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Certified adoption records from a country other than 
the United States  

2 

Driving privilege card with photo issued by another 
state or municipality, including the District of  

1 

Columbia  
…  
High school diploma or GED (general equivalency 
diploma), college diploma, or trade school degree, 

 

from any country  1 
…  
[Current health] Health insurance card or [current] 
prescription card  

1 

[Current employee] Employee identification card 
accompanied by a printed pay stub from applicant’s 

1 

employment in the United States  
…  
[Veteran’s Administration universal access photo 
identification card  

1] 

  
3. An applicant may submit any of the following documents to 

establish proof of Social Security number: 
i. Social Security card (no copies or laminations); 
ii. W-2 form issued within the past year; 
iii. Pay stub (must include full name and full Social Security 

number) issued within the past year; 
iv. SSA-1099 form (issued within the past year); or 
v. Non-SSA-1099 form (issued within the past year). 
4. An applicant may submit either of the following documents as 

acceptable proof of an Individual Tax Identification Number: 
i. Official letter from the IRS verifying the applicant’s ITIN; 
ii. ITIN card (no copies or laminations); or 
iii. New Jersey income tax refund displaying ITIN. 
(d) Each applicant must present for inspection [an] one acceptable 

proof of [address] principal residence document, which may be, but is 
not limited to, the following: 

1. (No change.) 
2. A property tax bill, statement, or receipt issued within [last] the past 

year; 
3. Any letter or correspondence (including tax bills) received from the 

Federal Internal Revenue Service or any state tax office within the past 
year, including a New Jersey income tax refund displaying applicant’s 
address; 

4. (No change.) 
5. An original, unexpired lease or rental agreement with the name of 

the applicant listed as the lessee or renter; 
6. (No change.) 
7. A checking or savings account statement (bank or credit union) 

issued within the last 60 days; [or] 
8. A certification, verifying the address of an applicant under 18 years 

of age who does not have his or her own proof of address verification, 
from a parent or guardian[.]; or 

9. A deed or title to real property displaying applicant’s name. 
(e)-(f) (No change.) 
[(g) Any person from a foreign country who is in New Jersey for a 

period of one year or less and who would be entitled to operate a motor 
vehicle in this State pursuant to (f) above but for the fact that he or she is 
not the holder of a driver license from the country in which he or she 
resides shall be eligible to make application for a New Jersey driver 
license or permit. If a New Jersey driver license or permit is issued, the 
Commission shall fix the expiration date at a date based on the period in 
which the person is authorized to be present in the United States under 
Federal immigration laws. The Commission may renew the driver license 
or permit only if it is demonstrated that the person’s continued presence 
in the United States is authorized under Federal law.] 

[(h)] (g) (No change in text.) 
[(i)] (h) The Commission shall take a photo of each applicant for a new 

or renewed [non-REAL ID-compliant] standard special learner permit 
with photo, examination permit with photo, driver license, commercial 
driver license, or non-driver identification card upon submission of the 
application, except that the Commission may use a stored photo once 

to renew a standard driver license for a period not exceeding four 
additional years. 

[(j)] (i) Commission staff members are authorized to scan all 
applications presented or accepted toward satisfying document 
requirements. All scanned images will be retained electronically in 
accordance with N.J.S.A. 47:3-15 et seq., and N.J.A.C. 15:3-2.1 through 
2.7 and 4.1 through 4.11. Commission staff members may not retain 
copies, scanned images, or records of any kind of primary or 
secondary documents submitted to establish eligibility to obtain a 
standard document, except when necessary for purposes of 
investigating identity fraud, driver’s license fraud, or non-driver 
identification card fraud pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:2-3.4.a. 

SUBCHAPTER 16. IDENTIFICATION CARDS FOR NONDRIVERS 

13:21-16.1 Definitions 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 

have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. 
… 

“Nondriver identification card” means an identification card issued by 
the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission to a person 
whose state of residence is New Jersey and who is [17] 14 years of age or 
older and who is not the holder of a valid examination or special learner’s 
permit or a valid driver license, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.2 et 
seq. 

“Standard” means, when used to describe an identification card 
issued by the Commission under the provisions of this subchapter, 
that the issuance of the identification card is not acceptable for REAL 
ID purposes and is marked as such. 
… 

13:21-16.2 Requirements for issuance of nondriver identification cards; 
In addition to any other requirements imposed by Title 39 of the 

Revised Statutes and the [regulations] rules promulgated thereunder, no 
standard nondriver identification card shall be issued by the 
Commission, unless the applicant therefor submits, upon request, proof of 
identity [and], date of birth [and proof that the applicant’s presence in the 
United States is authorized under Federal law], and proof of New Jersey 
residency in the manner set forth [in] at N.J.A.C. 13:21-8.2(a), (b), [and] 
(c), and (d). No REAL ID nondriver identification card shall be issued 
by the Commission unless the applicant therefor submits, upon 
request, requirements including proof of identity, Social Security 
number, New Jersey residency with two proofs of address, and date 
of birth, as set forth at N.J.A.C. 13:21-8.2A. 

