TRANSPORTATION

motor vehicle traveling on the roads of this State, day or night, shall
display a reflective slow moving vehicle emblem on the rear of the
vehicle as specified in this section. The use of the slow moving vehicle
emblem shall be in addition to any other lighting device or equipment
required by this subchapter.

1. Characteristics. The slow-moving vehicle emblem’s material,
location, and mounting must be in accordance with American Society of
Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) standards, must display
the manufacturer’s name and address on the emblem, and contain a
statement that the emblem meets the standards of ASAE S276.5, as
amended and supplemented. The slow-moving vehicle emblem must be
visible from a distance of at least 600 feet, day or night, and must be
clean, undamaged, and not faded.

2. Location. The slow-moving vehicle emblem must be visible from
the rear of the vehicle with the triangle pointed upward, in the center of
the vehicle or as near left-center as practical, two to six feet above the
ground and securely attached, if not permanently mounted.

3. Towed vehicles. The slow-moving vehicle emblem shall be
mounted on any farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or
farm implement drawn by a motor vehicle unless the towing vehicle
displays the emblem in such a manner as to be clearly visible.

(b) The provisions of (a) above shall not apply to vehicles traveling at
speeds in excess of 25 miles per hour. For such vehicles, the slow-
moving vehicle emblem shall be removed.

13:21-12.11  Self-propelled sprayers

(a) A self-propelled sprayer is defined as any vehicle that is self-
propelled and designed to apply fertilizer, pesticide, or any other
appropriate substance on farmland.

(b) Self-propelled sprayers shall be registered with the New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Commission to operate upon a public highway, unless
exempt by N.J.S.A. 39:3-26.1.

(c) An applicant for a self-propelled sprayer registration must present:

1. A notarized bill of sale containing the year, make, vehicle
identification number, seller’s and buyer’s name and address, date of
sale, and purchase price;

2. A pencil tracing or printed-out photograph of the vehicle
identification number;

3. An executed BA-49, New Jersey Vehicle Registration Application;
and

4. The appropriate registration fee.

(d) Self-propelled sprayers will not be issued a New Jersey certificate
of title.

(a)
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

Licensing Service
Identification Cards for Nondrivers

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:21-16.1

Adopted New Rule: N.J.A.C. 13:21-16.5

Proposed: August 7, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 2495(a).

Adopted: December 7, 2017, by Raymond P. Martinez, Chairman
and Chief Administrator, Motor Vehicle Commission.

Filed: December 20, 2017, as R.2018 d.059, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 39:2-3, 39:2A-28, and 39:3-29.9; and P.L. 2016,
c. 99.

Effective Date: January 16, 2018.

Expiration Date: December 4, 2020.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
No comments were received.

Federal Standards Statement
No comparable Federal law or regulation exists; therefore, a Federal
standards analysis is not required for the adopted amendment and new
rule.

(CITE 50 N.J.R. 644)

ADOPTIONS

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 16. IDENTIFICATION CARDS FOR NONDRIVERS

13:21-16.1  Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise.

“Emergency shelter for the homeless” means a building or structure
in which a public entity or private, nonprofit organization provides
shelter, or food and shelter, to individuals and families having neither a
home nor the means to obtain a home or other temporary lodging.

13:21-16.5 Homeless person, fees waived

Notwithstanding the fees established under N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.7, a
nondriver identification card is available for no fee to a homeless person,
as defined by N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.7, who submits proof of temporary
residence satisfactory to the chief administrator through a social worker
or coordinator of an emergency shelter for the homeless where the
homeless person has been temporarily residing. The proof of temporary
residence shall be in the form of a letter from a social worker or
emergency shelter coordinator, on the social worker’s or emergency
shelter’s official letterhead, signed by an authorized social worker or
emergency shelter coordinator, and dated no more than 10 days prior to
the homeless person’s application to the Commission for a no-fee
nondriver identification card. The letter must clearly state that the
applicant is “without a domicile and is unable to secure permanent and
stable housing,” and must include the temporary residence of the
applicant.

(b)
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

Enforcement Service

Equipment for Emergency Vehicles and Other
Specified Vehicles; Flashing Amber Lights for
Farm Vehicles on any Public Roads

Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:24-1.1, 4.1, and
4.2

Proposed: August 7, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 2497(a).

Adopted: December 7, 2017, by Raymond P. Martinez, Chairman
and Chief Administrator, Motor Vehicle Commission.

Filed: December 20, 2017, as R.2018 d.058, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 39:2-3, 39:2A-28, 39:3-43, 39:3-50, and 39:3-
69.

Effective Date: January 16, 2018.

Expiration Date: June 24, 2018.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
No comments were received.

Federal Standards Statement

The adopted amendments do not exceed any Federal requirements or
standards. Federal law (49 U.S.C. § 30111(a)) provides that the United
States Secretary of Transportation shall prescribe motor vehicle safety
standards. In accordance with 49 U.S.C. § 30111(a) and its predecessor
(15 U.S.C. § 1392), the Secretary of Transportation has established
safety standards for motor vehicles and motor vehicle equipment at 49
CFR 571.101. The adopted amendments are consistent with Federal
regulations, including the requirements set forth at 49 CFR 571.108
(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 108), which pertains to
lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment and 49 CFR 562
(Lighting and Marking on agricultural equipment), which pertain to the
requirements for lighting and marking on farm vehicles. While the
Commission is not requiring the lighting and marking on agricultural
equipment (as the Federal regulations already address this), the
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ADOPTIONS

Commission does need to amend its regulations to allow for the light
permit for these vehicles.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 1.

