Beginning March 2, 2020, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC) will begin a pilot program for the roadside inspections of medium duty diesel vehicles (MDDVs) in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:26-14 and N.J.A.C. 13:20-46.3. The pilot will be conducted in cooperation with the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP) and with the aid of the New Jersey State Police (NJSP).
Inspections will be conducted under the existing authority granted to the NJMVC within N.J.S.A. 39:8-64. The primary purpose of these inspections will be to obtain data to determine a rate of compliance for ALL diesel-powered motor vehicles, whether registered “Commercial” or “Passenger,” with gross vehicle weight ratings between 8,501 lbs. to 17,999 lbs. and subject to the State’s self-inspection program and emission laws.
Medium duty diesel vehicles will be selected using criteria defined in N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.14 prior to the start of any inspection detail for the purposes of this pilot program. Medium duty diesel vehicles identified with obvious defective emission or safety conditions will still be subject to inspection and be required to have the necessary repairs performed and may be required to be presented for re-inspection.
Medium duty diesel vehicles identified with obvious defective emission or safety conditions will NOT be counted in the performance measures utilized to determine overall program effectiveness.
All heavy-duty diesel vehicles 18,000 pounds GVWR or more are required to be tested for smoke emissions annually at a licensed Diesel Private Inspection Facilities (Diesel PIF) within 90 days of your vehicle's registration or renewal.
Effective December, 2009, revised opacity cutpoints take effect. Download an informative brochure to compare old vs. new.
Diesel PIF provide inspections and certifications as required by MVC:
You must have your driver license, registration, International Registration Plan documentation (if applicable) and proof of insurance to complete the inspection.
Class I Diesel PIF's are authorized to perform smoke emission inspections (opacity) and certification of all heavy-duty diesel trucks 18,000 lbs GVWR and above. Diesel PIF's are required to offer smoke emission inspection services for any heavy-duty diesel truck 18,000 lbs GVWR or more and cannot refuse inspection once the process has begun.
Class II Diesel PIF's must have a fleet of 10 or more heavy-duty diesel vehicles 18,000 lbs GVWR or more and are only authorized to inspect other owners or lessees of fleets of 10 or more.
Diesel PIF's may set their own fee for inspection and may not charge sales tax for the inspection or the inspection sticker. Your vehicle must complete one of the following tests:
If you fail to have your vehicle inspected, you may be subject to a summons of $500 if stopped by law enforcement.
If you fail a roadside smoke emission inspection conducted by MVC in conjunction with the New Jersey State Police, you will be subjected to the following penalties:
For more information on diesel emission testing call (609) 633-9474 or write to:
Motor Vehicle Commission
IM Support Unit
P.O. Box 680
Trenton, NJ 08666