__________ 

(a) 

MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

License and Registration Renewals, Duplicates, 
Interim Driver Licenses, Non-Driver Identification 
Cards, and Restorations 

Proposed Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.5 

Proposed New Rules: N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.19, 9.20, and 
9.21 

Authorized By: B. Sue Fulton, Chair and Chief Administrator, 
Motor Vehicle Commission. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 39:2A-21, 39:2A-13, 39:2A-28, and 39:2A-36.1. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 
exception to calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2020-073. 

Submit written comments by September 18, 2020, to: 

Kate Tasch, APO Legal and Regulatory Affairs 
Motor Vehicle Commission 
225 East State Street 
PO Box 162 
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0162 
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or via email to rulecomments@mvc.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

The Motor Vehicle Commission (Commission) proposes the following 
amendments and new rules at N.J.A.C. 13:21-9, to utilize the practice of 
central issuance of licenses, non-driver identification cards, and permits, 
and also providing for the use of interim documents, or in emergent cases, 
issuance of these documents at specified agency locations. Central 
issuance is proposed for new credentials, duplicates, and renewals. 
Interim documents will be made available to applicants for use during the 
period between their application for licenses, non-driver identification 
cards, or permits, and their receipt thereof. The interim driver license and 
permit allow people to drive lawfully until their new credential with a 
photo is printed and mailed to them. The proposed new rules also provide 
for the immediate issuance, for a fee, of a license, non-driver identification 
card, or permit. Central issuance has been designed to create a more secure 
process by which licenses, non-driver identification cards, and permits can 
be issued from a central location and mailed to the applicant, rather than 
immediate production of the credentials at agencies. Under this plan, an 
applicant will be issued an interim document, which provides a temporary 
credential to be used for up to 30 days while the applicant awaits receipt 
of his or her license, non-driver identification card, or permit. The 
proposed process also allows time for an applicant to be cleared through 
the Commission’s security and investigation team, which specifically 
includes a verification analysis of an applicant’s photograph and driver 
history, and which flags an application where a mismatched photograph 
or other concern is found. If an application is flagged, an applicant will 
not receive a credential, unless and until his or her application is cleared. 
If there are no flags, the applicant’s credential will be mailed to the 
applicant within the 30-day time frame. This process will also eliminate 
the need for inventory, such as laminate and cardstock to be stored, 
maintained, and secured at each agency, providing a more secure way to 
issue licenses and reducing the potential for fraud. This process will also 
decrease the significant wait time at motor vehicle agencies throughout 
the State by eliminating the immediate onsite production and issuance of 
all licenses and non-driver identification cards. 

N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.5 is proposed for amendment to include a new 
definition for “central printing.” 

New N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.19 is proposed to clarify the Commission’s use 
of central issuance of licenses, permits, and non-driver identification 
cards, including the interim documents to be issued to an applicant for use 
between the time of application and receipt of the document. 

New N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.20 is proposed to clarify that licenses, permits, 
or non-driver identification cards can be issued at specified agency 
locations, rather than through central issuance, on an expedited basis, 
when there is an emergent need for identification. 

New N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.21 is proposed to indicate that there shall be a 
fee for the expedited issuance of licenses, permits, or non-driver 
identification cards for emergent reasons at specified agency locations. 
The fee is consistent with the requirements at N.J.S.A. 39:2A-36.1, 
considering that fees have not been increased since 2009, the proposed fee 
is consistent with the actual costs to the State of New Jersey for 
administering the license, permit, and non-driver identification cards at an 
agency location, rather than through central issuance, and the annual 
percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index as defined at N.J.S.A. 
39:2A-36.1.b(4). 

The public comment period for this notice of proposal will be 60 days, 
as this notice is not listed in the agency calendar. Therefore, this notice of 
proposal is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement, pursuant 
to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5. 

Social Impact 

The proposed amendments and new rules are beneficial to the public 
in that they allow for production and issuance of licenses, permits, and 
non-driver identification cards at a central location, thus allowing for more 
streamlined transactions at the agency counters and the opportunity for 
the Commission to service a greater number of customers in the same 
amount of time. Meanwhile, applicants for these documents will have 
interim documents, valid for 30 days, which may be used during the 
interim period between application for, and receipt of, the credential. 

