New Jersey
Motor Vehicle Commission

boating facts

Boats longer than 12 ft. must be titled, regardless
of propulsion means.

To obtain a title, visit any motor vehicle agency and provide:

Hull Identification Number (HIN), structural information, owner
information or business number/corpcode. Homemade boats or boats
without a HIN will be assigned a number after a State Police Marine
Services Bureau inspection.

> Pay $60 for a clear title, $85 for a one-lien title, $60 for a corrected

title or $60 for a duplicate title.

Title Exemptions
For details, visit an MVC agency, njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339
toll-free in New Jersey.

Titled boats and power vessels of any length must
be registered if they are to be used on waterways.

To register, visit any motor vehicle agency and:

» Provide proof of ownership, Social Security number and acceptable
proofs of age and identification.

» Complete form BA51, boat registration form.

» Pay the fee based on the chart below:

TYPE OF LENGTH:
VESSEL UNDER16ft 16ft -25ft 26ft-39ft 40ft-64ft 65ft OR MORE

Pleasure

Commercial

Persons 12 years old or younger may not remain on board any
moving vessel (except short-run ferries and large commercial vessels
longer than 65 feet) unless they are wearing a U.S. Coast Guard-approved
personal flotation device.

Persons under 13 years old may not operate any power vessel.

Persons 13 to 15 years old may operate a vessel powered by an
electric trolling motor, or a vessel 12 feet or longer powered by less than
10 total HP, if they have successfully completed an approved boating
safety course and have the certificate in their possession.

Persons 16 years or older may operate any recreational power
vessel. Persons operating on nontidal waters must also carry a New
Jersey boat license. For current boating safety education and minimum
age mandatory requirements, please visit www.njsp.org. Upon completion
of an approved boating safety course, the operator must carry the
certificate whenever operating the vessel. The certificate must also be

presented upon application for a boat license.
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Penalties for breaking boating laws include:

» Up to a $500 fine for operating a boat without completing a boating safety
course. (N.J.S.A. 12:7-61)

» Up to a $500 fine and/or up to 60 days in prison for failing to carry or exhibit a
license to operate a power boat on nontidal waters. (N.J.S.A. 12:7-72)

The penalties for boating under the influence of
drugs or alcohol and/or the refusal to submit to a
chemical test include:

P First Offense:

Fine of between $250 and $500, loss of privilege to operate a vessel for 12
months, loss of privilege to operate a vehicle for three months to one year* and
loss of privilege to operate a moped from sentencing until offender has reached
the age of 17 years, three months. (N.J.S.A. 12:7-46)

» Second Offense:

Fine of between $500 and $1,000, loss of privilege to operate a vessel for 24
months, loss of privilege to operate a vehicle for 2 years*, and loss of privilege to
operate a moped from sentencing until offender has reached the age of 17 years,
three months. A second offense will also result in 30 days of community service
and between 48 hours and 90 days in prison. (N.J.S.A. 12:7-46)

* Violators under age 17 will have ALL driving privileges suspended until offender is
17 years and three months of age.

Refusal to take a chemical test results in the loss
of the privilege to operate power boats and motor
vehicles for:

D First Offense:
1 year (boat)/7-12 months (motor vehicle) and $300 to $500 fine

» Second Offense:
2 years (boat and motor vehicle) and $500 to $1,000 fine

P Third Offense:
10 years (boat and motor vehicle) and $1,000 fine

(N.J.S.A. 12:7-57)

Boat Safety Certificates: (609) 882-2000 x6173 or www.njsp.org

Boat Safety Course: (800) 336-2628

Boat Licenses: (888) 486-3339 toll-free in NJ or (609) 292-6500
Cost: Four-year photo license, $24. ($18 if added as an endorsement

to a driver license.)
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