceptuando cuando
el establecimiento ya haya divulgado informacién basandose en mi autorizacion previa.

El tratamiento, los pagos, la matricula, y la elegibilidad para recibir beneficios no deberé depender de recibir la autorizacion si la
Ley de Portabilidad y Responsabilidad de los Seguros de Salud (HIPAA) prohibe imponer dicha condicién. Si se permite imponer
condiciones, el rehusarse a firmar la autorizacién podria resultar en que se le niegue el tratamiento o la cobertura.

NOTIFICACION AL INDIVIDUO O AGENCIA QUE RECIBE: Esta informacion debera manejarse conforme a los reglamentos
de privacidad de la Ley de Portabilidad y Responsabilidad de los Seguros de Salud (HIPAA, por su sigla en inglés).

Firma del paciente o de su representante personal autorizado Fecha Hora O i
X Op.m
Relacién con el pacientefautorizacion para actuar en nombre del paciente Intérprete, si se utilizé

Firma del testigo Fecha o evento de vencimiento

X

Victims of Crime Compensation Office « 50 Park Place, 5th floor, Newark, NJ 07102 « 877-658-2221 « www.NJVictims.org Solicitud + pagina 9



SECCION 16: INFORMACION ADICIONAL

A:

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office

877-658-2221 « www.N]JVictims.org ¢ njvictims@njvictims.org
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NJ Children's System of Care

Contracted System Administrator — PerformCare®

Helping families across New Jersey

Since 2009, PerformCare has been helping New Jersey’s families and young
people access publicly funded services for youth up to age 21 through the
statewide New Jersey Children’s System of Care (CSOC). Help is available
for children, adolescents, and young adults seeking behavioral health,
intellectual/developmental disability, or substance use treatment services.

Available 24 hours a day, seven days a week — 1-877-652-7624

Sometimes it can be hard to know when you should reach out for extra
help. Families should call if their child’s behavior has changed or if they are
overwhelmed by challenges at home or in the community. Some common
reasons to call PerformCare include:

» Depression and/or anxiety. » Substance use.

o Bullying or being bullied. o Inattention or hyperactivity.

o Physical or verbal aggression. o« Oppositional or defiant behavior.

o Intellectual/developmental o Grief from major trauma.
disabilities.

« Concerns from teachers.

PerformCare associates
are available 365 days

a year to connect
eligible children to
individualized care.

Families can also visit PerformCare’s website at www.performcarenj.org.

Child-centered care in the right place

No matter the challenge, CSOC can help put your child on the path toa
better quality of life. Depending on your child’s situation and eligibility,
CSOC services include:

o Assessments to determine your o Care management for
child’s needs. intense and complex needs.
o Referral to counseling services. o Behavioral supports for
» Mobile response to stabilize activities of daily living. o 2
L . . , 7 a /I NEW Jersey DEPARTMENT
crisis situations. o Respite services for RN oF Chitpren AND FamILIES
o Family support for education families.
and advocacy. » Substance use treatment.

PerformCARE"

www.performcarenj.org

PerformCare is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year.
Contact us toll free (parents, guardians, and youth) at:

1'87 7-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-697 5) Allimages are used under license for illustrative purposes only.

www.performcarenj.org Any individual depicted is a medel.
PCNJ_1791170



Discrimination is against the law

PerformCare complies with applicable federal civil rights laws
and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national
origin, age, disability, or sex. PerformCare does not exclude
people or treat them differently because of race, color, national
origin, age, disability, or sex.

PerformCare reduces language barriers to accessing services
through the New Jersey Children’s System of Care by:

« Providing free aids and services to people with disabilities
to communicate effectively with us, such as:

- Written information in other formats (large p'rint,
audio, accessible electronic formats, and other
formats).

- Telecommunication devices such as Device for the
Deaf (TDD) and Text Telephone (TTY) systems to
enable individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, or

speech-impaired to use the phone to communicate.

« Providing language services at no cost to people whose
primary language is not English, such as:

- Qualified interpreter services.
- Information written in other languages.

If you need these services, contact PerformCare at
1-877-652-7624 or [TTY (for the hearing impaired)
1-866-896-6975]. We are available 24 hours a day,
seven days a week.

