nj mvc title
Business Owned Vehicles
Business Licensing
IRP/IFTA Permit Process

Requirements for limousine drivers

Driver background checks and certification
Driver background checks and certification are required for limousine drivers and rental car chauffeurs. Generally, employers, including owner/operators, submit applications for uncertified drivers pending employment as well as those already employed. MVC certifies drivers based on the results of a fingerprint live scan for a State criminal background check. Appointments are scheduled through the State fingerprint vendor IdentoGo (MorphoTrust USA). All drivers or owner/operators employed on or after January 8, 2002 are subject to fingerprinting.

This background check is independent of other fingerprint background checks that may have been conducted for other purposes such as a passenger or HAZMAT endorsements on a commercial driver license. Drivers who are employed by more than one limousine company may only need one limousine background check. If you have started working for a new company six months after MVC sent the qualification letter, you will need to complete the background check application process again.

Summary of changes effective April 19, 2010
  • $50 fee for State Bureau of Identification background check; federal level background check eliminated
  • Employer or owner/operators will be fined $500 for drivers operating without MVC certification
  • CDL drivers with passenger endorsements no longer need additional background checks
For full requirements, including step-by-step instructions, download the motor vehicle advisory [pdf] sent March 8, 2010.

To reach the MVC Commercial Drivers License Unit by phone, call (609) 292-7500 ext.5077, weekdays 8:30 a.m. – 4:15 p.m.

For more information and instructions, pick one of the following links:

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Statewide: NJ home | Services A to Z | Department/Agencies | FAQs
Commission: Locations | Vehicles | Licenses | Violations | Inspections | Commercial | Business Licensing | About MVC
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2006

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666
(609) 292-6500
TTY (609) 292-5120

Last Updated: July 7, 2015