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NOTICE TO NEW JERSEY LIMOUSINE COMPANIES AND 
OWNER OPERATORS 

 
Be advised that requirements affecting the limousine industry, companies, owners and 
drivers in New Jersey have changed. 
 
Recently, a law was enacted transferring responsibility for coordination of criminal 
background checks for limousine drivers from the New Jersey Department of 
Transportation (DOT) to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).  The New 
Jersey State Legislature and the Governor of New Jersey originally made these 
requirements part of State law on January 8, 2002.  Therefore, limousine drivers 
employed on or after that date are subject to the background check provisions. 
 
Under the revised law, the MVC will coordinate a program that informs limousine 
companies if a driver is qualified or disqualified from operating a limousine in  
New Jersey.  This will be based on a criminal history review that may identify 
disqualifying convictions noted in the law.    The employer is responsible for informing 
the MVC of employees requiring a background check, and the applicant (employee) will 
be responsible for submitting his/her fingerprints.  The law covers large and small 
companies as well as owner operators in New Jersey.  A copy of the law is available on 
this web site. 
 
 
Employers will need to communicate requirements to prospective and some current 
employees.  The forms to complete the process are available on this web site or by calling 
the MVC CDL Unit at 609-292-7500 ext 5077.  The Limousine Driver Employer 
Application Form will be completed by the employer and mailed to MVC.  The 
Fingerprint Application Form is completed by the driver and is used to schedule an 
appointment for fingerprinting.   
 
All applicants must be fingerprinted by MorphoTrak (formerly Sagem Morpho), the State’s vendor. 
A fee of $51.00 is collected by Sagem Morpho, Inc. to cover State Police, FBI and vendor 
costs.  The MVC does not collect a fee for administering this program.  At the time of 
fingerprinting, the applicant for employment will also provide written consent to the 
performance of a criminal background check.  Information on fingerprinting and 
instructions for completing the fingerprint application are also provided on this web site 
or by calling the MVC CDL Unit. 
 
About 10 days after fingerprints have been submitted by the applicant, the MVC will 
receive a background check report.  The MVC will review reports and mail each 
employer a letter of qualification or disqualification within approximately two weeks.  
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The letter will not be sent to the employee or applicant for employment, only the 
employer.  Furthermore, the letter will not, in the case of disqualification, identify 
convictions. 
 
By law, no one is permitted to drive a limousine unless they are 21 years of age or older 
and not until the limousine company has received written notification from the MVC 
Chief Administrator that the applicant is qualified for employment.  To be qualified for 
employment as a limousine driver, a person cannot be convicted of aggravated assault, 
arson, burglary, escape, extortion, homicide, kidnapping, robbery, possession or sale of a 
controlled dangerous substance, aggravated sexual assault, sexual assault or endangering 
the welfare of a child pursuant to N.J.S.A 2C:39.  Furthermore, the law does not provide 
a waiver or exemption for rehabilitation.  A disqualification notice will serve as the Chief 
Administrator’s final determination.  Please remember that an employer must submit the 
Limousine Driver Employer Application Form to be notified of the background check 
results. 
 
As required by law, fingerprints are used to identify convictions at the State and Federal 
levels.  Background checks for limousine drivers are independent of all other fingerprint 
background checks such as those for commercial driver passenger endorsement, 
commercial driver hazardous material endorsement, school teacher and for business 
licensing in New Jersey. 
 
Limousine drivers hired on or after January 8, 2002, who now work for one or more 
employers, only need to submit fingerprints for one background check.  However, 
qualified drivers seeking employment with a new limousine employer more than six 
months after they have been qualified will need to complete another background check.  
Any employer submitting an application for a driver will receive a qualification or 
disqualification letter. 
 
Please note that a qualification letter only certifies an applicant/employee has not been 
convicted of any disqualifying offense.  It does not address drug testing or any other 
provisions of the limousine law or other driver license requirements.  The MVC plans to 
adopt regulations concerning drug testing and other provisions in the next six months. 
 
The MVC understands the importance of limousine companies as well as drivers and the 
support they provide to transportation in New Jersey.  The MVC has attempted to make it 
easy for employers and limousine drivers to meet requirements of the law.  This 
information, including the documents, applications and Frequently Asked Questions are 
also available on the Web site at www.njmvc.gov. 
 
Should you have any questions concerning background checks, please contact the MVC 
Commercial Driver License Unit at 609-292-6500, ext. 5077.  
 
 


