
 
 
 
 
New Jersey law* requires collection of surcharges from 
motorist whose driving records include certain motor vehicle 
offenses. These surcharges are in addition to any court-
imposed fines and penalties or any premiums that may be 
assessed by insurance companies. 
 

Who is responsible? 
 
You are responsible for paying your surcharges even if you 
move out of New Jersey. The surcharges apply regardless of 
your current license, registration and/or insurance status. No 
driver will be exempt from surcharge obligations based on 
violations received while in New Jersey with an out-of-state 
license. 
 
Do not ignore the notices. Having a driver license in another 
state does not mean that the surcharges don’t have to be 
paid. Even if you file for bankruptcy, you may still be 
responsible for your surcharges. 
 

When are they due? 
 
The due date for surcharge payments is printed on the bill 
that you receive. If you fail to pay the surcharges in full, or to 
begin an installment payment plan (IPP) by that date, your 
driving privilege will be indefinitely suspended. You will also 
be charged an additional $100 fee that must be paid before 
you can have your driving privilege restored. An unpaid 
surcharge will lead to a Notice of Proposed Judgment and a 
Certificate of Debt may be filed in the New Jersey Superior 
Court to collect the full balance plus the interest and 
collection costs. 
 
If you need to set up an installment payment plan (IPP) to 
pay your surcharges, please call (844) 424-6829 
 
If you are suspended for missing or late payments, your 
installment payment plan (IPP) will be automatically 
canceled. You will have to apply for a new installment 
payment plan (IPP). 
 
If you do not pay your surcharges, a judgment may be filed 
with the New Jersey Superior Court for non-payment of your 
debt. If a judgment occurs, additional fees for collection cost 
and interest is added to your principal. 
 
 
 
*(N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35) 

What violations are subject to 
surcharges? 
 
Alcohol and drug related offences 
 
These surcharges are billed each year for three years: 
 

• In-state operating under the influence of liquor or 
drugs (DUI) 

• Out-of-state DUI 
• Refusal to submit to chemical test 

 
The surcharge for operating under the influence or refusal, 
whether it occurs in New Jersey or another state, is $1,000 a 
year for three years for both a first and a second violation. 
 
A surcharge of $1,500 for three years is imposed for a third 
or subsequent violation that occurs within three years of the 
first violation. 
 
If you are convicted of both drunk driving and refusal 
resulting from the same arrest, you will only receive one 
surcharge. 
 

Point violations 
 
If you receive six or more points in a period of three years or 
less, you must pay a surcharge of $150 for the first six points 
and $25 for each additional point. 
 
Point reductions issued for one year of violation or 
suspension free driving, or for completion of a driver 
improvement class or defensive driving course, are not 
considered when reviewing the three year record for 
surcharge purposes. 
 

Other actions subject to 
surcharges** 
 
These surcharges are billed each year for three years: 
 

Unlicensed driver $100 a year 

No insurance - MOPED $100 a year 
Driving while suspended, 
court or MVC reported $250 a year 

No liability insurance on 
motor vehicle $250 a year 

 

How to pay your surcharges 
 
On the web 
 
Go to www.njsurcharge.com 
 
You may pay by: 

• MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check 
 
By telephone 
 
Call (844) 424-6829 (toll free) 
 
You may pay by: 

• MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check 
 
By mail 
 
You must do all of the following: 

• Send the bottom portion of your notice 
• Write your NJ driver license number on your check 

or money order 
• Mail to: 

NJ Surcharge Violation System 
P.O. Box 1502 
Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704 

 
You may pay by: 

• Check 
• Money order 
• Western Union 

Payments must be made payable to “NJ SVS” 
DO NOT MAIL CASH! 

 
In person 
 
You may only pay surcharges to restore your driving 
privilege at select MVC facilities. 
 
You may pay by: 

• MasterCard, VISA or American Express 
• Cash 
• Check 
• Money order 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

**Regulations at N.J.A.C. 13:19-13.1, et seq. 
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Installment Payment Plan (IPP) 
 
You are encouraged to make payment in full. If you are 
unable to do so, you may be eligible to initiate an installment 
payment plan (IPP). However, any judgments will remain 
outstanding until paid in full. To be enrolled in an installment 
payment plan (IPP), you must first remit the installment 
amount listed on the front of your billing notice by the due 
date. The remaining surcharge balance will be billed in 
monthly installments. 
 

Change of address 
 
Surcharge notices are mailed to the last address on record 
with the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). You must always 
maintain a current mailing address with the MVC. If you 
move, the law requires that you notify the MVC within seven 
days. Changing your address with the U.S. Postal Service 
does not change it with the MVC. You must contact the MVC 
directly. 
 
 On the web: www.njmvc.gov 
 By mail:        MVC Change of Address 
        Database Corrections Unit 
        P.O. Box 141 
        Trenton, NJ 08666-0141 
 
You are responsible for all surcharges assessed to you in 
New Jersey. All surcharges for New Jersey offenses are 
your responsibility even if you are not presently living in New 
Jersey. Please remember that you must always keep your 
address current with the MVC. 
 

Judgments 
 
To satisfy judgment debt all payments must be made in 
certified funds (U.S. Postal money order, attorney trust 
account check or certified bank check). All uncertified 
payments (personal check, credit card) will delay the filing of 
a Warrant of Satisfaction by two months. 
 

Dishonored checks 
 
For returned checks (insufficient funds), you will receive a 
notice about an indefinite suspension of your driving 
privileges including a notice for an additional penalty fee. 
That notice will have instructions about how to make further 
payments to avoid having your driving privileges suspended. 
 
 
 

Billing questions 
 
If you have any questions about your surcharges, please 
write to: 
 NJ Surcharge Violation Billing Office 
 P.O. Box 1502 
 Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704 
 
Please include a daytime phone number and your New 
Jersey driver license number. All surcharge offenses are 
billed immediately when they are posted to your motor 
vehicle record. The billing office does not have the authority 
to reduce your surcharge assessment or change any court 
reported convictions. 
 

Contact the billing office by 
phone 
 
Toll-free / Teléfono gratis 
 
(844) 424-6829 
 
Customer service representatives are available to take your 
calls from 8 AM to 5 PM, Monday through Friday. This 
number is only for surcharge related questions. 
 
The automated telephone system provides general 
surcharge information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
 
You may find out: 
 

• How much you owe 
• When your last payment was made 

 
Credit/debit card payments (MasterCard, VISA or Discover) 
are accepted. Please have your surcharge bill or driver 
license and your credit/debit card ready when you call. 
 

More information 
 
License suspension and restoration information/ 
Información sobre suspensión de licencia y 
restauración 
 
(609) 292-7500 
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