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TO: All Law Enforcement Officials
FROM: B. Sue Fulton, Chair and Chief Administrator
DATE: July 7, 2021

SUBJECT: Home Care Service Agency Placards

Effective July 1, 2021, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will begin the issuance
of parking placards for use by home care service employees. Home care service employees
include nurses, nurses’ aides, homemaker-home health aides, personal care assistants, physical
therapists, occupation therapists, speech-language pathologists, social workers, and/or hospice
care workers.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-207.11, placards may be displayed while the vehicle is parked when
employees render service.

Placard use allows for:
» daytime or overnight parking normally reserved for municipal residents, municipal parking
lots, and college/university parking lots
* parking at meters for up to 24 hours with no penalties

Placards cannot be used for parking in PWAD (Person with a Disability) labeled parking spots.
Placards are yellow in color and will hang from the rearview mirror of a vehicle. The issuing agen-
cy and placard holder’s name will be written on the back. Placards clearly show their expiration
date, which will be on the last day of the month that is punched out. The year of expiration will also
be punched out. Placard holders must also have in their possession a printed registration
letter that serves as an authorization document for placard use. Law enforcement officials
may ask placard holders for this document as proof to prevent a parking violation. Pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 39:4-207.11, misusing a placard may also be subject to a fine of $250 for a first offense.
Placards are subject to renewal every two (2) years.

For questions regarding placard issuance or authorization, please email

MVCHomeCareServicePlacard@mvc.nj.gov.
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NEW JERSEY NEW JERSEY
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
CAUTION: CAUTION:
REMOVE BEFORE DRIVING. IT'S THE LAW! REMOVE BEFORE DRIVING. IT'S THE LAW!
HOME CARE SERVICE EMPLOYEE HOME CARE SERVICE EMPLOYEE
GOOD THROUGH* GOOD THROUGH*
This placard i nor-transferable. If the placard is no longer necessary for the This vehicle is driven by a home care service
fome care service employee to whom it ws issued, it must be retumed empIoYee pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-20711.
immediately to the issuing home care service agency. Lhis gacard is valid in all municipalities in
) L ew Jersey.
ot for us nwhelchar igned parking spaces. U Security Sticker Affixed Here
*Tri i “hove. Puncti Placard Holder: | Placard Holder Name L
one monthandfor year ivaldatestis placad. AGENCY: Home Care Agency Name
SP-69 (R10/13) SP-69 (R10/13)
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Sample Home Care Service Agency Registration Card:

=<dMVC

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

New Jersey
Home Care Service Agency Parking Placard
Registration Card
This Placard Registration Card MUST be carried with you while using your home

care service agency parking placard. You will be required to present this card
with your driver’s license to law enforcement upon request.

Pursuant to o N.J.S.A. 39:4-207.11, misusing a placard may also be subject to a
fine of $250 for a first offense.

Your parking placard number is only valid until the expiration listed below.

| Authorized Placard Holder \ Driver License # | Placard # | Issuing Service Agency Name | Expiration ‘
[ sample Driver | 5123456789101 [ 000001 [ Nursing Home | 8/22/2023 |

Authorized Uses of the Home Care Service Agency Parking Placard:

e Driving on streets normally reserved for municipal residents, municipal parking
lots, and college/university parking lots

e Overnight parking normally reserved for municipal residents, municipal parking
lots, and college/university parking lots

e Travel on roads reserved for municipal residents when traffic volume is high

o Parking at meters for up to 24 hours with no penalties
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