13:24-1.1  Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

DEFINITIONS

“Farm vehicle” means any farm or agricultural tractor, self-propelled
machine, or implement,or any combination thereof, that is primarily
designed for farm or agricultural operations.

“Public road” means any road, street, or highway under the
jurisdiction of, and maintained by, a public authority and open to public
travel.

SUBCHAPTER 4. FLASHING AMBER LIGHT PERMITS

13:24-4.1 Permit eligibility

(a) Owners or lessees of the following types of vehicles are eligible
for flashing amber light permits.

1.-7. (No change.)

8. Farm vehicles:

i. A flashing amber light may be used by a farm vehicle while
traveling on a public road.

(b)-(f) (No change.)

13:24-4.2  Permit application procedure

(a) (No change.)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in (c), (d), (e), and (f) below, the
application, after completion, is to be signed by the chief law
enforcement official in the municipality in which the service is being
provided. Thereafter, the application should be submitted to the
Commission together with the fee specified in N.J.S.A. 39:3-50(d).

(c)-(e) (No change.)

(f) The application, after completion, is to be signed by the chief law
enforcement official in the municipality in which the farm is located.
Thereafter, the application should be submitted to the Commission
together with the fee specified in N.J.S.A. 39:3-50(d).

(g) (No change in text.)

TREASURY—GENERAL
(a)

DIVISION OF PENSIONS AND BENEFITS

General Administration
Purchases and Eligible Service

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 17:1-4.1

Proposed: September 18, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 3098(b).

Adopted: December 14, 2017, by John Megariotis, Acting Director,
Division of Pensions and Benefits.

Filed: December 14, 2017, as R.2018 d.027 without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 52:14-15.1a (P.L. 1996, c. 8) and 52:18 A-96 et
seq.

Effective Date: January 16, 2018.

Expiration Date: May 17, 2023.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

Comments on the notice of the proposed amendment were received
from Sarah Favinger, Associate Director, on behalf of the New Jersey
Education Association (NJEA).

1. COMMENT: The commenter expresses several major concerns
about the proposed amendments to N.J.A.C. 17:1-4.1. The commenter
states that proposed N.J.A.C. 17:1-4.1(d) will require all purchases of
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service credit to be paid in full at least 30 days prior to the member’s
retirement date. The commenter expresses opposition to this amendment
because it unnecessarily renders it more difficult for pension system
members to complete a purchase of service credit. The commenter notes
that members may purposely set their retirement date for the month after
they complete the purchase of service credit; if a member must complete
payment for the purchase 30 days prior to his or her retirement date, the
member will have to make a double payment.

Further, the commenter asserts that it does not state anywhere that a
purchase of service credit must be completed 30 days prior to retirement.
The commenter notes that the Division’s Fact Sheet #1 outlines the types
of purchases and the procedures for making purchases. Currently it
states that “... if you retire before completing all of the scheduled
payments, you will automatically receive prorated credit for the amount
of service you have paid for or you can pay the remaining balance in a
lump-sum and receive full credit.” It does not state anywhere on the fact
sheet that a purchase must be completely paid for 30 days prior to
retirement.

Finally, the commenter notes that since pension payments are not
actually due and payable until 30 days after the retirement date, a
completion of payment for the purchase by the retirement date allows for
time to adjust the payment by the time the retirement is due and payable.
Further, the Division will process other retirement changes that impact
the pension payment, such as a change in the beneficiary or pension
option, up until the point that the pension is due and payable.

RESPONSE: The Division thanks the commenter for the comments
dated October 2, 2017. However, members must complete their purchase
of service credit 30 days prior to the retirement date to ensure that they
qualify for the proper retirement benefit on the requested date of
retirement. If service credit must be prorated, it may cause members to
no longer qualify for the retirement benefit, and this information must be
reported to the members before the member’s last day of employment in
case they need to work a little longer to qualify for the benefit.
Furthermore, to ensure that members are paid their first retirement check
on a timely basis (including time for board approval), it is imperative
that all arrears balances be satisfied at least 30 days prior to retirement.
In addition, members have the option of paying off an arrears balance in
other ways, such as through a pension loan, which can be carried into
retirement, or through a direct rollover or trustee-to-trustee transfer of
tax-deferred funds from a qualified retirement plan.

On the basis of the reasons stated above, N.J.A.C. 17:1-4.1 will be
adopted as proposed. Once the rule is adopted, the purchase fact sheets
will be updated to reflect the amended rule.

Federal Standards Statement
The adopted amendments meet, but do not exceed, the applicable
Federal standards, that is, 26 U.S.C. §§ 401(a), 403(b), and 414(d).
There are no other Federal standards applicable to the subject matter of
this chapter; therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required.

Full text of the adopted amendments follows:

SUBCHAPTER 4. PURCHASES AND ELIGIBLE SERVICE

17:1-4.1 Purchases; cancellation, interest on outstanding purchases,
or cash discount requested

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) For a member who has authorized a purchase of service credit on
or after September 8, 1998, and who is inactive, or becomes inactive, the
following provisions shall apply:

1. A member who authorizes a purchase that requires installment
payments but who has not had installment payments made toward that
purchase for two years due to inactivity in the account, shall receive
written notice from the Division that the remainder of the purchase will
be canceled. The member shall receive a pro rata credit for the service
purchased to the date that the installment payments ceased. Any
subsequent requests to purchase the remaining service credit shall be
based on the laws and rules in effect on the date that the subsequent
request is received.

2. The member may request to pay, in full, the cash discount value of
the outstanding arrearage for the purchase within 60 days of the Division

(CITE 50 N.J.R. 645)