Central issuance is also beneficial to the public in so far as it creates a 
more secure process that allows time for an applicant to be cleared through 
the Commission’s security and investigation team. The process 
specifically includes a verification analysis of an applicant’s photograph 
and driver history, and flags an application where a mismatched 
photograph or other concern is found. If an application is flagged, an 
applicant will not receive a credential, unless and until his or her 
application is cleared. If there are no flags, the applicant’s credential will 
be mailed to the applicant within the 30-day time frame. This process will 
also eliminate the need for inventory, such as laminate and cardstock to 
be stored, maintained, and secured at each agency, providing a more 
secure way to issue licenses and significantly reducing the potential for 
fraudulent licenses to be produced. 

The industry standard is moving toward a central issuance model, and 
75 percent of states have already adopted it in some form. The American 
Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) recognized it as 
a best practice in 2014, and AAMVA’s stakeholders, including law 
enforcement and driver license and non-driver identification card system 
manufacturers and service providers, as well as state credential-issuing 
authorities, consider the central issuance of their credential as best practice 
as well.  AAMVA concluded that not only is the manufacturing 
environment more secure to control internal processing fraud, but the 
more robust machinery can incorporate security features into the card that 
are not achievable using the agency grade printers, making the card itself 
much more secure. 

Economic Impact 

The Commission will incur minimal to moderate costs relative to the 
Commission’s transition to a central issuance system. It is anticipated that 
the costs of transition will be offset by a reduction in the number of 
immediate applications addressed in agencies, and a reduction in time 
dedicated to each transaction at an agency, freeing up time at agencies for 
members of the public to transact business at the agencies that cannot be 
addressed online. 

Members of the public will only be subject to the increased fees when 
there are emergent circumstances that require the expedited issuance of a 
license, permit, or non-driver identification card at an agency rather than 
through central issuance, which cost is an administrative fee to offset the 
costs to the Commission of issuing the credential in the agency on an 
immediate basis. 

Federal Standards Statement 

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the subject matter 
of the proposed amendments and new rules is authorized under State law 
and is not subject to Federal requirements or standards. 

Jobs Impact 

The Commission does not anticipate that any jobs will be generated or 
lost as a result of the proposed amendments and new rules. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

The Commission does not anticipate that these proposed amendments 
and new rules will have any agriculture industry impact in this State. 

Regulatory Flexibility Statement 

The proposed amendments and new rules do not impose reporting, 
recordkeeping, or other compliance requirements on small businesses as 
that term is defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 
et seq. The proposed amendments and new rules only pertain to 
individuals, not businesses. Therefore, a regulatory flexibility analysis is 
not required. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 

The proposed amendments and new rules will not have any impact on 
the affordability of housing in New Jersey, and the proposed amendments 
and new rules will not evoke a change in the average costs associated with 
housing because the proposed amendments and new rules pertain to driver 
licenses and non-driver identification cards, interim credentials, and 
expedited transactions. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 

The proposed amendments and new rules will have no impact on smart 
growth and will not evoke a change in housing production in Planning 



PROPOSALS TRANSPORTATION 

 NEW JERSEY REGISTER, MONDAY, JULY 20, 2020 (CITE 52 N.J.R. 1399) 

Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development 
and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because the proposed 
amendments and new rules pertain to driver licenses and non-driver 
identification cards, interim credentials, and expedited transactions. 

Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety 

Impact 

The Commission has evaluated this rulemaking and determined that it 
will not have an impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or 
parole policies concerning adults and juveniles in the State. Accordingly, 
no further analysis is required. 

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; 
deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 9.  LICENSE AND REGISTRATION RENEWALS, 
DUPLICATES, INTERIM DRIVER LICENSES 
AND NON-DRIVER IDENTIFICATION CARDS, 
AND RESTORATIONS 

13:21-9.5 Definitions 
As used in N.J.A.C. 13:21-9.5 through [9.18] 9.21, the following words 

and terms shall have the following meanings: 
… 

“Central printing” means the process whereby licenses, non-driver 
identification cards, and/or permits are physically printed and 
produced from a central location either within or outside New Jersey. 
… 

13:21-9.19 Central printing and central issuance of licenses, non-
driver identification cards and permits; interim licenses, 
non-driver identification card receipts, and interim 
permits 

(a) The Commission may institute the practices of central printing 
and central issuance of driver licenses, commercial driver licenses, 
boat operator licenses, motorcycle licenses, non-driver identification 
cards, examination or special learner permits, or commercial learner 
permits, as determined by the Chief Administrator. An interim 
license, non-driver identification card receipt, or interim permit, may 
be issued by the Commission at such time that an applicant has met 
all the requirements for the issuance of a driver license, commercial 
driver license, boat operator license, motorcycle license, non-driver 
identification card, examination or special learner permit, or 
commercial learner permit in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 et 
seq., 39:3-10.12 et seq., 39:3-13, and 39:3-29.2 et seq.; and N.J.A.C. 
13:21-7, 8, and 23 and 13:82-8.20. 

