*Federal law and New Jersey regulations require all CLP/CDL drivers to identify their commerce type on the CDL Holder Self-Certification document, and when applicable, submit a valid medical examiner certificate completed by a federally certified medical examiner upon expiration.
The cost of the four-year CDL is $42 and $2 for each endorsement. An applicant’s first CDL will be prorated to expire with any current basic New Jersey driver’s license. Applicants without a basic New Jersey passenger driver’s license (Class D) should factor in the $24 fee for the Class D license.
The cost of a CLP examination test receipt is $125. This test receipt must be purchased before you can take your knowledge test, endorsement test and/or road tests. After you have passed your knowledge tests, there will be no additional charge for your initial CLP. The cost of the CLP is included in your test receipt fee, along with the payment for medical form review and data exchange with Federal driver monitoring systems.
Important note: The medical or background check results can lead to a commercial driver license disqualification. There is no refund of the CLP fee for either the background check disqualification or the medical disqualification.
*Note: CLP holders must wait a minimum of 14 days before taking the skills test.
We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin. If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.
CDL applicants under 21 years old:
K – Restriction for Intrastate only.
L – Restriction for vehicles with no air brakes.
P – No passenger restriction on CLP, if CLP has a P endorsement.
V – Restriction for medical variance (the driver must also have the hard copy variance issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration).
X – No Cargo in Tank restriction, if CLP has an N endorsement.
E – No manual transmission equipped CMV (If you take the test in a CMV with an automatic transmission, you will receive the E restriction and are prohibited from operating a CMV with a manual transmission).
K – Intrastate only.
O – No tractor trailer CMV.
Q – 15 Passengers or less
V – Medical variance.
Z – No full air brake equipped CMV.
Effective November 9, 2015, the “Z” restriction code that had been used to capture a Graduated Driver License (GDL) restriction is now captured using a “T” restriction. All GDLs issued up until that time continue to be valid with their “Z” identifier until their expiration date.
The following do not need a CDL for their purposes:
Visit a motor vehicle agency to replace a CDL permit:
If your CLP was stolen, remember that it must be reported to the police.