FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: William Connolly
January 18, 2022 609.292.5203

Bookmark and Share

January 18, 2022

TRENTON – Effective Feb. 7, drivers interested in obtaining or upgrading a commercial driver license (CDL) in New Jersey will be required to complete additional federally-mandated training.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has issued regulations requiring CDL applicants complete Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from an FMCSA-approved training provider before taking the CDL skills test. The list of approved training providers can be found on FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry. A link to the registry is also available on the NJMVC website in the CDL section.

The new ELDT regulations set minimum standards for training requirements for entry-level commercial drivers applying to:

  • Obtain a first-time Class A or Class B CDL
  • Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL
  • Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time


The requirements only apply to individuals who obtain a CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement on or after Feb. 7, 2022. The ELDT requirement is not retroactive. Drivers holding a valid commercial learner permit (CLP) issued prior to Feb. 7 may obtain a CDL without completing the ELDT requirement.

FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry has a list of approved training providers that CDL applicants will have to search to identify and secure training from a certified provider. To issue or upgrade a CDL, the NJMVC will need to validate that an applicant has completed the new entry-level training with an approved provider from the registry.

Please visit the website to read extensive guidance on how to get a CDL in New Jersey.

For more information about the new ELDT requirement, please visit the website of the FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry.