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Introduction
Driving a motorized bicycle, or MOPED, can be fun. 
However, it's also a privilege, not a right. In New Jersey, MOPED drivers 

are required by law to abide by the same traffic rules as motor vehicle    
drivers - as well as a few special traffic regulations.

Enjoy your MOPED. But drive carefully . . . for your safety and that 
of others.

James Weinstein, Commissioner
New Jersey Department of Transportation

C. Richard Kamin, Director
Motor Vehicle Services
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The NJ MOPED license plate is always mounted on the rear of the vehicle.
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Define a MOPED
In New Jersey, a motorized bicycle, or MOPED, is defined by law as a 

pedal bicycle with a helper motor that has a maximum piston displacement 
of less than 50 cubic centimeters, or no more than 1.5 brake horsepower, 
and is capable of a maximum speed of no more than 25 miles per hour on 
a flat surface. Motorized tricycles are not legal in New Jersey and cannot be 
operated on public roadways.

In this manual, the terms motorized bicycle and MOPED will be used 
interchangeably.

MOPEDs aren't bicycles
Although they resemble bicycles, MOPEDs are heavier and handle 

differently. They usually require 
longer braking distances to stop, 
don't turn as quickly and are 
harder to pedal than bicycles.

MOPEDs aren't 
motorcycles, either

MOPEDs are lighter and have 
less power than even the smallest 
motorcycles. They also lack 
certain standard equipment 
found on motorcycles, such as 
turn signals, two rearview 
mirrors, and so on. However, 
some MOPED manufacturers now 
offer electric turn signals and 
two-speed transmissions as 
optional equipment. Motorcycles 
are subject to annual vehicle 
inspection; MOPEDs are not.

AFFIX CORRECTION STICKER

Q. 15 Passenger or Less
R. Bus Mechanic Without Passenger
S. No School Age Passengers

ENDORSEMENTS
F. Moped
H. Hazardous Material
M. Motorcycle
N. Tank
P. Passenger Vehicle
T. Double/Triple Trailer

RESTRICTIONS
1. Corrective Lenses
2. Prosthetic Device
3. Mechanical Device
4. Hearing Impaired
5. Attached Restrictions
L. Excludes Vehicles with Air Brakes
M. Excludes Class A Passenger Vehicles
N. Excludes Class A & B Passenger Vehicles
O. Valid in Tow Trucks Only
P. Non CDL Passenger Only

Upon my death I am willing
to donate the following:

EYES HEART ANY ORGAN
LIVER KIDNEY NONE
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To be able to drive a MOPED, you must be:
• At least 15 years old with a valid MOPED, motorcycle, or basic driver 

license.
If you need a MOPED driver license, purchase an examination permit 

at any motor vehicle agency for $5. The permit is valid for 45 days. You 
will have to show acceptable proof of age and identity, and evidence that 
your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law. Although 
your birth certificate (original or certified copy) is preferred proof, other 
documents may be used. Please refer to the list in the NJ Driver Manual. You 
must also provide your Social Security number (or an exemption) before the 
permit is issued. Note: You cannot receive or apply for a MOPED license if 
your driving privileges are revoked.

To obtain a MOPED license, you must:
• Study this manual and the NJ Driver Manual.
• Take the eyesight and written tests at a driver testing center, or at  

certain agencies. (Refer to the MVS facilities listing at the back of  
this book.) If you can't read English, and can't complete the written 
test, you can take an oral test with 20 questions and a maximum of 
30 color slides, transparencies or other facsimiles that show images 
of traffic control devices. You'll be required to answer the questions 
and explain the slides to the examiner. The passing score is 80% on 
each part. In addition, you must be physically competent to drive a 
MOPED.

Get your MOPED license
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• Pass these tests and MVS will validate your examination permit. This  
allows you to practice drive during daylight hours without supervision 
for a period not to exceed 45 days from the date the permit was 
purchased.

• Schedule a driving test. See the inside back cover for a list of driving 
test sites. If you fail the road test, you'll have to wait two weeks for a 
retest. If you do not pass the driving test within the 45 days, you must 
apply for a new permit. (Since MOPEDs are not permitted on certain 
roads, it may be necessary to transport your MOPED to the test area 
on a trailer or car rack.)

• Take the road test. Note that your MOPED must be registered and 
insured. Also, carry the examination permit with you whenever you 
drive the MOPED.

• Pass the road test. Take your permit to a motor vehicle agency to 
obtain your MOPED photo license required for first time drivers and 
those under 21 for $2. If you fail, you can retake the road test in 
two weeks.

If you're issued a basic or motorcycle license when you reach age 17, 
you must turn in your MOPED license. Or, after four years, renew your photo 
MOPED license for $2 if you do not obtain another license.

(Refer to the sections titled Sample test questions (for questions that can help you 
prepare for your written examination) and Driving test runs in the back of this 
publication.)  
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Know other requirements
MOPED drivers must:
• Obtain a helmet. Safety helmets must meet the specifications 

established by the U.S. Department of Transportation. When buying 
a helmet, look for the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) 
or Snell Memorial Foundation labels. Also, choose a helmet that fits 
snugly, has a chinstrap, and has at least four square inches of red, 
amber or white reflectorized tape on each side that's affixed in a 
permanent weather-proof manner. The helmet should not have any 
defects, such as cracks, loose padding, or frayed straps. 