1f you believe that PerformCare has failed to provide these
services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race,
color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can submit a
complaint by mail or phone, by either calling PerformCare’s
Quality department at 1-877-652-7624 or by writing to:

PerformCare
Attn: Quality Department
300 Horizon Center Drive, Suite 306, Robbinsville, NJ 08691

1f you need help filing a complaint, PerformCare’s Quality
department is available to help you.

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, Office for

Civil Rights, electronically through the Office for Civil

Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/
ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or phone at:

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, HHH Building
Washington, DC 20201

1-800-368-1019, 1-800-537-7697 (TDD)

Complaint forms are available at
http://www.hhs.gov/oct/office/file/index.html.

Multi-language interpreter services

Attention: If you do not speak English, language assistance
services are available to you at no cost. Call 1-877-652-7624

(TTY 1-866-896-6975).

Spanish: Atencién: Si habla espafiol, tiene a su disposicién servicios
gratuitos de asistencia lingiifstica. Llame al 1-877-652-7624
(TTY 1-866-896-6975).

ortuguese: Atengio: Se fala portugués, encontra-se disponivel servigo
gratuito de intérprete pelo telefone 1-877-652-7624
(TTY 1-866-896-6975).
Arabic:
ab i Juadl , lanally el 31 558 il sanlusall ot oM gy jal) 42N Coans i ) 14k gals

(TTY: 1-866-896-6975 :asllg auall itls 48 ) 1-877-652-7624

Haitian Creole: Atansyon: Si w pale Kreydl Ayisyen, gen sévis éd pou lang
ki disponib gratis pou ou. Rele 1-877-652-7624 (TTY: 1-866-896-6975).
Chinese Mandarin: YE&: 1SRG H P ICE@IE/EE, RITTAERM
G INE SRR, TESE: 1-877-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-6975).
Korean: =9: SI2 01 S AI2otAl= B2, &0 K& A HAE &=
0|25t % ASLICH 1-877-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-6975) H2 =
Hatol FHAML.
Bengali: 57 T W oA AR, T AMO NG, ST [:2T6W
GHT el Al $E ol @ FET 31-877-652-7624
(TTY 1-866-896-6975)!
French: Attention : si vous parlez frangais, des services d'aide
linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. Appelez [e
1-877-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-6975).

Vietnamese: Cht j: Néu ban néi Tiéng Viét, c6 cdc dich vy h trg ngdn

ngii mi&n phi danh cho ban. Goi sb 1-877-652-7624 ‘

(TTY 1-866-896-6975).

Hindi: g7 ¥: 7 sy 4 e & aF ares g o # w7 et Jarg

g §| 1-877-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-6975) T Hie il

Chinese Cantonese: JEH @ {IRMAFEASE GO MEEESESRY

BETE - S50 1-877-652-7624 (TTY 1-866-896-6975) -

Polish: Uwaga: Jezeli méwisz po polsku, mozesz skorzystaé z bezplatnej

pomocy jezykowej. Zadzwor pod numer 1-877-652-7624

(TTY 1-866-896-6975).

Urdu: 7
mﬁuhéahéoh_}ﬁelJS‘U;\{C;JJQJJJIQTJEI ol yi A gl

1-877-652-7624 (TTY: 1-866-896-6975). w18 JS - L il (2

Turkish: Dikkat: Tiirkce konuguyorsaniz dil yardim hizmetlerinden

ticretsiz olarak yararlanabilirsiniz. 1-877-652-7624

(TTY 1-866-896-6975) numarali telefonu arayin.

Russian: Bupmanue: Ecii Bbl TOBOPHTE HA PYCCKOM A3bIKE, TO BAM

A0CTYNHEI GecnaaTHbie YCIyrH Nepesola. 3BOHHTE 1-877-652-7624
(TTY 1-866-896-6975).



