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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

Announcement
All Initial Business License Applicants

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business Licensing Services Bureau (BLS) does not
accept up-front license and registration payments (excluding application fees) with the submission
of an initial business license application for the following license privileges:

= New and Used Car Dealers

= Special Category Registration and Plates
= Auto Body Shops

= Driving Schools

= |nspection and Emission Repair Facilities

A notification requesting payment of the license and registration fees along with proof of insurance
and bond requirements will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a
site inspection, where applicable. The wall license and license plates, if applicable, will be mailed
to the licensed location once your payment is processed.

Your compliance with this policy is greatly appreciated. For further information on the
initial licensing process, call 609-292-6500 x5014.

Note: Applicants for Auto Body and Private Inspection Facilities licenses must submit a $20.00
application fee with their initial license application.
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Enclosed are the application and supplemental forms necessary to apply for an auto body repair facility initial
license. If you are engaged in the business of performing auto-body repair and/or auto-body painting
services you must be licensed.

If you commence auto-body work without a license, you will be in violation of New Jersey Auto-Body
Repair Facility Act, N.J.S.A. 39:13-1 et seq., which states , “No person may engage in the business of
an auto-body repair facility unless it is so licensed by the Commission”. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:13-6,
the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor vehicle Commission has the power and authority to
issue an order to cease and desist from operating an auto-body repair facility without a license to do
so. The Chief administrator may also impose upon an auto-body repair facility operating without a
license a civil penalty of up to $5000.00 for the first offense and up to $20,000.00 for the second and
each subsequence offense.

In accordance with recently adopted regulations, each applicant for an auto-body license shall have and
established place of business at the time such license is issued. An established place of business must have an
exterior sign, a suitable office and be in conformance with the requirements of the municipality in which it

is located. It is imperative that the municipal or zoning board clerk complete the enclosed approval
certificate foom. However, we will accept a photocopy of a certificate of occupancy in lieu of the completed
approval certificate.

Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and liability arising from bodily injury:
(a) Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in the minimum amount
of $300,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $300,000; and
(b) Garage keepers’ liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in
the amount of $50,000; and
(c) Workers Compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees.

During the licensing process, all correspondence between the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
and the applicant, will be mailed to the applicant’s business address.

The fee for the license is $350.00 plus an additional non-refundable application fee of $20.00. A
notification requesting payment of the license will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing
requirements and a site inspection, where applicable. Please return the completed application to this
office with all required documents. If you have any questions, please call (609)292-6500 ext. 5014 or
e-mail us at mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov.
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

AUTO BODY INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION CHECKLIST
In order to ensure prompt processing of your Auto-Body Application, please submit all documents listed below:

[J Non-refundable processing fee ($20.00). Certified checks/money order payable to the NJMVC.
[ License application and municipal approval.

[ Supplemental application for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s).

U1 Child support certification for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s).

U] Fingerprint request notification form.

1 Copy of Driver License for each owner, partner(s), officer(s), or member(s)

(Each non-NJ resident must provide 6-points of identification. Information regarding required identification can be found at
https://www.nj.gov/mvc/license/6pointid.htm)

1 Color photograph of each applicant.

[ Copy of your Corporate Certificate (Inc.) or formation papers for LLC, Partnerships and sole Proprietors.
1 Copy of property deed or lease.

[ Business Hours Form (Enclosed).

1 Municipal Approval Certificate for Business License (Enclosed).

[ Federal Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate).

[ NJ Sales Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate).

] Workers’ compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees. Please note that if employees are hired after the license has
been issued, you must submit workers’ compensation insurance at thattime.

U] Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and for liability arising from bodily injury (both Full Service and Limited Full-Service
applicants):

> Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $300,000 or a letter of credit in the
amount of $300,000; and

> Garage keepers' liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $50,000
The certificate holder must read NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Auto Body Unit, PO Box172, Trenton, NJ 08666-0172

[ Statement advising if your facility will be performing painting services.

[ Copy of telephone bill or a telephone installation order for the business.

[ Photographs of the auto body repair facility showing signs and other advertising media.