• Wear a helmet, as required by law. The single most important thing 
you can do to improve your chances of surviving an accident is 
to wear a securely fastened, approved helmet. A full-face helmet is 
recommended. It's the same as worn by motorcyclists, but without the 
face shield or goggle requirement. Failure to wear a helmet can result in 
serious injury and/or a fine of up to $100.

• Carry a valid driver license, registration certificate and insurance 
identification card while driving a MOPED. Failure to do so can result 
in a fine of up to $50.

MOPED owners must:
• Title and register their vehicles before they can be driven on public 

roadways. Only MOPEDs approved by Motor Vehicle Services can be titled 
and registered. The titling fee is $20. The registration fee is $8 a year. 
MOPEDs must have a special MOPED license plate displayed on the rear 
of the vehicle. You can title and register the MOPED at any motor 
vehicle agency.

• Obtain liability insurance covering 1) bodily injury (up to $15,000), 2) 
death (up to $30,000), and 3) property damage (up to $5,000).

Note: Fees in this manual are subject to change. To confirm fees, 
please call 1-888-486-3339 toll free in New Jersey or 1-609-292-6500 
from out of state.
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Follow MOPED laws
You must obey all the New Jersey motor vehicle laws and regulations 

for bicyclists and motor vehicle drivers. (Refer to the NJ Driver Manual.) 
Learn these laws and regulations, as well as MOPED laws, because the written 
examination will include questions from both manuals.

New Jersey law requires MOPED drivers to:
• Know the meaning of all traffic signs and signals (see the NJ Driver 

Manual).
• Drive on the right side of the road. Driving your MOPED toward 

traffic is illegal and unsafe. Motorists aren't accustomed to vehicles         
approaching on the wrong side of the road. At intersections, motorists 
should first look left, then right, before pulling out. Wrong-way 
drivers may be hit before 
they are seen. Driving on 
the left also exposes you 
to head-on collisions. The 
force is many times greater 
than being hit from the 
rear. You also may have 
a hard time reading road 
signs when driving the 
wrong way.

• Drive no more than two 
abreast when traffic is not 
impeded; otherwise, you 
must drive single file and 
stay well behind one 
another. Use hand and 
voice signals to tell other 
MOPED drivers when you 
plan to stop or turn.

• Do not carry a passenger. 
Unlike a motorcycle, a 
MOPED does not have the 

Because of the relatively low speeds attained by 
MOPEDs, unless turning left drivers should ride 
as far to the right of the traffic lane as possible.
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power, strength or handling ability to safely carry a passenger in 
addition to the driver.

• Do not hitch a ride by attaching the MOPED to another vehicle, or by 
holding onto another vehicle.

• Do not drive MOPEDs on:
  1. Interstate highways, the Garden State Parkway, the New Jersey  

           Turnpike or the Atlantic City Expressway;
  2. Four-lane highways divided by a grass or concrete median;
  3. Highways with a speed limit over 50 miles per hour (The Director of  

           Motor Vehicle Services is authorized to prohibit MOPED use on  
           roadways with a speed limit of over 40 miles per hour when such  
           roadways are considered unsafe for MOPED operation.);

  4. Railroads or rights-of-way of operating railroads; 
  5. Any public lands prohibited by a governing body; and
  6. Sidewalks.
State law also requires your MOPED to have:
• A white front headlamp and red rear taillight capable of being seen under 

normal conditions from at least 500 feet. These lights must be used between 
sunset and sunrise, or anytime bad weather makes it hard to see up to 
500 feet. (However, it is recommended that you drive with your lights 
on at all times. You may 
think you're visible, but it 
is best to give motorists 
every chance to see you. 
Turn on your lights - day 
and night.)

• A bell or horn (but not a 
siren or whistle) that can 
be heard 100 feet away.

• Enough braking power to 
make the wheels skid on 
dry, clean, level pavement.

The headlight must be on during time of 
operation without exception.
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Avoid points and penalties
MOPED drivers who commit traffic violations earn points in addition to 

court penalties. It's also against the law to operate a motorized bicycle while 
under the influence (DUI) of liquor, narcotics or drugs. Juveniles under the 
age of 17 are now treated as adults with hearings in Municipal Courts and 
are subject to the same fines and penalties as adults. Convictions are then 
reported to Motor Vehicle Services by the courts. 

Points charged against your MOPED license are added to your New 
Jersey driver license point total if you obtain a valid basic driver license or 
motorcycle license. This also applies to MOPED drivers under 17 when they 
obtain a basic New Jersey driver license. If you accumulate too many points, 
MVS may suspend your driving privileges. If you receive points for traffic 
violations out-of-state, MVS will add them to your record.  You may lose 
your driving privilege for traffic violations, DUI, or if the Director of Motor 
Vehicles considers you a problem driver. If your privilege is suspended, you 
cannot drive. 