Child

Advococy'm
Centers

N ’ s

Child Advocacy Centers (CACs) offer a child-focused
way of serving abused children through a
comprehensive and coordinated multidisciplinary

approach. -

1L

v _ ‘
C_Iiil_'giilfen’sz’
Alliance

CACs bring
together A -
professionals and
agencies as a S
multidisciplinary 54 ‘Iﬂ
team to create a .
child-focused ‘
approach to child *
abuse cases

' @ The CAC model

brings the system ol
@ “,’hg’f gg;grﬁg’rﬁr 3,364 children from birth to J
/‘ j agency to agency age 18 were served by NJ

throughout the law CACs in 2016 i
enforcement and i sl e

ﬂ child protfection
systems

Services provided to NJ children
in 2016

Hold offenders accountable

Help victims heal

Prevent abuse and keep kids safe

Committed to research-supported L‘
practices

Effective and efficient due to coordinated
response

B Medical Exam/Treatment (19.73%) = Counseling Therapy (22.63%)
M Referral to Counseling/Therapy (20.26%)
Onsite Forensic Interviewing (36.85%)
M Offsite Forensic Interviewing (0.52%)

@ Accreditation ensures high standards
;;\ '
&

Y
T ¥y ,
L Eps CHILDREN'S

AASCS ALLIANCE®

e

NATIONAL

New Jersey Children’s Alliance | njcainc.org | /o Wynona's House, 185 Washington Street, Newark, NJ 07102 | (908) 2.;30‘03;6 s



Who is Responsible for Reporting Suspected Child Abuse
in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, everyone is considered a mandated reporter,
which means anyone with reasonable cause to believe a
child is being abused has a responsibility to report it to the
Division of Child Protection and Permanency (DCP&P). Any
person who knowingly fails fo report suspected abuse or
neglect according to the law or to comply with the provisions
of the law is a disorderly person and subject to a fine of up to
$1,000 or up to six months imprisonment, or both.

How Do | Report Child Abuse in New Jersey?
Call New Jersey's Child Abuse/Neglect Hotline at 1-877-NJ
ABUSE (652-2873) (TTY/TDD use 1-800-835-5510). Outside the
state of New Jersey, call (800) 422-4453. They are available
and will respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If @ child is in
immediate danger, you should call 211.

Do | Need Evidence of Abuse or Neglect to Call?
No, if you suspect abuse or neglect you are mandated to
call. It is DCP&P's responsibility to investigate and determine
whether maltreatment occurred.

Do Callers Have Immunity from Civil or Criminal Liability?
Any person who, in good faith, makes a report of child abuse
or neglect or testifies in a child abuse hearing resulting from
such a report is immune from any criminal or civil liability as
result of such action. Calls can be placed fo the hotline
anonymously.

What Happens When | Call the Child Abuse/Neglect

Hotline?
The hotline is answered by trained caseworkers who know
how to respond to reports of child abuse and neglect. They
may ask about the child and alleged perpetrator, what type
of alleged abuse occurred, when and where the alleged
abuse occurred, and how urgent the need for intervention is.

What Happens After | Make the Call?

Reporting Child

Abuse in New lJersey

In New lJersey,
ANY person
having
reasonable
cause to believe
that a child has
been abused or
neglected has a
legal
responsibility to
report it to Child
Abuse Hotline.

You can call
anonymously
and do not need
proof to report
an allegation of
child abuse.

1-877 NJ

New J ersey

When a report indicates that a child may be at risk, DCP&P Qa\* ﬂt :,
will promptly investigate the allegations of child abuse and - Children’s

neglect within 24 hours of receipt of the report. RS Alliance



WHAL 1> DUOMEd LG
VIOLENCE?

Domestic Violence can be anything that makes
one feel threatened, scared, or unsafe. It can
include, physical violence, emotional abuse,
isolation, economic abuse, intimidation, coercion
and threats.

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CAN INCLUDE:

« Physical assault

« Sexual assault

« Intimidation

« Isolation

« Verbal abuse or harassment

« Threats against you or another family member
« Creating disturbances at your place of work
« Economic control

« Harassing telephone calls

= Spying on you

« Child abuse

» Destruction of property or pets

WHAT IS SEXUAL
VIOLENCE?

Sexual violence is defined as any time an
individual is forced, threatened, coerced, and/or
manipulated into unwanted sexual activity. Sexual
violence is motivated by the need to control,
dominate, humiliate, and harm another individual.

SEXUAL VIOLENCE CAN INCLUDE:
o Exhibitionism

 Unwanted touching

« Internet stalking to obtain sex

« Child sexual abuse

« Sexual assault/rape

« Drug-facilitated sexual assault

« Sexual harassment

CENTER
FOR FAMILY

SERVICES

Center For Family Services supports and empowers
individuals, families, and communities to achieve a
better life through vision, hope, and strength.