(b) The interim license and interim permit shall permit the 
applicant to drive while the interim document is in his or her 
possession and carried along with the most recent driver license 
issued by the Commission, unless the interim license or interim 
permit is marked INITIAL or DUPLICATE. The interim license and 
interim permit shall not be used for identification purposes. The 
interim license or interim permit shall indicate the class of license 
granted and any endorsements granted. 

(c) The interim license, non-driver identification card receipt, or 
interim permit, shall be valid for up to 30 days, and shall become 
invalid when: 

1. The driver license, commercial driver license, boat operator 
license, motorcycle license, non-driver identification card, 
examination or special learner permit, or commercial learner permit 
is received in the mail; 

2. Operating privileges or rights to a non-driver identification card 
are suspended, cancelled, or revoked; or 

3. The interim license, non-driver identification card receipt, or 
interim permit expires, if not already invalidated pursuant to (c)1 and 
2 above. 

13:21-9.20 Issuance of a driver license, commercial driver license, 
boat operator license, motorcycle license, non-driver 
identification card, examination or special learner 

permit, or commercial learner permit on an emergent 
basis 

A driver license, commercial driver license, boat operator license, 
motorcycle license, non-driver identification card, examination or 
special learner permit, or commercial learner permit, or the renewal 
of such listed credential, may be issued to an applicant on an emergent 
and expedited basis for which the applicant shall submit satisfactory 
proof of the emergent and immediate need for photo identification, at 
specified agency locations. An emergent and immediate need, to be 
determined at the discretion of the chief administrator includes, but 
is not limited to, need for identification for immediate airline or train 
travel, identification to enter restricted places, such as a hospital, or 
identification to complete a home purchase or rental. 

13:21-9.21 Fee for driver licenses issued on emergent basis 
(a) The fee for the expedited issuance of a license, non-driver 

identification card, or any renewal thereof on an emergent basis at an 
agency shall be as follows: 

1. Standard Driver License - $99.00 
2. REAL ID Driver License - $110.00 
3. Commercial Driver License - $117.00 plus the costs of any 

additional endorsements, if applicable 
4. Commercial Learner’s Permit - $200.00 
5. Non-Driver Identification Card - $99.00 
6. Motorcycle License-$99.00 
7. Boat Operator License - $99.00 

__________ 

(a) 

MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

Commercial Driver Licensing 

Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:21-23.1, 23.2, 
23.12, 23.24, and 23.28 

Authorized By: Motor Vehicle Commission, B. Sue Fulton, Chair 
and Chief Administrator. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 39:3-10.27; and 49 U.S.C. §§ 31310(d) and 
31311. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of 
exception to calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2020-075. 

Submit comments by September 18, 2020, to: 

Kate Tasch, Director 
Legal and Regulatory Affairs 
Motor Vehicle Commission 
225 East State Street 
PO Box 162 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0162 
or via email to: rulecomments@mvc.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

Recent changes to Federal law impose a life disqualification upon 
holders of commercial driver licenses (CDL) who are convicted of a 
felony involving “severe forms of trafficking in persons.” The life 
disqualification applies if the license holder or applicant used a 
commercial motor vehicle (CMV) in the offense. In this rulemaking 
action, the Motor Vehicle Commission (Commission) proposes 
amendments to the provisions of N.J.A.C. 13:21-23.1, 23.2, 23.12, 23.24, 
and 23.28, to bring these sections in line with the provisions of the new 
law, by adding the definition from 22 U.S.C. § 7102(11) of what 
constitutes an act or practice of “severe forms of trafficking in persons.” 

Federal law, at 49 U.S.C. § 31310(d)(2), already required states to 
place a lifetime disqualification from CDL licensure on any individual 
who uses a CMV in committing a felony involving an act or practice 
described in paragraph (9) of section 103 of the Trafficking Victims 
Protection Act of 2000 (22 U.S.C. § 7102(9)). A September 23, 2019 
amendment to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, at 49 CFR 