Refer to the NJ Driver Manual for an explanation of violations, DUI, 
the point system, fines, and suspension and restoration of your driving 
privileges. 

Driver Reexams may be necessary
For public safety and the MOPED driver's safety, Motor Vehicle Services 

may require that a MOPED license applicant, a current MOPED driver or a 
suspended MOPED driver retake the MOPED written and driving tests.
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Control your MOPED
When turning your MOPED, you keep from 

falling by leaning in the direction of the turn. 
If you only turn the handlebar, you will be 
pulled the other way.

Judging how much physical force you 
need to overcome this pulling sensation takes 
practice. It also involves knowing what speed 
is safe for each turn.

Stopping distances vary
There is no simple way to explain exactly 

how long it will take to stop at certain speeds. 
Stopping distance depends on:

• Miles per hour (traveling speed);
• Your reaction time;
• Weather and road conditions;
• The MOPED's condition: brakes and tires 

(and the type used);
• The total vehicle weight, driver and 

packages.
One point is sure - the faster you go, the 

longer it will take to stop. At higher speeds, 
or going down a hill, it is very difficult to stop 
a MOPED in an emergency.

Keep a safe distance when 
following another vehicle

Tailgating (driving too close to the vehicle in front) is a common cause 
of accidents. If a car ahead stops suddenly, you should have enough space to 

STOP

YIELD

DO  NOT

E N T E R

WRONG
WAY
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stop in time. Tailgating can cause a series of rear-end collisions when many 
vehicles are too close together.

Use the two-second rule
Since most drivers have trouble judging distances, the two-second rule 

can be used. Here's how it works:
1. Select a fixed object ahead of the vehicle in front of you. The object 

may be a sign or a tree. Make sure the object does not distract your attention 
from driving.

2. As the vehicle in front passes the object, begin counting two seconds          
(one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two).

3. If it takes at least two seconds before you pass the object, you should 
have enough distance for a sudden stop.

The two-second rule takes into account your speed and the speed of the 
vehicle in front. Try the rule while driving; it can help you develop good 
judgment for proper following distances.

Note: During bad weather, the two-second count should be increased 
to three or four seconds.

   Start to count as the             You should be able to                 Choose an
   car ahead passes                   count 1,001 ... 1,002                 easily visible
   the fixed point                    before you pass the                   fixed point
                                               fixed point                                (such as a sign)
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Avoid MOPED accidents
In 1995, there were 227 MOPED accidents in New Jersey. Forty-three  

percent or 98 persons were injured. No fatalities were reported. 
Probable causes of those accidents include driver inattention, such as 

crossing an intersection on a yellow light. Other crashes were caused by the 
inability of the MOPED to move fast enough to avoid traffic. Another cause 
is a loss of balance or control. New drivers often don't have the experience  
to safely control the MOPED.

Fifty-six percent of the 227 MOPED crashes involved property damage. 
This means that 127 MOPED drivers hit inanimate objects such as car doors, 
poles, curbs, potholes, storm drains and sewer covers. These drivers also hit 
pedestrians, bicyclists and animals.

Red Light - Stop before the intersection 
or crosswalk and remain standing until 
green is shown alone.
Yellow Light - When shown alone, 
traffic should stop before entering the 
intersection or crosswalk, unless the 
vehicle is so close to intersection that it 
cannot be stopped safely.
Yellow Arrow - Gives the driver a 
chance to stop safely before the green 
signal changes to red.
Green Light - Go if the intersection is 
clear. Yield to pedestrians and vehicles 
still in the intersection. Before you 
make a left turn, yield to vehicles going 
straight.
Green Arrow - When shown alone or 
in combination with the red signal,           
proceed only as shown by the arrow. Be 
cautious and yield to people on foot.
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Other causes of MOPED accidents are careless driving, failure to stop at 
traffic lights and stop signs, driving the wrong way and driving under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs.

By 1997 the vehicle fatality rate of the nation reached an historic low 
of 1.7 per hundred million vehicle miles traveled. In New Jersey that same 
year there were 699 fatal accidents with 774 people killed. There were no 
MOPED fatalities that year.

Between 1988 and 1997 there were 7,622 fatal accidents in New 
Jersey. Five fatalities were MOPED drivers. MOPEDs are prohibited on divided 
highways, interstates and toll roads. However, state, municipal and county 
roads and highways with speed limits under 50 miles per hour are available 
for MOPED use. Exceptions to the general laws are in the relevant regulations: 
N.J.A.C. 13:25-8.1-13:25-8.6. 
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Check the MOPED 
Before driving your MOPED, you must give it a quick predrive safety 

check that should include:
• Tires                                                                                                  

Are they inflated properly according to the tire design?          
Are the tires seated properly on the rims?                                            
Are the tires wearing evenly?                                                                
Are there any signs of cuts or sidewall cracks?

• Wheels                                                                                                                  
Are the spokes tight?

  Are the wheels adjusted properly?
• Brake levers                                                                                                             

Are the cables connected and adjusted to the proper tightness?                                                                                                  
Are the levers operating properly?