 SERV is a program of Center For Family Services.

For more information about SERV and the more
= than 50 programs at CFS visit:
 WWW.CENTERFFS.ORG

SERV is the NJ State Designated Sexual Violence
Program in Camden, Gloucester, and Cumberland
Counties and the State Designated Domestic Violence
Program in Gloucester & Cumberland Counties

Camden County Cumberland County
584 Benson Street 3642 East Landis Avenue
Camden, NJ 08103 Vineland, NJ 08361
856.964.1990 x232 856.696.2032

FAX: 856.964.4150 FAX: 856.696.7336
HOTLINE: 866.295.SERV HOTLINE: 800.225.0196

Gloucester County

17 South Delsea Drive
Glassboro, NJ 08028
856.881.4034

FAX: 856.881.4042
HOTLINE: 866.295.SERV

FUNDED BY
NJ Department of Community Affairs, Division on Women; NJ State
Department Children and Families, Division of Child Protection and
Permanency; United Way of Gloucester County; Department of Criminal
Justice, State Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy; U.S. Department of
Justice, Office on Violence against Women

SERV

Services Empowering Rights of Victims

SEXUAL AND DOMESTIC
VIOLENCE SERVICES

24/7 toll-free crisis hotlines
Camden County - 866.295.SERV (7378)
Gloucester County - 866.295.SERV (7378)
Cumberland County - 800.225.0196

&  CENTER

- FOR FAMILY
SL27 SERVICES

Virion, %\@w\ and S &i@&» foua Better Life

WWW.CENTERFFS.ORG




| SAFE HOUSING
m EVery %

SERV provides 24-hour emergency safe housing in
Gloucester and Cumberland Counties for women and
their children suffering from domestic violence while

WOMEN WILL EXPERIENCE

,_“”. . .?a.mwmummm of the epidemic Emﬁ.ﬁmﬂom. . .
. has Gatsed a 60% decline in »a@onmm - UOM\EM MMHO VIOLENCE they develop plans to lead violence-free lives.
 cases of sexual assault in the last two. . A P &m S : .
decades, but still—someone in America b lyeime The Safe House provides an opportunity for women

to access counseling, resources, and legal options
available to them and their children and to draw up a
plan for their future while in a safe, comfortable home

: e atis mm.mwﬁ:mm..mﬁmw% m minutes.

s -~ 24/7 toll- B WO_.._Em e = : —_—
e Crisis intervention : S e
 » Accompaniments to ro%n&m. umé ma.oﬂnmanﬁ - Children's counseling groups, tutors, parenting
0 N\nw IQ\N £ agencies, and court = - groups, nutrition education and other daily activities
P Advocacy; ncgmmgmv and msﬂuoﬁ groups ~ areavailable to all families in the safe house to help in
s 24/7 emergency safe WOﬁmEm for female victims ~  the healing process.

of n_omummnn violence and their children
m mxc‘\ufh >m m>c h,._wm e OoEEE:Q outreach on mmm:& and domestic
% VQS\@?@ 3\\‘&& e violence e
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IF YOURE A VICTIM PREVENTION

SERYV provides sexual and domestic violence

e i s s services to male and female victims and their SERV coordinates a Sexual Violence Prevention
2E>1~1 O>Z %OG UOQ o families. SERV protects the rights of survivors Coalition in each county as a collaborative effort to
et e et to ensure they are treated with compassion, reduce and prevent sexual and domestic violence
dignity, and respect. All services are strictly in our community.
S T : | confidential, free of charge, culturally "
« Call the 24/7 toll-free crisis hotline sensitive, and available in Spanish. Bkt el anlapped o
Camden County - 866.295.SERV (7378) implementation of several primary prevention
Gloneester OOE._ t - 866.295.5ERV Qw‘wwv i initiatives throughout Camden, Gloucester, and
Cumberland County - 800.225.0196 Cumberland Counties.

« Go to a local police station

Each coalition is open to all community members
« Go to the emergency room

interested in preventing sexual violence in our

.UowoﬂmwOSmH,mmr&w.%_wﬁowp W%.. . . .m .m H. ﬁﬁ
i N mw \ ‘N ree Q@ % &\ entia N 855:5?o~50850ﬁ5m5585mn mQA@
or comb your hair centerffs.org or 856.881.4034.
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