] Current certificate of inspection from the fire marshal for the building

[ Evidence of completion from a recognized auto body class; at least one class must be taken within one (1) year preceding issuance of the
initial license.

[ Stack permit or letter of exemption from DEP for spray booth.

U Provide signed agreement (sample enclosed) if the below listed services will be performed by a facility other than yourself: (©) structural
repairs (O) vehicle four-wheel alignment ( ©) air conditioner servicing (©) mechanical repair as a result of collisiondamage.

] If your auto body repair facility will not be spray painting, please contact this office for additional forms. Prior to your Auto Body repair facility
license being issued, a site inspection will be conducted. An investigator from the Commission will contact you.
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170

609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

APPLICATION FOR BUSINESS LICENSE

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

License No.

Reg. No.

EIN #

Approved by

Date

Email

The undersigned hereby applies for the license(s) checked in Part 3 and submits the following certified statement:

1

Name of Business (if corporation, corporate name)

Business Phone

Trade Name

Business Address

City Zip Code County

All applicants please provide the following information and attach copies
of proof thereof:

A. NJ Sales TaxIdentification Number

B. NJUnemploymentRegistration Number

C. Federal Employer IdentificationNumber

4. Complete thefollowing for proprietor, partners or corporate officers:

Name Title

Home Address

2. Please Check

[ Corporation [ Partnership O Proprietorship
] other

3. Please check appropriate box for applicable license:

O Leasing Company 0O Driving School O Private Inspection Facility
O Fleet Inspection Facility O New & Used Motor Veh. Dealer 0O Used Motor Veh. Dealer
O Auto Body (Full) O Auto Body (Limited) O Auto Body (Sublet)

Special Category Registration (Select one from options below)

O Auction 0O Boat Dealer O Converter O Finance O Insurer
O Leasing O Manufacturer 0O Non-Conventional O Transporter

Telephone Number

5. Have the owners, partners or officers ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a criminal or disorderly person offense in this or any other state?

O Yes If yes, explain:

O No

6. Has any current or prospective partner, officer, director, other controlling person, or employee of the applicant previously held a license issued under the
authority of the Commission or any other state, which license was suspended or revoked and never reinstated?

[0 Yes

Give name and address of person
[0 No
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

7. Do the owners, principals, partners or officers now hold, or have they ever held, any of the licenses listed in #3 or in any other jurisdiction?

[ Yes If yes, please provide the type of license(s), license number(s) and jurisdiction(s) and dates of licensure:
O No

8. Have the license(s) provided above ever been suspended orrevoked in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction?
[JYes If yes, explain:
O No

9. Does this business have a subsidiary company or a parent company?
[ Yes If yes, explain:
[JNo

10. Have the owners, partners or officers, agents or employees of your organization ever used an alias or been known by any other name?
[ Yes If yes, explain:
O No

11. Does any stockholder own more than 10% of the corporation's stock?
[ Yes If yes, give name, address and holding:
O No

12.

Attach copy of the Certificate of Incorporation/Formation
which has been filed with the N.J. Secretary of State.
Foreign Corporations must submit a copy of their
Date of Incorporation/Formation Authorization to do business in New Jersey as a Foreign
Corporation in addition to a copy of their corporate or
formation papers.

Place of Incorporation / Formation

Date of authorizationto do business in New Jersey

13. Does the location for which you seek a license, or seek to renew a license, comply with all State and local laws, ordinances and regulations
concerning the activities permitted by this license?

OYes

[ONo

14. The applicant certifies all information contained herein is true and agrees that any untruthful representation and any violation of the applicable
statutes and regulations promulgated by the Commission shall be reasonable and proper grounds for license suspension or revocation and
may subject the applicant to administrative, civil or criminal penalty. He/She further agrees to notify the Commission immediately of any change
in the status of the business or of any other information which would change the answers and statements in this application or supplement
thereto.

15. | am, and will continue to be, in compliance with all State and local laws, regulations and ordinances regarding the operation of this business.
16. Theindividual(s) signing this application certifies that they have read the applicable statutes and are thoroughly familiar with the details
provided and potential penalties.

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that | am the of the above business named
President, Owner, Officer, Member

and that the information | have submitted is true. | am aware that if any of the statements are willfully false, | am subject to penalty.