• Fuel tank                                                                                                                             
Do you have enough fuel?

• Lights                                                                                                                     
  Can you turn them on and off?      

Did you check your brake lights, also?
• Pedals                                                                                                        

Do they turn freely?                                                                           
Do you check their condition now and then, and keep their 
reflectorized panels clean of dirt?

• Drive chain                                                                                                                                           
Is it tight, oiled and free of mud and dirt?

• Nuts and bolts                                                                                                                  
Did you visually check all major nuts and bolts?

• Switches                                                                                                            
Are they all working?                                                                                
Did you check lights and horn?       
Did you check and adjust the mirrors, if so equipped?

Each time you prepare to drive, go through this list. Knowing that your 
MOPED is ready and safe will make you a safer MOPED driver.
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Choose proper clothing
Wear bright clothing so that you'll stand out and other motorists will 

see you clearly. If possible, use reflective material. Reflectivity is the result 
of light reflected back to its source on paths that are parallel to those 
striking the reflector. This quality is essential for visibility during cloudy 
or foggy weather conditions or at dusk or night. It uses the light intensity 
from vehicle headlights and other light sources that provide visibility without 
electricity or batteries.

Wear an approved motorcycle helmet. MOPED drivers are required by 
law to wear a helmet, it is your only protection from serious head injury. 
(See page 4 for more helmet information.) A helmet also protects the driver 
from wind and cold.

Wear goggles, face shields and glasses that are scratch-free, shatter-
resistant and ventilated to prevent fog build-up or misting while driving. 
If you wear glasses, be sure they're safety glasses or have plastic lenses that 
won't shatter on impact. Eye protection is recommended even if your MOPED 
has a windscreen. Be sure eye 
protection is of an approved type - 
the same as for motorcyclists.

Wear pants made of heavy 
material to protect legs from 
exhaust pipe heat or bruises 
and scrapes if you fall or hit 
something. Avoid baggy or flared 
pants that could become tangled 
in the chain or spokes. Dresses, 
skirts or shorts offer no 
protection if you fall.

All motorized bicycle riders must 
wear a helmet. It is recommended 

that MOPED drivers observe the same 
rules of safety and wear the same 

protective equipment suggested for 
motorcycle riders, including eye 

goggles or a full-face helmet.
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Wear a heavy jacket even in warm weather. As with long pants, a jacket 
will protect your skin if you fall or scrape yourself. A long-sleeved shirt is 
suitable if you don't want to wear a jacket. A bright red or orange vest is 
more visible.

Wear leather gloves or heavy fabric gloves with leather palms to improve 
your grip on the handlebar and controls. Gloves should be worn when it's 
raining, when your hands are hot and perspiring or when it's very cold.

Wear several layers of clothing that are better than one heavy garment 
in cold weather. Insulated gloves, woolen scarf and socks, a tightfitting 
overcoat and a cap under your helmet will keep body heat in during winter 
driving. This is important because the air temperature around your body 
goes down as your speed increases. Remember, too, that cold air slows your 
reflexes. Allow more time when stopping and turning.

Light, bright clothing on you and vehicle reflectors on your MOPED 
will always make you and the vehicle more visible. To be even more 
visible, you should put reflectorized tape on the front, back and sides 
of your clothing, helmet and MOPED; and install wraparound reflectors 

on the spokes. Reflectors should 
be mounted opposite the tire 
valve stems for better wheel 
balance. Be sure to keep dirt 
off the reflectorized panels on 
your pedals, and never wear dark 
glasses or tinted face shields at 
night.

Wear shoes with laces that won't 
slip off while driving, or boots that 
provide protection against foot and 
ankle injuries. Don't wear sandals or 
slip-on shoes; they could fall off and 
leave your feet unprotected.
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Start your MOPED
As you take the driver's position on the MOPED, be sure you can put both 

feet on the ground while seated. You also should be able to nearly straighten 
each leg when pushing the pedals into the down, or six o'clock, position.

Now get the feel of your MOPED. Place your hands on the handgrips to 
make sure that you have easy access to the brake levers. Then:

• Release the kickstand.
• Push the MOPED forward and begin pedaling. It will be more difficult 

than pedaling a bicycle. Pedal only with the balls of your feet; you 
will not tire as easily and your legs can put more power into the 
pedaling movement.

• Start your motor by following the instructions in the MOPED 
owners manual. As the 

motor starts, pedaling will 
be more difficult for a 
moment.

• Brace yourself for the pull 
of the motor - it may move 
you backward on the seat. 
As you adjust to the pulling 
sensation, keep your body 
erect and watch the road 
ahead. Now you are ready 
to drive your MOPED. Know your MOPED before you drive.

Pedal your MOPED before you start the 
motor.
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Drive your MOPED
Here are important things to remember as you drive your MOPED:
• Keep your feet on the 

pedals and turn the 
throttle slowly to   
accelerate. Put the pedals 
in the three and nine 
o'clock positions to keep 
them clear of the road, and 
don't take your feet off 
the pedals except when 
coming to a stop. Do not 
twist the throttle too 
quickly in panic or grip the 
handgrip tightly at the first 
feeling of forward motion. 
Too tight a grip opens 
the throttle even more 
rapidly, increasing speed.