Print Name of Applicant Signature and Title of Applicant

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that | am Secretary/Member/Partner of the above Corporation and have witnessed the signature of

who is of said corporation.
President, Owner, Officer, Member

Signature of Secretary/Member/Partner
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

APPLICANT’S INFORMATION ‘

PLEASE PRINT
BUSINESS NAME BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER

1. APPLICANT FULL NAME (Including Middle and Suffix, if any)

2. STREET ADDRESS

3.CITY 4.STATE 5.ZIP CODE 6. COUNTY

7.HOW LONG HAVE YOU LIVED AT THE ABOVE ADDRESS? 8. HOME PHONE NUMBER

9. LIST ALL THE CITIES, STATES AND FOREIGN COUNTRIES WHERE YOU HAVE LIVED, OVER THE LAST 20 YEARS AND HOW LONG YOU LIVED IN EACH.

10. DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH, DAY, YEAR) | 11. PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY, STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY) 12. SEX

13. HEIGHT 14. WEIGHT 15. COLOR OF EYES 16. DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

17. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER*

*You must disclose your Social Security number to the NJMVC. Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7 et seq. of the New Jersey Child Support Program
Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities,
the licensing agency is also obligated to provide your Social Security number to:
a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing compliance with
State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records; and
b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request

18. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME ARISING OUT OF FRAUD OR MISREPRESENTATION?

OO No O YES IF YES, ATTACH EXPLANATION DESCRIBING NATURE OF OFFENSE, DATE, CITY AND STATE WHERE OFFENSE OCCURRED, IDENTIFY
COURT OR ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL BEFORE THE CASE TRIED, DATE AND SENTENCE

| CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED HEREIN AND ATTACHMENTS, IF ANY, ARE TRUE. | AM AWARE THAT IF ANY
OF THE STATEMENTS ARE WILLFULLY FALSE, | AM SUBJECT TO ADMINISTRATIVE, CIVIL AND/OR CRIMINAL PENALTY.

SIGNATURE: DATE:
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STATE OF NEW JERSEY
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
BUSINESS LICENSING SERVICES BUREAU
P.0. BOX 170
TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08666-0170

MUNICIPAL APPROVAL CERTIFICATE FOR BUSINESS LICENSE

Applicant Information

Applicant Name: Title

Business Name: Business Phone:

Street Address (include suite #)

City Zip

Approval Classification of Applicant

A. Please check appropriate box: B. Please check appropriate type of license:
O Initial O Boat Dealer O Leasing Company
O Change of Address O Driving School o PIF
O Branch Location o Used Motor Vehicle Dealer

o Existing Facility Zoning Compliance o0 New & Used Motor Vehicle Dealer (Please specify type of vehicle)

O Auto Body Facility (Check all that apply)

Full Service Auto Body

Limited Full Service Auto Body
Sublet Auto Body (new car dealer)
Heavy Duty Vehicle Endorsement

Municipal Zoning Official Certification
I, , Clerk of the Municipality of

k)

County of , State of New Jersey, hereby certify that the Municipal Governing
Body or Zoning Commission has approved the location, establishment and maintenance of the above indicated business

located at:

(Complete Address)
Please check appropriate box:

[ Site was visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval

[J Site was not visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval

Please specify any stipulations of your zoning approval:

Signature of Municipal or Zoning Board Clerk Date
Municipal
Seal

Print Name

BLS-162 R-1/18 Contact Number
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION FORM

Business Name

Applicant’s Name (Print) Date of Birth

Social Security Number

*You must disclose your social security number to the NJMVC. Failure to do so may result in denial/non-
renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq. of
the New Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted
is required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the licensing agency is also
obligated to provide your Social Security number to:

a. The Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including
for the purpose of reviewing compliance with State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records;

and

b. The Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon
request.

Under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq., responses to the questions listed below are required.
Intentional misstatements may result in administrative action including, but not limited to, denial of licensure,
immediate suspension or revocation of the license, or criminal prosecution.