• Relax your forearms and 
hold the grips firmly with 
your fingers. When you 
have the feel of the 
powered forward 
movement, release the 
throttle and slowly apply the brake by squeezing the brake lever (back 
wheel first and front wheel quickly after).

• Come to a smooth, controlled stop. Be as careful in applying your  
brakes as you are in using the throttle. Never apply the front brake 
by itself. The best way to learn the feel of braking is to practice using 
both brakes. 

• Keep your knees tucked in as close to the MOPED's center as possible. 
This gives you better balance, more control and protects your knees in 
an emergency slide or fall.

Apply the MOPED's brakes by slowly squeezing 
the lever.

Keep your right wrist in a downward position 
when you start the MOPED.
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• Slow down and remain seated to improve balance when driving over 
gravel, sand, water, bumps and railroad tracks. By remaining seated, 
you will be in a better position to put your foot down in a hurry if 
needed.

• Always cross railroad tracks as close to a right angle as possible so 
your front wheel will not catch in the groove next to the tracks and 
cause a fall. In some cases, it may be best to get off and walk your 
MOPED across the tracks.

• Place packages and shoulderbags evenly in baskets or saddlebags 
mounted on both sides of the rear wheel, or in a frame-mounted 
carrier over the rear wheel. Carrying objects over the front wheel makes 
steering hard and dangerous. Never try to carry packages in your hands, 
since both hands are needed to drive your MOPED safely.

• Driving on the shoulders of the road can be risky because they usually 
are narrow and you may be forced to merge with traffic that is going 
faster than you are. Also, shoulders are used by disabled vehicles 
and may be littered with 
glass, metal, gravel and 
other debris. Do not pass 
on the shoulder of the road 
under any circumstance.

• Never drive your MOPED 
when you are too tired 
to drive safely or when 
you have been drinking 
or using prescription drugs. 
Combine any of these with 
anger or other emotional 
problems and reckless  
driving will result.

• Limit your speed to 25 
miles per hour or less on 
a level surface according to 
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New Jersey law. Some MOPEDs may go faster than 25 miles per hour, 
especially when going down a hill. This is important to remember 
because you could receive a speeding ticket for driving your MOPED 
faster than 25 miles per hour.

• Reduce your speed on narrow or winding roads and when approaching: 
1) an intersection or railroad crossing; 2) the top of a hill; 3) a 
dangerous or blind curve; and 4) pedestrians and other road hazards. 

• Pay attention to road surface conditions - rough pavement, sand, gravel 
and debris. And, slow down when conditions are poor to prevent skids 
or slides.

• Be very cautious when crossing intersections because your MOPED is 
small and hard to see, and it may not be fast enough to avoid other 
vehicles.

Position is important
MOPED drivers are entitled to use a full lane. However, you should stay 

in the right-third of the lane because the MOPED is a slower vehicle. Use 
the left-third of the lane when you know you can keep up with traffic. The 
advantage is that you're more visible to drivers in front of and behind you. 

It also gives you a better view of 
the road ahead. The right-third 
keeps you farther away from the 
dangers of faster-moving traffic, 
but it makes you harder to see. 
Never drive in the exact center 
of a lane. Oil and grime build 
up there, causing slippery road 
conditions.

When turning right at an 
intersection, keep as close to the 
right side of the road as possible. 
However, be careful not to allow 
your wheels to strike the curb or 
go off the road.

MOPEDs must be visible to other vehicles on the 
road.
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When turning left, approach the intersection near the center line of the 
road. Left turns from one-way streets should be made as close to the left 
side as possible. 

U-turns are prohibited on curves, near the crest (top) of a hill, or where 
a NO U-TURN sign is posted.

Use hand signals
Signal with your left hand at least 100 feet before stopping or turning. 

This is important because you cannot stop the MOPED safely with just your 
right handbrake. Just before turning, return both hands to the handlebar as 
both hands are needed to help balance and control the MOPED. 

Timing is critical
Positioning for turns takes careful timing. For instance, when making a 

left turn you should allow plenty of time to move toward the center line 
of the road. Don't try to out-maneuver motor vehicle traffic behind or to 
the side of you by swerving suddenly to the left. Instead, turn your head 
to check traffic behind or to your side, give the proper hand signal and 
move into position.

• If you want to turn left at an intersection and a truck or bus coming 
toward you decides to turn left and blocks your view of oncoming 
motor vehicles, wait and let the truck or bus complete its turn rather 

Stop or slow Left turnRight turn
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Keep a space cushion between you and everything else on or near the roadway.

than turn left in front of it. You may be hit by motor vehicles you 
couldn't see.

• If you want to turn left in a busy intersection, but motor vehicles on 
your left side block you from moving into the proper lane position in 
advance, the best thing to do is to drive to the right side of the road 
(after signaling properly), stop, dismount, then walk across the road at 
the intersection when the traffic light changes to green.

• If driving on the curb side, you may be forced off the road by vehicles 
turning right that do not signal. Therefore, stay far enough behind a 
vehicle's right rear fender to see if the front wheels or turn signals show 
that the driver is planning to turn. Start right turns where the curb 
begins to turn, and stay in the same lane.

Keep a space cushion
To avoid a collision, you need as much time as possible to react. Try to 

keep plenty of space between your MOPED and other vehicles on all sides. 
Stay in the right-third of your lane. Make sure there is enough room ahead 
to stop or pass safely. The space between you and other vehicles gives you 
time to react in emergencies.



New Jersey
moped manual

21

Take bike routes
Bikeways are marked with the 

standard green and white bike 
route symbol signs. There are 
three kinds of bikeways:

Bike Paths. A trail off the 
roadway surface completely 
separated from vehicular traffic.

Bike Lanes. Street, roadway 
or shoulder treatment for 
separate auto and bicycle travel 
lanes designated by pavement 
markings, signs or barriers.

Bike Routes. Roads with bike 
route signs only. There is no 
other provision for segregation of 
traffic.

MOPEDs are permitted on 
bike lanes and bike routes, with 
or without the motor engaged. 

Check local ordinances and 
appropriate signs.

Since bikeways are used by 
slow-moving bicycles and often 
by pedestrians, MOPED operators 
should take a protective and 
cautious approach to these users.

Observe the sign for new bike paths.

Observe the standard yellow or yellow-green 
bike crossing sign.

2
more miles
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Drive at night
Motorists will find it hard to see you, so try to avoid driving your MOPED 

at night. If you must drive at night:
• Stay on well-lighted roadways.
• Wear light-colored clothing with reflectorized materials. 
• Make sure the lights are on.
• Shift your eyes down to the lower right side of your traffic lane to  

keep oncoming lights from hitting your eyes directly.
• Be alert for pedestrians.
• Drive on roads you know so you will be aware of hazards hidden by 

the dark.
• Watch for motor vehicles that may pull out of driveways without their 

lights on.
• Keep several car lengths behind the vehicle in front of you.
• Remember that when stopped, the motor runs slowly and your lights 

will be very dim,  if you must stop on a shoulder at night. 
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Watch the weather 
Avoid driving your MOPED during the first 15 minutes of a rainfall. The 

road is more slippery because rain and oil form a film that prevents tires 
from gripping the road. The film usually washes away after 15 minutes of 
hard rain.

MOPEDs have narrow tires that slide easily on wet or icy roads — especially 
when braking. If your MOPED slides, maintain your balance, direction and 
speed. Do not apply the brakes or you will slide even more. 

Allow more time to stop on wet roads. Brake and turn slowly when 
cornering to avoid sliding.

If possible, steer away from manhole covers and painted road lines — 
they are more slippery than the road surface.

Do not drive in the center of your lane. This area of the roadway is always 
more slippery than the right side 
of your lane.

Water in your eyes may 
keep you from seeing properly. 
Wearing a helmet with face 
shield, or goggles, will help.

Use care on windy days 
because your body and certain 
items of clothing act like sails. 
When hit by strong gusts of 
wind, you could be forced into 
traffic or off the road. When 
large vehicles pass you, a vacuum 
could pull you toward the 
vehicle. Then, after the vehicle 
passes, the wind may push you 
off the road. When wind hits, 
grip the handlebar firmly, release 
the throttle, crouch slightly and 
don't panic.

Turn the MOPED away from puddles. Drive 
straight in a clear area. 
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Know additional hazards
There are many hazards to look out for when driving your MOPED, such as:
You, the driver. It's fun to drive your MOPED, but one mistake could 

result in an accident that could cause injury or death. Maintain a positive 
attitude and drive only when you are alert and physically fit. This will help 
you avoid accidents and get more enjoyment out of driving.

Motorists may force you off the road or cause you to stop suddenly. 
Although you have the same right to the road as motorists, don't dispute the 
right of way. Remember, the MOPED is small and motorists may not see you. 
Also, sometimes motorists have difficulty judging a MOPED's speed.

Car doors opening may hit you or force you into traffic. Search and 
scan ahead for parking or parked cars. Look for people in cars, front wheels 
turning toward the street, and taillights. If you see a car door opening, or a 
vehicle leaving the curb, don't swerve suddenly to the left. Instead, slow 
down and signal with your hand that you are stopping. If it is safe to pass, 
look behind to be sure other vehicles aren't passing you, then signal a left 
turn with your hand, blow your horn and move to the left-third of your lane 

Slow down before passing a parked car, give a stop/slow signal and keep the 
wheel straight.
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(if it is clear). Allow space between the MOPED and the parked vehicle just in 
case you are not seen or heard.

Animals, particularly dogs, may attack you or run into the MOPED. Slow 
down and don't swerve into traffic if a dog runs at you from the side of the 
road. Move away slowly. Don't kick at the animal or you may be bitten. If you 
must get off, use the MOPED as a barrier between you and the animal.