1. Do you have a child support obligation? |:| Yes |:| No

2. |If yes, does the amounts in arrears equal or exceed the amount of child support

payable for six months?
D Yes D No

D Yes D No

| certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true and | am aware that if any of the foregoing
statements are willfully false, | am subject to penalty.

3. Are you subject to a child-support warrant?

Signature Date
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014

L, ,owner of

(Subcontractor)
located at hereby certify that | have
entered into an agreement with located

(Autobody Licensee)

at to perform the below
listed service:

O Four-Wheel Alignment

O Air Conditioner Servicing

O Mechanical Repairs

O Structural Repairs (Frame Machine)

O All of the above services are preformed in

house
| understand that this document will be attached to his/her New Jersey Full Service Auto
Body Repair Facility License.

Signature Subcontractor Signature Licensee

Date
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New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Office of Local Environmental Management

Minor Source Compliance Investigations

P.O. Box 407

Trenton, NJ 08625-0407

To Whom It May Concern:

| have been informed that an air pollution permit is no longer required by the
Department as established in N.J.A.C. 7:27-8.2(a) (Eleventh Amendment
operative June 12, 1998) since my coating application will NEVER EXCEED "%
GALLON PER HOUR AND MY Spray booth DOES NOT contain a heating
device with a rating of 1,000,000 BTU’s or greater. As such, | am requesting
deletion of the following surface coating permit(s) /certificat(s) and hereby certify
under penalty of law that | believe the information provided in this document is
true, accurate, and complete.

| understand that if at any time our coating rate does exceed the applicability
threshold of %2 gallon in any one hour or the heating device does equal or
exceeds 1 million BTU’s, it is my responsibility to apply for the necessary
permit(s) and certificate(s).

| further understand that if | exceed these thresholds and fail to apply for the
necessary permit(s) and certificate(s) | may be subject to an enforcement action
which may include civil and criminal penalties, including the possibility of fine or
imprisonment or both, for submitting false, inaccurate or incomplete information.

Signature:

Title:

Name of Facility:

Address:

Phonet:

Program Interest ID#:

Activity Number ID#:

Date:
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

Fingerprint Request Notification

In accordance with New Jersey law, all dealerships (applicants as defined in N.J.A.C 13:21-15.1 only)
driving schools (applicants and instructors), auto-body shops (applicants), and private inspection facilities
(applicants and inspectors), are required to undergo a live scan criminal background check by the State
approved vendor. Submission of your initial business application authorizes the Commission’s Business
Licensing Services Bureau to request and receive criminal background check results.

Upon receipt of this notification, each person identified will be mailed a fingerprint application and
instructional sheet. Once fingerprinted, the receipt and fingerprint application for each person listed must
be forwarded to MVC as proof of completion. The processing of your business application will not begin
until all receipts are received.

Complete the attached Fingerprint Request Notification Form. If an e-mail address is provided, the
fingerprint request notification form will be e-mailed to you. Otherwise, it will be mailed.
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170

609-292-6500 ext. 5014
609-292-4400

Fingerprint Request Notification Form

Business Name: Date:

Clearly PRINT the requested personal information for the applicable license type: dealerships
(applicants as defined in N.J.A.C. 13:21-15.1 only), driving schools (applicants and instructors),
auto-body shops (applicants), and private inspection facilities (applicants and inspectors).

Applicant’s Full Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number:

E-Mail Address:

Applicant’s Full Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number:

E-Mail Address:

Applicant’s Full Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number:

E-Mail Address:

Copy and submit additional sheets if needed.
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New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Business Licensing Services Bureau
P.O. Box 170

Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
609-292-6500 ext. 5014

609-292-4400
AUTO-BODY BUSINESS HOURS
Business Name: License No.:
Street Address: City: Zip:

Please indicate the days and time your business will be open to the public

MONDAY ... s it e s e e s s e e r e eaen From To
LI 2 =357 Y From To
WEDNESDAY ... ettt e ea s From To
I 1S L N From To
| From To
SATURDAY ...ttt s s s e s e e ras From To

| certify that all of the information included herein is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. | am aware that, if any of this
information is willfully false, | am subject to punishment.

Owner’s Name (Print): Title:

Owner’s Signature: Date:
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