People have the right of way 
at crosswalks and intersections. 
Watch for pedestrians who walk 
out from between parked cars 
and for blind persons. The law 
says you must stop for a blind 
person using a white or metallic 
colored walking cane, or with a 
trained guide dog.

Insects may fly into your 
face and cause you to lose 
control. Avoid rubbing a sting 
while driving. Try to stop at the 
curb, instead. Wear a face shield 
to keep insects away from your 
eyes and mouth. 

Mechanical problems such 
as engine breakdown or broken 
spokes may cause you to lose 
control. Keep your MOPED in 
top condition. If a mechanical 
problem forces you to push the MOPED, walk on the shoulder or sidewalk and 
keep the MOPED on your left, or traffic side.

Bridges are unique problems for MOPED drivers. Before crossing a bridge, 
determine the type of road surface. The road surface of most bridges freezes 
before the regular roadway. Some bridges have unusual road surfaces, such as 

Be ready to stop or yield when you see a blind or 
disabled person crossing an intersection. 
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steel grating or concrete slabs joined by expander joints that may bruise or 
jolt your tires. (If this happens, rise off the seat and maintain your balance; 
then pull over to the sidewalk or shoulder and inspect the tire and wheel for 
damage.) Often, bridges are narrower than the regular roadway. You may be 
forced in fast-moving traffic. Older bridges may have cement surfaces with 
built-up patches that developed into large bumps. You may encounter strong 
winds on bridges that cross large bodies of water or land.

Bridges that cross the 
Delaware River into 
Pennsylvania, or that cross from 
New Jersey into New York, 
usually prohibit MOPEDs and 
bicycles. However, you may be 
permitted to walk your MOPED 
across. Before crossing, look for a 
sign or notice explaining bridge 
regulations or check with local 
authorities.

Blind spots are areas on 
either side of a vehicle's rear fenders. Because they are difficult for the driver 
to see, blind spots are no place for MOPEDs to be. Avoid driving next to the 
right rear fender of passing vehicles. The driver may not see you and turn 
right suddenly or crowd you off the road. If you have to pass a vehicle, warn 
the driver that you are in a blind spot by blowing the horn. You should 
always keep your lights on to increase your chances of being seen.

MOPEDs also have blind spots. Sometimes you cannot see a vehicle 
passing on the left in the rearview mirror. Therefore, turn your head often to 

Obey the posted regulations on bridges.
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Turn wheel slightly to the right to go around 
litter.

check for passing vehicles, and be sure to look back quickly before passing 
or changing lanes.

Litter thrown on the 
highway or shoulder by 
thoughtless motorists or 
pedestrians - paper, bottles, cans, 
food, clothing - may force you 
to swerve or skid. Avoid swerving 
into traffic. It's better to run 
over litter (except very large 
objects) and possibly have a flat 
tire than to swerve and be hit. 
Some motorists flick cigarettes 
and ashes out of windows. Avoid 
eye burns by wearing a face 
shield or goggles.

Blowouts affect your 
steering. You will have to react 
quickly to keep your balance. If 
you have a rear tire blowout, the 
MOPED may slide from side to 
side. Hold the handgrips firmly, 
keep the front wheel in line with 
the rear wheel and maintain a straight course. Close the throttle and 
coast (do not apply the brakes). After slowing down, you should pull 
over to the side and stop. For a front tire blowout, you should hold the 
handgrips tightly, maintain a straight course and shift your weight as 
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far back as possible. This takes 
weight off the front wheel, helps 
keep the MOPED stable, and may 
prevent you from falling forward. 
Blowouts on curves or turns are 
the most dangerous.

Stuck throttle problems 
require using the cutoff switch 
to turn off the engine. After 
you have stopped, check the 
throttle cable carefully to locate 
the problem. Don't drive again 
until it has been repaired.

Slides and falls usually occur 
because the MOPED driver is 
going too fast while turning. If 
you find yourself turning too 
quickly, put your foot down on 
the same side you are turning 
to prevent going down. If you 
know you are going to run into 
another vehicle, a wall or tree, 
lay the MOPED on its side, lift your leg from under the MOPED and slide with 
the MOPED. You'll prevent your leg from being trapped. Let the tires hit the 
object. Apply the rear brake only and turn the front wheel in the direction 
of the slide to bring the back wheel around. Protect your head by lifting it 
as high as possible. If you can't steer to the side of the road or jump off the 
MOPED, then use this technique.

Accidents
Follow the same regulations and procedures as other motor vehicle drivers 

to render aid and report accidents.

(Refer to the NJ Driver Manual for these procedures.)

The top photo shows a flat tire; the bottom photo 
an inflated tire.
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Answer sample test questions
The following questions can help you prepare for your written            

examination (circle correct letter):

  1. New Jersey law limits MOPEDs to speeds of:
     a. 15 mph or less.
     b. 25 mph or less.
     c. 30 mph or less.
     d. 10 mph or less.

  2. You should never drive your MOPED in the exact center of your 
           lane because:

     a. It is harder for other vehicles to see you.
     b. It does not give you a good view of the road ahead.
     c. It places you too close to faster moving traffic.
     d. A build-up of oil and grime causes the road to be slippery.

  3. When MOPED drivers must cross railroad tracks or dangerous     
           intersections, it may be best to:

     a. Increase the MOPED's speed and cross quickly.
     b. Drive extra slow to be sure you are seen.
     c. Keep in the center of your lane.
     d. Get off the MOPED and walk it across.

  4. What must a motorized bicycle driver do at an intersection 
           controlled by a flashing red traffic signal?

     a. Stop only if a hazard is present.
     b. Stop at all times.
     c. Slow down.
     d. Proceed with caution.
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(1-b, 2-d, 3-d, 4-b, 5-b, 6-a, 7-a, 8-c)

  5. When driving a MOPED, you must always carry your driver  
           license and:

    a. Proof of ownership.
     b. Insurance identification card and registration certificate.
     c. Birth certificate.
     d. Proof of inspection.

  6. When driving a motorized bicycle over loose gravel or sand, you  
           should:

     a. Slow down and remain seated.
     b. Increase speed quickly.
     c. Apply front brake only.
     d. Apply rear brake only.

  7. A MOPED must be registered:
     a. Before it is driven on the road.
     b. Within 15 days of purchase.
     c. Within 30 days of purchase.
     d. Within 45 days of purchase.

  8. Approved helmets must be worn:
     a. By the passenger.
     b. When driving at night.
     c. At all times while driving.
     d. Only by those under 17 years of age.

Answers:
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Practice driving test runs
Here are some specific test runs and scoring data:
1.Turning/stopping. Tests your ability to control the MOPED while  

        turning and performing a precise stop. You will be evaluated on your 
        ability to stay within the path of the turn without putting your foot 
        down and stop safely in the painted stop box with the front tire of the 
        MOPED.

2.Cone weave/U-turn. Tests your ability to control the MOPED at low  
        speed while weaving through cones and making a U-turn in a   
        designated area. You will be evaluated on your ability to stay   
        within the path of travel without touching lines or cones and   
        without putting your foot down. Cones are twelve feet apart with a  
        two-foot offset.

Stop with front tire in box

Sharp left turn
Start

Over 500cc

Right U-turn

500cc and under

Start
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  3. Braking. Tests your ability to brake quickly and safely. You will be  
           evaluated on stopping distance in relation to speed or travel.

  
  4. Obstacle turn. Tests your ability to turn the MOPED quickly to avoid  

        an obstacle. You will be evaluated on your ability to stay within  
           the path of travel and turn quickly without touching a boundary  
           line.

When you pass the driving test, take your permit, ride slip, scoresheet 
and permit validation to any motor vehicle agency. You will receive a 
permanent photo license.

Begin braking
Start

Obstacle turn
Start

New Jersey



Locate MVS facilities
For MOPED written and/or vision tests                                
(MVS agencies unless otherwise noted)
Bakers Basin          East Brunswick       Matawan               So. Plainfield
Bridgeton              Eatontown RSC       Newark                 Springfield
Burlington            Edison                   Newton                 Toms River 
Camden                 Elizabeth               No. Bergen            Trenton RSC
Cardiff                   Flemington AR       Oakland                Vineland  
Cherry Hill             Freehold DTC         Rahway DTC          Washington
Deptford RSC          Jersey City DTC      Rio Grande           Wayne RSC
Dover AR              Lodi                      Salem                   Wayne-Rte 46 
                            
For MOPED driving tests
Bakers Basin          Lodi                     Rahway                Wayne-Rte 46
Cherry Hill            Mays Landing IS     Randolph IS          
Eatontown RSC       Miller Air Park       Salem IS                
                                                                                     
For routine motor vehicle titling, registrations and licensing (agencies)
Bakers Basin          Englewood             Medford                Springfield
Bayonne                Flemington            Morristown            Toms River
Bridgeton              Freehold                Newark                 Vineland
Burlington             Haddon Heights     Newton                 Wallington
Camden                 Irvington              No. Bergen            Washington
Cardiff                   Jersey City            Oakland                Wayne-Rte 46
Cherry Hill             Lakewood              Rahway                 Williamstown
East Brunswick       Ledgewood            Rio Grande            Wyckoff
East Orange            Lodi                      Salem                   
Edison                   Manahawkin          Somerville             
Elizabeth               Matawan               So. Plainfield
                                                        
For routine MVS agency services, driver conferencing, and written      
and vision tests: Regional Service Centers (RSC)
Deptford                Eatontown             Trenton                Wayne-Rte 23

Legend: AR (armory), DTC (driver testing center), IS (inspection station)

New Jersey
moped manual



24-Hour Telephone Information
and Assistance

General Customer Information
1-888-486-3339

toll free in New Jersey

1-609-292-6500
out of state

For License Suspensions and Restorations 

1-609-292-7500

Customer service representatives
are available from

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday*

For information on the TDD communication system, look in the                 
blue pages of your telephone directory under Motor Vehicle Services.

*Detailed recorded information is available                                                                          
after those hours, seven days a week, including holidays.


